Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Puntabella 2 stars

Via Genova 149, 17019 Varazze, Italy

#25 of 26 hotels in Varazze

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1478 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tha location is cool you'll have a great view of the sea. I checked in pretty late, and the owner wasn't so happy about that, but he helped me. In general, I liked my stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the room was very small - the walls very thin, we could hear the other guest whatever they do, not easy to sleep - the bed was very narrow - the hotel is renovated, but it still smells very much - it is preety expensive considering its facilities and the confort - the next time I will not stay there

    - free private parking - location very nice - breakfast was cheap and quality/quantity was acceptable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked the property a lot - it has a beautiful view and the staff are extremely nice. However, I had a few minor issues - the walls are thin as a paper, so snoring and baby cry of other customers were a bit of a nuisance. The other thing was that when we came in March there was no access to a beautiful walkway just under the hotel, so to get to a village on foot (20min) we had to be walking along the road with no pavement, which is not such a big problem since we could have used a car, but there was no immediate possibility to have any nice walk next to the hotel. But generally, I would still choose the same place to stay! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds. Hair on towels and blankets from previous occupants. Dirty stains on coverlet. No restaurant server present, left to find another vendor. Cheap accommodation, only stayed to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff can be a little bit helpful with providing informations.

    The room, acctually the apartment was huge. We didn't expect that. For three of us we get apartment with two rooms and in one room was shower and in the other toillet. Room is extra comfortable and clean. We had a sea view which was magnificent. The breakfast is great. Lot of various things with great coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great 4 night stay at Puntabella. Staff was extremely nice and friendly, we had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also great, we had a lot of choices aswell as salami, prosciutto and cheese along with the mediterranean colazione. The only little minus is that the hotel is between Cogoleto and Varraze so it s not crowded. But that was just perfect for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow at times or breaking up.

    We had already stayed at the hotel some years ago and knew what to expect. Still, they managed to give us a really nice surprise. The rooms had been redecorated, the staff smiling and welcoming and even though we had booked a room without a balcony, upon arrival we got an upgrade to one that came with it. The view was precious, the sea is really literally at your fingertips :-) All in all, I think they have been working on improving several aspects of the services, "learning" to become a better hotel if I make a comparison with our experience of years ago.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, clean, comfortable, good food, affordable. Must see the old road down to the beach, tiny road near seaside, grate for walk, jogging or bicycle, so picturesque

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated just above the Aurelia road which is quite busy with traffic. With the windows open the noise from passing cars, motorbikes abd the occasional truck is annoying. Don't ask for a takeaway water bottle: it comes at 2.50€ a litre... a ripoff... Prices are too high in the height of summer, but that can be said of most hotel rooms in Liguria.

    The room was simple but comfortable and clean. As a triple it would have been really small, but we slept ok in two. The breakfast was a generous buffet, although the quality of the food was basic. If you have a car or you like to walk, the location is nice: there are beautiful views and Lungomare Europa (the coastal walk) is a few steps downhill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chef could have been a little more true-full , describing a ' salad della stagione ' when its made of a few peppers from the local supermarket instead of some of the superb produce available from the local market in |Cogoleto .. mind you his trofie al pesto was top class.

    excellent located ... easy to find , free secure parking and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff showed us a room which turned out to be more expensive than we had booked and the manager moved us just as we were moving in. The room we moved in was clean but very cramped. The hotel was undergoing a spring clean and there was painting going on everywhere. No allowance was made for this in our bill.

    Location was not bad. The restaurant was average. The room and bathroom were very clean and functional. The parking was good and secure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked another night, the owner of the hotel told us it would be 30 euros. The next day, we found out he meant 40. Apparently he pronounces 30 and 40 exactly the same. Beware!

    The rooms were nice and there was free parking on property.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The place is wonderful- we got a room with a sea view, which was stunning. The room was spacious and very clean. Perfect stay for 1 day/night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is like a house of Cards. You literally hear everything. Slamming doors, flip flops in the hall ways, even the neighbors blowing their nose in the room next to you. Also the restaurant ain't that good. And the owners could use a course in smiling.

    The location of the hotel was good, in between Varazze and costaleto and a beautiful but expensive beach down the stairs. The room was clean and the bed was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything. it was not in Varazze. as mentioned. the owner very unfriendly. room dirty, Internet slow, sheet of doubtful cleanliness. tv with all channel to pay for. old fridge not working. site around the hotel looking as a building site

    nothing. see is beautiful. the hotel was awful. for 70 euros per night!!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Club under the hotel and was not able to sleep until the morning that they closed the music. Beach close to the hotel, you have to pay 12 euro per person. No free beach close by! My room was very small but maybe other rooms are bigger.

    Great view!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a serious revamping as it looks like it hasn't really changed from 70's. We were a bit late so virtually no food apart from pizza and a steak was available (they were tasty, though) and senior staff was a bit grumpy but a young waiter kinda saved the day as he tried his best in the situation.

    Great location, nice sea view.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a smile wouldn't hurt for the business, otherwise it's a rather pleasant stay.

    Reception is a little bit odd, motel-like but the rooms are extraordinary. The reception guy was very grumpy but we managed just fine with a lady wich came after. Wifi works ok-ish, they have parking, nice sea view from some of the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please note: Do not eat at the hotel restaurant, the food quality is poor and the service is even worse

    The hotel is very well located and beaches just located down the cliff are marveluous

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem during check in, staff almost screaming at each other, room to small, woke up several times during night because of slamming doors , you can hear everthing between walls, stayed there with my 2 children (8) +(13) and was happy after 1 night to continue my trip from alps down to Lyon for football match (EM)

    Pizza was good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent view!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No easy access to the beach. Very small room.

    Beautiful view. Room was newly renovated and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower and ... and ants everywhere in the morning. I had to unload whole bakpack before I leave ....

    View on the sea and parking space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was e very bad smell all around the hotel and everywhere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very nice, clean, updated and it even had a sea view. Great value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Food and Great Coffee, Staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a transit stop and quite suitable for our needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price - quality and staff xith exczllznt location for roadtrip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pizza at the restaurant was really good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a tiny beach with a bar by the beach down a cliff. Awesome views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, new room. Very beautiful view. Delicious food in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit "tired" house..

    Very good location and worth its price. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only italian speaking receptionist, dressed like he's working in gym.

    Nice, clean, good restraunt and brekfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unhelpful, unwelcoming, Asked for twin room on booking, but got double bed. would not think about changing it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beach is closeby but on a much lower level than hotel. You have to climb to get there or take the car to a totally different beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dark and not the cleanest, got food poisoning from shrimp at the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smile of the stuff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with old furniture. But for ** hotel was fine.

    Locality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staffs are not accomodating, they don't even inform us properly...

    so much need to improve... not worth it for 110 a night so much dissapointed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the first day it was some reparing stairs on the groundstairs.

    Every thing was perfect. Combination quality price. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    My waitress

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very hard long pillows very noisy shutters that where moving in the heavy wind

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean , comfortable, well situated, wonderful view on the sea,free parking. Excellènt solution for a family with modest budget.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, nice warm room with a sea view and great tasting pizza!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good quiet place, walking route which is close to hotel is great! Good views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold welcome from staff. Breakfast croissants could have been better.

    Restaurant good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location- good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant at the hotel provided the best seafood we had during our vacation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs renovation

    Nice location if you have a car, 5-7min to walk to the sea site.., good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost everything

    If you like 70's and 80's style -this is for you. Nothing has changed there through these 40 years

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The location is perfect !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds works for one night.

    Nice view! Good price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They didn't have pizza!

    Very nice staff, free parking, very good shower and a restaurant in the same building. Our room also had a view of the sea!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small,toilet and shower extremely small View was of the parking area at the back.

    Restaurant was on site enjoyed our meal,not spectacular but the view was good.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was far away from Savona or other cities nearby, the room was old, small and with doubtfull cleanness. Staff did just what the were supposed and wanted to be out of the hotel faster than what we wanted.

    We stayed only one night on out way to the french riviera. As a stopover it was ok, but nothing else than that.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is in front of a road with traffic during the summer and there is no phonic isolation so you can hear the cars all the night as the other rooms noise. We could not sleep; and the room is without any charm, no decoration, mix of furniture, and family room with a double bed and a simple in one room and a small space separate with a small bed which has a window without curtain.Expensive night for the standing.

    the location near the motorway, an easy stop on the road, and just near the sea, there is a nice restaurant in front of the beach on the other side of the road. The breakfast was nice, even with sans gluten cakes.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are not many shops and restaurants near to the hotel.

    It is good place for tourist with car. There is beautiful landscape and nice beach with pure sea. Staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Were there for 1 night. Beautiful place near the sea. Wonderful seaview from the (very) small balcon. Rooms are not very large but comfortable enough. Good shower. Not very rich but tasty breakfast. Localy made wine 5eur/litre turned out better than bottled one :) Free parking. The sea is 177 stairs down, the shore is stony.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The conditioning didn't work, but there was a ventilator. The hotel needs urgent refurbishment, the room was too small for 2 people. The furniture is horrible. The bath needs refurbishment, the water pressure was poor.

    The staff was fine, there is a private beach just near the hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite old furniture and equipment.

    Quite basic hotel. We use it just for spending the night splitting our road to Spain. Very close to the highway. Located on the sea with very nice view.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Family with young children

    Staff don't speak any English. It's very noisy as you can hear the doors slamming. It's much further from the beach than it seemed.

    We got a 3 beds room for our 3 year old free of charge. We got an uppercase room as requested. The view at the sea is somewhat nice. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have stayed several times here - always for a single night- but cannot book for Dinner, Bed & Breakfast at a reasonable or sensible rate. Seems the (10€)menu advertised outside the hotel is not available in the evenings - one time we were told it was not available if booked through Booking.com - this time we just booked B&B but still had to eat dinner A la Carte!!

    Ease of access from Mway when travelling France to Italy Rooms & facilities: adequate plus

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - Cold room - Fusty cooler, unusable - Unfriendly stuff - Disgusting restaurant, but avoidable because of the great local restaurant next to the hotel.

    - Beautiful location with sea view - Price

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    According to receptionist the breakfast start at 7 in the morning. We wanted to depart early but we can't because the staff started to serve it at 8:30 in fact...

    The view was breathtaking,cleanliness was surprisingly good, beds were very comfortable and pizza in the restaurant was extremly good,the best what I've ever ate in my life, however I was in Italy many times.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A stone's throw to the beach, comfortable and clean with free parking inside the area.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Value for money. Very good breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No access by walk to the sea, small parking area.

    Attentive reception, nice view of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Personell is somehow ,,weird,,. Nothing about happy to see you.

    Location by the sea!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Couple

    Tiny and noisy room, restaurant underwhelming.

    Very welcoming staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    personnel attentif mais pas souriant

    correct

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the rooms were very cramped

    the view

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the boss of the hotel is a little rude

    good for one night

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breckfast var horrible. The hotel is wery old.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: