Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Le Clarisse

Via Cardinale Merry Del Val 20, Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy

#1652 of 3,322 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 512 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    The perfect location for a wonderful time in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower had a bit of a slow drain is all.

    Everything! The place is wonderfully quaint and beautiful. I enjoyed the location and found the staff to be full of ideas. I especially enjoyed the knowledge and expertise of Antonio. He is a treasure for Relais Le Clarisse. Definitely a highlight was talking with him about where to go around Rome. The Trastevere location is filled with great food, colorful shops, and amazing places to spend the evening eating and people watching.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Everything perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect! But until italians people will use tricks to write real price in small letters, they will receive maximum 8/10 in big letters as rating! (I know 100% of hotels in Italy do it.... But why not to be the first honest one?)

    Everything perfect. You should go there! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay for a long weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little snug - but manageable. Our room faced the road and though it didn't bother us there were times when it was a bit noisy.

    The location was excellent, in great area with plenty of restaurants nearby.Public transport to other districts easy to access. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful. Bed comfortable. Breakfast very good value with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Several things stand out: 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for me to dislike. Just know you arent walking into a large expansive Hilton.

    Several things stand out: 1. Turn left onto the main road and it is less than a ten minute walk straight to the Pantheon, Tazza d’oro, restaurants and shopping there. 2. Turn right out of hotel front doors and in the evening you have more than your pick of top notch and a variety of restaurants, bookstores, and gelato. 3. Several churches with mosaics of artistic significance within a three minute walk in several directions: Santa Maria Trastevere, Santa Cecilia, and San Chrysogonos. 4. Very respectful and accommodating young staff. The Girasole room has a large private terrace. 5. Its not a large international hotel that can fit a mall in the lobby. Its a small, pretty, neighborhood hotel with professional staff that will even organize transport to and from airport or port for a flat fee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, close to great places to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, close to great places to eat. Prepared take away breakfast bags for the family as we were heading out on tours before breakfast was served in the dining room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was perfect to many of the sites in Rome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre.

    The location was perfect to many of the sites in Rome and great restaurants. Staff extremely friendly! Beds were comfortable! Definitely would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    This place is perfectly located to see Rome and to eat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Great courtyard, we sat there and talked quite a few times. Typical European breakfast. They try to add things for Americans, but not the best, but it is a still a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    This is a good place to stay. Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave at 5am to catch a flight and specifically asked the front desk the night before where the keys should be dropped off. The lobby and our room were in different buildings. He indicated the lobby doors would be open and we could place the keys in the drop off box. Next morning we find the lobby inaccessible and had to call the emergency number using WhatsApp to ensure we could leave the key in the room and close the door shut.

    The breakfast is good. Rooms are charming and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Easy access to the tram and bus stations. Trastevere location is lovely with its cobble stone streets, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.0
    The room was nice and big, we had the family apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not clean and the shower gel was not filled for two days, other than that it was fine.

    The room was nice and big, we had the family apartment. Staff was very helpful and loved the location. This is my third time staying there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    They need 24/7 security or reception, as it’s not our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need 24/7 security or reception, as it’s not our faults or problems if people hang around the lobby after helping me get in as my key was not working. I shouldn’t ha d to know who are hotel guests and who are not. Being blamed for a complete strangers actions is unacceptable. Have someone at the front desk all through the night to let your customers in at any hour as your keys are hard to open main entrance. Staff was rude at check out from this and it’s not okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    It was a very nice hotel that made our stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was concerned about safety. The room keys were very difficult to operate and, in the event of a fire, could be a roadblock to escaping safely while in a panic.

    Rooms and location represented the character and history of old Rome which was my hotel objective. The location is convenient to public transportation and there are many, many great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, close to everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a room towards main street, on the first floor. Impossible to sleep due to noise from the street and small market just under the windows. Breakfast is so so, if you stay for a longer time period, you become crazy:)

    Nice location, close to everything. Nice and positive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, charming B&B. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the basement.

    Would like an extra mirror in the room other than just the bathroom mirror. I would prefer that breakfast not be in the basement but in a room off the garden. Later in the day serve wine and cheese there. Charming, cozy place with great staff and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable and noisy bedroom on a busy street.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room, noisy street, room away from the reception as you need to walk out into the street to enter the room. Breakfast very basic.

    Receptionist was helpful and accommodating. Brown toilet paper Ecco friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.3
    Full of bad surprises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First the property bumped us to a different property, then the air-conditioning at the 2nd Property didn't work and lastly we had been promised airport/trainstation transfers. The airport transfer was good but for the train station transfer, we were called a taxi. That part of the promise of wasn't kept.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    It’s a lovely little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    It’s a lovely little hotel. Very cosy rooms , clean and comfortable. Staff it’s very helpful and (before arrival) I was receiving immediate responses to my questions. Great location. Close to public transport. In beautiful district of Trastevere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff helpful, lively location, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For myself, the bed was very hard and the pillows as well. There was a lot of noise outside during the nights, and poor sound insulation. Having just arrived from California USA, I was jet lagged and could not get any sleep in our 3 nights there.

    The location in Trastevere is a lively, safe-feeling neighborhood of Rome. Were able to walk to many sites like Vatican and Ancient Rome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay in a great area of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard, it was twins pushed together for a double. Room a little cold on times, only the air con machine for heating but it was strange weather conditions, snowing in Rome!

    Great location, pretty courtyard, near to tram stop and great selection of restaurants and bars very close 👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whirlpool bath was a little tatty and some jets didn't work, but it was still a relaxing way to end a day of lots of walking around Rome.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely breakfasts including freshly made cakes and savoury flans. We went in January so didn't use the courtyard but it looked lovely and would be great for summer breakfasts. Trastavere is the perfect area to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Location is perfect if you’re foodie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect if you’re foodie! Restaurant and bars are just few minutes away. Receptionist recommended us few restaurants and all of them were amazing! City centre is 30 min walking. Room is cleaned every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Disappointing because I was on the street side of the building - noise kept me awake all Sat night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time I was on the back side of the building and it was perfect. This time I was on the street side. I felt I didn’t have much privacy. Importantly: I couldn’t sleep a wink Saturday night because people, cars and motorcycles made so much noise in the piazza just outside my window.

    I had been there before. They welcomed me warmly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Cozy, welcoming guest house with lovely character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit difficult to find at first. I walked past it a couple times even with GPS. The guesthouse was smaller than I expected (fewer units) but the room was cozy and restful. Once I'd found it, it was great!

    The courtyard was darling - especially with the Christmas lights! The breakfast was wonderful as well and the staff were very helpful. It was close to public transit and a fun area of Rome. Didn't feel as touristy as other areas which was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.2
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was terrible. I would never stay there again. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything going on around us... the elevator, every person walking by, every conversation, the clean person the next morning, every person in the courtyard. Inside our room, there was a door that lead to another room with a gap at the bottom so we could hear EVERYTHING happening in the room next to us. Same thing with the front door. Light came through the bottom of the door all night because the gap was probably a full inch. The bed was old and thin. I could feel springs in my back. The pillows were lumpy. I woke up several times during the night with people talking and the uncomfortable bed & pillows. The shower/bath configuration was weird. A small shower inside the bathtub area. The shower head was constantly twisting towards the wall so it was difficult to use. I would never stay here again. I left feeling much more tired than when I arrived. Buyer beware!

    The location. Greeted with a New Years gift. Relatively clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Adequate hotel with great staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite loud room with terrible sound proofing. We were next to a big fire door into adjacent apartments which was in use all the time. Woke us every morning. Cheap and noisy twin beds pushed together to make a double.

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    It was my husbands birthday while we were staying at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was my husbands birthday while we were staying at the hotel, they noted this from his passport & when we returned to the room after a day of site seeing there was a bottle of champagne, a cake with a candle & a card from the staff. Our room was fabulous & the staff couldn’t do enough for you. The whole experience was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Charming hotel, super staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Charming hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Great area for walking around & dining in the evenings, & very easy to get to the main sights, without having to live among the crowds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Reception desk very helpful and ample choices for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was updated and clean. Nice restaurants close by. A bakery-coffee shop we frequented often. We walked to the Colosseum which was 31 minutes away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    Loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood was a bit rough. The bed was basically broken. Sagged in the middle. Was SO uncomfortable. The tub faucet leaked.

    Amazing breakfast!!!! Friendly staff! Lovely patio with cute tables & chairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful stay at Le Relais le Clarisse -we really appreciated the warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift is a bit tiny!

    It is a lovely place to stay : the staff are so helpful and friendly, the rooms are just right, overlooking a lovely little inner courtyard, and the breakfast is varied and delicious. The location in Travestere is good with lots of nice restaurants nearby, a reasonable walk to the centre and a tram stop at the end of the road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Very quiet hotel, well situated with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few power outlets to charge electric devices.

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast has a varied choice, better than most. Well situated with restaurants in walking distance, and open late.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.5
    The location cannot be beat, Trastevere is a beautiful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not in the main part of the hotel and the section we were in was fairly loud.

    The location cannot be beat, Trastevere is a beautiful, vibrant and fun area to be in with great restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel on nice quiet street close to the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No official free parking space but we found a paid space outside. We had to keep coming back to top up meter. It would have been helpful if reception staff had parking tickets available for a charge (to save us finding shops that sold these).

    Great location and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bedrooms in the apartment didn't have air conditioning, although there was one at the end of the hall. We had to sleep with door open to get some cool air but even then it was not that cool. Also It is the only place I have ever been charged for use of a baby cot (€15 per night) which was very disappointing.

    Lovely location on a quiet street in Trastevere but only a stone's throw to the busy streets of restaurants and shops and very close to then river. We stayed in the two bed apartment which was spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    The shower was amazing in our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard.

    The shower was amazing in our room! The staff went out of their way to answer questions, and make sure we had everything we needed. E-mail communication was answered quickly. Breakfast in the courtyard is lovely. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was nice and quiet. We looked at another available room that was over the street and we chose to stay with the courtyard room. Everything about the hotel was clean and inviting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Very reasonable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner could have been better. The front of the hotel was all covered with graffiti. The room furniture was older but in great shape.

    Breakfast was great. The staff very polite and helpful. Great location for restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    We will go back. Cant say any better than that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rome was 40+ for heat. Air conditioning control lesson would have helped. Breakfast bar is in basment with difficult stairs for the elderly. Taking breakfast up to the courtyard was a joy

    Location was brilliant - albeit difficult to find by night after ripped off by taxi driver. Staff were lovely A lovely old-fashioned place which was near perfect Breakfast good but not exceptional although staff again very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    The staff were super friendly and accommodated all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast was terrible as it was prepared by a machine. Would have liked fresh coffee to accompany the good breakfast.

    The staff were super friendly and accommodated all our requests. I'd definitely stay there again on my next visit to Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.7
    Simple but decent family apartment in Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment lacked natural light. The furnishings were quite basic and simple. There was an additional charge to use the kitchen which was not mentioned at the time of booking. I would expect that when renting an apartment, this should be included in the overall rental price. There are plenty of eateries nearby so this was not a problem.

    We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was comfortable and spacious, and good for a family of 4. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, however only one had air conditioning. The bathroom is small but had a good shower which we appreciated after a long flight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trastevere and Rome in general is littered with rubbish. Was sadden by the lack of civic pride and by the amount of litter in the streets.

    Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. It was a little oasis in Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Quaint Trastevere Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, quaint hotel in the fabulous Trastevere area of Rome! Our room overlooking the garden was well worth the upgrade. Gloria at the reception desk was especially helpful when we needed some assistance with our airline reservation, which was so appreciated! We will definitely stay here again when we return, which I hope is soon!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    The room was superb with excellent fittings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The room was superb with excellent fittings. The hotel looked like any other buildings in the neighbourhood from the outside and a lovely oasis on the inside. The staff were fantastic, knowledgable and went the extra mile to help us. I highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Very Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny elevator so its one person and one bag at a time. Could not find a stair access to rooms or fire escape. I am always looking at this aspect in the light of the recent fire tragedies.

    Staff are fantastic here. Very helpful and friendly. We used the hotel luxury car service from and back to the airport - both ways were great and not much more than a regular taxi. Elevator is "tiny" and the rooms are good for Rome std's on middle budget. I would stay there again. The area is fab with lots of little cafe's and restaurants. Open air film nights were on while we were there. couldn't understand anything but the "vib" was great. Courtyard for breakfast is lovey, it is actually one of the reasons we picked this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Adorable Relais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor dining area is cosy and quaint. There is plenty of choice for breakfast. All reception staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was peacefully quiet. We loved the district. Relais is in a fantastic location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Had a room with a huge terrace for my own.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not perfectly clean and broken accessories should be changed. Bed much too firm for my taste. Stuff friendly but not really professional and no personal touch, just doing their job. Breakfast ok but fruit salad not with fresh fruits. Some extras on payment.

    Had a room with a huge terrace for my own. Good location and quite. Nicely decorated place, friendly stuff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable, Clean and Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that none of the pictures on the website displayed our room, so I was very surprised to see the size of it on arrival, in comparison to the pictures i'd viewed and then expected. It had a small bathroom and the shower wasn't bad, but unfortunately the Bed was very average. Only a Bed sheet and a thin duvet. An extra blanket was provided though. The pillows were very hard. Having said this, it was all very clean and the air-conditioning was welcomed. Although beautiful, the window was small and we had no seating area within the room. The breakfast was also very basic and nothing to 'rave' about. You can enjoy the small simple courtyard in the centre of the hotel too if you happen to be needing to spend time in the hotel. The room we were in couldn't provide a relaxation area unless you were laying in bed. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, but it served its basic purpose!

    We really enjoyed the location as it was a beautiful easy walk to all main attractions in the City.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Trastevere treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about our stay at this charming hotel, especially their marvelous staff--Cristian, Adrianna, Gloria, Giancarlo, and Ellen--all exceptionally considerate, caring, and knowledgeable rofessionals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    It just needs a little more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a bit more obliging helping with bags too & from the room. Would have been nice if the breakfast coffee machine was available for use by guests throughout the day, and not just at breakfast.

    Location ideal relative to central Rome. Nice area, busy but not overcrowded. Outdoor area of hotel is terrific. Can use all day if you wish. Very handy on last day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and conveniently situated hotel of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Separate entrance from main hotel (Minor inconvenience only). Single hanging cupboard with no drawers for clothing. Nowhere to store suitcases

    Room small and on main road but, with shutter and window closed, excluded all noise and light. Comfortable. Excellent bathroom with first class shower. Quiet air conditioning. Numerous good restaurants in area and only 15 minutes walk from centre of town. Tram very close by for those needing transport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Small but perfectly formed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything. Our room was spacious,clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast each morning which we ate in the court yard. Excellent location in Travestera with all it's restaurant on the door step. The hotel is also directly across the road from the tram stop. Four stops from centre however all the sights are within an easy walk. Staff were excellent they were friendly and very helpful. Gloria deserves a special mention.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.2
    Great, authentic place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was extremely friendly and the did everything they could to make my stay as pleasant as possible. The location of the hotel was good as well: within a 15 minute walk of the Vatican, Pantheon and many other sights.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel In An Amazing City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel is relatively small, so nothing in the way of facilities at the hotel itself. However, this was in no way important to us as we were in Rome to see the sights and not spend all day in the hotel. It was very comfortable, clean, had a lovely courtyard to sit in and relax and it was only a short distance from the major tourist spots. The staff were very friendly ad helpful. Spot on!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    A great base when visiting Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We have stayed at Relais Le Clarisse twice and on both occasions our stay was excellent. The location is perfect as a base for sightseeing with good access to public transport (two of the tram routes). In the evenings the excellent, less touristy, restaurants and bars in Trastevere are on the doorstep. Our room was spotless and cleaned every day with fresh bedding. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco and nibbles. Breakfast is really good with lots of choice including home made savouries and cakes. Staff on the front desk speak good English and are really helpful. Its also really good value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Le Clarisse will be my first choice in Rone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is not really comfortable there are 2 small beds stuck together to make a big one which is not really comfortable

    The location is great, staff lovable and helpful; for the price u pay for the breakfast it is more than good, it is not a great breakfast but fits the purpose given again the price, room is small relatively but am a big guy. The best thing really about this hotel is it's location in front of a tram station which and neat bus station. Only draw back if you choose trastevere that u need to take 2 public transportation to reach the airport but it is a better location to stay amid the action in termini or else in central Rome. Around the hotel lots of bars and restaurants that serves good above the average food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    5.8
    Lovely staff, good location but family garden room noisy and breakfast room dreary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden family room is extremely noisy at night. This is due to the fact that the elevator, divided only by a thin wall, buts onto the corner of the room. Without ear-plugs it was impossible to get a good night's rest. The courtyard is just outside, a place for late night revellers to hang-out. Although we got a discount for the inconvenience - it would have been far nicer just to have a restful night! The buffet breakfast was offered in a small, overcrowded basement and food was not always replenished if already eaten by other guests.

    Location was good - located near pretty square and good restaurants with lively atmosphere. Most of the staff were lovely, professional, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel, excellent location, excellent service and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Excellent location, close to piazzas great restaurants and bars. Fabulous hotel with a private courtyard, beautiful clean rooms, all staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Good location. Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is a bit on the small side, and the breakfast itself is quite ordinary.

    Wonderfully helpful staff. My wife's passport was stolen between the railway station and the hotel. One of the staff members went out of his way to help us, ringing the embassy, taking details of what we needed to do, and went to the police to help us there. Location in Trastevere is pretty good too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    Little gem in Travestere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels tiny. Couldn't even wrap around body. But I hate writing that as it's the only thing I could think of, the place was lovely.

    We got our own massive balcony! The Ivy Room. Location brilliant. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    Hidden gem in the city. Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad points - I guess if you're looking for a massive room this isn't your haunt but as mentioned earlier it is an old building so they are restricted on space and to me it didn't feel small at all.

    As I was travelling solo I went for something I thought was going to be a bit more downmarket due to the price. How wrong I was. I absolutely loved it the building it had so much character, so much history yet very modern inside and decor very well done. The room was cosy, well equipped, comfy bed and spotless! Well placed geographically and the staff couldn't have been more friendly - very impressed and will be staying again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in great location in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a garden view apartment which was lovely inside but the privacy was limited and we had to shut the curtains when we were inside just to stop other guests being able to see us inside.

    Great Location, lovely staff, that were a great help.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee wasn't great, and it's a little odd having the elevator, but these are very minor things.

    Great location, really friendly staff who did everything they could to help, and lovely rooms. This was the second time that I'd stayed in the hotel and it was better than the first - the building is old and full of character and my room was perfect for me. Comfy bed too -- I slept well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    Don't be put off by the immediate surroundings of the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant hotel located away from the crowds but close to public transport, with easy access to the sites, and within walking distance to pleasant square with a variety of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.6
    very recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From our room we heard very good what our neighbor is doing in his lavatory :(

    The staff is great!!! Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is acceptable. The hotel is fresh renewed and the rooms are very clean. Location in Trastevere is very good it's in walk distance to all sites but not so noisy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little expensive, but they all are expensive in that area

    Very good location in Trestevere, good breakfast ( for Italy), good internet, clean room, kind staff, aranged a transfer to the airport and pack a breakfast for us :) .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    great hotel in trastevere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wi fi slow

    A very comfortable hotel. The location in Trastevere was very convenient to all the attractions. The staff was extremely courteous, friendly and very helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.4
    We liked staying in Trastevere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the new annex and our room was very noisy as it was on a main road. Also the entrance was straight from the street and you had to walk down the street to go to the reception. There was no telephone in our room to call reception.

    We liked staying in Trastevere. The staff were helpful and spoke good English.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.1
    It is a cute, little boutique style hotel in a good neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was awful. Really, really hard mattress and very uncomfortable. The bathroom was very small and tough to manuveur around. Our door didn't unlock easily, the armoire got stuck and locked our stuff in it and the TV did not work.

    The staff was terrific and the food in the morning spectacular! I also liked the location for all that we were doing in Rome. An easy walk to everything and Trastevere is a really fun area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at Relais La Clarisse. It's nice to be close to the many places to see in Rome and yet be in a friendly neighborhood away from the crowds. The garden area outside our room was perfect for a glass of wine in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Fun in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay

    The location was great right by the train and taxi station or an easy walk to many locations

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    I would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    leak in the toilet; no comfortable chair in the room

    staff was helpful; breakfast was convenient

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff clean bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not good. Very far from everything

    Loved the staff. Very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked

    Lovely toiletries. Excellent fresh choices at breakfast. Good value and good service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small bathroom. Breakfast could be better.

    Big rooms. Nice staff. good location. good for family.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Super helpful staff and great local location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the room was restricted by the single small lift

    Super helpful staff and great local location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    An oasis of calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is on a tiny quiet side street about 20 minutes walk from many of the famous sites of Rome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Tay family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn’t say longer lol

    Friendly staff very help full

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Relais Le Clarisse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: