Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Del Castello Di Oviglio 4 stars

Via XXIV Maggio 1, 15026 Oviglio, Italy

#1 of 2 hotels in Oviglio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 93 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd have to say the staff. The woman who 'greeted' us was cold and not forthcoming. No niceties, no 'welcome and please enjoy your stay'...we had to ask everything i.e. Where the restaurant was, what time breakfast was to be served, how to access the wifi. One male staff member was friendlier and more helpful, which was appreciated. Actually, it was just that one woman really. Maybe she was having a bad day? It makes a big difference to ones impression of a place though!

    It was a castle! We only stayed one night - as a novelty stay at the end of a trip thru Northern Italy. We had 2 rooms - one suite and one standard - between 5 of us. Both rooms were very spacious with modern bathrooms. The included breakfast was great. We also chose to eat there for dinner, and had a very nice meal with great service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not very clean. There were cub webs everywhere. Either they were getting ready for Halloween for the past year or they just don't care to clean them. The window sill was full of dead lady bugs and beetles. Same with the bathroom floor. They seem to clean the middle of the room but the corners don't get cleaned at all. Breakfast was typical pork and sugar. 2 different kinds of cold cuts were way too salty. Overall it lacked character and can use some TLC and updating.

    The room and bathroom were pretty large, we opened the window at night and got allot of very fresh air. The reception was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not as expected. On the third floor (with lift to access), the room was massive with small windows but not pleasant and badly lit. When we asked to be moved we were only offered another, again, large room but with two flights of stairs to access. A wedding was planned for the following day and they clearly didn't want to use the type of rooms we actually booked, even though not fully booked on the night we stayed. Dinner was in a restaurant in the cellar and was awful.

    The location was very pleasant, set in its own grounds with secure parking and in a pleasant village setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not expected as Booking .com had not informed the hotel so bad mark for you but full marks to the hotel for being so accommodating.

    We could not have been made more welcome , even though we were the only guests we had a good meal in the restaurant and an amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location in the middle of nowhere around beautiful fields. It is a real 13 century castle, we were staying in a suite. The suit was huge, beautiful view as we stayed at the top floor of the building. While slightly old and shabby the furnishings kept the original look and feel and when you are there you can't avoid feeling that you are a in a fairytale.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the restaurant to have a little more light though the cave did have a lot of atmosphere.

    We adored the ambience and kindness of staff. Everyone we came in contact with seemed to want to make us as comfortable as possible which was much appreciated as we had arrived by bike

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing breakfast though scrambled eggs were wonderful. The rooms were large and palatial but the decor was disjointed.

    Beautiful building steeped in history. Food was good but slow. They were gearing up for a huge wedding and I think this would be a perfect place for such an event. Lovely amuse bouche/canapés to start the dinner. Haute cuisine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything's perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful and wonderful hotel. Free upgraded the room, excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast

    old fashioned charm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    for rental traveler it is a wonderful choice to stay. A great sound and surrounding makes the feel of vacation brilliant!!! The staff are professional, nice and helpful, we feel to be queen...

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food at the restaurant was not great for the prices that they were charging. The service was excellent though.

    Great location and a beautiful old castle.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have liked a choice of seasonal fruit at breakfast - e.g. peaches and apricots Also choice of bread at breakfast was very limited Would have liked more garden furniture to relax in

    Peaceful and quiet Friendly staff lovely bathroom

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Focus is entirely on the next wedding being held. Wedding preparations and debris everywhere. Breakfast poor.

    Staff - although there weren't many there.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Since it had been converted to reception and wedding usage the castle had lost its medieval flavor and ambiance.

    Easy to find, cordial staff. Rooms were large with excellent showers, etc.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room, lovely old property, attentive staff, good food.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow service at dinner probably due to there being a wedding celebration at the same time

    Wonderful location

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great setting, excellent friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was as hard as a board, the pillows were like bricks, the air conditioning sounded like a jumbo jet.

    The bathroom

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    when there is no light from the outside the room too dark ' impossible to read a book

    room , good beds' attentive and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The overall atmosphere of the hotel, the genuine castle experience, the exquisite service, the dinner and breakfast, the surroundings.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Browse Relais Del Castello Di Oviglio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: