Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Cappuccina 4 stars

Località Cappuccina 46/A, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#42 of 43 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1287 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.4
    The view on San Gimignano towers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception desk is not welcoming at all. Rooms size are Ok but their design and furniture are far from internet pictures and 4 stars standards Last but nos least, the restaurant is the worst part of the resort. Staff is disappointing, not professional at all ( I.e you order a Chianti Classico or riser a and they serve you a standard Chianti without notifying you). The food do not have any taste (frozen ingredients, the worst experience of our 10 days in Tuscany). The dining room does not have any atmosphere (no music, design from the 90’s, only half of the dinning room was enlightened).

    The view on San Gimignano towers.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    3.8
    Keep walking...or driving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a sad place in that it could be nice but it falls short in many areas. It is run down, not stylish and it has an odd ambience. The restaurant was very understaffed and the poor waiter was run off his feet. The food was the worst we have had in Italy. The seafood risotto was inedible. The massage was mediocre and expensive. The heated pool and sauna were nice but the Turkish bath was just a shower stall. The beds were lumpy and old and pillows needed to be replaced probably 5 years ago. The room was heavily deodorized and reeked like perfumed cleaning products. We will not go back but suggest if you try it walk or taxi to town for dinner rather than risk the food.

    The heated pool and sauna were nice but we had to pay for the use and spent only about 30 minutes in there. Not really worth it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.8
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old, the WIFI didn't work. we asked to change the room when we arrived, was told by the guy at the reception that they are fully booked for our 3 nights stay. later that evening we asked another staff member at the reception to switch a room - was told it's not a problem at all. next day we got a different room. the WIFI was a bit better there because of the closeness to the reception. The breakfast was ok, same as any hotel in Italy. Room was clean, the bed was very uncomfortable. The free parking was wonderful

    Clean. nice view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice large room, decent breakfast selection, good views and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like that we weren’t able to order any food after 2pm (having just driven from Rome we were starving and keen for a snack).

    Nice large room, decent breakfast selection, good views and lovely pool area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Great stay - restaurant staff needs improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the restaurant appeared to be very arrogant, unattentive and not really willing to wait on anyone apart from one large American party. I waited in front of the bar serveral times and with three staff and was ignored for about 2-3 minutes each time (although no other guests in the restaurant at this time). The food however, once served, was very nice.

    Great hotel in a very nice location near San Gimignano with a stunning view from the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.5
    Even with the poorer points we did enjoy our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's still no wi fi in most parts of the hotel and beds are still quite hard, also the menu is the same as June last year.

    Location. We've been there 3 times so know what to expect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Good location, don't expect a resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had was not good at all, the bed was very old and super hard, my wife actually ended up going to the massage therapist in Florence to get her shoulder put back in. The bathroom door broken, the shower head in the shower is broken. We could hear the staff talking in reception from our room. There is no food at the pool from 2;30 - 7:00pm, but the pool closes at 7:30pm for dinner??? The drinks that are available are very very basic. beer and wine.

    great location, near the town, girls at from counter were super nice and helpful, great english

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location but unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and waiters weren't very friendly. Seemed like the restaurant was quite under-staffed so they were quite stressed and rushed through things. Also in the photos it shows an indoor pool but you can only use it if you pay €10 each time.

    Amazing views! Facilities were good overall, nice pool area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Good base and nice pool, but some improvement areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be mixed. I had an extremely helpful receptionist assist me one evening with various queries who was very pleasant. On the other hand, my partner and I experienced an extremely miserable waitress a few times which made lunch an overall unpleasant experience. Not great given it’s quite expensive (about €6 for bruschetta and €9 for soup). Also, the bread basket always had stale bread in it. A bit lacklustre. The hotel is just about walking distance from San Gimignano town but it’s a sketchy walk with no walkway for part of the journey meaning you have to walk at the side of the road. This is most problematic as you approach the big roundabout, but also late at night when there is no lighting and speeding drivers on the road. Walking is not advisable for anyone with children. My biggest qualm with the walk is that the hotel doesn’t warn you about it and staff will tell you that the journey is about 15 mins when it’s more like 20-25 mins (my partner and I are both in our 20s and fast walkers). It’s worth noting that there are some semi infrequent buses which are only €1 pp and take you in to town in a matter of minutes, but you’ve still got a 5 minute walk on the road/ roundabout so again it’s a little bit dangerous. It’s also worth checking the timetable/ google maps for the last bus back, as it’s about 9pm. Taxis are extortionate which I accept isn’t the hotels fault but it factors in to your decision about hotel location. Overall, the hotel is quite expensive for what it is. I would advise spending a bit more on something a bit nearer to the town.

    The pool area is nice and relaxing with a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside and San Gimignano town on a hill in the distance. The room is basic but more or less clean and comfortable. There is a balcony overlooking the countryside with a table and 2 chairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Very restful start to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really just the spa as extra

    It was peaceful and restful Interesting taste in art Tasteful decor Beautiful spa but perhaps not having an extra charge for actual staying guests at the spa might be possible ?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Awesome swimming pool with breathtaking views of San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome swimming pool with breathtaking views of San Gimignano, nice breakfast area, unfortunately there are not too many dinner tables outdoors so unless you reserved your table a lot in advance it's almost impossible to have dinner right next to the swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Pool was good and room nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was terrible especially in the restaurant. Choice was very limited. This place could be fab but staff really let it down.

    Pool was good and room nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Tuscany views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The servers in the pool area were not very friendly. The beds were uncomfortable and the mattress and pillows need to be replaced.

    The location was about a 5 minute drive to San Gimignano, an hour from Siena , hour to Florence , hour to outlet shopping. May be best if you have a vehicle here as there is free parking and it is too far from anywhere to walk. The views are spectacular. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Stunning location great pool and limited but tasty good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a refurb as rooms looking dated and beds not comfy although spotlessly clean. One restaurant staff member with an awful attitude let them down being argumentative about where you could and couldn’t eat evening meal which in that location with such a perfect setting almost ruined a special moment. It’s also a taxi or fairly dodgy ‘no footpath’ walk into the incredible San Gimignano if you’ve no car. Taxi rips you off at €15 for a 5 minute ride. Just for info

    Stunning location great pool and limited but tasty good value menu

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Grea location and fine considering we didn't spend long in the rooms as we were out most of the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedrooms were very worn and dated. The bathroom was very tight. The people in the restaurant weren't particularly friendly and although the food at lunch was 'OK' the breakfast was terrible. The view off our terrace was over the countryside but immediately outside the room was rubbish and tools.

    The views were very good. The girl on reception was also very helpful. Parking was also easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished we could have stayed longer than 1 night ! Oops !

    Superb location, very clean, spacious room, very relaxing stay, breakfast was excellent, pool fab,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Unfriendly staff at the reception almost annoyed when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff at the reception almost annoyed when we showed up. Wellcome is not in their vocabulary. Same in the restaurant at the poolside. All in all, we had the feeling of being in their way....they we’re just fed up with guests at their hotel...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Big room with good aircondition and the cleaning was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not match the room we booked and payed for. Did not get any compensation. This is what we booked: bright and elegant junior suites, all newly built. Cozy loft with private terrace and stunning views over the medieval village of San Gimignano. The picture shows what we got....

    Big room with good aircondition and the cleaning was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size , bathroom size and no coffee and tea machine

    The rooms are very small and good balcony size . There was one small wardrope . There was no tea / coffee machine . Bathroom is also very small and uncomfortable . We stayed in a city view room but there was hardly any room . Location is good , 3 mns from the centre . Breakfast was good with nice view .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Not too bad - some staff were great - others not so muchh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff seemed obsessed about making a reservation for dinner - there were PLENTY of tables from 7.30-9.30 when we were there. Why make a fuss if you have tables to spare?- in a small agriturismo, fair enough but in a secent sized hotel? Recepton staff were great

    Facilties were good - lovely pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at breakfast started shouting at us for sitting on the wrong side of the breakfast hall. We also weren't allowed to sit outside and enjoy the view for breakfast. The rooms need a SERIOUS MAKE OVER. Really ugly color walls and curtains that look like they come from your grandmas house.

    The breakfast was amazing. Great variety! The walk from San Gimignano to the hotel is pretty (but I wouldn't recommend it if you don't like walking - as it takes 30 min). Beautiful view from the country side rooms. The reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Not worth it. You can do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant hours and menu isn't the best. Poor communication with staff to guests. Didn't notify us of breakfast time so we missed it. Key cards only work for a day then you need a new one. The staff at the restaurant are not friendly. Not many people at the resort, very quiet. Spa only had one person giving massages so couldn't book couples at the same time.

    The junior suite was a great size. View from the room is amazing. Location to the wineries is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable, luxurious and affordable stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    I loved this place. We went in the low season and it was very quiet. The staff would do anything for you, the spa was amazing, with such great facilities, and at great value. We were given bathrobes and slippers as part of the price. The view from our balcony was wonderful. The room was cleaned every day, and the mini bar restocked. They even ran us into town and back for no charge, and let us borrow a brolly. The breakfast buffet was delicious and varied, and very continental. I would go back here in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking was made because it had air conditioning. When we arrived the room was at least 30C and when we tried to cool it down with the AC nothing happened. When asked the reception to help we were told it was not allowed to be used at this time of year. So we booked under a false impression. The hotel also blamed booking.com by saying there was no room to say only AC in certain months. Finally after much “discussion” got an ancient fan which helped a bit. But we still had 2 days of discomfort

    Easy access to San Giminano

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    The view over the city of San Gimignano is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is not the best, you should avoid it if possible to take the dinner there. The breakfast was really good.

    The view over the city of San Gimignano is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.4
    Great location but poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though we booked the hotel seeing the swimming pool and nice location, to enter the swimming pool each time it costed double digit euros even for children. To use all facilities need additional payment. No coffeemaker or similar in the room even though it is a 4 star hotel (Actually in my view it is more a 3 star). Poor wifi.

    The room we had was big , perfect for a family of 4. Breakfast was OK and the location was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is beautiful and comfortable but local cuisine is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and comfortable but local cuisine is not good enough in comparison with local restaurants. Food is pricey too, so do not hesitate and go for food to other place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    The room was quite nice, nothing special, it had also a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little bit dated.

    The room was quite nice, nothing special, it had also a balcony, but there was no view. The bed was not so comfy. The breakfast was ok. But the location is really great with fantastic view of San Giminiano. Ok for one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and the room was infested with mosquitoes

    The location was good. Views were wonderful. Pool was fantastic... we wished it was a bit warmer so we could go in!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a beautiful room. Clean room as well as bathroom and toilet. The hotel is very nice and well maintained. The staff is great, courteous, helpful in every request and welcoming. Breakfast is excellent with a large selection of items.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    Avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I’m surprised this place has the guts to call itself a 4-star hotel. The sink in our room was clogged and there was no warm water. You can get it only if you open the tap and let it run for 15 minutes (not kidding). I’m pretty sure that a “4-star” hotel can afford to put a boiler in a room. And probably they could’ve noticed that the sink is clogged if they would care. Spa center looks very dated, jacuzzi is half broken (only a few of the water streams work), showers again have only cold water (I didn’t wait for 15 minutes there so you might get lucky if you do). Avoid this place, there are plenty of options in the neighborhood.

    The location is great as always in Tuscany, breakfast was good as well. Staff is nice. Free parking on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Hotel staff is very polite and the rooms are clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is uncomfortable. Poor choice for breakfast. This hotel is not value for money, it is not 4 star hotel.

    Hotel staff is very polite and the rooms are clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.6
    The look out tot San Gimignano.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is located 1 km outside from San Gimignano. The main picture here on booking.com isn't the Hotel. The original Hotel is located behind the it alien villa. Its is a modern building and quite boring. Wifi isn't available in every room how described on booking.com. There was a strange smell in some areas of the Hotel, maybe it comes from the spa area. The spa area was very dark. And you have to pay for it separately. The railing of the whirl pool was at one end broken. I was wondering about it because it is a source of accidents. The only restaurant was very loud and very crowded,I didn't get a seat there and the staff seems to be overloaded. The offered dishes were cooked to serve masses of tourists. I didn't eat there but went to the city.

    The look out tot San Gimignano.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel for a Tuscany break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I booked into the Cappuccina because I was going to a wedding in San Gimignano and the hotel was ideally located for my needs. I was one of a large group of family and friends staying at the Cappuccina and we all said how impressed we were with the hotel. The location to SG, the friendly staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general were all very good. We all enjoyed the very good breakfast, use of the pool area and the wonderful panoramic views of the surrounding area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no option to drink coffee on the lobby... nearest coffee shop is a driving distance. It would be nice if there was a shuttle to San gimingiano.

    Really nice hotel, beautiful view. Warm and cozy. HUGE room (junior suite) just like in pictures. Nice breakfast and comfortable parking. Just two minutes to San gimingiano.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in an isolated location transport wise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No transport to town which means you cannot drink and drive - we discovered there are no taxi firms servicing this town and the hotel whilst it has a mini van didn't offer it to us at any stage. We met other clients who did mange to get the hotel to drop them to the town but couldn't get a return trip as " the driver had gone home" meant they had to walk the dangerous 3 kilometres back...

    Lovely setting of the outdoor pool also excellent in door pool , steam room etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location, beautiful facility but seemed under managed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a disappointment. The service was well below what you would expect. As guests we were made to feel bad because we didn't have reservation even though no one informed us it was required. Unfortunately the service was poor and the food was less than adequate

    We loved the location. The view and the pool area. It was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful views from the rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I really didn't like was that at breakfast there was not a lot of fresh fruit, only apples and apricots. All the rest was canned, seemed out of place for a hotel of this category. The rest of the buffet was good though.

    Beautiful views from the rooms! The people were great. Excellent indications to help us visit the surrounding areas. Parking is easy and free. Good location: very close to San Gimignano, close to Siena... We also used the pool area in the morning which was a nice plus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Not sure if we would return as a good water quality and friendly staff are important..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stayed several days and during 2 days the colour of the water of the swimming pool was completely green and dirty.. Afterwards during 2 days the technical staff was running around all day pooring tablets and fluids directly in the side of the swimming pool instead of in the filter systems.. Much too much cleaning products hurting the eyes of us and our kids and giving red skin problems... When reporting this to the staff in a friendly way during check-out they pretty much gave the feeling they do not care and the hotel will be full anyway.. They just ignored it more or less..

    Good value for money, nice views from the swimming pool terras and nice location (Car needed!). The rooms are cleaned very good every day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Address online does not relate to the property so very difficult to find!!

    We visited the area at a very busy time of the year (August) and the hotel was very busy too. Our room was not ideal but it was comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to use the wifi and the pool after we checked out, which was very kind of them. The breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    This hotel has a great location and view, but if you are looking for comfort I wouldnt stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were horrible. I could feel the springs on my back. My wife had to add blankets underneath the bedding to make it a little more comfortable. I explained the situation and they told me that they would look into making it more comfortable and they never did over 3 nights. I had to almost beg to keep the A/C on during the day when its was 45 degrees outside. WIFI was weak and spotty.

    The only good thing was the location and the view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    We extreamly enjoy from our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very kind!when we arrived we had an issue with the room location and the staff was very kind and find a great solution for us:) The hotel is 5 min driving from the center and the view was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The menu options for dinner were limited and didn't seem to change which was why we only ate there twice out of five nights

    The view from our replacement room was simply magnificent across the rolling Tuscan landscape

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Hotel in a quiet, beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) With temps soaring over 30 degrees during our time here (July), it would be great if the Hotel offering sheltered parking spaces as the car park area is particularly exposed,e.g some planting or Pergolas with some covering over. 2) Please update your electrical sockets in bedrooms so that there is access to at least 1 USB outlet. This will allow for easy charging of mobile phones or other devices that require charging up.

    The hotel has beautiful views all round.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    2.5
    Everything was so bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so bad. The girl who was working at reception on 2th Augustu was bad humor. Nobody help with the luggage. The worst experience on our trip .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Clean hotel with great view of San Gimignano but be prepared for a 20 minute uphill walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get a sun bed as there were about 3 times as many guests as there were sunbeds. The breakfast staff never spoke and the girl who worked at the bar didn't like having to put her phone down to serve anyone.

    The hotel was very clean and some of the reception staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice like everytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant has Same Card since 3 years, so boaring for longer stays. Could be bit better the meals

    Nice Location, feels like being at Holiday at once and like hime

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Lovely spot in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water is really random and goes hot and cold. This happened in both rooms we had. The wifi is not very good.

    This property is in a great location. It is very quiet and the black out curtains work a treat. Beds are really comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice Place to be - good lacated to visit most important places at Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing... close to perfect.

    The hotel is close to San Gimignano, the room is clean well sized and comfortable. Breakfast Buffet with everything you need, cafe, juce, water, and all other things you could immagin. The staff is friendly, helpful and well organized. We travel arround, stay four days and visited Voltera, Siena, Florence and every evening San Gimignano.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Stunning views and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, this was perfect, will book again for longer stay.

    Beautiful setting, the staff were lovely and really helpful. Eat in the restaurant in the evening around the pool, great food and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.2
    Smelly surage st Relais Cappucina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not sleep for 3 nights due to foul ,discussing smell of surage coming through the air conditioning at night so had to put it off overnight .This was a known problem in our room and they still booked guests there . Apart from one receptionist and some domestic staff the staff at the hotel were miserable and unhelpful . I will never stay st a relais hotel again .

    Pool good ,beautiful views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Tuscan luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of options for dinner. Dinning is lovely formal setting under the stars, but expensive and fair. Mattress is only thing we found wanting. We would definitely recommend and return.

    Property was most lovely with our room and terrace overlooking Tuscan hillside. A beautiful pool area with bar access. Towels and linens are premium quality. The location was fantastic for exploring nearby area, ei Siena, Volterra, Chianti etc etc. Breakfast buffet offers many choices. fresh fruits, bacon, eggs, breads, pastries, cheeses, meats. We did not use spa facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no electric kettle or tea/coffee in the room. The bathroom was very small. 1 day we had no bath towels, only hand towels. This wasn't discovered until after I'd had my shower! However they were brought straight up from reception when I called. Not much in the way of extras, e.g. Toiletries. Only the basics, shower gel and soap I think. Breakfast was pretty average! Lots of food, but all quite unhealthy, cakes and sugary cereals, ham & cheese, unappealing bacon and eggs. There was fruit, but it looked very old. The man who worked at breakfast was very miserable and unhelpful, I always had to clear a table myself if I wanted to sit outside, as it didn't seem to get done until the end of breakfast time. This place had many good points, but it was very overpriced for what we got.

    The room was very big, the balcony was great, and the view was awesome. The bed was huge. The reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice place to day trip from. You definitely need transportation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location exaggerated on website. Stated 10 minute walk to San Gimignano; far from truth. Perhaps 10 minutes by scooter. Solid 30 + minutes in 90 degree heat, to the entrance of the city. Dinner on the property was marginal; opt to go inside the walls many excellent restaurants to choose from.

    Nice clean rooms & courteous staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was not friendly. The breakfast finishes at 10 am, but after 9.30 am some items are not replaced. We asked for the items but staff was not welcomed. The bed is uncomfortable.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    2.9
    Very disappointed stay; not matching at all the 4 star rating of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks old, the rooms were dirty (we found 2 cockroachs), there was no internet inside the room ( we needed to go at the room door to get a connection; even in the restaurant no internet); We took a shower late at night after a long day visiting san gimignano, well there was just a thin line of water coming out of the shower and no hot water! I was really disappointed, since i chose this hotel from the reviews on booking.com; i think photos were also misleading.

    Nothing related to the hotel which is supposed to be a 4 star hotel The only good thing was the view but it is not exclusive to this relais since all the hotels in san gimignano have the great view of tuscany

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Enjoyed every moment of our stay. Staff super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle and coffee/tea amenities in the room.

    The staff were nice,friendly and helpful. The hotel has a "family feeling"to it, but everything is super professional. I paid a little extra for the room with a country view and it was worth every cent. Hotel has a very nice spa. Prices are very fair. We initially booked 2 nights but extended to 2 additional nights. The location is perfect. Walk-able distance to the center of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    3.3
    Restaurant is a pitty, definitively not at the Level...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is a pitty, definitively not at the Level expected for a 4 stars Hotel It looks that the restaurant is more appropriated for group travelling with low-cost charter. I ordered Traditional Pasta, and really felt that even supermarket PASTA BOX much be better. Such a shame and unrespectfull of Toscana Spirit. Hopefully, Toscana is offrering so many beautyfull others places, to foreget this So bad and unrespectfull experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were thousands of tiny red spiders on the balcony so we could not sit outside after paying for a room with a balcony and when we complained we were told by the receptionist it is natural. The room was extremely noisy the next door neighbours were playing their music so loud in the middle of the night. We were told we had to walk to San Girmignano it was not far and there was not parking closer. Well it was really far and we were so tired when we got there as it was uphill and we are not so young anymore. The place could offer a shuttle to San Girmignano as by the time you go to it you were too tired to walk around. Also we noticed that there was parking closer to the city.

    The view was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Everything you need .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everythink was good. Big rooms,comfortabe beds,handy fridge in a room. Buffet for a breakfast, you could eat as much as you wanted,everything was tasty. Short distance to San Gimignano,beautifull views. Very happy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Convenient and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was inadequate and we needed to use it near reception or in the breakfast room. We were not able to access it adequately in our room. Otherwise everything was fine.

    The hotel was in a quiet excellent location overlooking San Gimignano. The view at night with the sunset over the valley was stunning. The verandah had a table and chairs which was very pleasant in the afternoon. The staff were all great and very helpful. The room was well appointed and exceptionally clean. The house staff were very pleasant. The wifi in the room was hopeless. It was fine at reception and in the breakfast room. The included breakfast was extensive and adequate. The sauna and heated pool was a welcome relief after walking the town. The property is large and quite easy to get around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Awesome medieval town and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a spa hotel but no robes or slipped were provided...

    Great location with a view of San Gimignano. Indoor and outdoor pool, plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    good location to explore Tuscany area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surcharge of 25€ per couple per day for spa was inconvenience and it was not on our budget since it wad not mentioned anywhere on your web page prior to my reservation.

    the view were wonderful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance fee of the spa is not making any sense. Just to high, should be included in visit.

    Fantastic location, great pool and good size rooms. Lot of parking near hotel and very close to the historic centre San Gimignano.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.8
    It was a beautifully view from restorant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room was a strange sound that is created in the installation It was also very loud heating and the smell of chlorine can be felt everywhere

    It was a beautifully view from restorant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    view to the town of san Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view to the town of san Gimignano

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Just lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need bigger shower stall

    Beautiful resort Huge rooms Provide all amenities Excellent breakfast Large pool;plenty of parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Staff were helpful and rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs some upgrade

    Staff were helpful and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    No milk in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk in the room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed. Restaurant felt institutional.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    Not 4 star, no where near 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Country View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 4 star, no where near 4 star

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place Perfect view Welcome staff to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing place Perfect view Welcome staff to help

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    decent accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    basically everything ok, but rooms could be renovated little bit, especially bathroom.

    nice location, good breakfast, profesional staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    The view at San Gimignano was great, the room was spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be more comftable.

    The view at San Gimignano was great, the room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: