Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casino Ridola 4 stars

Marcello Morelli 13, 75100 Matera, Italy

#15 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is perfect for a stay in Matera! From the moment we arrived, the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The location is about a 10minute walk from the Sassi (it is uphill on the way back, so maybe a bit longer for some people, and in the heat) It's a small hotel, so nice and relaxed. Breakfast was tasty, the rooms were very clean and spacious, and there's a swimming pool for those extra hot days! Special thanks to Domenica who went out of her way to help us during our stay- grazie mille.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Matera, one place you must have seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - complete location was under refurbishing (good for following guests) - ground floor rooms without any windows

    + good breakfast + parking inside hotel or nearby outside was no problem + historic centre not far (but foothpath with gradient, to consider for people with knee problems)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Great stay, would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic moves at a snails pace. It requires a detailed map to reach hotel by car. Parking near the center is in garage very inexpensive or by luck on the street.

    Great place.Wonderful private garden with pool. secure parking in a town where parking is impossible. 10-15 minute walk to center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for visit to Sassi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy parking was excellent. Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. Our room 105, was fresh and clean, had a huge glorious balcony overlooking a garden. Breakfast was plentiful and good choices available. The bed was very comfortable, good linen and great hot water shower. The 20 minute walk into the town was good exercise and a little challenging on the way back. Overall, this hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay visiting Matera, we were able to checkout and leave the car in the parking area for a final walk into town next morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    The perfect venue from which to explore beautiful Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is small, very friendly and beautifully decorated. It is genuine 'find' as a boutique family hotel; within 20 minute walk of the Matera sassos. Beautiful pool. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Easy access to the town, felt safe walking to/from restaurants at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Matera, modern but walkable to all Sassi sites. Heated pool would have been nice, but that's just a quibble. Nice to have secure parking, breakfast, wifi and pool. All we're on my check list.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Looking for a place to relax? You find it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular

    Internet was out of order and the lady at the reception was exceptionally friendly. She gave access to the personal network of the hotel in order to be able to continue to organize my trip. Thanks a lot Andrea for the quality of your service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Ideal place to stay when viewing the amazing sights in Matera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room with tea / coffee making facilities. Great water pressure, small en suite but well appointed with shampoo etc. Very friendly helpful staff with good English. Nice breakfast. Warm and welcoming!! Easy to walk in to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    very enjoiable, tidy, nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked to pay with cash but they took the money from the credit card I gave as warranty. Thay told that was because the price was not reimbursable, but evidently this is not a reason to disrgìegard my request. But I had the wrong person at my check out, probably Domenica, the good one, should have found a fine solution. Stairs to go at the second floor are in metal and very noisy, echoing in the premises when a guest goes to the room. That shoul be recovered,

    the class of the hotel, quite small but delicious, good architecture and finishing, heating system including refreshing by the pavement, absolutely efficient and not noisy. Fine parking and nice small swimming pool, not for sport but enjoiable for a little refreshment. Small tidy garden. Old haouse with thick walls and brick vaults in the room, small balcony, excellent wiew. Free appliances for tea in the room. Great shower, perfectly working. One person at the reception was great, very helpful. Other girls at service were smailing all the time but not so helpful. Breackfast included, in the hotel standards, not super.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    A peaceful, suburban haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hote is quite small and l does not have any public rooms for the use of guests, apart from the breakfast room where the tables seem to be set permanently. It is a long walk down into the historic centre of Matera and an uphill climb to return; there is a local bus service but this is not very frequent. It is really necessary to take the car down into the centre to see the sites and find restaurants but parking is very difficult.

    We had a bedroom on the first floor, overlooking the lovely garden, with a small balcony with a good view over the surrounding countryside. The breakfast buffet was very ample and had a wide variety of dishes to choose from. There were chairs and loungers to relax either by the small pool or in other areas of the garden. The hotel is situated on a hillside in a quiet, suburban part of Matera and is very peaceful.f

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Quiet, comfortable hotel within walking distance to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An old building renovated into a lovely hotel. Very comfortable and easy walking distance to the old town. The rooms were comfortable with modern bathrooms. A good find.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Matera if you dont want to stay in the Sassi... which we certainly didn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were unusually helpful and friendlly. We had a beautiful room with a terrace looking out over the countryside. Nice pool. Lovely garden. Easty to walk into centre but out of bustle and crowds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ideally located for traveling to Matera by car. You just drive in to their car park, move into a spacious and elegant ground floor room looking out onto a green relaxing garden area and walk down calmly to marvel at the Sassi. A generous breakfast is included!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    simple convenient location and the joy of a swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No relaxing area, no lounge and the breakfast area was fairly uncomfortable. Breakfast was very basic but did accommodate my gluten intolerance.

    The small pool in a simple garden was lovely, the staff were friendly and we could walk to the Sasso from the hotel be it a rather steep up hill walk back after site seeing and dinner. Location convenient as parking near the sasso is difficult.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Well located and comfortable hotel for a visit to the old centre of Madera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was fine but would have liked a little more fruit e.g. some fruit salad. The room safe was not actually attached to a wall but not really a problem.

    Very well located hotel with on-site parking and pool. We enjoyed a lovely room with a large balcony and good view. The staff were especially friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Stylish small hotel with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Parking at the hotel was a bonus as this can be very hard in Matera. Walk to town was easy about 15 minutes. Stylish Decor, Quiet and clean. Great breakfast and helpful friendly staff. Pool looked nice but a bit cold in April!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The word Casino is just part of the name. There is actually no casino at the hotel.

    You can leave the car in the hotel and walk to the Sassi (historic area) its about 20 minutes

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Excellent blend of classic and modern with helpful staff and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find but coordinates would help

    Liked the blend of old classic decor and modern amenities and room finishes. Easy walk to the ruins and cliff dwellings and walking tours! Good local restaurants in town too

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable accommodation, although a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little expensive considering we visited in late October and paid 145 Euro a night. Had we waited closer to the time before booking our room, we might have saved some money.

    Very friendly service; good breakfast; nice room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Classy and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English T V channels (but with good WiFi, no issue)

    Large, comfortable bed in modern spacious room. Dark and quiet at night. Good WiFi. Easy walking distance to old town. Great staff - forwarded the kindle I left within 24 hours -Thanks!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful house, amazing garden, very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite noisy, the metal staircase makes a lot of noise when people walk on it. You get woken early when people descend for breakfast and get woken up late when they get home.

    Beautiful house, amazing garden, very peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    An affordable pleasure to stay at this very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not fault our accommodation at Hotel Casino Ridola. Whilst it is a 15 minute walk from the Sassi it was worth staying there. Its a quietr oasis on top of a hill! The staff, particularly Domenica, were very helpful and went out of there way to assist us and make us feel welcome. The swimming Pool was a welcome relief from the heat in the afternoon. The continental breakfast catered for our needs adequately. Parking was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    Very convenient for seeing Matera with the opportunity to relax as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in rooms could do with being more modern;some drawers were difficult to open. However this was not a major problem.

    Easy to find, good on site parking, lovely garden and swimming pool. The hotel has everything needed and is in a great location . It was very hot during our stay so a swim in the pool after walking around Matera all day was very welcome. Staff were helpful and booked restaurants for us. Breakfasts were also good .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in Matera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No indoor relaxing area.

    Beautiful boutique hotel with gorgeous 'trulli' style bedroom ceiling, modern bathroom, balcony, pool and loads of charm. Tea and kettle in the room - almost unheard of! The staff were fantastic and breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable accommodation with easy access to town sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean, comfortable and situated within easy walking distance (small incline on the way home) of the Sassi. Nice to have the garden and swimming pool to relax in/by for a while at the start or end of the day. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good to have parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Excellent position for walking into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position for walking into town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in lovely garden setting with helpful reception girl, easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Domenica, the girl on reception, is friendly & helpful & has excellent English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First line hotel, everything works very well. Good maintenance no leaks in bathroom excellent shower adequate size of shower box

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    This was a beautifully renovated house with history without going over the top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except hairdryer could have been more functional!

    The whole ambience was perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service in a beautiful old house. Easy walk to some of the best restaurants in town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    No restaurant on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant on site

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    The staff could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was up the hill from town but it was quiet at night.

    The staff could not be better. The rooms were very clean and nice bedding. Very new.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    gotta get back for leisure next time !!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfort and kindness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.5
    great location, helpful staff, not so great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No openable window

    Staff very helpful Very quiet Delightful small swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.9
    Lovely if you need a pool, need to be more elegant about charging for extras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay for water and towel hire. No coffee machine in room.

    Our lovely attic room, the pool when we could use it (poor weather)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    4.2
    Proximity matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room the view the staff the breakfast room

    Proximity matera

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    excellent breakfast and very nice rooms and whole hotel. Conveniantely located close to the center. Beautiful views to hills from our room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice staff gave us some tips for our visit and made some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice staff gave us some tips for our visit and made some time to chat with us at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    Place to stay Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was large and airy. We were provided with a kettle and tea making items. The breakfasts were exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    6.3
    The breakfast was great, best we had in our travels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was smaller and more suburban than I expected. The standard rooms are a bit closed in, no views or aspect. The shower constantly ran out of hot water as there was a small tank shared by 2 rooms. It did reheat quickly though. I expected better for the cost. No restaurants or Cafes close by.

    The breakfast was great, best we had in our travels!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Comfy beds, freedom to come and go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much to be done about this but hotel is located up a steep hill from town. Would also like some food options as its isolated a little from resturants etc.

    Comfy beds, freedom to come and go.Little extras like sweets in the room and the eagerness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    A beautiful setting above the sassi [ancient caves many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was fine but for the type of hotel didn't compare as well as some of our other excellent breakfasts.

    A beautiful setting above the sassi [ancient caves many still inhabited ]of Matera -stunning and within walking distance [steep hill] or able to take car into town. Very helpful staff willing to advise on best places to see and showed on a local map. Lovely spacious room with a terrace overlooking the mountains of Basilica. A wonderful place to conclude our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.3
    I enjoyed room, parking, breakfast and above all staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is 15 minutes far from the turistic part of Matera (walking), for me is ok but someone could have some problems about it.

    I enjoyed room, parking, breakfast and above all staff

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic staff and excellent coffee - breakfast was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was a little far from the Sassi - fine for me, but perhaps not for those averse to a 10 minute walk.

    Fantastic staff and excellent coffee - breakfast was great too.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.6
    Excellent and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The single beds in the double/twine room are too small and too soft. I did not sleep well because of the bed.

    Excellent and helpful staff; secured free parking on site; convenient location; very clean, nice breakfast; excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    From beginning to end of our stay everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    From beginning to end of our stay everything was perfect. All staff and personel was so nice and speak very nice english. The garden and rooms was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    A lovely small hotel in a beautiful residential area above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The top floor, where our rooms were located, was accessed only by a stairway. There was an elevator to the second floor.

    A lovely small hotel in a beautiful residential area above the famous caves of Matera. Very easy to drive to and park. Stylish modern interior. Short walk downhill to restaurants and sights. Extremely helpful English speaking desk staff, who recommended restaurants and organized a tour. Fabulous breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    Location was excellent especially with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A more detailed map, but it is a difficult town to navigate, and probably to "map"

    Location was excellent especially with a car. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    The excellent people skills of all staff who helped us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A.

    The excellent people skills of all staff who helped us. We were very impressed with the patient way we had all our queries dealt with. It was obvious that people were prepared to go out of their way to assist us.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.5
    Staff helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room on the top floor the access to which was via a long flight of metal stairs. The hotel was at the top of a steep hill in an unprepossessing residential area about 3/4s of a mile from the town centre and there was nowhere to eat nearby.

    Staff helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Room comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Close to the historic centre of Matera, which is a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the historic centre of Matera, which is a fantastic town! The hotel has a pool and free parking. The rooms were big, cool and clean, the staff were helpful and very nice. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff. Pool. Ten minute walk uphill from the Sassi. A chance to ponder as you wander. Great breakfast for Italy. Parking, a valuable asset in Matera. Would stay again. Would stay here for longer. Would stay here forever.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really the only negative for this hotel is the cleanliness of the shower. The rest of the room and bathroom were very clean. The shower must be cleaned.

    The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location is good and it is very helpful to have secure parking on the grounds. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    The photos on the website do not do this hotel justice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You can't come here without a car because you need to drive to go to nearby villages or towns for sightseeing, for the sea, or for restaurants (although the hotel restaurant is delicious!)

    The photos on the website do not do this hotel justice. It's spectacular. The grounds are wonderful, there are plenty of areas in the garden where you can sit privately with a book or a drink. The pool is clean and not crowded, especially on weekdays - we often had it to ourselves! The rooms are beautiful, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    Great staff who were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet in room smelled of urine and many cobwebs from ceiling. Breakfast very basic.

    Great staff who were very friendly and helpful. Quiet location and lovely pool.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    Girl at the reception was incredibly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor things could be improved to live up to the standards of an upper class hotel like cleanliness of the rooms, replenishing of the soap and shampoo, making sure there is room in bathroom to hang towels. But those are just minor things.

    Girl at the reception was incredibly helpful. She gave us lots of tips for sightseeing and nice restaurants and was very helpful in finding a guide for a hike. Nice breakfast with savories and sweets. Great swimming pool and garden.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful building with a friendly staff, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building with a friendly staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, and serving great breakfast! The walk to the Sassi was a bit longer (10 min) than expected.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    The decor within the building was great and the staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was close to town however the area was a little run down with an adequate but basic breakfast.

    The decor within the building was great and the staff very helpful with good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    Rooms good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very little - location was in the middle of a housing estate and it was a fair walk to the centre. Good for short stay

    Rooms good Staff very helpful and friendly Traditional Italian hotel - nice atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Loved, loved, loved the room and the way it was decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think there was a problem with the Wi-Fi but can't remember at the moment...

    Loved, loved, loved the room and the way it was decorated with original antiques from the era. Liked that you had an elevator!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    The friendly staff and a quirky bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was not very picturesque - opposite a noisy school/community centre and not as central as we had thought.

    The friendly staff and a quirky bedroom

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    Room was very clean and spacious although stairs to second...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went to breakfast mid-way through the two hour service. There was one small pastry left and they said no more would be available. We waited about 15 minutes before catching the eye of one waitress and asking for coffee, as they seemed more concerned at getting everyone cleared away.

    Room was very clean and spacious although stairs to second floor tricky with suitcases. Walk into Metera was straightforward once we headed I the right direction.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel, helpful staff, good parking facilities, within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small, but efficient. Not cheap, but I guess you can't expect that in such a popular destination.

    Nice hotel, helpful staff, good parking facilities, within walking distance from the old center.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.6
    Staff and breakfast cappuccino .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was a little far from town. Hotel was nice but area around hotel had some dumpsters and needed some upgrades.

    Staff and breakfast cappuccino .

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    A well appointed hotel with very helpful English speaking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While the hotel was lovely, the walk to the Sassi was about 800 metres downhill. Fine walking down, bit of a slog on the way back if you're not too sprightly!

    A well appointed hotel with very helpful English speaking reception staff. Our room had a balcony with views over the adjacent properties of open countryside.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    10
    Staff pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff pleasant and helpful. Good breakfast. Ten minute walk to center of the city. Lift does not go to second floor so be prepared for steps if you are on that level.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    We were welcomed very warmly at the hotel even though we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a bit of a walk up a hill from the old town along litter strewn streets. Shame the council can't do better. The hotel itself is lovely.

    We were welcomed very warmly at the hotel even though we arrived very early. We enjoyed the easy parking in the hotel grounds, the pretty garden, and a swim in the pool. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    The staff could not have been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit dark but tolerable. The hotel is difficult to find

    The staff could not have been more helpful. They were polite and courteous at all times. They could not have helped us more, Serena particularly. The swimming pool and garden were a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    8.8
    The location to the centre of Matera is a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative is the walk back from the Historic Centre.

    The location to the centre of Matera is a good walk away and is a steep climb back up to hotel. Something to bear in mind when booking. We decided to take the car down but parking can be a problem in Matera. However, the hotel itself is charming, very clean and comfortable. clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.8
    Lovely atmospheric room in historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely atmospheric room in historic building. Tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The pool and gardens are a bonus too although we were there at the wrong time of year to use them.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was a little sporadic and didn't work in all areas of the room.

    Very friendly staff. Lovely room, very comfortable. Free and safe parking. Easy walk into theold part of Matera.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.2
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Spacious room

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Very close to the old town of Matera;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to the old town of Matera; ca. 50 euros/night for this property was really cheap.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    Staff was super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was super helpful. Breakfast was good. Liked the location and ease of seeing the sights of Matera easily.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    9.6
    Nice boutique hotel not too far from the Sassi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice boutique hotel not too far from the Sassi. Quiet rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, free parking and fast and free WiFi.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: