Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Al Senato

Corsia Agonale 10, Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy

#2299 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 B&B reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a room that was not a room we had booked, but I had only heard from the boss that I had to call him directly and the boss did not pick up the phone and text all day. Even in our room we had to listen to the shocking words that the two teams had made more reservations. I did not go to the junior terrace room I chose and got a room right in front of the second floor reception. Anyway, they wanted to pay for the room price they had originally booked, so the conversation was getting higher, but I was able to solve the difficulty of traveling for two days on the staff's note that I had to see the solution only through the boss or the booking.com. The room I stayed in was right in front of the second floor reception, and next to the kitchen. Room is not soundproof enough to hear everything the staff is talking on, and the wooden floor is old and sounding. The hotel did not apologize to anyone and treated me in a very imposing manner. I will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was pretty average - not much selection. Bed was hard and there was only 1 pillow per person. It was difficult to get additional pillows although we eventually did

    The location was really good, lots of things to do and see near by. Breakfast was pretty average except the croissants which were delicious and flaky. Plenty of places to eat nearby although prices on the Plaza were quite high. Cheaper food and drink can be found a few streets away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classed as a B&B but really an apartment Had to pay 20 euros for an ‘out of hours’ check in - so read the small print My suggestion is get a key box

    Great location and great sized room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude when we went to leave, after booking late checkout he reluctantly let us keep our bags in the building- putting them in the corridor (unsafe) and demanding money for the late check in, then getting cross when I used card to pay. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows were pretty useless.

    The room was quiet and we were not disturbed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signs of the hotel and it was tricky to find it.

    Very good Located in the city center near pantheon and directly on Navona. A lot of restaurants nearby but was not noisy in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 - 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a bad drain smell in the foyer and the breakfast room. Our room, the Senato, was one of 5 rooms in an apartment on the third floor. The room was small and not the size stated in our reservation. The owner agreed but didn't do anything about it. Entry to the room was up a step and the en-suite was on a different level to the sleeping area which we had to be wary of through the night. The storage space was totally inadequate for a weeks stay. There was no hanging rail for clothes, only 5 pegs in a quaint old but musty smelling wardrobe. The large drawer in the base of the wardrobe didn't open. There was only one old chair in the room which you couldn't sit on but was needed to prop the wardrobe doors shut. (photographs taken). We expected an outside terrace area but there was only a ten foot by ten foot area on the roof with one small grubby plastic table and one old plastic chair and no shade whatsoever. Access to the terrace was via someone else's private area which felt awkward. There wasn't a fridge in the room as expected and although there was access to a fridge in the breakfast room, the one time we used it our water was gone when we went to get it. We expected tea/coffee making in our room but we could only get coffee made by owner at breakfast as he locked the coffee maker for the rest of the day. There was a kettle for making tea in the breakfast room but only four cups left out to service the five rooms in the apartment so if other guests were using the cups you had to do without. The photographs on the website are misleading. I complained to the owner instantly when he showed us to our room and let him see our reservation paperwork. He agreed that we weren't getting what our reservation stated and just shrugged when I said I would be making a complaint to booking.com at the end of our trip. As we couldn't do anything about it we decided to not let it ruin our holiday and just make the most of it.

    The location was great. It's very central for getting around. The room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication prior to arrival about how to find the entrance and get suitcases from the street to that entrance. Staff seemed to consist of one person who was very helpful and attentive but seemed to be around only in the morning. Had NO information about how to contact him during the rest of the day. The kitchen was well equipped but the stove was difficult to light and the sloped roof made it very difficult to function (I am 5ft 6in and hit my head several times).

    The apartment was very comfortable, with plenty of room for 4 people. The location was perfect... Within walking distance of many sights and on one of the most interesting and lively pizzas on Rome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had No hot water for 4 days ..were told we had to wait for water to heat up between showers in a family room !!!! Surprise surprise when we demanded a discount we got hot water

    Beautiful setting good restaurant nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 - 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to find and when we arrived they didn't have record of our reservation even though I had a booking.com confirmation number and PIN. However, after an hour delay and some confusion they were able to accommodate us and we were very pleased with the result.

    The rooftop terrace was amazing! What a treat to sit up there and watch the sunset, looking down on Piazza Navona.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unbelievable location! We were able to see all the major sights within a 25 minute walk, and the Pantheon was *literally* 2 minutes away. Our room was beautiful and very modern - very luxurious bathroom. We were very comfortable. The friendly, accommodating staff is what really made this a 10/10 though. We arrived early and our room was not ready yet, but they made us coffee and offered us some pastries and let us store our bags for an hour while they finished getting the room ready. They gave us a building key so we could walk around for a bit while we waited. They were always available to answer any questions and were extremely friendly. We even arranged our checkout the night before we left because we had an early tour at the Coliseum. Would definitely stay here again! 10/10.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no chairs in the room but we just took the basic room.

    Position position position. Staff were excellent, especially Newton. Modern bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in my room. I had to sit on the floor by the door to get internet. In the morning in the breakfast room the sink was full of dirty plates. The place is understaffed

    The location and Me. Newton the butler in charge.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a hotel. There are about six rooms on a floor of a building. Make sure you know where you are going as a taxi cannot drop you at the front door.

    Good sized bedroom and bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is clean and staff cleans everyday. The furnitures are old, but cleaned and tidy up. The bed with 2 adults and 1 little kid are totally fine.

    The staff is very nice and kind even he is not talking too much. The breakfast is simple but it is healthy. It is opposite the senator, therefore, it is safe. It is quite with these busy location. Lots of restaurants and bars surrounding. You can just walk to the everywhere and not far. Everything is so good. I would like to stay next time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all amazing! If you want to stay in the heart of Rome, clean rooms, kind stuff and safety, Relais Al Senato is a perfect choise! I'll come back. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were hard.

    Good location off Piazza Novona. Newton (the manager) was very helpful with direction, questions and queries. We had a large room for 3 adults. Big bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room (1 - 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dirt under the bed. It isn't clean. The broiches in breakfast wasn't fresh. Barely little choices to eat. You enter an apartment which smells dreadfully you have to hold your breath every time you go in. Then you have to go up two floors expecting an hotel where you see an apartment with a few small rooms.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took quite a while for the concierge - who was very nice - to get there. Also no-one around at night to ask anything.

    The rooftop room was fantastic. Brilliant views of Piazza Navona.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation excellente. Calme

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small bar fridge would help.

    Excellent location. Building had a lift. Kind staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Great bathroom. Super location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast is really very poor

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe access during day for a tea or coffee

    Like home Just what we needed before heading off to shop and sightsee

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to leave.

    It gave me the feeling that we were living in Rome on the Piazza Navona.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spoty wifi in our room wished for softer pillows

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, right on the Piazza Navona, was amazing. Easy walking distance to just about everything. The room was exquisite with a view of the Piazza and the Senate! A delicious breakfast was available every morning. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive to all our needs. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Rome. We cannot wait to go back here!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noise outside rooms in foyer area slight problem if there is late check in. There is access to a shared fridge.. Would stay there again.

    We ( 2 adults and one teenager) stayed in April in a quad room which was very comfortable but would have been a squeeze for 4 . Room is smaller than it appears in photo but bed very comfortable and room clean. We thought breakfast would not be enough but it was good.. Nice fruit and Newton makes the best cups of tea and coffee ! A bonus ! Thanks Newton .. Gets tired travellers ready to hit the streets .. Location is great

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint....the hot water was a little inconsistent

    Recently renovated bathrooms....the largest in Roma :-) Newton was a very gracious host! The cappuccino was great too

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You might be just a little too close to all the action. I'm being picky. Plaza Narvona is very busy from midday on and it can be a bit of a zoo.

    Central to all of historic Rome. Absolutely great Windows for keeping out sound. Breakfast was good enough.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The location (@Piazza Navona)! Walking distance to everywhere: the Vatican City, Pantheon, Colosseum, Forum, Trevi fountain, Spagna, etc. About 10mins by taxi from Roma Termini. Room is spacious and clean with beautiful view of the Senato building. Hearty breakfast with good coffee. If you are bored with the breakfast (limited variety), you can walk for about 4 to 5 mins to La Casa Del Caffe Al Pantheon (Via Degli Orfani - Roma Pantheon) for an awesome coffee and pastries (and they are inexepensive)!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi didn't work in room. Bathroom sinks would not drain Door would not close unless it was locked Beds were uncomfortable and squweeked every time I turned.

    Location was perfect

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is very good, although you have to agree and check somebody is at reception to pick up the keys. It is not very well signalled, actually it is more of an Apart Hotel rather than hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owner is not nice or helpful. Shower was awful, water was going everywhere else except coming down. Breakfast too basic

    Amazing location, couldn't be more centric. In piazza navona and 2 minutes from the pantheon, you can walk everywhere and you have many nice restaurants around. Room was clean and tidy, nice beds.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    The convenience of the location was fabulous. The rooms were clean and the staff wonderful. Especially Newton. He was accommodating and pleasant and helpful in every way. The rates were very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast is quite bare. You have to ask for a yoghurt which is kept in fridge.

    Location is superb. Main sites are within walking distance. Room was comfortable .

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were a group of 10 and the manager would not come in a half an hour early so we can have breakfast- even though we paid for it or even leave a few items out for us, it was very hot and the a/c worked initially but we felt very warm the longer we stayed in the room

    excellent location, great big modern bathrooms, thankfully a lift, great value

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    More pillows in room would of been good

    Lift to hotel from lobby to hotel with heavy luggage was great. Location was perfect with piazza downstairs and room was very clean. Breakfast was a great European breakfast with friendly staff with good English.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not accessible by taxis, need to drag your own luggage along the street, hard to find and difficult to enter. The one person staff cold and unpleasant. When paying you get a surprise, The taxes need to be pain in cash only, not by card and by that time your exchanged money may be getting sort. And not foretold.

    General location good.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location! Step out of your hotel, and you are right in the main plaza. Don't eat on the main square. Instead, travel down the small streets for some of the best restaurants ever! This is the second time we have stayed here.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Being next to the square, it was a bit noisy. The wifi was horrible, and we were unable to connect reliably.

    Just feet from Navona square, it was an ideal location in the heart of activity.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything !! Great location, fancy and quite (only a few rooms)

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Our flight was to depart very late, we were able to keep the room with no extra charge .

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location for exploring Roma on foot, couldn´t be better.Staff was very helpful. Clean room with large bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak wifi

    Location, very clean

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no meat for breakfast and any else bakery. Only croissant, jam and nutella. Its good foods, but not every day

    Location was extremly good

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception during limited hours only. No work desk.

    Clean spacious room and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and wonderful welcome and assistance from Newton. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location Staff was very helpful Quiet Everything we needed for a day stop in Rome

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best location. Friendly staff helped me out lots.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Location was at the center of the Piazza Navona. We had a quad for our family with two teens. They had their own beds. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the street. no room for bicycle in the building, poor breakfast.

    location, nice building

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location and very helpful manager

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, breakfast, staff

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast and plenty of restaurants and shops in the area.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Relais Al Senato traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: