Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Piazza San Marco

San Marco 312, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#251 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 833 B&B reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located right on St. Mark's square. In the morning, when the square is empty, you can run right past the church, the palace, hang a left and run down the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother has a lung condition and we booked at this residence because they had a lift but at no time did we see any notice that they turn the lift off after 10.30 so if we didn’t get back in time ,my mother had to climb 2 flights of stairs x 🙁🙁🙁 if we had known this we wouldn’t have booked with them .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When reception was closed lift did not work.

    Location just superb as 18 steps from San Marco. I chose our room for the terrace views of Doges Palace & the view was better than the picture shown. Breakfast delivered on tray to room was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was tacky, only 1 staff and no one after 7pm. Even lifts don’t work after 7pm. I didn’t enjoy the location either because the noise from downstairs goes on till 2 even 3 am ! A very crowded place to stay and very expensive too.

    It’s right where all the attractions and restaurants are. So yes location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like. Our room was up a flight of stairs and there isn’t an elevator, so those with mobility issues should take note. We had a great stay.

    Great location just steps from St. Mark’s Square. Large comfortable room. Staff offered very helpful advice fo making the most from our short visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No directions to hotel and Venice is very challenging. When I called for directions, I gave the manager the names of my cross streets he told me, "I cannot give you directions, but you are very close, just keep coming. By asking shop owners we finally found it. No lobby. Just a small office that smelled of cigarettes. No view except of the building across the street. We could not see any room in the hotel that had a view of St. Mark's Square. Hotel is over a bar which stay open late and can be very loud. I called Booking.com and told the representative that I did not feel like I got what I paid for. She contacted the owner who said she would call me the next day. I never heard from her. Room was tired and small. The walls are covered in fabric. Wall fixtures (lights, etc) are loose. The bathroom is so narrow that you can rest your head on the opposite wall while you sit on the toilet. There are broken tiles in the shower and no soap dish. There are ceiling issues in the bathroom (see pictures). The molding over the door is missing. The glass on the desk is broken. There is only one chair, so while breakfast was nice, we had to sit on the bed to eat.

    The location was very convenient. The breakfast was served in room and was very nice (see picture). Bed was comfortable and linens were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, generally very average accommodation Staff no more than amiable

    Good breakfast, good central if that’s what you want, too noisy would recommend a little further away from San Marco for a better spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac didn't work in the first day so got a portable fan. After one night they changed the room to other building.no lift. So many stairs and they had no porter service Lift in second building only works in day time. Receptionist gone.lift gone.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room

    Located at the heart of Venice. Enjoyed San Marco Plaza at night, knowing my room was literally right around the corner. No walking thru dark streets at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs renovation as well as the hall. The bells on the Clock Tower rings every hour very loud. Reception is available only during a day time.

    Location is great. The room is nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was small and not supported at the base so unstable and made lots of noise ha!

    Great location n San Marco Square. Generous breakfast tray and nice check in welcome after hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in San Marco and it'a in very good area. We enjoyed our stay there. It was really close to all main attractions. Very nice restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I am going to be fussy then it would have been nice to have had a kettle and cups in the room for an afternoon cup of tea. Satellite TV with some movies in English would have been nice on the one evening we chose not to stay out late. There are quite a few beggars which is always sad to see (no different from any other city though).

    Very easy to walk from the water taxi (which was the easiest way to travel to and from the airport with our four bags). No bridges to cross and a 5 minute walk. The hotel was very close to St Mark's Square (30 seconds walk). Easy to check in with a friendly receptionist who walked us to our room. Lovely large bed, nice decor. Wardrobe with plenty of hangers. There was a safe inside the wardrobe to leave valuables (set your own combination easily). The bathroom had toilet, bidet, sink with mixer tap, good mirror with good lighting. Nice shower and a bath with invigorating water jets. Body wash nd plenty of towels provided. Hair dryer was a bonus as we were not sure if that was included. A breakfast menu (which had to be filled out each evening for the following morning) was hung on the door handle and you could specify the time this would be brought to your door. Breakfast was plentiful including cereal, fresh juice, fresh fruit, croissants, pain au chocolat, bread rolls, cheese, ham, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, Baby Bel cheese, chocolate spread, jam...the list goes on! A fridge loaded with soft and alcoholic drinks was provided (along with tariff if you chose to drink any of it). A TV on the wall with remote gave a choice of Italian programmes. Aircon/heating was also provided and worked well. After we checked out on the final day the hotel kindly looked after our luggage so we didn't have to drag it around with us. There are plenty of places to leave luggage in Venice but all these places charge per bag so it was nice for them to do this for free. Although not directly related to our hotel, we were lucky to time our visit to include Valentine's Day and the Mardi Gras carnival. Plenty of life and wonderful costumes everywhere you looked. Despite the restaurants being expensive if you choose certain ones, there were plenty of cheaper options including all you can eat buffets and shops which sold pizza and cake by the slice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room expectations were not lived up to as compared to the pictures in booking.com uploaded by the hotel. It was not so "Venetian" and "grand"

    The location was the best part about this hotel. It is right behind Piazza San Marco!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs renovation. Bed clothes was cutted. Need to talk renovation and good organisation. When we wanted to leave, nobody there to take the keys. If we late they will want money, when we hurry to be on time - nobody to take it.

    Top located hotel in small old building. Normal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms! We were checked in at the top most room. It was a hike. The stairs was sooo tiny, accident prone area! So you have to e really careful.

    The front officers were really nice! I forgot his name, butthe guy who welcomed us was very accommodating and he helped us with our luggages. The location is good. Very near piazza san marco.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom- water tap was broken and toilet flush button also (it was “fixed” with a tape..)

    Location!!! Wow wow wow! First night we’ve got a room with a view to San Marco square, it was something magical! :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fabulous location, just off st Mark’s square. The breakfast to your room was always on time. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The decor in the room was more updated than on the website pictures. We were even left us a bottle of bubbly for an anniversary. Would stay again at the same hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything fantastic! The reception staff your attention is incredible !! The cleaning and breakfast girls are great !! The big breakfast is awesome!! We can say that it is a very elegant and comfortable hotel! We recommend it one hundred percent! And sure we will return!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But was disappointed not to have realised reception closed from 7pm-11am removing the feeling of safety that I was looking for from a hotel as a lone traveller. The bathroom was tired. My lights weren’t working when I returned one evening and my phone almost didn’t work as a button was broken and pressed down on the wrong number, so it took me quite a bit of time to manage to call the evening helpline, worrying as I was alone. If there was a crisis this was not good! and when it did work, it took 20 minutes for a man to arrive, who then proceeded to tell me in Italian with no English how to reset the fuse box in the room. I’m sure the receptionist on the phone could give out this information if they had it! Breakfast was fine and a good size but not worth the extra cost unless you don’t want to leave your room, as more delicious food is available for that cost or much less elsewhere.

    Booked this hotel for location and as I wanted a hotel not Air BnB due to travelling alone and wanting to feel safe. Location was perfect. Style of room was fun and Venetian and like photos I expected. Daytime reception staff were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to go to another hotel to check into this hotel

    Excellent location just off the corner of San Marco! Beautiful and spacious rooms with excellent breakfast served only in your room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no tea/coffee/kettle not enough working plugs

    bed lovely, location fantastic. Only downsides were only one working plug and no kettle/tea/coffee making items. couldn't be better placed for walking around venice and overlooking st Marks square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the main hotel is far and guest has to walk 15 min just to check in..was not warned beforehand of this and it's not even 6 pm yet when I checked in . There should be a receptionist at the branch as well. The receptionist was NOT that friendly has to check all my documents even if i already showed my emailed booking confirmation pin and # on my phone. I understand it's for security porpuses though and , I hope not because of him being a racist .The staff at the other building are amazing though...strelita and Cecil grazie ladies!

    The other building is where i stayed was only about 15 steps to piazza Marco

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear all the noise from the outside of the building and specially the clinging of the bells that is sooooo close to the building. It rings even in midnight and dawn. Hard to get sleep with all the noise you hear from the outside. The facility could use a renovation.

    It is steps away from san marco square. The staffs are helpful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This accommodation (would not call it a hotel) is disgusting! Booking.com should remove it from it's list of accommodation in Venice. The person behind the desk, his name is Ricardo was rude, condescending, patronizing and extremely unhelpful. When I asked to speak to the owner to complain about our room, he flatly said that I should send an email to Booking.com and complain! The room was dark, small and claustrophobic, carpet was filthy, tiny and outdated bathroom, not welcoming, ignored us for 2 minutes before acknowledging our presence when checking in. Then to our surprise took us to a separate building around the corner, up 3 flights of stairs, not offering to help us with our luggage, shoving the key in the door and walking away! No information on where to have breakfast (which was included), I had to ask the lovely girl who was cleaning the room next to us about where breakfast is served. It seems like Ricardo despises tourists and would rather not have to deal with them. Upon check in he demanded payment up front before (unusual as we had travelled around Italy for 4 weeks and we pay for hotels on departure), then asked for the city tax to be paid in cash, and when I offered to pay with a credit card - this was a hassle for him to process a separate transaction. Everything about this accommodation should be avoided if you don't want to spoil your stay in Venice. We were treated like rubbish in a 1* accommodation.

    The location and the lovely girl who cleaned our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure was low in the shower but wasnt a big deal could have been related to the local water flows and not properties fault.

    Beautifully designed rooms and the best location possible barely 20 meters from San Marco sqaure!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room decor was amazing! The bed was comfy. The breakfast served in our room was enough to feed an army!! Absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended. The location was also excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed not too comfortable. Had to go up flight of stairs to get to the elevator, so had to carry up 4 large bags. Also there was a smell of puke in the corner (floor) near the door.

    Great Location, closest possible to St Marks Square. Breakfast was beyond expectations, very good. Nice modern bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was always delivered on time, great selection, and very generous portions. The check in staff person was very welcoming and informative and the service staff were fabulous. We couldn't have asked for a better location to do what we wanted to do in Venice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was hard to find. There is no 24hr front desk.The front desk closed at 7pm. So if you check in late you have to call another location and they will come over and check you in. That might take some time. The front desk was also in a different building then where the room was. The room could use a pot to boil water to make your own coffee. the room was dated but clean.

    the breakfast was good , the people cleaning the room was very friendly and good, great location. The bed was ok. the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's too little hot water for shower.

    The location is really good. It's just on the piazza san marco. And the breakfast is wonderful as it's served to the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get loud from tourists drinking late at night at a bar on the ground level.

    Unbeatable location right beside the basilica, close to all the tourist areas of the city. Very nicely decorated rooms fitting in with the style of the city itself.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of stairs with a heavy suitcase. Man who checked us in hardly spoke a word to us. Not even a smile. Pay up, show the room and left. Very small, very expensive for what you get. Facilities not to great, but not too shabby either. Know that you are paying for the location, not the size of facilities or fancy furniture. Forgot to mention, the aircon was leaking water on the carpet, although it wasn't even on. But you can't report the problem to anyone, no one around...

    The location is the only reason I would recommend this hotel. It was clean but furniture definitely not the standard you expect for the price. Although, we will stay there again for the location - overlooking Piazza San Marco. Breakfast was on time at the door every morning. Get served breakfast in your room due to dining space being a problem. It is Venezia for you I suppose. No space to waste. Food was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SCANDALOUS look at my pictures

    Well if you are looking for the worst hotel in Venice you are done! 1st you have to check in in other building be careful if you need something there is no reception (nobody it's really closed) after 7pm and until 10am the air conditioning isn't working the hotel is on a terrible state ! look at my pictures ! and price is higher than other beautiful hotels like splendid hotel or the 2 princes or others ! I booked at splendid hotel after this horrible experience and we could enjoy Venice finally:) pic 1 room air conditioning pic 2 pool on the floor under air cond. pic 3 room door pic 4 hotel corridor pic 5 hotel corridor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in until 19:00 - then you have to call another hotel and wait for the keys. After a long journey with children it was uncomfortable.

    Perfect location next to St. Mark's Square. The hotel and room is close from enywhere - I can recommend families with children. Delicious breakfast served in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception in the building, took along time to contact the number on the door. Then had to walk long distance to another hotel to check in. They have also over charged me for the room. Breakfast was all packaged products stored in our building, nothing fresh or freshly prepared.

    Just the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff in the building after 7pm. Hotel is split across 2 separate buildings - do note if you need to book multiple rooms. Poor breakfast options but plenty of alternatives available just outside the door. Free wi-if doesn't work. Air con wasn't really adequate for the summer heat.

    You can't beat the location of this property and the incredible views onto St Mark's Square. The rooms are well furnished, clean & comfortable. We booked last minute and got a great price for the rooms even though it was a peak season visit. Friendly staff who helped print ticket vouchers for our day trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were not friendly. The reception was in one building and our room was in another. No lift so had to carry the suitcases all by myself to the reception and the room, both of them were in second floor, and no assistance were given or offered by the hotel. The manager or owner who were taking us to the room in another building from the reception saw me carrying two suitcases, getting up and down the stairs, never bothered to offer any help. Very mean behaviour, no iron was provided, and when asked about it, the way they replied seemed we asked a bad question. Breakfast menu was very limited, and missed items from the order. The lady who provided the breakfast was rude as well, somehow throwing the breakfast tray on our hands, not even bothering to say hi. It felt like we are receiving services for free, when we paid for these and comparatively more than other places. Toilet window was broken, there was no normal A/C, what we see in a normal hotel, in the room, rather a small cooler machine which was making annoying noise all the time, and we were sweating always.

    Being very close to St mark's square, looking around was easier. The room was spacious and well decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets and bedding not smelt fresh, room smelt old and mouldy. Carpet and fittings all not maintained. No iron facilities when other hotels provided for same or cheaper pricing. Too many stairs no lift which was not mentioned . Could of booked a nicer hotel like Aqua Palace for same price with proper conceige and reception desk.

    lo ation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was spirited by partitions doors which you can hear the neighbors in another rooms

    Beds was very comfortable, break fast good but littlie poor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a little flat, which unfortunately set the tone for this place. The room itself was dated and stuffy - early 90s style carpet, bedspread that seemed to be of about the same vintage. We were never confident of the cleanliness. The silver lining was it meant we spent as little time as possible in the accommodation!

    Excellent location - probably the closest hotel to St Mark's Basilica - which in hindsight is most of what we were paying for. However all the sights are very accessible if you stay on either of the two main islands. The room was a good size and the breakfast was also generous. The air conditioning unit seemed to be a DIY installation that was plumbed through a window. But, in the peak of summer, it made the accommodation bearable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was too hard !

    location ! nice owner ! location ! location ! feel like you livin in 17century ! breakfast super nice ! they bring it every morning when u want it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel looks different on paper. All night people sang and talked in the courtyard. We did not receive the room we booked. I booked a queen bed with a pull out couch, but there was no pull out couch when we I got there. There was no dining room. Breakfast was served in the room. I did not know where to return the key because checkout occurred earlier than when the staff showed up for duty. The room was too expensive for what we received. The site claimed that your credit card would not be charged until you got here, but the company tried two times to charge my card BEFORE I arrived.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed Friday and Saturday night unfortunately very noisy until late at night from the outside street

    Great location easy to find and very central Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in a room where they were replacing the carpets, the chemical smell was so bad i had a constant headache. Traveling to meet up with a cancer survivor group I was not happy being exposed to so many chemicals. I asked for another room and was told there was no option for that night I just needed to suffer thru. There was no compensation for my inconvenience. They did move us the next night but starting off my trip on this foot was not enjoyable at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old property. Bed wasnt comfy. Sounds were very clear from the other rooms. Weird sound from the wall behind the bed throughout the night. Safety box was not working well.

    Just the location. Nothing else

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water first morning although we were late getting up, no electricity one night when we got back so had to phone to find out what to do. Easily sorted, but easier if the hotel had the contact telephone number in the room and not just on the first floor lift. Laying new carpet on the stairs the days we were there so stepping over stuff and the smell of glue was quite strong. Mind you it looked lovely after and they can't close whilst they fit it.

    Good breakfast delivered to the room. Decorated perfectly for Venice. Perfect position to make the best of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect, we had a brilliant time in Venice. Try and visit Murano and Burano - 20 Euro's - 4 hour boat trip - 2 islands. Booked at the yellow desk on the water front at St Mark's.

    Our room was beautiful (just like their photo's) and in St Mark's Square.... Breakfast was great and lots of it. We ate breakfast in bed (bliss) - we choose the time of 8am. Our bed sheets were washed every day, so no crumbs in the bed! A/C was on all the time, even when we took out our light key, which was a bonus. You can control the A/C from the room. Easy to check-in and check out. Remember the tax which they prefer in cash - ours was 12 Euro's and we stayed 3 nights. Shower was great, but the hair dryer in the bathroom wasn't very strong. Weather was hot, so no need for the hair dryer. Staff were very polite. We left our suitcases there on our last day, our check-out was at 11am. The hotel was manned until midnight, we had no problems at all. If back after midnight you have the main key to enter the hotel. Easy to use. All perfect - very impressed. We will return and stay again. It's also very easy to find. Enjoy your stay.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdrier in the bathroom was really not functional. I would have dried my hair quicker if I just stood next to a radiator.

    The room decor was really elegant and classy. Brilliant breakfast. Couldn't have been in a better location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - we were not expecting the Ritz for what we had paid - we simply wanted a bed, a central location, clean room, good shower - and we got this. No complaints.

    The young lady at reception was very helpful - we left our suitcases there before our afternoon check in. We enjoyed our breakfasts at the table on the landing. She even gave us a 'breakfast' bag on our check out as we were leaving very early to get the vaporetto to Marco Polo airport. She also arranged a free boat trip for us to see the glass workshops on Murano Island (my wife loved this) and she arranged for us to print our check in passes for the home bound flights at Relais' sister hotel. Overall, we loved it there - great location for all the main sights, and not too far to catch our boat to the airport. Would go back again to Relais Piazza San Marco and have given the contact details to a friend who is planning to visit Venice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to climb the stairs with our luggage twice - to check in in one building and to the actual rooms in another. The check-in staff was not friendly and did not offer any help with luggage. Although we were told at the check-in that the breakfast was included, at the check-out, we discovered that it was included only in one of the rooms. For the other room, we were charged 30 euros per night for the breakfast. The breakfast was excellent on the first morning, but on the second, many items that were ordered (in both rooms) were not delivered. The cleanliness was not acceptable - huge stains on the duvet in one of the rooms and stained/dirty carpet throughout both rooms. There was a water leak in the bathroom of one of the rooms. The staff told us that they would do nothing about it, because it was a weekend.

    The location is excellent - right next to St. Marco Square. One of the two rooms we stayed in had a view of the square, as you can see on the attached picture.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat broken: shower needs to be repaired to ensure that the facilities work properly. Bathroom had cracked tiles, mould on the ceiling, plug in basin broken.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't the same as in the picture, we choosed with a patterned classic wallpaper, but got something else. But it is really not so big problem. On the carpet there were strange white patches, caused by bleach.

    The location is excellent, on the San Marco Square. The room's window looked on a small street, but if we turned our head left in the window, we saw the San Marco. The minibar was expensive, but full with different drinks. The bathroom was really very-very clean, equipped with a big jacuzzi-type bathtub. It worked, and made strong bubbles and massage. The breakfast was served in the room, and could be choosed from a rich list.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift doesn't start from ground floor only from first floor where reception is & it doesn't operate after 7pm when staff leave! There was no-one there to check us out at 8:30am! Fancy shower knobs, needs some attention.

    Spacious room, beautifully decorated in classic Venetian style, with padded walls and matching bedsheets and curtains. In-room breakfasts were fresh and plentiful. Bathroom was decently sized and fully kitted.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely rude and unpleasantful. Even tough we checked in a day later since I flight got delayed and still paid them for the full reservation, they were extremely rude to us. Even though we made a booking for 2 adults and 2 kids, the staff argued that the booking was only for 3 pax. When we inquired about breakfast he made fun of us saying that don't order 3-4 kgs of breakfast. If I am holidaying in their country, they should clearly understand that I have the means to support my own holidays rather than their cold free breakfast. We were said that the checkout time is 11 am, but when we returned to the hotel around 1045 am, they had already put all our luggage outside. The common toilet was more like a cramped store room full of trash bags even encroaching over the toilet bowl. Overall it was the worst experience we had.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was slightly old and not working perfectly A lot of noise from the streets at night Limited reception hours

    Great location if you want to stay in the heart of the city. Loved the room design very unique and elegant, also quite spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All was more than good!!!

    All was very good and nice!!! If we have to mention specific points, we will remark the hôtelier- very nice and so helpful : thanks again to make that phone call and to support us to get our tickets to the museums!!! -, the location - in a small, cost street parallel to Place San Marco - and the size of the room - really enough place, also around the bed!!! We definitely will come back!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't always staffed because the staff are split between two buildings

    Hotel was a perfect place to sightsee Venice. We used it as a place to touch place because it was so conveniently placed. 10 mins from Rialto Bridge and literally 30 seconds from the basilica and the piazza San marvo

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is too cool.

    Room is very nice and nearby the St. Macro's square. Breakfast is great with various choices of food and fruits. The roof is good for leisure as watching the sky at night. This hotel is out of our expectations, excellent!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has bad management Systems . They have this horrible system of calling to check in and they make you feel stupid for calling at least my mother was very stressed by this process. I need a chapter to really explan that. Door bell broken. There was at one point bad licking on top of our room directly over the bathroom ceiling with built for years a lot of mold. What kind of bacteria or how toxic we do not know. We are so far seem not to have suffer from Bactria ingesting but someone else allergic to that particular bacteria may not be so well. Finally I booked the hotel from you booking .com and as I studied it all breakfast was included. My mothers first I booked her flight with just fly.com from there it linked me to the same hotel branded with booking.com asking me if I'd like to get that hotel too I said ok so I clicked ok ad I booked that from justfly.com linked to booking.com the room as part or as partner with booking.com When I did that not only did it take the entire price of the booking at once but also in a Strange way put to the hotel that breakfast was not included as oppose to my room with I booked directly with booking.com That was bad but it got worse. This hotel had no restaurant,they have a worker bringing you breakfast every morning to my mothers room which according to them did not merited breakfast because just fly booked linking to booking.com Yet with no explanation of this the breakfast was delivered anyway after they called my mother to the office to have her pay every breakfast As we reviewed the flyer that you fill every night asking for what would you want to eat the next morning. Then you hang in your door. However it plainly says written breakfast is included with the room stay.

    For us location was priority 1 we also like that our room was big we had a lot of stuff to spread in the room and we also annoyed the color and decorating I do not like being in Venice and having to give my key every time I come back like it's my mom or something. Here I did not have to do that so that was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was below the standards I would expect from a four star hotel. In addition this hotel was embarrassingly suggested as a top pick on this website. I would be hesitant to advice people to stay here and would look elsewhere in the future.

    Leaving the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets are stained, the beds are concave. The linen although clean is tired. There is no feel of luxury here. The furniture has seen better days as has the shower. Mini bar in room but no glasses or pens or room instruction etc. No staff available at night when we asked to swap rooms so as we were staying only two nights we just stayed. The staff around in the morning didn't follow up on this either. Just felt really disappointed it's a real shame, I wouldn't book again.

    Amazing banquet breakfast, would feed you the whole day is delivered to your room every morning. The location and view is outstanding really beautiful. Delux room is huge but decorated to a very poor standard sadly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impossible to find street. Owner must improve the information how to find the hotel. Bad hotel to get in with your luggage, you start with two stair before there is an elevator. We slept on the third floor in room 6, to get in this room you have to climb on a wooden stair with your luggage. The room you have reached is very nice but again, difficult to get in and out. Hotel has only 6 rooms and there is no dining room. If you like it or not you MUST have breakfast in your room. Quality of breakfast however is very good.

    Location near square. Breakfast. Nice decorated room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and absolutely everything was wonderful. I would live in this room forever! Get the piazza view room and you will have an unforgettable visit

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a suite for three (3) peoplewith the following description: bedroom with double bed and living room with Sofa bed We selected this choice since we wanted privacy and a door between the bedroom and the living room.. When I arrived i was told we are upgraded to a big room with a view..how on earth you upgrade a suite to a just one bedroom.. commonsence is that the upgrade is from one bedroom to a suite not the other way round. I had to insist that we want what we selected and what we are paying for. We wand a double bed and a sofa bed not three separate beds one of which is a miserable portable bed. Also i had to explain that we want two deparate rooms for the travellers staying there and that what we booked for. So i finally go the following: suite that has one bedroom with two beds pulled together and thenliving room had no sofabed as described but a misearble portable bed that is extremely unconfortable..

    Location is very nice..i liked the decore and the old style wall paper

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, and the rooms were comfortable. I am not sure how many hotels in Venice offer rooms overlooking San Marco square and basilica, but this one offers a few rooms with great views. Breakfasts were in the room, and were great value. Easy to find, and easy to get to.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was in a hurry, he has taken us outside in another building, where our room was. In the second we entered the room he just run away, so we couldn't ask anyone to change our room because no one was at the reception anymore. The room was "modern" furnished but damaged and smelly. The AC was making a strange sound. Also the bathroom was full of mold. They also charged us because we have "manipulated" the minibar, but when we asked them which drinks they think that we have manipuleted, we didn't get any answer. Nor a receipt for the money they have charged on our card. It was my worst experience till now.

    I really liked the pictures posted on booking, too bad this didn't had to do with the reality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location so good. Just a few steps from Piazza San Marco, the building just next to Concerto Hall. Anyway, I like the breakfast on bed. Every morning they send us fresh breakfast, croissant fresh from the oven. Room clean, smell very nice. we reccomend this hotel if you plan to stay in venice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were more helpful than others, the hotel didn't tell us anything about our transfer details despite this being faxed to them. Also some noise late into the night/early morning due to being just off the busy square

    Amazing location right on the main square of Venice, generous breakfast bought to room, clean and spacious room ideal for what we needed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect the room as shown in the photos. No terrace as expected from photos. Dirty room and curtains/towels etc. The price per night is too overrated...

    Awesome location a few steps from St. Marco Square.. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dimly lit, entirely too warm and not cool, and the Wi-Fi is almost nonexistent. For anyone needing to utilize wifi I would recommend looking elsewhere.

    Location the central, but left much to be desired with regards to noise and crowds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls, and soft furnishings had cracks, marks, a few light bulbs out. Didn't look fantastic upon further noticing. Just wasn't in great condition, which considering how much it costs isn't great. The hot water would only really allow one person to shower not two. The receptionist was very blunt. You would have to put the timings for when you wanted breakfast served which was often ignored therefore futile. They didn't clean our room on the second day which is poor considering how much we paid. Trying to find it was hard. No one offered to help with our luggage. The toilet was literally facing the wall and the bathroom in general could be more spacious. What we didn't know is that the hotel is above a bar so it can be loud late at night. Only one pillow provided per person, granted we could have asked but we just lived with it. Also our request to have some sort of a view was completely ignored so we were just facing a wall and an alleyway.

    The location was fantastic , the décor most would consider a little out dated but we liked it. Breakfast was good, a fair amount of choice. Nice not to have to walk around and potential have breakfast in tourist traps. The wifi worked.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View on St. Mark's Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our initial impression on arrival was very disappointing the entrance had bags of laundry waiting to be collected and the carpet on the stairs was worn and grubby. Our rooms were clean but the Carpets were disgusting with stains all over. The mattresses on the beds were stained and hard. Although the sheets and towels were clean. The safe in our room was locked so required help to get it released. Followed the instructions left for setting the code and operating the safe. Tested it out several times before depositing out items in the safe. Worked ok. On returning to our room later in that evening tried the safe to make sure it was operating ok as our Passports and other documents and cash in the safe.The safe would not unlock called reception and explained what had happened and was told that I would have to wait until morning. I explained that we were due to depart at 8.30am but was informed that nothing could be done until the morning. Called reception at 7.00am and was told I would have to wait 10.00 mins for the porter as he had not yet arrived. Porter arrived around 7.20am but was unable to open the safe he went away to speak with someone came back and was able to open the safe this time. A very stressful time. Would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception man had no interest. stained carpet, no staff during evening, nearly had to get another room as the lock didn't work and had to get shop assistant nearby to phone energency number.cigarette smoke drifted through door and windows, far too pricey and poor breakfast.would not recommend

    3 nice paintings of venice on the walls

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely ....

    Our second visit to this hotel! 30m from San Marco basilica, square etc. excellent location. A little noisey at night if you have children......

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Relais Piazza San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: