Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Il Chiostro Di Pienza 4 stars

Corso Il Rossellino 26, 53026 Pienza, Italy

#12 of 12 hotels in Pienza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1151 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to drive by car through the pedestrian area. A pick up at a parking lot would make it more comfortable. And i dont like plastic cups in the bathroom.

    Best location in Pienza in the middle of the historic city. Hotel is an old chiostro, therefore don't expect five star Accomodation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were extremely small and cramped with no space to move or even get out of the bed! A kettle and cups would also have been greatly appreciated!

    Lovely views and fantastic location! An excellent place during both day and night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room with view over courtyard . Didn’t really matter as we weren’t in it for the view, but I’m sure some rooms have spectacular views.

    Location, breakfast with a view on the terrace ! Nice breakfast ,decent variety . Room spacious and clean,big shower . Staff friendly and very helpful .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is probably time to replace the mattress.

    This was a delightful place to stay in Tuscany. The location was perfect for exploring surrounding hill towns; and the setting is spectacular overlooking the beautifull Val D'Orcia. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in the old town, which once you find a park, you are within walking distance of everything. The town is very quaint and the hotel grounds are beautiful. The views from the restaurant area are sensational. The room is small but has everything you need. Smaller bags are best for this hotel due to short walk required to parking and stairs to room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    This hotel is awesome! It was a cozy room with an outstanding view of Val D'Orcia! There is nothing like to wake up with a view like that and to go have breakfast looking to such a beautiful landscape. Probably one of the most friendly staff in all Tuscan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic view from the garden. Great location for us who arrived by bus. Love sitting in the yard. It feels peaceful. Also the cafe near the gate is worth trying. I left my heart at Pienza.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not as presented in the pictures. The furniture is outdated, outdated bathroom, tv not working, minibar not working, had to ask 2 times to turn on the heat in the bulding as we were travelling with our small son and the room was cold. The best bart of the hotel, the terrace with the beautiful view looks also tired

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved walking around the town and the location of the hotel. Very quiet, and peaceful. Because there are no cars, you need to park off the property. So pack lightly and enjoy your stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location!!! The Renaissance village of Pienza is enchanting. The Hotel's view is like being in heaven above the clouds. Simply breathtaking. Staff is so wonderful, they made reservations for us at an exquisite restaurant. Enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They provided WiFi codes for every device, but the codes needed to be reentered frequently and the WiFi was very slow. We found the beds very hard. The hotel is a bit tired but full of character. Breakfast was extensive but mainly sweet (lots of cakes!) which is normal it seems. The coffee was the worst we’ve had in Italy.

    Fantastic location in Pienza that is also close to the free parking outside the walls. We had a large room with separate sitting room and two bathrooms (one with toilet and sink, the other with shower and sink). The extra space was lovely since we’ve been on the road for a while. The front desk staff were very friendly and gave us personal attention. Magnificent views from the outdoor garden / sitting area across the area. This is a great place to base yourself in to visit the Val d’Orcia area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and doesn’t look like at the pictures. Breakfast was ok but not for a 4* hotel. Morning lady at the reception was not polite..

    The hotel is located in beautiful historical part of the town in an ancient building. Some rooms has a view on Toscana fields which you also can enjoy from the hotels garden. The garden is the main benefit of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view from the room . Like postcard of Tuscany . Also breakfast in the garden was with breathtaking view. Usefull information from reception lady .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is situated right in the heart of Pienza in Tuscany. The rooms were quite spacious and the bathroom facilities were quite modern. The rooms were very classic to fit in with the aesthetic of the property. Great place to stay if you are in Pienza

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the bread from the breakfast was over they didn't replace for more, because it had done

    Breakfast was delicious, the hotel is very well located and it has an amazing view to Val d'Orcia

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The classic double room was very small. You could barely move around it because the bed took most of the space. The bed made a terrible noise and truly looked like it was about to fall apart. The bed headrest was too wide and covering the light switches hence making it very hard to reach them! There was a safe in the room but no key to use it. We tried to phone the reception but the phone wouldn't work. The staff communication was insufficient. The most perplexing thing was that the staff had neatly placed (along with other info on breakfast hours and services) a note in the room apologizing for having to accept only cash at the moment. So the day of our departure we took the time to go find an ATM to withdraw cash. When we went to pay, the receptionist told us that of course we could pay by card. When we asked about the note saying they only took cash payments and told her we had to go find an ATM just because of that note, the receptionist very dismissively told us that it was an old note left there and we should've ignored it!

    The facility is located in the heart of the town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for our room to be ready after returning at 15:30. Only took cash at check out.

    Wide selection at the breakfast buffet which is served on a beautiful patio overlooking the Val d'Orcia. Rooms small but comfortable with new bathrooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great and the hotel itself - in the old city of Pienza, facing Toscany. Nearby there is a long promenade with great views. recommended early in the morning or afternoon. The yard in beautiful with a great view and so is the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room cold, no mini bar, no fridge, no form of heating, no coffee making, asked to settle bill with cash. have previously stayed on several occasions and standard and quality has dropped

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is the 4th year that our group of cyclists has stayed at Il Choistro. There is so much we love about staying here! The lovely rooms, the view over the Val D'Orcia, the location in the old city, the buffet breakfast and the fabulous staff who are so friendly and helpful and go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and wonderful!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I really couldn't fault our stay, we would go back again. A couple of small problems were sorted very quickly and apologetically, can you ask for more than that?

    The hotel was fairly small with a friendly family feel. The setting was perfect, high in a smart Tuscan town with stunning views over the surrounding area. The ceiling in our room was the most beautifully painted I've ever seen in a hotel room. The restaurant within the hotel was particularly good, enough reason on it's own for staying there. The terrace offered the best views in Pienza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift to get to the third floor would have been appreciated. But mostly the problem was to find the hotel. Parking is mostly forbidden except for residents, but there are various parking lots one can use. Some very specific instructions on exactly where to go, maybe where one can park temporarily while unloading, and so on would have been greatly appreciated. I drove around the town several times until finally I could find someone to point me to the hotel, and the signs on its outside are subtle.

    Pienza is a tiny town (technically a city), so everywhere is a short walk. This hotel is right in the center of the town, with its own central cloister, and a remarkable restaurant. Nice room with new, large bath. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we took apartment with room and one other living room with sofa and place to rest and chill, instead of regular nd cheaper room, and although in pictures it was a perfect apartment with big windows and great design, what we get in the and wasn't even close to what we think we payed. Our room was pretty small, the windows were so small and so high that I couldn't even watch through them (and I'm 170cm tall), and there was so little daily light that room was dark all the time. Overall, there was a problems with humidity and fungi in bathroom and over the bed. Not so good.

    Great location in center of Pienza. Great breakfast. Very nice terrace with pool and perfect view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. The view from the terrace is spectacular. The rooms are clean, beautiful and modern. The breakfast buffet is abundant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building very tired, rooms basic. Lampshades repaired with tape, bathroom door rotten etc. Had to lug cases to and from our parking area up steep slopes no help offered at all. Breakfast was frankly appalling, poor choice and coffee, milk, etc constantly running out. As breakfast was so poor we declined the offer to dine even with the 10% discount offered. Parking is also a nightmare, on one occasion drove round for 30 minutes before a space became available. Hate leaving such negative comments but feel future visitors deserve an honest opinion.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lacking in cupboard space. Hardly anywhere to store your clothes. The restaurant is now run by a separate organisation and run by a Michelin star chef so no light lunches or snacks on site. Just breakfast which is good with lots of choice. This is our third visit to the hotel and we felt that the breakfast service was not up to its usual standard. There were never enough tables laid and we often had to request cutlery, serviettes etc. also bread, ham etc was not topped up and had to be requested.

    Lovely setting looking out over the Val d'Orcia. Breakfast on terrace with amazing views. Rooms comfortable and cleaned daily. Very nice lounges and seating on each floor. All rooms are slightly different. Entrance is tight in centre of Pienza through the cloisters. Lots of good places to eat on your doorstep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be a bit more smiley! You cannot park in the old town but there are quite a few public car parks walking distance away (some free, some paying). They get very busy though during the holidays.

    Beautiful location in the heart of the old town. Amazing views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable and the sofa bed definately should not accommodate two children

    Historical building with stunning views. Perfect outdoors breakfast area and restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, dirty tablecloth on the night table. The bathroom was not really clean, the toilet paper roll was finished when we first entered the room and the new one was completely wet.

    Position of the hotel in the center of Pienza. Majestic view from our bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not so friendly and breakfast very average. Not the best value for money.

    Stunning location right in the old town but for that reason there is no parking. Eventually found a car park and had to drag cases through the town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are basic and somewhat small but reflective of the historic setting.

    Superb location and fantastic view from the breakfast terras! Authentic place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool closed at 18.30. Bed was small and a bit uncomfortable (in the economy double room).

    Extremely beautiful location: an old convent building interestingly restored. Breakfast at the garden with view. Value for money: our economy room was very cheap (considering the quality of the hotel).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air conditioning smelt terrible, we had to wait for a technician and ended up switching rooms each night. However the staff were very helpful in trying to sort out the problem

    Great pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly in the morning after checkout we were not allowed to sit in the garden to plan our next day trip. Instead, we were allowed to sit in the convent's atrium.

    Great room and breakfast! The exterior and interior architecture were amazing! It seems to be an old Renaissance convent! Eating breakfast we were sitting outside in the garden which offered a spectacular panorama view on the Toscana countryside. Additionally, the hotel is situated in the heart of this romantic, most beautiful Renaissance town offering little walkways, cafes, restaurants and cathedrals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not replenished, therefore if you want fresh fruit you need to be there at 8am.

    A fabulous location and wonderful staff although not enough of them, clearly being run on a shoestring budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There was nothing not to like, only s couple of slight drawbacks. The restaurant does not belong to the hotel so after breakfast it was not possible to sit and admire the beautiful surroundings, unless having a meal. But sitting in the cloisters was hardly a penance! It was easy to park nearby, but not easy to load and unload in a very busy pedestrianised street.

    Beautiful 15th Century building in main street of International Heritage Site. Central to everything, view of mountain from window of very grand bedroom, and from the terrace where they offer a very good breakfast. Quiet at night. We got a great deal by booking well in advance. Sense of history and Renaissance beauty. Staff very friendly and warm. Pienza is gorgeous and perfectly preserved. Well placed for visiting Florence, Siena, Arrezzo, Cortona, and the beautiful villages of the Val D'Orcia. Plenty of good, affordable, restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in Pienza is a tricky business at least when you have lots of luggage with you.

    Perfect location, stunning views, nice pool area, our room was quite big with very nice bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of the room,above the restaurant. The bedding was pour. No cover sheet above the comforter, one pillow, very dated bathroom. No bottled water in the room. The worst was the bedding.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't take credit cards

    Lovely situation and staff and setting! But difficult to park..has to be outside town walls and charge is euro per hour!but liked it so much have booked again for next month! Fabulous associated restaurant on site with incredible views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't very nice, the restaurant was very expensive and the 'gourmet' meal wasn't very good and was overpriced.

    The location was fantastic, the pool was nicer than expected, the staff was very friendly. The view over the countryside from the terrace and pool was spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok so the breakfast is absolutely fine - just a no frills breakfast really. No cooked but everything there that you would need. We did not eat in the evening but we have on past occasions and the food is good. It is a lovely hotel. Old, elegant but old and just the most lovely feel to it. It does not try to be anything other than it is if that makes sense. We love it and have been there twice now and will go again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Superb location in this beautiful building within the medieval walls of Pienza. No Parking (obviously) but free unrestricted parking available just a few minutes walk away. Breakfast on the terrace with a view to die for!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with the bed in was very small with little room to walk around the bed, but that's the only downside.

    Great location in the small town of Pienza. Lovely breakfast provided on the terrace next door with incredible views, and great coffee. Bed was quite comfy and the bathroom was very new and spacious. Pool is a nice extra too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chaotic breakfast scene - no sense of how many people to be catered for - food/juices/ coffee running out. Cups, plates unavailable for long periods.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Only one umbrella by the pool which meant that many people could not find shade - asked for another one and apparently no more were available despite there being about 10 on the terrace! 2) Breakfast was disappointing - I would have expected a better selection of fruit and some herbal (non-caffeinated) teas would be great 3) Bed was broken, so effectively slept in a hard hammock 4) Wifi was really poor

    Beautiful views from the terrace, nice pool and great to be so centrally located

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A beautiful historic building oozing charm and perched at the edge of town, overlooking the valley from its stunning garden where breakfast is served.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it very difficult to find as you have to park and walk in, not knowing the parking rules was hard.

    The bed was so comfortable, we have been traveling for 3 months and this was the best sleep we have had.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repairs were being undertaken to the terrace below our room which started around 7 AM in the morning. Hotel management should understand that not every guest is eager to be awoken at this time during their vacation

    Located in the small town center. It should be noted that the hotel has no immediate parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a great shame that the pool 'didn't open til June'...especially as the weather was so glorious (we were there 25 - 29 May) One receptionist stated categorically that this was 'company policy' but a different receptionist told me I could have used the pool if I'd wanted... (the morning we were checking out) Also a pity that the hotel bar closed at 7 as it would have been lovely to have had a drink on the terrace in the evening. However there is a great bar just a couple of minutes walk away called Idyllium with similar views.

    The spectacular view from the terrace. The building itself and its location in the heart of the beautiful town of Pienza

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Credit card machine was not working so we had to pay in cash. Could be a problem if not prepared for this problem

    Beautiful hotel in a converted cloister with great views of the Valley. Parking is outside the wall but the hotel is located in a central and easily accessible site in Pienza.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Booking.com booking was a poor experience. We wanted at least one twin bedded room. We were told there were none and tried several times to see if there had been a cancellation - none available. We consulted Trip Advisor who told us there were Classic Rooms - Double or Twin available at the Chiostro. We booked a twin room with Trivago and cancelled one of our booking. com rooms. The room was ready for us when we arrived. Sorry booking.com - you blew it.

    Staff were most helpful. The adjacent restaurant provided first class Fine Dining evening meal. Expensive but well worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent setting and good price for money. My room window opened to a "chiostro" and I had breakfast looking to the stunning view of Val d'Orcia. What more can you spect?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff. As is advertised, there is no parking, but the staff were very helpful in advising on free and convenient locations and restrictions on others. Room was very spacious, comfortable, quiet and well equipped. Continental Breakfast was quite comprehensive. Location superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi didn't work in the room, only in the hall

    The location is amazing, overlooking the picturesque Val d'Orcia is just breathtaking but the hotel is yet in the center of Pienza! Staff was quick and helpful. Must mention the unique experience we had in the hotel's restaurant. Delicious food, excellent service. I would definitely return anytime!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Girl at the reception desk was so kind to give us a free room with the view on the valley. And if you have such view from your window, you don`t need any other viewpoints! Great location right at the center of ancient town, tasty breakfast on a terrace with the beautiful view, friendly staff. Exploring Toscana you should make a stop in Pienza. And it is a good place to make it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking.

    Location is right in the old city. Room is spacious. All basic amenities are provided. Nice view of Tuscany from the hotel's restaurant terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty finding the place, because it was inside the wall. Needed more explanation on where our car should go.

    The staff was very good. Told of a great place to eat dinner. Also the person who takes care of the car followed us to our car to help us find where to put the car!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. Staff were friendly and helpful. They directed us to a marvelous restaurant for dinner. The whole experience was wonderfully peaceful and restful. Facilities were extremely clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was free WIFI but it did not work from my room. Fortunately it did work in our friends room so we managed

    The view was magnificent, loved the rooms and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled with a small baby and reached all "secret places" of the room and gathered dust from the far corners on himself. But, I suppose, that average traveller wouldn't see that dust.

    Great location in the XV century monastery in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom shower is open such that water floods the most of the bathroom floor. We made a "dam" by rolling up towels to keep the water in. Seems many Italian hotels don't vacuum under beds and furniture and should.

    Our room was terrific and a spacious. Nice to have mini fridge. Staff was friendly and always helpful. Gorgeous scenery from the dining area. Terrific breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Our friends had a room much larger for the same price.

    The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. We really enjoyed our meal under the trees as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was terrible, dark and cold describes the room.

    The bonus of a sitting room outside our room was great asset. You could sit and read or enjoy meeting others. The bed was wonderful and the location excellent. The breakfast staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was helpful and courteous. The location was perfect. The setting could not be beat. Afternoons on the terrace watching the sunset with a drink in hand, priceless. We will return again and again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unreliable. 3 night stay was told only to be charged for 2 due to air con problem but only got 30€ off 1 night.

    Stunning views from the terrace. Large bedroom,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small room (an old monk's cell, I guess) – and the only window high on the wall!

    A hotel right in the middle of the old town. Wonderful terrace for the (good) breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed extremely hard. Bathroom could be cleaner especially considering its supposed to be 4 stars. We had ' deluxe' room, I would hate to see what a standard room was like!

    Breakfast was lovely and so is the location. Staff are extra friendly. Great views from windows.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness - there are a few comments about bugs in the hotel rooms and concerns about the cleanliness. Unfortunately I didn't notice them before my trip. I booked the hotel for two nights, after the first night I had various insect bites (always a few in half circles) on my stomach, back and chest. I wore a pajama so they were unlikely caused by mosquitoes. Mostly likely something that's crawling on the bed. I raise that with the hotel (Samuela) but they thought it was ridiculous - they told me that insect bites are normal!!!! The bathroom looks really dark and filthy and the windows in the bedroom is small. The staff was unfriendly The worst 4-star I have been.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. When we arrived we were given a very small room (304) which happened to be infested with woodlouse. We came back to the room at night to find over 20 woodlouse crawling along the wall and floor. We were then moved to the next room (305) which was a lot bigger but we were told it will be just for the night and we will be moved to a new room the following day. This room also had woodlouse and we killed 10 that night. Furthermore, the bed was so uncomfortable we were having trouble sleeping. The bed was very soft and we had to remove the foam that has been laid on top of the mattress. The toilet was too close to the wall and the toilet seat was broken. The shower head was also broken and this was reported back to the staff. The following day we were moved to room 406 which did not have any woodlouse. Again the bed was extremely uncomfortable. At first the bed looked grand with a nice wooded frame and headboard. However, the wooden frame and headboard was just a shell encasing what is a cheap metal spring bed and mattress. The wooden frame cover was old and the joints were loose with nails exposed. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and every time I turned in bed the wooden frame cover and the metal bed frame would rattle and the mattress would creek. After 3 nights my back was aching a lot. Breakfast section was mediocre when compared to the other hotels I had stayed in during my holiday in Italy. There are two selection of cold ham. The eggs were hard boiled and cold but somehow the yolk is hard but the white is soft?!? Not sure how it iscooked but it was not particularly nice. The American coffee is not drinkable but if you ask the staff for Cappacino then they do manage to do a nice cup. The picture of the hotel on the website makes the place look really nice but in reality the hotel did not deliver.

    Central location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is in a stunning location. The staff friendly. We were given beautiful views with the rooms. The view sweeping away from you down the valley to Monte Amiata. The hotel. It is old. That is its charm. Any shortcomings in terms of decor or facilities should be ignored (personally I loved it all) as this is an old, old piece of history you are staying in. Food in restaurant was beautifully presented. Not plentiful but beautiful and imaginative. We will definitely return. How could you not?

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the garden terrace is occupied by the restaurant we were not really welcome relaxing when the restaurant was open for afternoon and evening. We were, however always able to sit in the cloisters.

    This is a very Tuscan hotel in a historic building . The position is superb overlooking the Val d Orcia in a true renaissance city. The staff are very welcoming and helpfull. And the rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner and I expected more attention to details as it is a 4* hotel..

    Location is exceptional! The spirit is good as it was an ex Monastery! Room was a little bit smaller but the services are great! The restaurant has a great view over the valet! Anna is great! Thank you Anna!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was nice, and we were in an economy room so not super big but good enough size for two. However the bed was really uncomfortable. An old, loose wooden frame surrounding a simple metal bed stand which wasn't the same size, and everything kept moving around and wasn't stable like we could fall off the bed at any moment. Shame, as it was the one negative, but a big one considering we stayed a few nights.

    Location was great! The view from the breakfast/restaurant terrace was lovely, and staying in a former convent has its charm. The breakfast was also nice and varied which is always a good way to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a major problem Staff not very friendly

    Breath taking view from the bedroom window Good location in the centre of town Very attractive building overall Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nothing special..

    Wonderful view from the terrace dining room, and we loved the effects of light in the cloister by night and by day.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: