Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Ortaglia

Strada Per Pienza, 29, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy

#33 of 73 Holiday rentals in Montepulciano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 61 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a real complaint, because everything else was great, but the mattress was a bit soft, but didn't cause back problems.

    superb location, pretty and very quiet, surrounded by grape vines with beautiful view of Montepulciano. friendly welcome, lovely pool and garden, good breakfast. You do need a car to get to Montepulciano, but Ortaglia is well signposted with easy onsite parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only problem was it would have been lovely to get a cup of tea or coffee, they have lovely/ample sitting rooms set-up for guests to read or check their wifi, this may be an English thing so maybe we shouldn't complain in Italy.Would have loved either set up in our room or available urn/kettle or something to organise our own.

    The location, lovely country setting, friendly staff, helpful with location and places of interest, good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room. Dark with smallest bathroom we have ever had. Noisy ground floor location. We were there for five nights which made it worse.

    Location, grounds,pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Francesca was so welcoming, she showed us all around her beautiful property and home. Our room was very comfortable with views of the rolling hills of vineyards. Breakfast was a delicious array of fruits, homemade pastries, meats and cheeses, eggs, juices etc.and plentiful. Their Ortaglia Wines were fantastic, we shipped some home. We absolutely loved our stay at Relais Ortaglia, a true Tuscan experience we won't soon forget and hope to return someday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was a floor-standing model and loud, but we were happier with it turned off at night as it cooled down nicely at night even though it was 35C during the day

    The owner was a pleasure and extremely helpful with suggestions for our adventures. Beautiful property!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicola and Francesca are perfect hosts. Very hospitable and friendly. They really do take care of their guests. I reccomend cooking classes being not only chance to learn Toscan (and Romagnia) recipies, but also great opportunity to get to know new people, discuss about culture in different countries and have a good time. Greetings to Francesca and Nicola. Thank you and till the next time.Robert and Agnieszka

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little mix-up over our room allocation which was sorted amicably. However, I recommend you check your room carefully before booking as they are very different.

    Very friendly proprietors, outstanding pool & garden, good location. Enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was perfect - There was nothing we didn't love.

    In short, stay here (and do the cooking class)!! It will be the highlight of your trip! Our stay was the absolute highlight of our honeymoon, and we can't wait to return again for a longer stay. We arrived a little early for check in and, still, our hosts - Francesca and Nicola - greeted us with huge smiles, a tour of the beautiful property and showed us to our beautiful room furnished with antiques (we were lucky it was ready early!)! Relais Ortaglia has perfect views, perfect location, and - most of all - perfect hosts that make you feel like part of the family. The property is on top of a small hill, so it has panoramic views of the surrounding hillsides, vineyards (the Ortaglia family's own vineyards!), the town of Montepulciano, and even some taller hills/mountains in the distance. The views are gorgeous and "hug" you like you are part of the scenery. It takes only a few minutes to drive to the town of Montepulciano - you can also walk but we drove to save time. The infinity pool overlooks their vineyards, and Francesca and Nicola encouraged us to pick and eat fruit from their orchards (bright red cherries were ripe when we visited) - delicious and so unique! We did the "full menu" cooking class, which was the perfect way to experience Italian food, wine, and culture!! Francesca and Nicola are hilarious, fun, and open to answering any question you have about Italian culture, food, wine, anything! We loved cooking in their beautiful Tuscan kitchen with Francesca and Nicola and two other guests, taking a break to watch the sun set over the vineyards while trying wines from those very vineyards and asking Nicola tons of questions about wine (he's the winemaker and so knowledgeable and passionate), and then sitting down to a delicious family dinner -- I'm not very big on cooking classes (I signed us up for this because my husband loves cooking classes) but I really loved every minute of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I couldn't stay longer and enjoy the property more

    Wonderful breakfast , The BEST Host and Hostess I have EVER Experienced in 40 years of traveling! Fabulous Tour from Nicola--Best we experienced in all of our Italy travels. Cooking class is a MUST Do! 1 mile from town. The hostess, Francessca was awesome--very genuine and cared about making sure our trip and everyone else's was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Relais Ortaglia is a charming rustic farmhouse B&B set in beautiful Tuscan countryside. The location is great as it is just outside of town but close enough that walking is a possibility. The people were friendly and helpful and made bookings for us each night at delicious local trattorias. Sitting by the pool each afternoon next to olive trees and vineyards provided the perfect setting for complete escapism.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the quaint, authentic feel the property had. It was like stepping back in time only with some up-to-date amenities included. The family takes great care of the property as well as doing everything they can to make sure your stay is comfortable and memorable. They were gracious hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is not exactly the most comfortable.

    The house is beautiful with gorgeous accessories, unique pool with spectacular views of Montepulciano, all in all a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terenzio and Mara were unbelievably nice, generous and accommodating. They were knowledgeable about the area and gave us many recommendations and directions about where to go, what to do, and how to get there. Breakfasts were vast Italian breakfasts and so delicious! The grounds are beautiful, the pool is chilly but refreshing, and there is parking available. You definitely need a car to get into and out of Montepulciano, although it is only about a 5 minute drive. The wines are delicious--- we even got a tasting and a great explanation about the wines and how they are made! Overall, a wonderful experience, we want to go back with our entire family!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely magical experience, beautiful location, the owners and staff were so friendly and we really enjoyed the pool that overlooked the vineyard. Would definitely like to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could fault about this place, we loved every moment there & wish we stayed for longer.

    We absolutely loved Relais Ortaglia! Everything was perfect. Unfortunately we only got to stay here for two nights but will definitely be returning. The hospitality was incredible & this place has been the highlight of our trip. The location is excellent! We had a car. There is so much to see & do around. The town is Montepulciano is absolutely Devine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our main floor room was perfect but rooms on the upper floor were quite warm in hot weather.

    The owners were so welcoming and caring. Terenzio was always on hand to give us advice and pour some of his amazing wine. Mara served a perfect cappuccino every morning, along with a delicious breakfast buffet. The pool was remarkable - sparkling clean - and the grounds were almost park-like with roses, herbs, vegetables and fruit trees. We were so lucky to find Ortaglia and will ensure our friends will find it, too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the surrounding views and our baby loved the pet chickens

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    The atmosphere. The owners were friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The breakfasts were great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful property in lovely setting; swimming pool; just outside the town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit hard in the suite

    Everything, particularly the setting

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect

    Wonderful host, very nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room door poorly insulated from the corridor noise. Mattress inconfortable. Inacceptable for the room price.

    The location, the area environnement, hospitality And advises from master house.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the beauty of this place is breathtaking. the wonderful owners are so welcoming and lovely. the rooms are classic and comfortable. I did not want to leave...we will be back!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. Swimming Pool View

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: