Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Il Casale

Via Briffi 22, 17020 Tovo San Giacomo, Italy

#4 of 5 hotels in Tovo San Giacomo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would love some wine glasses in the kitchen.

    The apartment was very spacious and private. further, the Jacuzzi was wonderful for relaxing at night. Oh, yeah! I loved the sauna, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds were a little untidy in places. Hotel reception was as bit strange, could have been beautiful, felt like a real family run eastablishment rather than a sleek operation. It could be amazing. My wife and children ate lunch in the buffet one day and were decidedly unimpressed.

    Great 2 bed appartment/chalet, which was a perfect location and base in the mountains to explore the beaches and countryside. A lovely heated pool with lots of spa jets. Fantastic building and position on the mountainside. We would go back again for another stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would be great if there were mosquito nets.

    The terrace of the house was gated which is great if you have little kids. The staff was friendly. Local fruits from the garden is a nice perk. We could order daily fresh bread. The view is outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi connection is a bit slow. The lunch buffet was rather expensive and not great.

    Very spacious villa with a large terrace and a superb view! There a many facilities and the staff is friendly. Only a 10 minute drive to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'Luxury Villa with hardwood parquet flooring' that we booked was more like the peasants quarters with cheap laminate. The dishwasher was broken and didn't work for the duration of the holiday. The very small TV didn't work for the first few days. The bathrooms had wires hanging out of the walls. The furniture was very dated, and was definitely more shabby than chic! The sofa in our bedroom was hideous and torn. There was no oven in the kitchen as per the description, and the selection of crockery, utensils etc was basic to say the least. When we arrived there was a dirty sock on our bedroom floor from a previous guest. There was also a drawing pin on the floor, and in the children's room there were toenails and a dead bug under the cupboard (nice!). After walking bare foot in the room for a few minutes our feet were black! It was very dirty. We were also very disappointed when we arrived as we booked this hotel with breakfast included, and when we got there we were informed that this was an additional cost of €40 per day for our family of 4. We also had to pay an extra €49 for the final clean which was another unexpected cost. Overall it was very overpriced (£200 per night) for the poor quality of the accommodation. The hotels marketing materials show some fantastic photo's of the place, and the rooms look nice on the photo's. When you get there however the reality is very different, my goodness they had a good photographer! See my photo's!!!

    The pool is excellent, the views are beautiful and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room came with a kitchenette that had a fridge that didn't cool very well, only two out of four stoves worked and even though you should be able to cook a meal there the kitchen is missing a lot of essentials like a cutting board. I had picked the hotel because of the kitchen option and the pool area so we very happy that at least one was just as we had hoped but the kitchen problems did dampen our stay a little bit.

    The view from our balcony was wonderful and we loved eating our breakfast there. The pool area was also lovely and very relaxing. We didn't try their treatments or food since we drove our rental car most days exploring the Italian riviera but we liked our stay at the hotel even for the problem with the kitchen. Would recommend if not only for the view and the pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Children pool is not a real pool, raised from ground and 120 cm. deep. Does not work well. Food options are limited and quite expensive, would be nice with more selection and possibly a small mini market with fresh fruit, milk etc for all the villas.

    View, villa design and settings. Spacious and functional, good space for a family.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast buffet was sufficient, the pools and the spa was okay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room: strange, no curtains to speak of and way to much light from the outdoor spotlights

    The outdoorpool was heated. Breakfast/lunch

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel went a bit long in the tooth. Pool opening hours like in a recreation home.

    Beautiful view. Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is located in the mountains about 7 kms from beach. Excellent facilities and pretty good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Delicious breakfast with lot of variety of homemade cakes, honey, jam, ham and cheese. Comfy beds. Staff very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside turkish bath not working very well

    Extremely gentle staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast spread was mediocre. Room in hotel was warm & loud (minibar).

    Pool and sauna were nice. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing to add

    Location, landscape, comfort, parking, owner and employees very amiable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The church bells waking us up early each morning! (not a big deal at all and can't be helped ... )

    The lovely pool area with amazing views, plus the relaxing, peaceful feel around the place.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not like the photos on the website Very dated! No wifi in bedrooms Poor and pricey breakfast

    Views were great Food at dinner was tasty and well presented

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful view from the terrace. Clean. There are all the necessary equipment to prepare meals.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great swimming pools.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everyone so polite, helpful, friendly, fantastic masseur, great villa, beautiful setting, relaxing perfect stay, will go again

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: