Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Corte Cavalli 4 stars

Strada Peschiera 73/2, 46040 Ponti Sul Mincio, Italy

#5 of 13 hotels in Ponti Sul Mincio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff ok but otherwise getting any sort of service was impossible. Drastically over priced. We stayed for two nights on our way to Venice and then two nights back again. Lots of noise from room above on first stay so mentioned it. We were given the same room on the way back so asked if there were people above again or if we could change room, we were shown room 101 and agreed to stay there. Avoid this room! Air con is controlled by reception, at first it was stifling hot and then eventually about 2am it was freezing, at which stage I couldn't call reception to turn it down as would wake my husband! Awful shower, super uncomfortable bed :-( Very dark and dingy room, loads of cobwebs! Second night we went back to room 401, which had no one above so should have been quiet. We were then told there was a wedding there that evening, cue loud music, loud voices etc into the night. They should have contacted us to say there would be a wedding so we could choose whether to go elsewhere. The restaurant is worse than average, we ate there first night, don't bother! Breakfast is ok but not what you'd expect from a 4 star property, all food covered in flies. For £180 per night I would expect at least some water in the room. Nothing! The pool looked fine but we didn't use the spa so can't comment on that. This place is in a lovely location but I'm afraid there's little else to recommend it unless you get an amazing price! I would not recommend to uk travellers.

    Lovely location and beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find something to complain about, the only annoying thing in the room was having lamps to switch on and off and not one switch! Very minor problem though!

    Fabulous and relaxing holiday. Great location for a mix of exploring Lake Garda and surroundings or just relaxing by the pool. The staff were fantastic and made us feel at home as we arrived very late in the evening. The was a card and wine to celebrate my partners birthday which was a lovely touch. There was always plenty of room by the pool and in the courtyard for a drink at night. The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic and meant we didn't have to travel for dinner every night. All in all, a fantastic holiday and a great hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place which offers a very good breakfast. We also ate at the restaurant and it wasn't so expensive and the food was very tasty.the size of the portions were good too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the tranquility was great, there was a €14 taxi ride to the nearest town, more if one wanted to venture further - fairly expensive if one is without a car. The bed was a little too hard for our tastes and the air con wasn't the quietest. Plus the shower door was broken.

    Tranquil location, great service, fantastic pool, so quiet and very relaxing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar rarely had a member of staff behind it, and you would have to locate one to get service

    Fantastic setting, beautiful countryside, close to lake Garda, good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that the town was a€10-12 taxi fare every time you wanted to go down to it, It's a good location if you have your own car. We rented bikes from the hotel and were refunded the cost on our return but in 32/33 degree heat it was an arduous cycle especially as it was more uphill on the way back.it was also awkward that you had to have €50 cash per bike to rent it and have the cost returned later especially as there were no atm machines in the seclusion of the hotel.

    The receptionists and waiters/ bar staff were pleasant and helpful. The setting is very picturesque and tranquil. An excellent place to relax and chill out. The bedroom was clean and nicely furnished in a rustic style. The pool was good and the spa facilities were an added bonus as they were built in to the price.The seafood on the menu was the highlight. Lobster was very good value at €18 and the waiting staff were very professional and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi Fi is poor so you wouldn't want to be relying on it. Signal drops in and out and isn't always available in the bedroom nor by the pool. Best place is in reception area or behind reception.

    We loved the setting & location. It's very scenic set in amongst the vineyard and very tastefully restored, particularly the outside area. It's a good 10 drive to Peschari & 20/25 min drive to Sirmione which we feel is a magical place & well worth visiting. It was too hot to visit Verona & Venice but doable. We availed of the free bikes & cycled through beautiful countryside to the markets in Peschari. The swimming pool was lovely as it wasn't that busy & pool bar handy for snacks & lunch. The breakfast was ample, providing for a variety of tastes including gluten & wheat intolerance. The receptionist was very helpful when we asked for information but be specific and ask questions. Overall, I found Italians don't volunteer additional information or suggestions. We only ate in the restaurant twice in the 7 nights and we were happy enough given the price was reasonable. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend it if you don't mind driving to the lake. We were there first week in July so on the cusp of high season. We booked 2 classic rooms which had a small outside seating area & we were located near the spa. One may prefer the original house & it's features but we were happy enough.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car was broken into on the hotel car park. On reporting to the local police they told it was a regular occurance. No one from the management team contacted us to check if we were ok. There was no where to secure the car which now had a broken window. We were very much left to our own devices.

    Certain members of staff were fantastic especially waiting staff Incredible location a really quiet retreat

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and setting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Limited wine list. Poor coffee from a machine.

    Comfort, food and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great landscape. The Spa was beautiful, we particularly liked the chromatic and perfumed showers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real hidden gem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exquisite old property with modern facilities. Lots of atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everething was OK

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 grumpy waiter

    Excellent all round, beautiful setting, great pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and service is excellent!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect surroundings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, fantastic food & value for money - thoroughly recommend

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    splendid accommodation, perfect cousine

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is not good, bread are dried, cereales are packed and you have to do your own coffee. The room was a bit too small.

    The hotel iteself is beautiful, the restaurant is excellent for a very good price and spa&pool are nice as well.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like. Really.

    Everything, as always. When we want absolute peace, quiet and relaxation, we come to Corte Cavalli. We stop here every chance we get. Rooms are very comfortable, even the more basic ones, but if you can, go for the suite. The best sleep we ever got in a hotel, and when you wake up in the morning it's to the sight of rabbits jumping about the vineyards:-) Breakfast is excellent and in-house restaurant is really really good, especially for the seafood. Even though this place is just minutes away from Peschiera, we usually opt to stay on the property all the time.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While good proximity to the A4 highway and to Peschiera deal Garde, is a bit difficult to find.

    Magnificent setting and views,beautiful conversion of farm buildings into a first class hotel, excellent restaurant, lovely grounds

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and as we were in the area booked again. This time thought the room was tired, and the food in the restaurant wasn't as good as we remembered.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    we needed more precise orientation to find it, just a recomendation - to put more visible signs on the road, as we found it a litle bit ...difficult. everything else is without any remarks.

    the place is just amazing - romantic, green , silent, comfortable, the style is kept authentic and chic.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of flies because it is near riding stables.

    We came back a second time because everything was so good. I it a great place to act as a base for riding bikes.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food could have been better. Dinner was well presented & wine excellent but the food was very bland. At breakfast the scrambled eggs had egg shells in them.

    Beautiful location and grounds. Room and bathroom were very spacious. Staff was very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection needs loads of marketing info to complete the registration, maybe for 3rd party companies etc. Options were to connect with facebook or recieve a code via mobile phone sms.... A simple password connection type would be what I would expect. Quite important because phone signal not good. I do not want marketing companies to have either of these things and so I did not even connect.

    Everything great except for one thing. Staff were perfect, breakfast amazing.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible wifi. If you are going to use it , forget about it, I could hardly even check my mail. It makes you not so happy when your activities rely on internet connection.

    Very polite and nice staff, clean pool, great restaurant, the whole hotel is very beautiful, old renovated buildings . It all looks very posh and charming

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    35c temperatures, poor air-conditioning in our room, tv and minibar kept fusing. Two and a half hours to serve two courses of poor quality food, though my partnered said hers was ok Rock band playing loudly all during out meal and continued under our room until late so unable to sleep, if this is your thing ok if not best avoid this hotel.We stayed on a saturday night.

    At first this hotel appears to have everything going for it. A perfect location, lovely gardens a traditional country property,

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The potential is not fulfilled. Parts of the property look somewhat neglected. The service is rather disappointing. Only towels for one person where provided in our double room. Asking for more, we were told to come pick them up ourselves at the reception. Cobwebs in the corners of the room. Extremely weak internet connection, which was not working at all much of the time.

    Beautiful location with a lot of potential.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom faucets look good, but they are unfortunately mounted too high, so I hit my head several times while washing my face. Double showers, really?

    This classical countryside estate is simply amazing. It is large, and situated smack in the middle of vineyards. Pool looked nice but unfortunately I didn't get the chance to test it:-( The restaurant is also very nice. Chef's hands must be very big though, since portions were quite on the large side. Not a bad thing when the food is as good as it was. Our room (luxury double room) was on the ground floor overlooking the yard and it was very spacious. Room was clean, beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I olny did not like that I stayed only 3 nights (instead of longer)

    the quiet location, the generous corte, the good food, the atmosphere - very famliar

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This resort is set in beautiful countryside surrounded by fields of wheat and maize The pool is stunning and the rooms a generous size. Bikes are available and a cycle path nearby. Sirmione is fifteen minutes away and Peschiera five minutes This is a resort that provides the opportunity for you to escape the maddening crowd yet Lake Garda is right on your doorstep. My favourite place in five weeks of travelling

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    indoor pool is too small

    the place, dinner and the green..

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They should warn the clients when a venue like a large wedding will be happening on our arrival dates!! what a first night!!!!! awful!

    very little!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely place for relaxing

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi arrangement is 3rd World. Calling the front desk for air conditioning is a first for me.

    Space.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    air condition did not work well

    Beautiful hotel. Peaceful location away from all the hussle around Garda.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant location and staff= nothing too much trouble stayed in 2014 and wanted to come back in 2015 for a longer stay- did not disappoint super

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Group

    No wifi connexion. I've asked for without result.

    Hotel dog friendly wich is very nice and in a beautiful landscape.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Relais Corte Cavalli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: