Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Navona71

Piazza Navona 71, Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy

#2484 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free breakfast was not ready at the promised time before we had to leave for the airport, thus we had no breakfast before arriving at the airport

    Location was excellent right in the piazza

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On first impression of the entrance to the hotel we might have been put off if we hadn't read previews of this property. The hotel is 6 rooms on the 2nd floor (no elevator) within a much larger building where the immediate entrance is in disrepair and being worked on. There is construction in the lower level of the building but this didn't impact our stay. We booked a room with a Piazza Navona view and the room delivered everything we wanted and more. The view was spectacular and the room was spacious and clean. Check in was efficient but keep in mind that as it is only a 6 room hotel they have limited reception hours and services. The espresso machine in the reception area was a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it. The splurge for a room with Piazza Navona view is the only way to go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place and great view definitely recommend and if I come again to Rome I’d stay here Giovanni and his mother run the place, they are very sweet and hospitable, they made me feel like I’m home. Thank you very much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic property right on the Piazza can't get any better. Traditional Rome hotel. Great and friendly owner and staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts at 9.15... business meetings started at 9.30.. Restaurant did not allow me at the restaurant at 9.15. I had to go for the meeting without taking any breakfast. The entrance to the hotel/apartments are more of a construction site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at the cafe next day started too late (9.30am most days) and consisted of a rather dry croissant and some toast.

    Location was perfect. Room was comfortable and clean with a view over Piazza Navona. All staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the bedroom (but in the communal area).

    The location was amazing! So was the view of the square from the bedroom! Giovanni was very accommodating. We would definitely come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there were construction going on around the building, our room window faced the view of the Piazza, and we didn't mind it a bit. The crowd outside masked the construction noises. Check- in was a breeze. We were met by the owner who was the sweetest lady. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back again.

    Perfectly located in Piazza Navona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No available room service at night ,it is practically a big apartment and divided in to rooms, the fridge was not working and was not fixed till we left.

    location was amazing , near everything and quite alive at night and still not noisy , cost is acceptable with regards to location ,we were upgraded to a bigger room .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was beautiful just as it was..

    feeling at home..... the location is unbelievable.....can't expect a five star,.. these are old buildings.. if you accept that and join it with the beauty outside the window , the friendly attitude and kindness of Giovanni "the owner" then you are not in a hotel.. you are at home.. Ciao Giovanni , a presto :-) Mario

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In general the place was really nice and the staff helpful. The entrance was a bit tricky, as there was no logo or anything visible from the outside. Other than that, very enjoyable stay :) We had snow during our stay - shocker! - and hence the restaurant where the breakfast was served was closed. Owner refunded us for the most of the breakfast (unfortunately in the area, it's pretty expensive), so very nice on his part :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only tiny set back is that the building's entrance hall is not very nice. It did not have elevator, it was not a problem for us (its on the second floor and the host helped us with our luggage and everything), but maybe for some it would be good to know.

    The location is perfect and the rooms are very nice, staff is super friendly and gave us maps. Additionally, it has a kitchenette where you can make yourself tea or coffee, plus they give you free breakfast in the restaurant just next to the hotel and you can see eat while having a very nice view of the Piazza. It is within walking distance of everything: Vatican City (15 min to Piazza San Pietro), the parthenon (5min), fontana di trevi (10 min) and the colosseum (15 min). Also, there are a great number of cafes and restaurants nearby 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does get noisey there on the Piazza but that is to be expected. Rome is a bustling place full of humanity! We had to move room due to a plumbing problem (the shower leaked into the apartment downstairs) but the staff were very accommodating and gave us a larger twin room but changed the bed into a double at our request. The entrance way could do with an improvement but visitors should not be put off by this as the Relais upstairs is very nice and the two rooms we were in were very comfortable.

    The view of the Piazza was the best thing. The location is brilliant right in the centre of everything. The room was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and printed our vouchers for our museum and forum tickets and the have thd cutest little sausage dogs there in the office.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was exactly what a B&B should be. The shower was a little tight but was still good.

    Wonderful location! We were in the middle of everything which was fantastic for walking! Room was cleaned everyday and the continental breakfast was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entry to premises/hallyway/stairway all in need of repair/renovation and cleaning. Rubbish in entrance hall, and just quite disgusting.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi a bit intermittent in the room. Entrance door is between 2 restaurants in the Piazza and does not look like a hotel at all - it looks a bit battered and the area just inside is also a bit off-putting. But climb the stairs to the actual hotel and everything inside is great

    Spectacular view of Piazza Navona. 20-30 mins walk to Colosseum, Forum, Vatican, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, great restaurants nearby ( try Da Francesca) as well as coop supermarket Giovanni was very attentive and helpful. Would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction work in the building meant noise (drilling / hammering) from 0800 every morning.. Extremely annoying whilst on holiday.

    Location was good - walking distance to all major sites in Rome (30 mins to Vatican and colosseum). Free coffee pods in common area. Pay TV. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is that window was of industrial, inside, view-did not seem fire safe and it would have been nice to open windows to fresh air.

    The location was great, communication with owner/Mgr via email very responsive. The riom was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The direction of air from air conditioner. Very annoying.

    We loved the proximity of the hotel to everything. We felt safe at all times. The staff was very kind and attentive. I liked the available coffee in the hotel and made do with the very light breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. Perhaps a cheese and sausage plate could be included with the breakfast, because I like a little protein in the morning. Happy we stayed here!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess didn't speak English at all, not value for money. Room without clean air because of no window, and smelt really bad from the kitchen below the room and the absence of clean air.

    The location, and the clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled coming from the pipes in the toilet, nothing could get rid of the smell. Opening the window worsened the problem due to the smell and smoke from the restaurant next door. The internal courtyard view is lovely if you like looking at scaffolding and heavy machinery in a confined space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That not all of the rooms have windows to the piazza

    The host was incredible she was very nice ! The geographical situation was perfect! We will definetly come back

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sanitary ware in the en-suite was of very poor quality and every item had something wrong with it. The Bedroom TV was also of very poor quality and the sound very rarely worked. The two smaller rooms also had broken items in there en-suites and there was a very distinctive smell of drains, which may or not have been due to the amount of on going building works on the roof.

    The continental breakfast was more than adequate and one of the rooms was a good size over looking the square, which is a very satisfying view. It was a popular area and we were all glad that we stayed there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift (unacceptable!) - stairs tough on old and infirm, front door needs a lick of paint, groundfloor hallway needs cleaning-up, brightening-up and made to look presentable, our bedrooms (two couples) should not be offered to any customers as they were totally internal and except for a open-shaft, had no access to outside or even sun-light, stale smell in room always.Generally speaking, except for being on the Piazza Navona, this B&B was terribly bad value - will not return nor will we be recommending your accomodation to anybody.

    Great location, fine bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only negative is that I had a very heavy suitcase and getting it up and down the stairs was challenging

    Loved the location and the view of Piazza Navona from my window

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was wonderful!

    An amazing location - in the Piazza Navona. Literally in the centre of everything. Our lovely room overlooked the piazza & it was fabulous to watch the "people parade" below us. The room was a good size and very modern in decor. The bed was comfortable & the bathroom, although small, very nice. We had access to a kitchen and best of all, the coffee machine with the coffee capsules provided. There isn't actually a reception area, as with other hotels, so you may need to phone ahead to inform the owner of your arrival time. There is a door between two restaurants on the piazza for entry. At our time of staying they were having work done on the entry foyer, but we still had easy access. The owner and his mother were very friendly and helpful. It was an extremely comfortable stay and well worth the cost - we would definitely recommend to all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First of all, the owner's communication was awful, she spoke no English at all, therefore extremely hard and infuriating when trying to explain/ask her anything. When we first arrived, I phoned to say we were there and needed the key to access the apartment but she couldn't understand me (just kept saying pronto, pronto, pronto) so I had to ask a waiter at the restaurant at the side of the entrance door to speak to her in Italian. The entrance door was also very scruffy, paint coming off the door and rotting. The corridor going up to the apartment was dirty and had a horrendous smell. The apartment is situated above two restaurants, so the smell clearly was coming from the kitchens. (smelt of sprouts!) The room we were given was room 6. The room was awful, although it was clean and cleaned daily with fresh towels, it was dark and depressing. There was no window with natural light. The mornings felt like we were still in the middle od the night. The shower head was also broken, so wouldn't stay up, it had to be hand held (which for my 6ft 4 boyfriend wasn't ideal.) It wasn't nice to stay in at all, I felt like crying. So much so that we booked elsewhere for our last night and checked out early. We originally asked could we move rooms, but the lady said we couldn't. I would not stay here again.

    The location is perfect that is all but I wouldn't stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to take luggage up stairs. There is no 24/7 reception so you may not see anyone at all from the hotel staff during your stay.

    Great location. Rooms with view to Navona square are awesome.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Very good location and useful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    building works going on, starting at 8am! place was a building site. Poor access to the Rooms.

    location was superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly people running apartment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Allright. The. Room vas good. The vue over piazza Navona. Good service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, good facilities and very nice host. Highly recommendable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the accommodation wasn't welcoming, more like a building site with scaffolding and bins

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everthing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking availability,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendly manager. V v comfortable beds and lovely shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giovanni very helpful. Good air con

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included,

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance and staircase to property

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Clean, compact and comfortable. Views of Piazza Novona. Interesting entrance, very shabby chic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a hotel, a hostel more..:

    Amazing location, friendly staff when available, very clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible entrance and had to arrange to meet outside to be let inside. Very small room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great.

    Liked the people and the location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels i have stayed at. Could easily see myself going back to Rome just because of this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mm.. The Restaurants around the Hotel are costy

    The best place to stay in Rome

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No window, no view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, modern decor with breakfast on Navona Piazza.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor access to rooms. No one in regular attendance and poor maintenance all were a let down.

    The location is what makes this accomadation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price is a little too high for the value, the breakfast is very skimpy. I am not certain the AC was very effective. The rooms are facing West and could be very hot in the summer.

    The location was great. This is not a hotel, although the rooms are cleaned every day and the beds/towels replaced as well. Our room was great, the room and bathroom of my son were very small. The bathrooms were well equipped. The view was great, and the windows when closed do not let any noise into the room.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had no external outlook and the supposed internal courtyard was just a light well and builders access . The room was totally dark without lights turned on.

    Breakfast across the square was good as was the coffee and tea provided.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Resturant below the hotel excellent staff so friendly. The entertainers on the street are a joy to watch while relaxing and enjoying the good wine and food.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this is more like an Air BNB property than it is a hotel. It is one floor of an apartment building converted into 5 guest rooms. No facilities or guest services of any kind other than a coffee machine in a common area. Other than the lady that checked us in we saw not a soul for the entire time we were there. Construction going on next door so you enter off the street into a very unwelcoming area

    great location

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose "courtyard view" room which turned out to be a room with no view at wall. The window opened up to a service shaft which not only left us without any light at all but there was way to get fresh air into the room.

    We loved the central location and the complimentary tea and coffee. The staff was polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1)unpleasant odor of the old property 2)we were given blankets only 1 day after arrival 3)it was cold in the bathroom 4)no full-time receptionist 5)no mini-bar/fridge 5)poor breakfast-only coffee, croissant and a tiny juice every day

    The location is excellent- heart of the city, very close to all the main attractions. Nice view to Piazza Navona.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    at the entrance it is like an abandonned building. POOR breakfast. One brioche, One slice of bread (not second), no refill your coffee if you wanted. No receptionist available all the time. Mainly not in the mornings, when tourists really need him

    it was in the heart of the city. We had a room with a view to piazza navona and the night was great. Renovated room, small but very clean

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Our room (5) had a very nasty smell (sewer), and although they tried to mask this with a lot of scented candles/sticks, it was almost nauseating. I suspect this problem was not only in our room, because we heard other guests discussing a refund with the hotel staff. In addition, we found the hotel staff to be very rushed, and not that friendly. Lastly, the breakfast the hotel offers in a nearby café is a joke (I cannot put in any other words). It's nice if a hotel offers breakfast, but when they do it like this, its even better to not offer anything at all.

    The location is great

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff did not inform us that a modernisation is underway inside the building with works starting a 07:00 am !! the bad was not sufficient warm for the season it is. Sunday morning at 09:00 they start to knock the door telling us to leave by 11:00.

    great position but full of room rentals and boutique hotels nearby Navona, all much better for more or less the same price

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The stairs! It was hard to get all of our luggage up and down the multiple flights of stairs., But you cant have a beautiful view without the height!

    The location! This is located in the most beautiful Piazza in Rome. Every morning we would wake up to the fountains and get to see the Piazza get set up. We were worried about the noise at night but we had double pained windows and it was never an issue. The staff were wonderful and helpful. Great wifi.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing..

    Incredibly central location and very helpful staff.. You can reach every corner of old city area in 20 minutes by walk. Room was very neat and clean..

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator.

    This apartment overlooked the very active Piazza Navona, with its vendors, artists, and musicians. Dozens of restaurants and tourist sites are within easy walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs inside the very scruffy front door - two and a half flights. The smells - we understand he's having a lift installed and wondered if they'd struck a sewer. Our room was supposed to overlook a courtyard and have a DVD player. Neither was true. There was the noise of the workmen and cooking smells each day. Booking.com have the wrong information and we do wonder if they ever visit their properties.

    I thought the guy who ran it was welcoming and helpful, carrying our cases upstairs and lending us an Italian/English plug adapter, etc. The advice about not eating on the Piazza proved right, too.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Group

    There was no lift and thus my elderly father had difficulty getting up the stairs. Also, the email sent to me said that breakfast was included but they insisted that I had to pay for breakfast separately.

    location was excellent and rooms were very good

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The entry after the first door. Very unpleasant to enter into a construction area. Reception area needs an upgrade.

    The view. We had a piazza view. It was so much fun.The room was comfortable. Loved the coffee.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air Conditioning and Service: The air conditioning was insufficient for keeping the rooms cool despite being on continually at full power. It was very hot in Rome during our stay and as the buildings opposite are too far away to provide any shade because of the piazza, the sun hits the façade of the building full on. I understand that air conditioning is used less in Europe than in America, but this was our fourth hotel during this Italy trip and all the others had fantastic air conditioning. We suffered quite a bit the first night getting little sleep because of the heat, but it did start to catch up and become tolerable (barely) by morning; this surprised us because the room had still been very warm when we returned to it that first day at 11 pm after the air had been on for about 8 hours. We had arrived that day at around 3 pm and were in a panic when we entered the room and found it suffocatingly hot. The host, Giovanni, told us that it would get better, but after being there a while not noticing any improvement and unable to feel cool air coming from the vent we were skeptical and wondered why he hadn't turned it on prior to our arrival to cool down the rooms. He did give us an extra "key" to insert into the slot so the air would continue running while we were out sight seeing, but didn't earn our confidence with his dismissive attitude. And that was the last time we ever saw him during our 4-day stay. Travelers need to know that this is not a hotel, but rather like an apartment rental where they meet you to give you a key and then leave you on your own. There was very good housekeeping service daily, but no one to go to with inquiries about anything. That first night when we returned late and it was still hot in the room, I tried calling both numbers posted in the room for Giovanni and, apparently, his colleague, but couldn't get an answer. I then, out of concern that we wouldn't sleep for 4 nights, called booking.com.

    Location and View: The location right on the Piazza Navona and the view of it was fabulous! Rooms were clean, modern and well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No reception, it is like entering an apartment building and entrance is under construction and dirty Breakfast was limited to butter and jam only Weak Wifi signal

    Room was spacious and nicely decorated Room view to Piazza Navona Location

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no lift in this hotel and the stairwell is hot like walking into hell - 2.5 flights of stairs! We were charged 7euro additional for each day which we had to pay in cash, this was not explained prior to arriving so came as a definite shock and was higher than anywhere else we have stayed in Italy so far.

    Location is amazing! The room was like new and very deceptive from the outside! We really enjoyed our time here, looking over the piazza (yet we couldn't hear a thing when we closed the windows) was a great experience, and there was no fuss when we were later than expected for arrival (this one is not manned, so be clear about your eta otherwise you'll have to wait in the sun for 30mins like we did). We enjoyed our time so much here we stayed an additional night. If you're going to rome this is a great choice (if you can handle the 2.5 flights of stairs).

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was a let down - must be a Rome thing. A tiny glass of Orange juice, a croissant and some sliced toast. Also don't eat in the restaurant on the door step (worst pasta in town despite their claims to the contrary and the exorbitant price).

    The location is the best - our room overlooked the piazza navona and we came out the front door onto it. Great at night to see all the artists on the piazza. The room was small but perfectly adequate. They let us store our luggage all day on the day of departure.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entry needs refurbishment. Milk needed in kitchen. Wifi is important and was fixed while we were there. Not available for first couple of days.

    Excellent location and refurbished rooms. Clean and comfortable. New double glazed windows take out noise of Piazza Novana.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    yes there is a wifi bu not working , sometimes its very very slow. and there is no lobby , you walk inside between restaurants

    very central place , clean room , nice window view.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no view. We had interior room. They have rooms with view, but I did not see an option for that when reserving my room. One morning at 7am there was banging of metal pipes as some type of construction was going on beneath us. The rooms are on 2nd floor and restaurants are underneath so lots of cooking going on down there too.

    I liked being on the Piazza Navonna surrounded by beautiful fountains and restaurants. It was in walking distance to many attractions. Room was comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My boyfriend and I came from another hotel in Rome where we had been staying for 5 nights - in the same neighbourhood. We paid a fraction of the cost there (5 mins away) and got a much larger room with a view. The room we booked at the Relais Navona was supposed to be a "superior" - but the only Superior thing about it was a view of the Piazza Navona. The room was absolutely tiny - and the bathroom was internal and a tiny plastic shower - felt a bit like an Ibis Hotel - but with a massive price tag. We received breakfast vouchers for a restaurant opposite on the piazza - but the coffee and croissants were so bad compared to what we had been used to in the café down the road from our previous accommodation - we sacked off our free breakfast on the second morning and went to the other café and paid the 12 Euros for a decent coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh croissant. I wouldn't stay here again, nor would I recommend it - stay close to Piazza Navona - within walking distance and you will get cheaper accommodation that's much bigger and more in the real Roma!

    The location is just fantastic - right on the Piazza Navona - we stayed Friday and Saturday nights and the double glazing is so good no noise whatsoever

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Relais Navona71 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: