Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza d'Epoca Albergo Quattro Fontane 4 stars

Via Quattro Fontane 16, 30126 Venice-Lido, Italy

#8 of 35 hotels in Venice-Lido

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    oasis of tranquility and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is a unique gem with a fabulous green courtyard garden and a wonderful staff that makes you feel instantly at home. We stayed longer than we first had planned because it was so good and so difficult to leave.We will definitely come back! We miss it already.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Charming, quiet, authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, met all expectations

    The atmosphere is charming and decor is eclectic. The beaches are nearby, you can rent bikes and quiet streets with lots of space, an oasis after Venice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The place is very cosy with great atmosphere, staff is very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place is very cosy with great atmosphere, staff is very kind and eager to help with anything, and I loved the terrace with a lot of green trees, flowers, fountain, and birds singing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cheap, sugared fruit juice and mediocre bread at breakfast (sorry but I really do not want sugary pastries or cakes). This hotel is in a bit of a 1970s time-warp, which some may like, but they need to upgrade bathroom fittings (keep the bidet though) and provide adequate modern electrical outlets (so you don't have to deal with those ancient 3-pins-in-a-row sockets and unplug lamps and TV to charge your devices). At this fairly up-market price, you would also expect to find usable shampoo in the bathroom, not a one-third-full bottle of watered-down "body wash". The Wi-Fi is fast enough but antiquated and annoying because you have to get a different access code and password for every device and go through a re-connection procedure several times a day.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Very good coffee, decent cheese at breakfast. Good quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Fourth visit and very enjoyable. Met other people who had returned several times. Lovely garden area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice to have a tea/coffee point in my room and softer pillows.

    Breakfast was good, great coffee and tea, served in a piping hot pot, dining room light and bright, staff.lovely. The staff on duty at reception were helpful and pleasant. Nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Historical building, Good breakfast, FANTASTIC service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was a little slow, but when you're in such a nice location you don't really need wifi :)

    Excellent service! We arrived earlier than check-in time, but staff was very accommodating and allowed us to check-in whenever the rooms were ready! Good breakfast, we arrived late for breakfast but they accommodated to all our needs (more eggs, more coffee, etc)... everything with a smile.. which is rare in Venice! One of us forgot his phone in the hotel room, and when we went back to get it the Maitre was already at the door expecting us... he's fantastic! The location is great, and the building itself is full of charm... glad we stayed here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.3
    There is a nice garden, and the room cleanness is good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are quite a number of things that really frustrate us during our stay. First, the air-conditioning didn't work. The heating system didn't work. For the first three days, there was no hot water, we had to take shower with cold water in the midst of October. Everything, literally *everything* in the hotel room was old. We appreciate antique stuff, but, when you are visiting a country abroad, if things in your hotel room are unfunctional because of being old, then life becomes problematic and uneasy. We don't know how this hotel got this much ratings, it does not live up to its promises. On top of all these, the price is sooo expensive! Have been to much nicer hotels with half price than this one. Do not recommend this place to anyone at all!

    There is a nice garden, and the room cleanness is good. Other than than, not happy with this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    All in all a quiet getaway from the tourist madness of Venice proper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is full of antiques giving it a special character. The single room was small but comfortable with a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was excellent, dinner was ok. The beach (Lido) is nearby, but as I was out of season I did not use it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    It was a great place to relax and enjoy the quietness of the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite cold and the heater did not work. The closet in the room had bad smell that we could not hang our clothes.

    The garden was really beautiful and the interor design was also very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    A nice but cold stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of the room (not enough for a 4 stars superior) , very cold in September (no heating) and no Internet connexion in the room.

    The location, calm and close to the beautiful beaches of Lido. Good breakfast even if a good orange juice was missing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Overall we will go to the hotel again and be more alert to "specials".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Disappointment that the Auberge had no chairs or reserved place at the nearest beach. Also disappointed that the 10.- € boatride (offered by the manager) to Murano ended at the backdoor of a glass blowing plant where we were cajoled inside through the sales rooms instead of into the the streets of Murano. Advice: take the public boat to Murano.

    The whole athmosphere was absolutely relaxing. The daily boat trip to the old city was like going on a bus (but with fresh air)( buying a 7 day ticket paid off); coming back to the garden after a hot day sightseeing was like entering another world. A short dip into the lukewarm ocean satisfied the swimmer; then around eight dinner under the trees and winding down with a glass of whine. Almost like in the movie after the novel "Death in Venice" by Thomas Mann.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    It's the best place in the world!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's so beautifully decorated, the garden is like a paradise and the hotel is next to the beach. On top of that the staff is friendly and helpful and the food is great. It's the best place in the world and my favorite place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Hidden gem a short boad ride away of overcrowed Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    Albergo Quatro Fontana is a 10 min walk away from the boat pier on Venice Lido. We loved the quiet location a short boat ride away from overcrowed Venice. The room was super spacious and clean, and had all the amenities one could think of. The staff was super friendly and the breakfast was reasonbly good too. We would definitely recommend to come here if you are looking for a place away from the mass tourism.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Period "oasis"
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little..

    Peaceful, spacious and period "fin-de-siècle" large chalet style oasis that is surrounded by an Anglo-Italian style garden that is highlighted by dappled sunshine. The Alberto itself contains many rare and attractive curios, without appearing cluttered Friendly, attentive, professional staff providing first rate service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and great location for visiting Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it takes some time to understand the public transport - so at first we walked to the boat station...about 15mins...not too far but with high temperature in August, you want to avoid walking in the sun...rest of our stay we used the bus to get to the boat stop. The boat stop near the hotel is no longer in business. Although you can take (expensive) water taxi from here

    Beautiful hotel and at a great location. We came by car with the ferry (when you take the bridge the ferry is at Tronchetto) - and we all loved the car ferry and the trip to the lido - great way of starting our Venice trip. Lido is great place after visits to the main island of Venice. It is by regular boat 10mins away. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The hotel and rooms are beautiful decorated in a great old style...somewhat outdated but we love that style. All in a very green setting of the large garden. People are very kind and willing to help. Nice breakfast. Next time we will stay few days longer and enjoy the beach and relaxing scenery of the lido

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A hidden gem! Perfect location as a combination of beach and culture. Beautiful old-style family hotel. Great staff, and our boys (8 and 12) loved it. A real home away from home. We will definitely return. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay, very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay, very friendly staff!! Would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    We had some very nice days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location with a beautiful yard with old trees.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    hotel was very quirky but very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    dinner was excellent - staff very attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer pillows

    The "old world" atmosphere of the hotel. The surrounding grounds were pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This property is a pecie of art

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely nice and personal treatment. Furniture and decoration are unique. Wonderful atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Everything war good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything war good .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Quirky hote yet romantic l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea wasn't that good

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    My favorite place in the world
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My favorite place in the world

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.0
    Escape the hustle and bustle of Venice in relaxing Lido
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower. Bed lumpy and pillows hard. Intermittent wifi

    Breakfast served in lovely gardens. Quiet location away from the crowds of Venice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.5
    Nice area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long walk to Alilaguna

    Nice area. Nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place, close to hotspots, warm welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome and precious help for visiting the city of Venise

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.6
    Potential was high but experience was average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendlier response to requests

    Hot water and heard nf were poor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Romantic atmosphere close to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice atmosphere, delicious breakfast, close to the seaside and public transports (boats to Venice, 5 mins from San Marco's square)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Very nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator....

    Nice hotel, very classic. Service is very sweet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    2.5
    25% worth of the price they charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further they first withhold the payment. We cancelled booking with zero charge. With hold amount it yet recovered

    25% worth of the price they charged

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Wonderfully decorated old hotel, all the service you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfully decorated old hotel, all the service you need.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice balcony and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice balcony and good location. Bus is easy to use.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location is availble for retire, only staying, not good for discovery or shopping, because not easy to other islands when rainning, not availble for shopping

    good service!! nice garden, very good view, nice staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    6.3
    The place was spotlessly clean the waitress in the dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow service in resturant with some meals unavailable?? only expensive food avaiable moody receptionist The beach isnt private to thehotel and was closed ,no atmosphere in the whole place very old fashioned.basic bathroom but spotless.bed hard.

    The place was spotlessly clean the waitress in the dining room( older lady was really sweet)

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    10
    The charm of the hotel was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had drinks in the hotel bar and found the costs to be quite outrageous, the only negative as 14 Euro per drink was steep!

    The charm of the hotel was wonderful. A surprising oasis on Lido, relaxing and slow paced just minutes from Venice!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative is that there is no elevator so if you have trouble climbing stairs it could pose a problem.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in a very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in a very clean and comfortable room. the staff was very welcoming and helpful. special thanks to Mr. Masimo at the Reception who was friendly and helpful and gave us tips on the city of Venice and the places nearby we highly recommend this Hotel which is located in the Lido to everyone who plans to visit Venice.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    location on Lido was excellent after exhausting day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom a little tired. Hotel should mention the very convenient water taxi as we thought we would have to walk the 10 minutes to Vaparetti. Noise of bus outside our bedroom window.

    location on Lido was excellent after exhausting day sightseeing Venice. Walks on the beach. Drinks in the garden area. Spacious bedroom. Very surprised to find Water taxi just across the road for 7 euros return to St.Marks. Very convenient. Breakfast and dinner excellent value

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.6
    Spacious with a variety of seating areas, interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of bicycles for hire!

    Spacious with a variety of seating areas, interesting antique furniture and objets d'art, attractive garden, perfectly situated for the beach, pleasant family atmosphere, friendly and welcoming staff, quiet and peaceful

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    nostalgic, time travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I missed vegetables and fruits from the breakfast table

    nostalgic, time travel. Fine balance of amaezing collection of art pieces and lazy style. The architecture of the 3 houses reflects the history of venice.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.1
    The hotel is surrounded with beautiful gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We ordered a double bed but instead we were given a twin beds pushed together. Very annoying. Its was a good 15 minute walk to the marina to get the boat to Venice.

    The hotel is surrounded with beautiful gardens.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    8.3
    The location was excellent, removed from Venice tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Myself and my partner found a couple of issues with the bed; being two singles pushed together there was the "gap" down the middle and the bed was a little short for us - feet hanging out the end.

    The location was excellent, removed from Venice tourist crowds but a short water-bus ride across to the main district. Lido is also lovely for walks, scenery and coffee spots.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Location in normal residential area away from crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on first night had U/S airconditioning.Wewere offered a superior room at no extra cost for remainder of stay.

    Location in normal residential area away from crowds.Large room with elegant and useful furniture.Bathroom with proper bath and basin.SHEETS on bed,not a duvet to be seen!

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    8.8
    Good value for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Good value for the price. Very nice place, good food, very friendly personnel.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.5
    Loved the authenticity of the property and the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Facilities could be modernized.

    Loved the authenticity of the property and the service.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Love this location on the Lido!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Love this location on the Lido! Beautiful property! Loved the private boat and tour set up by hotel on Murano. Breakfast great!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was beautiful and quirky and close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly staff, nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experience, bathroom a little bit outdated but that's part of the charm.

    Great location, very friendly staff, nice garden.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Old style class .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old style class . Friendly staff but stuffy reception. Good breakfast and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    The hotel staff couldn't do enough for you without being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel staff couldn't do enough for you without being obtrusive, the hotel was beautiful and immaculately clean and the breakfast was lovely

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.7
    Ladies in the restaurant were very frindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Receptionists were very unfriendly. Rest of the staff was fine.

    Ladies in the restaurant were very frindly

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    Meals in the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Meals in the garden.peaceful,relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    room and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    low level of maintenance , lazy staff

    room and garden

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Location, ambience, service and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, ambience, service and garden

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    6.3
    Smell of room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smell of room

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and helpful staff..

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    Quirky, quiet and restful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quirky, quiet and restful surroundings.Gardens were lovely, staff very personable. Would definitely stay there againq

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Residenza d'Epoca Albergo Quattro Fontane traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: