Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Victoria

Via Delle Gavine 3104/B San Macario In Monte, 55100 San Macario In Piano, Italy

#1 of 4 hotels in San Macario In Piano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Very clean rooms, beautiful villa and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was necessery to ask to use the pool even during the day. The sunbeds around the pool weren’t very clean so it was quite impossible to use them.

    Very clean rooms, beautiful villa and garden. Anna was super nice person and it was pleasure to meet her.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Relax and amazing surroundingd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful renovated house, the tenant will do their best to make you feel welcome. The garden is perfect to relax and the location allows to be quickly in Lucca.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.3
    Wouldn't recommend anyone this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and dark room, very bad lighting especially in the bathroom, long time waiting for hot water in the shower, no view from the hous ,very poor breakfast, not welcoming hosts

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendliness and warm welcome from the owners, the pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better (better coffee, more fresh food) and the rooms could use airco in the hot summer days.

    Friendliness and warm welcome from the owners, the pool and the very relaxing, quiet atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful stay outside Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suggest to install drapes over the windows so guests are not woken by the bright sun at 5am :)

    Owners Anna and Gaetano are very nice. Clean and comfortable accommodations. Nice continental breakfast to start your day, and Anna's fresh baked cakes and pies are delicious. Anna recommended a nice local Bistro 'Dona Sofia', just outside Lucca. Very nice local restaurant, the manager and waiter greeted us like family. Great food, atmosphere and value. Would we go back ... Yes! Ciao!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Very nice Hotel in an old Tuscany building with a beatyful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Hotel in an old Tuscany building with a beatyful garden. The staff is very polite and you can see and feel everywhere in this nice place that they really love what they do. The guest is king here!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    On some distance of Lucca (20 min drive), you will find this beautiful house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was cold, took a long time to get warm, breakfast not so much variety.

    Typical old landhouse, dinner in the garden. Very friendly people, home made pie in the morning. Lucca is very nice to visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.3
    Great choice if you're looking for a place to rest and recharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minus points are primarily because for the price/p/n my expectations are higher than for our normal accommodation (60-80 oppn) No aircon, room was quite hot a night No anti allergie sheets on bed, both woke up each night with stuffy nose Breakfast wasn't to elaborate, except for the home made cakes each morning by the hostess. Outside breakfast would be 10x better. And fresh orange juice for example Chairs in the garden are not very comfortable. After 10 minutes you become aware of the metal bars in the frame of the chairs. Everything by car. No small town center on walking distance.

    Swimming pool! Very clean and tidy. Very well kept garden. Cozy room, real Italian coziness. Amazing building 30m drive from Pisa Airport

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.8
    Super friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By car about 15/20 Min away from Lucca

    Super friendly hosts. Beautiful house with a nice pool & garden (exactly as shown on the pictures). Very clean!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wonderful hosts and beautiful property, home made cakes and jams for breakfast. Great location, 15 min drive to Lucca, buses and trains from Lucca to florence, Pisa and Viareggio. We had a great Taxi driver organised by Anna, He was happy to pick us up at fairly short notice, cost around 25 euro's into Lucca. Our older children loved this holiday!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    We will recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hosts were wonderful and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, serene location. Excellent hosts, great swimming pool, stunning gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location in the countryside right on the Via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location in the countryside right on the Via Francigena

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing place with the specific atmosphere and very helpfull...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing place with the specific atmosphere and very helpfull and kindly owners. Gracie Anna for everything :).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Nothing was too much trouble!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't need it to be but it wouldn't have been wheelchair friendly.

    Nothing was too much trouble! We travelled to Italy for a family wedding with my frail and elderly parents, the hotel was perfect for young and old alike. Anna's cake at breakfast was sublime.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    4.6
    It may suit travellers with cars but not us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too remote. Too costly for taxis even to go to the nearest restaurant. No restaurants or shops nearby. No service on mobiles. Dark room on ground floor. Measly breakfast in dark breakfast room. Very angry owner because we arrived late, although we had dropped of luggage much earlier. Only stayed one night although booked for 3.

    It may suit travellers with cars but not us.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    The Relais is beautifully located outside Lucca in the woods...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Though the breakfast is really good, we were slightly surprised not to be served with a real italian coffee, but something like Nescafe. But this is only a tiny complaint, when everything else is just perfect.

    The Relais is beautifully located outside Lucca in the woods, it has quite a large wonderful pool, in summer you are welcomed by the smell of lavander from the garden, compared to the italien cities you feel a light fresh breeze in your room at night and the only noise you will hear, if you think it's noise, is the singing of the cicadas. Owner Anna is very nice and welcoming and gives good advice on where to go for sight seeing, eating out and the best ways to get there. The breakfast - though not served outside in the garden, but inside in a nicely decorated room - is rich and tasty. Anna often bakes cake for breakfast and serves homemade marmelade. All in all really a cosy place to stay - and come back.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    Anna and Gaetano were very friendly hosts doing utmost to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Anna and Gaetano were very friendly hosts doing utmost to please. The property is quiet, with a lovey garden and pool situated 10 minutes from Lucca by car.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    The house was beautiful and Ana and her husband were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The house was beautiful and Ana and her husband were delightful. They encouraged me to speak Italian and helped me with my pronunciation. Plus, they made the BEST coffee! They were also super helpful in giving me driving directions.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful house in very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked short notice, when we arrived noone was there, we stood before closed doors. A nice couple opened the door for us and told us that the owners were gone. We had no mobile number to reach them and had to wait 1,5h hours for their arrival. Next morning we had to leave at 10h, when we were not ready they switched off Wifi and told us we had to leave because the house was "full". In fact there were no other guests and when we left we also saw the owner leaving, obviously he just wanted us to leave because he wanted to go.

    Beautiful house in very nice location. Rooms are nicely renovated and decorated.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.1
    Tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private parking is actually a lay-by across the road. Breakfast was a bit limited and the nearest option for an evening meal seemed to be a few minutes away in a car. Probably great for a longer stay in the summer if you can arrange dinner on site or get to know the area, but not the best place for an overnight stay in winter.

    Tranquility. Lovely building and grounds.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful and quiet location on the "Via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Beautiful and quiet location on the "Via Francigena". Kindness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, beautifull garden, nice size rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could use a musquito net in the roomwindows

    Friendly staff, beautifull garden, nice size rooms with mini-bar and good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    Stunning property, immaculately kept, lovely hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    GPS coordinates needed.

    Stunning property, immaculately kept, lovely hosts.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    location, the pool and grounds area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location, the pool and grounds area. The property and owner.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.0
    Location, hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got very frustrated with wifi that just didn't work

    Location, hosts

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: