Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Punta Campanella Resort & Spa 4 stars

Piazza Delle Sirene 2, 80061 Massa Lubrense, Italy

#19 of 22 hotels in Massa Lubrense

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In our room wardrobe doors unable to open. The safe did not work. When new battery inserted it broke again on 3rd use. No ' Do not disturb tags'. Problems given to staff in reception who seemed not to care !

    The Restaurant and its staff were good and very pleasant. The Actual Hotel was very nice but could have been far better. The cleaning staff were also very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stank rancid water from plumbing ,the room was not clean at all , dust on floor there all 3 days we stayed , sinks not cleaned daily , towels old and threadbare ,bedding old and gave off bad odour as did corridors and whole hotel Staff unhelpful and could see nothing wrong when I complained - no sense of customer service worst hotel I have stayed at in Italy and I’ve stayed at many I would not recommend anyone books this hotel

    Nothing about the hotel it was very poor The area is lovely Balcony and views nice ! Location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel doesn't really live; all well renovated 10 yrs ago but it feels since then nothing happened. In a small Harbour with no parking the really too high priced hotel (in relation to its services/accommodation) also asked 20 euro per day for parking. When we refused we got it for 15..... Furthermore we could literally understand every word of our neighbors.

    The location is really great and the front rooms have beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an ant infestation which was quite severe. It was common to wake up at night with an ant or two crawling on you. The parking is overpriced and the hotel is also overpriced. I struggle to see how it achieved 4 star rating. It's a bit dated and really needs refurbishment. There is no pool either and usage of the indoor 'spa' facilities is overpriced. The a/c units are incredibly loud and it's impossible to keep them on at night whilst trying to sleep.

    The mews is quite pleasant. It's close to nerano and to Conca del Sogno. The staff are very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every facility in the hotel would cost more, like the SPA. The toilet kept running, which was very noice, but impossible to repair. The exchange room we received was smaller and not so well situated.

    Access to the beach, location in small village with great Italian food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is slightly dated. The curtains are old, and the showers need a bit of help. Its also a bit far from Sorrento. It takes an hour by bus. The shuttle to Capri was sold out. And when we went to Sorrento, the shuttle to Capri was sold out also. We missed our Capri trip.

    Staff was very friendly and nice. Parking was good. The beach had several cozy restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com recommended this terrible location. So be careful. Its far from everywhere. Its got a little beach, with few restaurants. You'll find some back-packers here, from Israel and India. Its 60 min by bus to Sorrento, just to get back to civilization. If you trying to go to Capri, the exclusive shuttle from the hotel was sold out. And then, so was the shuttle from Sorrento, after the 60 min bus ride. In Sorrento, its just busy and uncomfortable with tourists. We went to Amalfi to visit Capri, and entirely missed out. Better go from Naples. I blame Booking.com for highly recommending this hotel, and promoting it so highly. The curtains are from the 70s, with hardly a little soap in the shower. Its nasty, in other words.... Avoid if at all possible. And switch to a better hotel provider if you can. I'm pissed. Coffee was terrible, by the way.

    Underground parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude reception seems we are not paying customers and they are doing a favour worst is the Italian ginger lady. Wifi not good and a 4star hotel without a swimming pool terrible The one in the spa is €35 per hour to use Everything is charged apart €20 parking, €15 for a cot per day Too far from Sorento city and other beaches

    Nice hotel very comfortable, friendly staffing specially Florin every day happy nice and helpful wonderful sea view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very unfriendly & disinterested in talking / acknowledging you. We had trouble with wifi & response from reception was oh well mine works! The private beach they say to use has 3000 ppl on it & u can't even reserve a sunlounge they are full of locals! We were turned away. No pool & beach that is full ! Restaurants that are in village all do the same menu so not much variety. We had a blackout & the power box in our room was buzzing loudly- again staff seemed disinterested in helping to stop that. Staying here was not a pleasant or relaxing experience. Never ever again!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not consider this a 4 star hotel. Room conditions were not very comfortable, our room did not have a real shower. There was a general lack of maintenance in the hotel. No real concierge service (just arranging taxi pick up and providing bus schedule). Indoor pool is available to use for additional €35. The front of the hotel is a parking lot/road, not garden/beach as picture appears. Beach access is 10% discount on rentals at the public beach (€20 per day).

    The hotel is close to the water, close to public transportation, has some friendly staff and selection of nearby bars and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't working no matter what time of day or not..... the property needs some renovations, the carpets & furnitures in the hallways are dirty & run down.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an expensive place to stay and then look out onto air conditioners. I put fruit in the fridge ( once they replaced the broken one that didn't work) and they removed it and posted a sign that you couldn't use the fridge except for their water. If they advertise a fridge, let the guests use it. The air conditioner was controlled by reception. You had to ask them to turn it on or two from or up or down. A bit painful in an expensive hotel.

    Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    place was too far by car and that was not explained in the hotel description. should be added to the desription. hotel entrance is EXTREMELY unclean with a very bad smell. hotel beach is very very bad, small, full of stones. breakfast was horrible, food was not fresh, very low variety. room had a balcony terrace that was directly exposed to the street ( zero privacy ) a bottle of water was stolen form the car parking on our arrival i really wouldnt add this trip EVER in my life

    almost nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult access (narrow road) and parking is an issue (dead end) In-house restaurant too expensive for what is on offer Suitable only for a "creek retreat" with a beach focus (moving about is a real challenge)

    Nice creek

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have liked to use the pool and sauna etc, but were told that it was an extra 35 euros. As we were staying there I would have thought we could have it at a reduced rate. We were also charged for two bottles of water we didn't have from the fridge. I tried to explain this but was told that we had used it and had to pay.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and the dining staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior suite nothing like in pictures, old like from the 80's not a 4 star hotel and not even on a resort, it's in a very hard to get to village with not much on offer. Not even on the beach it's actually set back and you must pay for everything sun loungers, spa facilities, pool etc which is bad news. Breakfast is poor! You have been warned! No bath robes! Drilling and banging throughout the day as the end of the hotel there is an attached villa being refurbed probably for the next 5 years.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very new rooms/facilities, air conditioning not working in the bedroom of my parents, fridge not working in my room. A bit of renovation is needed. In addition part of the staff, at the bar in particular, was not very polite and then service quite slow

    The location is amazing, just in front of the beach with amazing view (not from our bedrooms, since for sea view you had to pay 80€ of extra fee per day!!)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite location and very safe. The hotel was very nice with comfortable beds and excellent breakfast but the rooms could do better on the clean side to justify their 4 stars. Overall satisfied.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was friendly, efficient, and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was delicious, with variety. The rooms were clean, comfortable and perfect for our needs. The view was incredible, and the spot perfect is idyllic for a beach vacation in Italy!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of had a better selection at breakfast of hot items although the cold selection of foods were very good and the service was also good.

    Good location in a resort with lots of locals. Not far to the beach. Good selection of places to eat and all very reasonable. Location to Capri was excellent . We chartered a boat for the day and the service was outstanding . A great 4 day break. The hotel was very clean and good sized balcony to chill on.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should not be called a resort as it is not one. Whilst there are a few activities in the area - none belong to the hotel. The hotel has no pool, shops, sport activities and the lido nearby is by payment. Peeling paint over the tired old jacuzzi. No tea / coffee station in room. We did not sleep the first night due to a private party with a live band. I was shocked, the next morning, to learn that this was held in the dining room below our 'Junior suite' . We thought it must have been a party nearby as could not imagine that a professional hotel could make such an error. I decided to mention the idiocy of this to reception / direction when checking out. The reply being that I should have troubled myself to complain the same night the music was playing!! They would have 'turned down' the LIVE band hehehe. I was to shocked to reply. How can a hotel take money from me for beds to sleep in and at the same time from a live band performing under my room!!! No problem as when I spoke directly to the owner she apologised that it was all a bit last minute the party!! She was very sorry!! Well so am I - this ridiculous story sums up the lack of interest by the owner/s, noticable throughout the pretty but very tired hotel.

    The staff were polite and helpful, knowledgeable about the area and obviously experienced professionals. The hotel has a gifted chef - from the fresh pastries in the morning to the fish at dinner - excellent. A little pricey but acceptable if you want excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is set very low at 2 feet so you have to bend down or sit in tub to rinse your hair out. It's a 20-25 minute cab ride to Sorento and the road has a lot of turns . Naples is about an hour away so if you are planning any trips near those 2 towns just know you will have to take a cab or public transportation.

    The rooms were large enough for a family with with 2 teenagers that everyone had their own space. Additionally, the balcony view was wonderful in the morning and evening as the sea was right there. Seeing the scenic view everyday was definitely a plus! The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff were very helpful in making suggestions of things to do. We will be back at this beautiful coastal town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone delusional gave this hotel 4 stars. The staff do not greet you when you enter/exit the hotel, greet queries with disdain. Alex is particularly rude, unaccommidating. We changed rooms as our first room was dark, dingy, and distracting as both paint + wallpaper pealed off the walls. Shower was an upright coffin. This hotel boasts a large parking lot at its front....fumes are your companion whilst eating breakfast. CANNED fruit served in a country known for its delicious exports of fruits. The "SPA" is a dark room with a pool, off of the lobby, which looks out onto the elevator entrance, and a camp of screaming children. 40 minutes' drive to Sorrento.

    In close proximity to boat excursions to Capri, Amalfi, and Positano.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our room did not work at all during the five days of our stay. Being the middle of summer, this made the room seriously uncomfortable, and at times, just about uninhabitable. These things happen, and we would have been understanding, except the response from staff was terrible. They were disinterested and unhelpful, verging on rude. We were offered no assistance, alternative or explanation. We were not informed about steps being taken to fix it, leaving us frustrated and very angry. The hotel offered us no compensation for our discomfort. In general, this was reflective of a poor state of management in the hotel.

    The location of the hotel is excellent - just across from the beach in Marina del Cantone. It was great to have a balcony with a view of the beach, and the room was nicely appointed.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff functional rooms with beautiful sea views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean and comfortable, great bedrooms and shower was great. The hotel was nice and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible shower in the bathroom, we had to sit down.....water all over the bathroom.

    nice hotel crew!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff Terrible breakfast Air con controlled from front desk so a phone call required to turn it pn

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee with breakfast!

    Friendly staff, location and view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of things ..

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Location in some ways because we were close to a marina bUt in some ways location was too remote for the evenings ... No where to walk around

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If driving take care as the winding roads and scooters can be a little intimidating.

    Lovely breakfast. Great day on tge daybeds by the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location and view from the hotel room were great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst breakfast ever. The room view on the back parking lot wasn't beautiful too.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cucina italiana 100% dinner in rooms with sea view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thanks for everything on the beach - clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SEA VIEW ROOM BREAKFAST STAFF YOU CAN GO TO CAPRI WITH BOAT FABULOUS LOCATION THANKS TOM

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter was a bit pushy

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was bad, especially coffee. Ants in room. Did not look at notes left when ordering hotel on booking.com. Beach was more expensive than thought.

    Restaurants close by. Beach close by. One bus takes you to hotel. Staff were very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mostly the WI FI was the issue here. Beware of laundering at the hotel with a price per item.

    Loved this beautiful gem of a place. Its unspoilt and tranquil with people down at the beach so friendly. I would recommend Africano's area for lazing on their lounges and umbrellas and restaurant down at the beach very friendly family business. Staff at the hotel also very helpful incl. the restaurant staff would answer any question as well as the staff at reception. We had a minivan and carparking was no problem although additional charge but worth the valet worrying about parking it. Also the restaurants in the area were great with many to choose from. I would go back.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That was a very uncomfortable and quite outdated room. Air conditioning was out of work, no wifi in the room, beds were not comfortable, wash-bowl and w.c. were out of order. A lot of ants in the room. Staff at the reception are chatting on the phone while the visitors are staying in front expecting when the chat is over and the personnel is ready to answer the questions. We had prepaid dinners, what was a mistake. The local restaurants offer much better menu and food quality.

    Location, see view from the room

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    While most of the staff were polite and helpful, on particular lady was extremely rude. The WiFi was very poor and coverage was limited to the lobby for rooms on the ground floor. WHile the hotel had parking, this was charged at 25 euro per day. There is no other option but to pay it. SHould have been flagged up front. While the hotel advertises a fitness centre there is not one. The hotel pool is in fact a spa pool which is 35 euro a day to access, therefore no pool. Be careful when booking, Six of us stayed at the hotel in three rooms, three in one room, two in another room and one in a third room. the hotel charged for full occupancy on the last room which seemed very unfair. Wont be back

    Hotel was clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Had to upgrade room to a triple because double was way to small for 2 people. Wifi sporadic and frustrating. Spa was less than appealing and would never think of using it.

    Staff was wonderful! Location was fabulous! Beds were comfortable. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great hotel, friendly staff, clean room

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi slow Breakfast no big variety No fresh fruit

    Close to sea

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No pool, nearest cashpoint 6 miles away

    Staff excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit top expensive

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit rundown Wifi is splotchy at best

    Great sea views! Nice furnishings

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: