Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Raphael – Relais & Châteaux 5 stars

Largo Febo 2, Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy

#189 of 965 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 865 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    A lovely boutique hotel in a very cool part of Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a boutique so it doesn't have a wealth of facilities, but where they have is excellent. It is great part of town to stay for a vacation or romantic getaway, not the most convenient for business.

    The Raphael is near good restaurants, shopping, nightlife and sights (PIazza Navona, the Pantheon, the TIber river and the good stuff on the other side). The staff are friendly and professional, the breakfast is very good. It felt like home-away-from home for a week.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful chilled luxury with amazing views of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hadn’t realised it was a vegetarian hotel . We didn’t mind and had a wonderful meal at the restaurant . We had to laugh as I’d booked it to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday and he is a butcher !!

    Location - roof top bar and restaurant amazimg .views great . We had a suite with a balcony and were welcomed with chilled Prosecco which I wasn’t expecting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Other than Roof Top service and size and structure layout of room, the hotel is gorgeous and lovely;
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The roof top restaurant service for bar, was almost non-existent; had to literally seek out waiter for service - even though waiter walked past us numerous times and ignored us. Folks are table beside us, also commented on poor service. The waiter finally explained that he was over assigned to different locations. The room was beautiful in it decor, but very small, dysfunctional in lay out, and disappointing for the over all nature, price and expectation of this distinctive hotel.

    the ambience overall; the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    An Ideal Location with good facilities and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Location and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was good but could have kept things topped up. It was understaffed in there but those ladies on duty were very good give the pressure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excellent pure Bella!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing no complaints

    This hotel was exactly what I wanted but more. Exceptional and right next to Piazza Navona --The staff was great --location of this hotel was perfect to walk anywhere and everywhere...I would stay here again and again, the room was grans--perfect...big and cozy...I had a view of the street which was fine for me....I give this hotel 5 stars---I am not a frou-frou person whom needs to be pampered but I felt like that had all the right things a hotel room should have..... Love love love!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our whole experience!! The Staff fmgave us 2 great dinner suggestions Made reservations Both were excellent!! They were super stars getting us taxis & helped recover a lost phone in a taxi It was awesome!! We’d definitely go back! & definitely recommend it to friends!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    A Gem of a Hotel in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast room was too small. On our first morning, there were two tables empty as we entered but they hadn't been reset or cleaned. I requested one to be cleared and the waitress brushed all the crumbs onto the floor and sat us down but brought no cutlery or napkin. I had to request these and was told just to take it off another table. Not really the 5 star service we are accustomed too

    We booked a suite and it was perfect for our stay. Staff were great and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Good size room and bathroom. Bed was exceptionally comfortable. WiFi was very good and all room amenities excellent. The roof top bar and restaurant was absolutely fantastic. Also, the location, just off Piazza Navona, is an ideal base.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    A better, bigger room would have made the whole experience a joy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little claustrophobic, but nothing missing that you needed.

    Great location, within reasonable distance of all places we wished to visit. Helpful staff, with check in and out very easy. Good breakfast selection, lovely rooftop bar, but a tad pricey to relax with a couple of beers each at the end of the day. Getting a taxi from the front door was a breeze.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful, and we loved looking at the picasso's in the glass case in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missed having a pool, and there were a few things that were just a little bit off (they didn't clean our cups and coffee tray one day, and one of the two showers water wouldn't get hot, but since we had 2 bathrooms it didn't matter. We never complained, we just used the other shower.)

    The location is fabulous, and the hotel is on the smaller side and beautiful. I missed having a pool, as I typically like to spend a half hour just chilling by the pool, but if you plan on being out all day touring, its not a big deal. The view from our room was nothing short of spectacular. Since they had rooms available, they upgraded us, which we appreciated, and they simply did not charge us for the mini bar, although we pointed out that we used it! Excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Wonderfull Hote!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, organic breakfast, staff to please you, they will do anything you ask. Don't hesitate to book it, highly recommend this hotel! We booked a deluxe room, beds are extremely comfortable, and bathrooms have a wonderful Bvlgary minis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Definitely not a 5 star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic curtain in the shower. Two single beds pushed together instead of queen size bed. The bed sheet were not laid with care so we have to pull it all the night.

    Breakfast Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    See c above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top dining experience in terms of createlive tasty food, ambience and friendly staff cannot be beat. It is one of the reasons I keep coming back to this lovely home away from home. I have already booked next year's trip. The breakfast quality is simply Superior. I recommended the Raphael to a friend of mine who stayed her recently and he conveyed the same thought to me while thanking me for the reference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Not up to Relais and Chateaux standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not up to Relais -Chateaux standards...it was just ok. Not as 'cozy" or elegant as most R&C hotels. More on the contemporary/modern side. Location was awesome.

    Great location. close to the Piazza Navona, but very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    We struggled with our small room which was expensive. Then they charged me extra for my husband, wh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was impossibly small. Table placed in front of closet door so you could not use the closet. Also, the charged me extra for my husband!

    Location is excellent. Private yet centrally located. A quiet corner amid the hustle and bustle of Rome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    A reasonable stay but I’d expect better from arelais and chateaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite was fairly small and an odd angle. Very long hall and tiny sitting area. Small bathroom. For the price it didn’t feeel very spacious . The view was of the side of another building.

    The location is very good. The roof top bar is lovely the restaurant is vegetarian only.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Staff was excellent. Breakfast was excellent. The suite was not as good as we anticipated. Would have preferred a couch. Room was worn. Overall the room was comfortable, but below the quality of our hotels in Milan and Florence. Noisy too, but thst comes with the excellent location. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would come back. You have some really good people working at your hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is near perfect. Just make sure that you get a suite. Do not miss breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the dinner menu is vegetarian. That concept does go over very well with most Texans...

    The best complimentary buffet breakfast experience in decades. Truly phenomenal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Not great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a king bed but they gave us two twin beds and had to change the mattress. Air conditioning did not work. The hotel is not a 5 star more like a 3.5 and should not be a part of Relais & Chateaux.The only good thing is location. Breakfast very poor -disgusting coffee and not much fresh fruit nor cereal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    It was an excellent stay and this my second time I stay in this hotel the fiosrt one was in 2013 or
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when I arrived the hotel I found myself in very small room and the toilet was really small and I cannot enter the toilet easy then I requested to change this room next day they changed to suite and I appreciate that

    the location, the services, the staff, room was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small. The €60/night they charge in advance for mini bar consumptions is ridiculous

    Breakfast was OK. Also the wifi. And location, location, location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant, highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Incredibly Excellent hotel, about everything was perfect. The location, staff - their helpfulness, friendliness, expertise. The food - unbelievable breakfast with biodynamic foods...The room.. Just amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Having stayed here many times before, we booked again, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having stayed here many times before, we booked again, but this time our room was very small and tight and although there were tea bags in the room and a kettle, there was no coffee and no milk. But we still enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Cleanlinesa: the fabrics at the room were not clean: I got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofas; beds; curtains should have been washed or vacuumed The breakfast buffet was good but egg chef was really bad

    Cleanlinesa: the fabrics at the room were not clean: I got very bad allergy attac staying 3 nights in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Location, Location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That we could not stay longer :)

    Excellent location, staff and just wonderful. Its a clean hotel located in the center of everything. 2nd time we stayed at this hotel and will stay again soon. The staff speaks multiple languages, the breakfast is nice, and rooms are clean and quite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Good access, good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are kept clean but not new. Small stairs on the same floor, so you have to walk up with big luggage

    Location is good. Very rare to access to main shopping area in oxford circus in 1minuites!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    the room was very comfortable especially the bed but also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the TV in the room

    the room was very comfortable especially the bed but also the bathroom was large, warm and luxurious. The staff were all excellent, they were professional, friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were excellent with a lovely choice of food and as much delicious coffee as you could want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Really nice location and lovely hotel but rooms are quite small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had some problems with temperature control in the room and noise outside the window. Also, pictures advertised on a website are probably different class rooms so my expectations for the room were much higher.

    We really liked the location and outside look of the hotel. The lobby was also stylish but rooms were very small and basic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Luxury and elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived an hour early and our room wasn't ready so the management suggested we wait in the roof top restaurant. We ordered coffee which came with little cookies. When it came time to pay we were informed it was free. A small but nice bonus! Breakfast buffet was wonderful. The presentation was high end. The old gentleman who acted as butler during breakfast was charming; he was right out of "Downton Abby". This hotel is not inexpensive but it was definitely worth the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    We were delighted with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Completely satisfied.

    Room was beautiful and spacious. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Nicely situated near Piazza Navona for wandering around and scaring up dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Over rated. Over Priced. Old Fashioned and would never recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel should not be rated five star. The room was old fashioned and not of any standard five star I have been in. The breakfast was shocking. Buffet was not stocked. The range like that one would find in a simple 3 star hotel

    The location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay. Liked being steps from Piazza Navona and close to other attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was cramped, difficult for two people to be in there at the same time. Our room was a modern design. Unusual configuration. Upstairs for bed, downstairs for everything else. Felt stark at night.

    Great location. Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Interesting art and decorations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect luxury hotel to enjoy Rome from with a fantastic rooftop bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was good but the curtains didn't seem to work so the room felt a little dark in the morning but that is a very minor point .

    Location and decor were first class and the cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff who recommended an amazing pizzeria nearby . The rooftop bar and restaurant were first class and the view was an amazing backdrop to relax and take in the city of Rome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice location everything was just adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have been more attentive. We do not feel that much thought was put into recommendations ( the ones given seemed like they receive a kickback from them vs. thoughtful input) . Small things were broken in the room. ( Shower head and blind) It just seemed like a large chain hotel that charged exorbitant fees for certain items such as laundry and minibar. The whole organic/ vegetarian theme comes off as pretentious. The bar/ resturaunt was unnecessarily expensive ($18 euro for a martini) and the view was just OK. All in all It was very serviceable nothing was glaringly bad but something about the attitude and general feel was off putting, particularly for the price.

    The location was great and everything was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little old man at breakfast buffet. He was literally showing up next to you and realigning things to look pristine before you're done, snatching up thongs and knifes from your hand, not kidding. Everyone else in staff, but him was great. Sure we want to keep our senior citizens in the workforce, but he was downright grumpy, as if I was invading his kitchen. Note:self service buffet had a veg juicer and a pomegrante press, which should't be there if guests are not allowed to touch it.

    The location is prime both for sightseeing and going out at night. Although they don't have any parking, they accomodated our car. We are very grateful for that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.0
    Beautiful hotel with high quality facilities and staff capacity. Location is excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion around airport transfer which left us stranded without connection. I felt this's Gould have been confirmed at time of request and not the day before arrival when I was in transit.

    Fabulous style and attention to detail. Superb location and attentive staff. Beautiful rooftop bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    not worth the money, the extra fees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beware! They "pad" the rate. We booked a deluxe double. What else would a double be for but two people? Yet they charged us a daily "extra person" fee of $55. That is understandable if you booked a single and squeezed two in it. But two in a deluxe double? It is inexcusable.

    great location, wonderful breakfasts, great staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Glorious,
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really.

    The staff were amazingly helpful, friendly and accommodating.The hotel was ideal location for wonderful restaurants within walking distance. The comfort of the room was great and I loved the bed.Breakfasts were amazing. I certainly didn't expect such a variety of healthy and delicious foods.Perfect for my diet restrictions due to allergies.We can hardly wait to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location but mediocre hotel at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to pass off a tiny room until I complained. Their definition of "suite " stretches the real meaning of suite, Not enough staff at breakfast and running out of food by 9am. The hotel has a hard time functioning when fully booked. The hotel wireless connection is very insecure and needs password protection protocols that are specific to each room. You have to follow up with the reservation/concierge on any request for a restaurant or car service. The follow up is not there. Some of the rooms are in absolute need of refurbishment and are showing wear and tear.

    They turn the AC off at 11pm and I had to complain so the manager wrote me a note and got on it. I was told by the staff that the 11pm cut off was a policy because of the change in seasons. Rome can be hot in September.. Also, some of the rooms are showing wear and tear.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Staff ok. Service very good. Hotel property itself lacking on many levels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no space which allowed you to relax Outside the hotel. The only outdoor space was the roof top bar and restaurant The breakfast room definitely needed a make over. Very dated , enclosed space. Our room was positively tiny, the bathroom is not use friendly. Very small and no shelves We have stayed at other Relais and Chateux properties and found them exquisite. We were extremely dissapointed with this property In Rome I would never recommend this property to anyone traveling to Rome

    Convenience being close to major historical sites Roof terrace for cocktails with beautiful views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Quality of Service & Comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit expensive but nothing else.

    Excellent position right next to Piazza Navona. Service by staff was top rate & room/suite was of the best quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Our stay was average as we were expecting more .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so old fashioned. The bathrooms need a re vamp . The hotel is in a good location but I was so disappointed as I was expecting more for €400 per night . The first room we had was at the front of the hotel and was really noisy at night . We were moved and the noise was better .

    The coffee and location were good .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful way to exper ience the authentic Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed electric adapters ...apparently they were all out.

    The artful ambience . This is what we look for. Unique decor and architecture. The personal touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing, terrible breakfast, not worthy of Relais Chateaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relais & Chateaux needs to re-evaluate this property—it is simply not up to R&C standards compared to other properties round the world! Called a day in advance re. help with booking tickets for a sightseeing destination. Spoke with "Valeria" who said she'd call back. 1 hour, no response. I called back, she asked for a detailed email of instructions. Provided email. 1 hour, still no callback. I called again to see if she could actually help; guess what, Valeria left! Person on phone clarified that I prob. wouldn't need advance tickets for where I wanted to go—I would've appreciated this info when I first called rather than wait around and waste time. Hilariously, I got an email and a call a day later telling me they'd need a CC authorization; too late, I already handled it myself! Breakfast I have no idea what people are thinking by rating this breakfast as "excellent." Travel much? It is abysmal. Lukewarm, re-heated bacon and sausage, disgusting eggs and totally manufactured cold muffins. Just entirely inedible and I ate about 2 bites before walking out. Check-in Check-in was rushed with indifferent front desk staff; another gentleman asked about wi-fi and the host literally said rudely, "As I told you before it is right there on your key card holder." Room Request a higher floor or book the modern rooms, otherwise you will get stuffed in a broom closet, or handicapped room on the 1st floor; I was moved to a higher floor room which was an interesting duplex-style with a lovely terrace, but then there was a dirty ashtray full of cigarette butts welcoming me! EW! Key didn't work on all occasions on attempted entry. Only redeeming factor was the night hotel desk manager (big glasses, didn't get his name). He was actually polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was spectacular, excellent food and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were cool and unwelcoming, what should have been a lovely meal on the roof terrace was spoilt by very average food and spectacularly inefficient staff. The bedroom was dated but fine, the bathroom was very dated and the toilet despite having been dressed up with a banner saying something to the effect of 'Iv been cleaned' had a pool of dried wee on the seat and a pubic hair... not a good start to the stay!!.

    Breakfast was spectacular, excellent food and wonderful selection. That's where the praise finishes....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Perfect Location for a short stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food/snacks on the rooftop weren't great. Also free water bottles in the rooms are glass, so just kind of a pain to carry around when touring.

    We received a free upgrade from a deluxe room to a large beautiful suite. The rooftop bar was lovely, nice views, great place to watch sunset and have a couple drinks. Location was the best, everything was within a 20min walk or 5 min taxi if you don't want to walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    A luxury minimoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A luxury hotel perfect for a honeymoon or a nice break away. Located at the back of Piazza Navona it is within walking distance of all main tourist spots. The hotel staff were fantastic and gave us a complimentary bottle of prosecco to celebrate! The suite was a great size with a huge bathroom. Room was cleaned everyday with a turn down service which was really nice. Will definitely go back to Rome and will stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.4
    Would return as good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very compact staff struggled with their English.

    The location so close to all major attractions and dining out there were so many options on our doorstep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave 😀

    Love this hotel! Excellent position, amazing organic food, rooftop restaurant views are spectacular. Staff will bend over backwards to accommodate the needs. Also a good size hotel, not too big and bustly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Amazing staff and great location make this the hotel to stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location was the reason I chose this hotel but the quality of the accomodation and the staff was amazing. The breakfast was excellent, rooms very comfortable and the staff super friendly and helpful. We had lost one of our bags on the way over to Rome and the staff were extremely helpful. They also stored out big bags for us while we are travelling around Italy. When I come back to Rome I won't be staying anywhere else. Fabulous hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful authentic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was very poor and the wifi didn't work in the room

    The hotel was very charming and authentic . It was in the best position . The outside of the building was covered in Ivy . It was really beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning should be more efficient. We booked a shuttle to the Fiumicino airport and was dirty, old and if bad air conditioning. We paid 110,00 euros for this shuttle, should be better.

    The location is fantastic. Excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Exceptional! A true Roman experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the fact that the hotel respect the guest individuality, making your time so pleasant. The hotel is Bio/organic and has lot of vegan/veggie options, including an amazing wine list menu. The terrace has one of the most beautiful views from Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Definite gem for price -- will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seagulls!! Hitchcock! They are the rooftop bandits and wait to swoop down upon your table on the rooftop. We had a very brazen gull perch on our umbrella, then unbelievably swoped down onto the rail and ate our appetizers as we sat at our cozy bistro table -- yikes! The staff looked horrified but also said they are an issue -- hmmmm. Seems that they could do something to stop them. Apps not replaced, asked at front desk and had our cocktails comped. Oh well ...

    Excellent hotel staff, very attentive and helpful, from desk to breakfast to bar (however, see seagull story). Upper bar area affords great views of Rome. Helped us out with our last minute car rental snafu as we were leaving. Comfortable beds, room very clean, great bathroom (in an suite style room). Location central to everything -- we walked almost everywhere ( we like to walk) to see all the main sites. Lovely breakfast room and offerings. Taxi stand just around corner from hotel. Highly recommend for price point.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great Rome Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    Staff very good. I could not plug in my laptop without an adapter. Front desk found one immediately. Can't say enough about the staff, they always rose to the occasion. Location was excellent, very central to most major features of Rome. Located in old section of Rome with narrow streets and restaurants everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Charm and elegance near one of the most beautiful place on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast offering could be improved. It is rather average. Also TV channels are not really OK for French speakers, and I guess for other international customers. But you are not in Rome to look at the TV anyway...

    The hotel is really close to Piazza Navona, one of the most beautiful squares in the world. The rooms are modern, well furbished and provide all the comfort one could expect from a Relais&Châteaux

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in the a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were given was a two level room with steep stairs, which we really did not like. Luckily the staff was kind enough to transfer us to another room.

    The location can't be beat and the hotel staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Rooms way to small and the bathroom separation does not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms way to small and the bathroom separation does not provide noice privacy. I believe the hotel Has location location location going for. Breakfast is good, staff Is ok not great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.7
    People serving breakfast were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking a Relais & Chateau I have come to expect top notch everything, and this does not fall in that category. Hotel wasn't great at making recommendations for food and said they reserved me a table for Sunday night and turns out the place was closed. For a R&C I'm surprised it is designated as such.

    People serving breakfast were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Great location, great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    upon arrival we got a room which did not at all meet our expectations and which did not correspond to our booking. after the first night we were offered a fabulous room, and we enjoyed our stay thanks to the very professional management of the situation. Thanks to Mrs Rita, a great front desk manager!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    2.9
    Wonderful place to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Richard Meier Executive Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv is a little okd and small for being so fsr away from the bed. Remote control forbtv did not work too good

    Elegance, service, staff, breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    An elegant hotel worth the visit - you won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive but then again the hotel is in Rome where everything is expensive. Terrace was not used for breakfast.

    Absolute top class hotel. Superb quality. All the rooms are different. Had extensive English International TV channels for news including Fox News. Quiet. Some of the best beds I have ever slept on. Breakfast wonderful. Staff very helpful. Could not fault the location. Wonderful terrace for dinner but not for breakfast. Overall a very elegant hotel well worth the visit for a special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    THe hotel is beautiful and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Staff were helpful and professional and the service was excellent. We stayed for 5 nights at the start of our vacation and returned for 2 nights at the end. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast included with wide selection of food. Staff very helpful. Location couldn't be better with all attractions reachable on foot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    The best part was the location as it is so central and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel were quite dated. Breakfast was very basic and unappealing.

    The best part was the location as it is so central and easy to get around to all the sights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Good Hotel but watch out for overcharging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our problem was despite a DAILY B&B rate of 514€ quoted by booking.com and this being confirmed by the Hotel at check in, however we were only charged that rate for one night. The other 4 nights we were charged 631€ so we were left feeling let down by the Hotel and Booking.com

    The staff were excellent and professional. The location is perfect for exploring Rome on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Unforgettable Romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, location, location. Major sites within easy walking distance. Lively Navona square on your doorstep, great restaurants around and overall excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly helpful staff - Room was tired looking and in need of refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the room required updating, the furniture was quite tatty and worn. We had a deluxe room which was quite small and bathroom extremely small. There was tea/coffee facilities, although no coffee or milk in room. We requested this and was told we needed to buy coffee as part of room service, if we requested it in room and we had to buy our own milk from supermarket. Breakfast was mediocre for a five star hotel.

    Excellent location and very helpful friendly staff. We were very grateful to receive a bottle of bubbly as celebrating our wedding anniversary, lovely touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    The location is excellent, the staff is helpful, the food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, the staff is helpful, the food and the view from the roof top restaurant are amazing. I had great time in this small and cozy place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Très decevant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Level of services and lack of any anticipation of resident needs, especially for a 5 stars L Niveau de service et absence total d'anticipation des besoins clients surtout en consideration d'un 5 étoiles L

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with very personable staff. Excellent breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked A/C in the room to be working.

    Bed very comfortable. Excellent location easy walking distance to most things and public transport. Staff couldnt do enough and the views from the roor top bar were wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Great Hotel and Best Kept Secret in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel is not close to a metro station. (That being said, the hotel will always call a taxi, plus a taxi stand is 100 meters away.) Their pricing for gelato, espresso and cappuccino at their rooftop bar is extremely high for the area.

    The hotel is charming, has an outstanding location and makes use of a limited space in each room by including luxury amenities. When we mentioned that the room was too hot they met our needs by sending up a fan and opened our window daily. They sent up ice when requested and were friendly all the time! Service and food at breakfast was outstanding! Room was immaculate, comfortable and had fabulous views from the rooftop. I would highly recommend this property!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Good location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant upstairs lacking of ambiance, maybe good in summer when you can eat outside on terrasse but not in winter They are offering you complimentary water but they did not remplace the bottle the consecutive days they even put the " complimentary tag" on the empty bottles not really good for a 5 stars hotel

    Great location Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in great location - very stylish interior and decoration
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself was extremely hot as air conditioning is turned off. Free wifi was good but could not sustain a good quality FaceTime call. Maybe a little expensive, but I guess you get what you pay for.

    Great hotel, styling and location - good staff, nice breakfast. My room was immaculate in terms of style and comfort and even featured a small terrace. Great terrace with views over the city rooftops to the great Rome landmarks

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    4.6
    past glamour
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    run down, no heating, no blankets, furniture used looking, permanently asked for room number, do it yourself breakfast etc...pp not worth that 5th star!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    Short stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better 'In House' restaurant would have been great. There was a very pricey vegetarian restaurant, not very well attended. Breakfast was served downstairs , in a room with no windows: It would be perfect to have breakfast on the roof, with views over Rome.

    When we checked in we were offered tea or coffee. We were made to feel very welcome. The Hotels location is great.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: