Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Casabella

Via Tiro A Segno 6, 74015 Martina Franca, Italy

#5 of 17 hotels in Martina Franca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    couldn't sleep because of leaking gas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a terrible leak of gas we just couldn't stay in the room (4 people, same opinion). I told the owners but they thought it was my nose! Impossible to breath.

    Breakfast was really good, more than what we expected! Rooms are very nice and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a lovely place to stay. Everywhere is very clean and tidy and the grounds are beautifully maintained, with lots of interesting trees and plants. The pool, particularly, is a good size to swim in and there are plenty of places to sit or sunbathe. The people who run the place are also all really friendly and helpful. Martina Franca is one of the nicest places we visited in Puglia - felt much less 'touristy' than some of places nearer the coast and much better looked after as a town. Lots of choice of places to eat too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely relaxing afternoon , no other guests so felt like our private pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms whilst perfectly clean and comfortable do need updating A 25 minute walk up to the Storio Centro

    Lovely pool area and very friendly hosts Very comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very Italian. A lot of sweet things to eat. No eggs, cheese or bacon. It did not bother us, but this might be an issue for other visitors.

    Perfect location if you have a car. Martina Franca is at 1,5 km and a great city to visit and to have dinner. Casabella has a very nice swimming pool. Nice rooms and very clean. Very friendly people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautifully kept B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Better info when we arrived such as where breakfast is served, where are the supermarkets etc. A private outdoor space would have been appreciated too, but we did have lots of indoor space instead It was obviously our own problem that we didn't speak much Italian, so communication was hard with the owners who don't speak much English

    Pool clean and large, with some shade. Large apartment which kept cool without the need to use a/c. Nice to have some home-made cake at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Very nice and clean apartments close to Martina France
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not think of anything which could have been better. This is a perfect place to stay if you intend to visit Martina Franca, Alberobello and the surrounding area.

    The apartments are very nicely furnished and everything was very clean. The pool is big and clean and our son enjoyed it thoroughly during our two-night -stay. The owners are very nice, an elderly couple and they live in a separate house on the same plot. They don't speak any english, but we were able to manage. Their adult son (?) apparently lives close and speaks english, he did come to take care of our check-out. The place is a 2-3 minutes drive from the closest shops and restaurants in Martina Franca, perhaps 1-2 kilometers. Martina Franca has a lovely old town which is perhaps 5 minutes drive without traffic, but it is very difficult to get a parking spot, at least during a weekend evening. If you don't have a car the apartments are a bit too far if you intend to visit the old town often.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Pool great, room great, breakfast great (homemade sweets and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Split Level (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should speak Italian or French, than it is easier to communicate with the very friendly host family.

    Pool great, room great, breakfast great (homemade sweets and jam!) and Martina Franca in walking distance. We rented some bikes, they were brought to and collected at the house.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.5
    RELAXING RELAIS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Split Level (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't say there was anything to really dislike. Being out of season the pool was empty, but we were the only guests. Breakfast was at best average and my wife found the bed a bit hard. Communication was difficult given our equally limited linguistic abilities, while town is a car ride away.

    Relatively easy to find (with sat-nav) and excellent on-site parking. The first-floor room was spacious with additional beds (useful storage) in mezzanine area. The owner was very accommodating providing in-room kettle with tea selection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.9
    It was a beautiful location with lovely gardens and a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Split Level (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was basic,even by Italian standards. We did ask for and received omelettes and cheese on our second day. But on the third day, due to some misunderstanding by the owner, the omelettes were sitting almost stone-cold on our breakfast table. Fortunately, the owner decided to waive the extra cost of the omelettes. Another issue was that the owner did not speak a word of English---but used Google translate on her smartphone to conduct a conversation---which was frustrating to say the least!

    It was a beautiful location with lovely gardens and a pool. Our room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, nice location, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Split Level (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, nice location, quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Very relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Split Level (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beautiful grounds, lovely room and terrace and superb swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    B&B with a fab pool and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Split Level (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of variety for breakfast would have been nice.

    Comfortable room. Lovely pool and gardens. Nice people. Home baked cake and home made jams.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful self-catering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely peaceful setting, very friendly and helpful owners. Very spacious apartment with quality furnishings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.9
    We had a warm welcome and the facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not as easy to walk into Martina Franca as we expected. The breakfasts were adequate.

    We had a warm welcome and the facilities were good---although we did not use the pool nor the tennis court.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    Everything has been great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything has been great. Lovely, large, clean room with wide bathroom. Very enjoyable private terrace. Beautifull garden with tennis court and large swimming pool... what you need more to enjoy you stay?

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave. my wife was susceptible to mosquito bites but a quick walk into town to the chemist for some repelant and it was sorted. Some of the Items we bought from the Chemist we found in the supermarket for less, but that was our mistake really. I would take Mosquito repellent with you and maybe a cream of some sort if you do get bitten to cool the skin. the Sun cream is cheaper in the supermarket than it is at home so one less thing to carry.

    Everything! It was like heaven on earth, we went to relax and sunbathe and we did it in spades. The B&B and its beautifully landscaped grounds were so tranquil. The large swimming pool was superb. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from it all and just recover from any stress they may have built up over time. I felt like a new person when I left. I can't fault the place it was perfect. Our hosts were so, so helpful even giving us a lift into the town on the first night for dinner. The restaurant was not open for another 45 minutes and so we just walked around for a while even though they offered to take us back to the B&B until it opened. There is reference to the language barrier, I speak little to no Italian and we had no issues, I loved trying to communicate with them, I didn't feel stupid I got the the impression they appreciated me trying to speak Italian. Im not so sure I was very successful, but I gave it a go and we seemed to get everything we were trying to ask for! The town was beautiful, especially the historic area. everyone was so friendly, the food delicious and the weather fantastico!! We have read some reviews on here complaining about the breakfast, but as has been said before, that is what they eat for breakfast there. If you want English fry ups every morning then go to a commercialised part of Europe like Benidorm. "when in Rome" as they say, or in this case "when in Martina Franca". We chose not to have the breakfast so we could get up when we liked, but ate exactly the same stuff we would have had if we had gone downstairs. Im quite sure if we had asked they would have accommodated us, but we just wanted to do our own thing in our own time. There was a small fridge in our room, we just emptied it, went to the supermarket and put milk, ham, cheese, water etc in there. We took some tea bags with us and some sugar.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.9
    The hotel owner and his wife are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All in all, I don't think Relais Casabella deserves a 10, as the owner clearly and repeatedly reminds you to rate his hotel when you leave. It is nice, but I would not call it excellent. We hoped to be able to walk to town. I guess it is possible, but we didn't dare. You have to walk a road that is so small, a car couldn't pass you. After the small road, the area doesn't look very appealing until you reach the city centre, with stray dogs along the road. So we always took the car. The appartement we stayed is nice, but a bit dark. I did love to have our own espresso machine. Furniture is nice, but not special. Breakfast was ok but not special either.

    The hotel owner and his wife are very friendly. Even though our Italian is extremely limited and their english is very limited too, they always did their best to ask how you are doing. The accommodation looks like it is relatively new. Nice pool with sunbeds, tennis court and the rooms are fine too.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    The accomadation was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accomadation was very good. Lovely to have a pool which was a decent size. Modern tennis courts, but at 34 degrees it's too hot to play. We sat out on the balcony one evening and ate. The owner was very helpful. A typical italian. Lovely freshly cooked cake.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    The location is great for visiting all the interesting towns...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only minor issue is that while the relais is within walking distance of the edge of Martina Franca ,down a dangerous road to walk,it is about 2-km from the the old part of town and you need to drive. However,we found parking close to the centre easy.

    The location is great for visiting all the interesting towns in the area.area. Martina Franca is beautiful and is worth a couple of days alone. the relais has a wonderful large,deep pool which is great after a day of sightseeing in the heat.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.5
    Situated 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ghe owner did not speak a word in english, so we had a hard time trying to understand him. Although was friendly. There are no restaurants around so you must use a car every time you leave the hotel. Breakfast was so so.

    Situated 1.5 km from the historical center in a lovely green spot outside of town. The room was nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Excellent compound , secure, swimming pool, tennis courts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nil

    Excellent compound , secure, swimming pool, tennis courts, lovely rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Very peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very peaceful location.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    I didn't have a car and Rogero gave me a ride to and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't have a car and Rogero gave me a ride to and from the town. Lovely people and place.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: