Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Parco Cavalonga 4 stars

SP 80 Km. 3,2, 97100 Donnafugata, Italy

#3 of 7 hotels in Donnafugata

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, very comfortable hotel with two pools, quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of mosquitoes (well may not be a recurrent issue but there were a lot during our stay). Restaurant not open everyday and snacks only partially available.

    Friendly staff, very comfortable hotel with two pools, quite amazing location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need some love and some investment in them. At the same time this could help bring them into character with the rest of the place.

    Location was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some more sun beds and sun shades by pool when the occupancy is high, would be ideal

    This was our second stay here. The place is picture perfect and the service is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely property in a quiet country setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is big but is sparsely furnished. The TV is small and far away from the bed so we had to put a small chair in front of the bed to watch it. A bit tricky to park near reception. The road in and out of the property is very narrow so you have to watch it for oncoming cars.

    Great breakfast. Comfortable bed. Lovely patio and good for people who want to walk. Very close to Donafugata castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    A perfect break from towns with too many tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t know there were two pools.

    A perfect break from towns with too many tourists. White bedroom. Beautiful bathroom. Quiet nature surroundings. Lovely courtyard for breakfast which includes delicious cheeses. The fixed menu dinner was excellent. It is served at 8pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Idyllic countryside resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal with fixed menu, even if of good quality, was expensive compared to all other places we have been in Sicily

    Very nice location in the countryside, excellent staff, clean and very spacious room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Super relaxing, professional standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs scraping in the neighbouring rooms in the night - could they put some felt under the chair legs??

    Beautiful grounds, two smallish but v nice swimming pools, excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, elegant accommodation with fabulous pools in the heart of the Sicilian countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps the option of a cup of tea in the afternoon? It seemed like the catering was closed all afternoon, and although we had a mini-bar, there was no kettle, or alternative cafes nearby, and we Brits do love our afternoon tea! A minor issue.

    Fabulous, spacious room and terrace with stunning views over the Sicilian countryside. Fabulous pools. Lovely breakfast on beautiful terrace overlooking countryside. Catered well for vegetarians, and provided lunch mid-afternoon when we arrived hungry from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A little piece of heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely peaceful rural setting. Large rooms and bathrooms. Lovely swimming pools. Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing breakfast and dinner, freshly prepared using local ingredients. A perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed a family of four in 2 connected rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed a family of four in 2 connected rooms. The place is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, with great country views, spacious comfy rooms, friendly staff and excellent diverse breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a bit out of the way unless you have a car. Also there arent alot of restaurants close by. Also the female cook was extremely rude to the receptionists when they went to enquire if we could book for dinner. she started screaming & shouting at them and we heard everything from the lobby.

    Room very nice and enormous & place well kept. B'kast good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    We had to wait for check-in for 10 minutes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait for check-in for 10 minutes. Rooms are ok but I expected more. Dinner was delicious but service and ambiente was not as it should has been.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    I would stay here again if in need of a good base for south east Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sound insulation of rooms.

    Peace and quiet. We visited Ragusa Modica Vittoria Comiso Noto Marina di Ragusa M di Noto Marzamemi,Ispica,Punta Secca ,Punta Bracetto,Scicli and a few unknowns!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    All the staff running the operation go well out of their way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property and facilities in need of uplift .

    All the staff running the operation go well out of their way to keep guests happy. Very good wine selection and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean and functional but overpriced - I can see what attracts the Germans but not for me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the sun loungers were broken. It was meant to be a retreat but there were too many kids there for it to be relaxing. Most of the other customers were Germans who appeared to know each other - felt like outsiders, especially as we were only there one night - fortunately we just beat most of the Germans to breakfast. Breakfast was pretty average compared to some of the other places we stayed in Sicily. For £125 you might expect some coffee making facilities in the apartment kitchen...In summary I regard this Relais as expensive for what it offers.

    The pool was nice. Apartment was clean and bathroom was large.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Remote but fantastic location in rustic but very charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pools and facilities were quite crowded with families and young kids when we were there. Not enough umbrella's and loungers either. It was overall not so relaxing as we had hoped and I would not return again during school holidays. We had a standard room and unfortunately no nice views. A small balcony or larger window would have been nice.

    Remote but fantastic location in rustic but very charming grounds. Very large rooms and spacious beds. Excellent shower. Good choice for breakfast. Professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Two beautiful pools never crowded at any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two beautiful pools never crowded at any time. However a few more loungers around the pool would be beneficial Large bedroom very clean and super shower The staff all very friendly and helpful. We had supper on one evening and the food was excellent A pleasant stay and would definitely recommend .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.4
    Rural endurance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Area Teapots(no lids) Flies everywhere Glasses- lack of. Plastic in place of. Pool furniture.and lack of. Pool bar- hardly ever open.

    Rooms are quite good, as are bathrooms,pools are good size and clean,pool furniture is old, falling apart and inadequate. Shade umbrellas - too few. Most staff, but one, are awful, breakfast is very poor, supposed to be available until 10.30, but by 9 45, clearing away is very evident,most food gone. Any lunch has to be ordered at breakfast, as does dinner. This hotel seems to be run for the benefit of the staff, not the client. Pool to room distances are quite far, tracks are made up of dusty rubble. Although we had booked well in advance we had to change rooms, some folks had to do so more than once!! Booking. com got the blame!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room décor was a bit basic and the bed was quite hard. The outlook from the room wasn't good, would have been better if we'd had some views. Access to the rooms from the car park wasn't that easy.

    Very nice breakfast, the best we had all week (we stayed in 4 hotels), and included in the room price. The pool was fantastic and we would have swam every day if we'd stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had two evening meals at the hotel. We would have appreciated more choice with the meal choices.

    Spacious bedroom elegantly designed with large well equipped bathroom and air conditioning. The private terrace was great. Two good sized swimming pools in a large pleasant outside space. Shaded car parking under trees was welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Excellent for a relaxing holiday to charge the batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC in the room could have been a little stronger

    Beautiful place, relaxing zen countryside feeling. Listening to birds all day long. Pools were lovely. Staff very friendly and honest. Clean and upkeep is really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hand held shower would have been more practical.

    Ecological approach, friendliness, excellent breakfast and dinner. We like it so much we will be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Perfect Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not sure what the owners can do about the flies around breakfast?I know it's out in the country so this no doubt comes with the location.

    The perfect place to be if you want to completely unwind and be away from it all.Wonderful views from our terrace - great staff that gave us a free upgrade: we could not ask for more.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handrail missing from stairs and no lifts, so getting up and down to the rooms difficult for the elderly. Otherwise staff very helpful with bags etc.

    Wonderful place with wonderful staff. Great rooms and even greater cuisine. A real gem of a place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Iblean haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff while very pleasant and courteous were somewhat reserved. So while aiming for a cool vibe it came across as a little soulless at times. Breakfast was ok but if you fancied a later start there was often not much choice.

    A quiet and restful rural location with excellent amenities. Easy access to local sights. Beautifully appointed rooms with lots of space. Imaginative dinner menus and excellent large glasses of local red wine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    A Four Night Chillax In Siciliy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been 100% if we had tea making facilities in the room.

    We arrived late at night after a drive from Catania airport. It was a bit tricky to find. On waking up we realised we had found a lovely place in the hills of Sicily. The room was spacious and modern with a complimentary bottle of wine. The breakfast was excellent and taken outside in the courtyard. There are two pools and drinks can be ordered anytime. The location was ideal for a drive into the hilltop towns of Ragusa and Modica which we loved. All in all a wonderful place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    We loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved our stay. The staff was excellent. Will surely return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Quiet rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet rural location. Swimming pool. Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The staff were delightful, the place charming and nothing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were delightful, the place charming and nothing to fault.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Room size clean bathroom good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    T V only 14 inch No English programmes Fixed meal times No ala carte Felt like a bed and breakfast not an hotel

    Room size clean bathroom good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast was really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was really great Staff was truly there to serve you in an pleasant way The place is situated on a beautifull location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Simply everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb Breakfast and staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb Breakfast and staff !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Delicious dinner, very nice breakfast jams and yoghurts, helpful staff, lovely spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice dinner - probably best during our whole visit to Sicily

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infestation of flies. No kettle in room.

    Very welcoming staff. Food was good. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect, peaceful location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful,breakfast/ dinner good. Lovely location and TWO SWIMMING POOLS!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Second time there and definitely not the last
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Second time there and definitely not the last

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Peaceful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful surroundings, gorgeous room, quiet...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    just excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not very easy to find, despite GPS

    everything was on high level, especially for Italy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing and wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool, enviroment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Fabulous location with 2 amazing pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences to report

    Fabulous location with 2 amazing pools. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Lots to explore locally like Ragusa

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Lovely staff, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was not very good and seemed expensive.

    Lovely staff, friendly and helpful. Beautiful location and swimming pools and gardens.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.8
    All was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was good!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That out holiday ended

    Everything

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Relais Parco Cavalonga traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: