Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa San Martino 5 stars

Via Taranto 59, Zona G, 74015 Martina Franca, Italy

#11 of 17 hotels in Martina Franca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We experienced a flood in our bathroom - The WiFi didn't quite reach our room - The beautiful gardens needed some upkeep

    - Good location just a few minutes drive outside of Martina Franca's historical center - Upscale comfortable interior - Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The billiard table was not readily available as it was used for a permanent table for all the breakfast foods/ VERY FIRM BEDS with heavy covers...duvet would be good/not all the gym machines were in working order

    Lovely buildings and grounds/ very friendly staff/ good breakfasts/handy location for sightseeing in the general area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better selection of the mini-bar as no wine was included and no snacks! The balcony/terrace was basically useless since it was facing the parking area and no outdoor seating was offered. I was surprised that hotel guests were not offered a discounted (or free!) entry to the SPA or any special offers for spa treatments.

    The welcome drink on arrival; the beautiful decor; friendly staff; free wifi; Rituals toiletries, and bathtub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only the distance from the town and impossibility of walking it in. Otherwise wonderful.

    A wonderful oasis just off the main road. Only problem is that it is a long way out of town and impossible to walk as there is no footpath along the highway. Otherwise a perfect place to stay in Martina Franca

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place oozes a faded glamour. Its heyday has passed and staff are doing their best to respond to the few visitors' issues. The room was okay, a bit scruffy but clean enough. There was a dog in the vicinity barking all night both nights we stayed. The spa was only open for 3 hours each morning?!?! ....

    The pool and garden is lovely. Staff are friendly. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot. Couldn't get it to comfortable temperature. It was too late to bring to staff attention and only there one night

    Beautiful room. Very spacious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertised DVD player didn't exist; "just outside Martina Franca" is somewhat of an exaggeration as it is 3Km from the centre of town.

    Nice large and comfortable bed; quiet, well-decorated room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly short menu in the main restaraunts, not a wide choice of dishes. The breakfast needs improvement - it would not pass scrutiny at anywhere near four star level. Breakfast staff eedos more training / enthusiasm. For a country with a lot of celiacs /gluten sensitive individuals theRe needshould to be gluten free bread at breakfast if this is a Relais et Chateaux establishment. The WiFi worked well in the main hotel public area but not consistently in our bedroom. Dining room not very atmospheric - a but on the quiet side but it was September when we visited.

    Guest services manger Alessandro impressive in terms of helpfulness. They were able to do one gluten-free pasta dish in the restaraunt. The grounds and swimming pool are pleasant and there are nice areas to sit on comfortable couches in theach main house to read if it is raining. Martina Franca and a good selection of restaraunts about 8 minutes drive. The grounds are peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its a wedding venue...we were on our honeymoon and made to feel in the way...we had workmen all around up setting up weddings,we had a wedding set up over the whole hotel for 160 guests, 3 wedding in 3 days, they do not want hotel guests just weddings, kids left to mess around around the pool, not a place to relax if there is a wedding on....check with the hotel if there is a wedding on before you book as it WILL spoil your stay. BE WARNED

    Fantastic place.....BUT..!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I was not informed that I should pay a fee for the pet. We run out of water taking a shower and shaving problem fixed in 10 minutes

    Amazing Location! Direction to get in not clear but after a bit you can get it. Great upgrade to junior suite for just 20 euro!!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing

    I have to be honest, I booked this hotel with a certain amount of trepidation after reading some of the comments made about the Relais Villa San Martino. However, I am pleased to say that we had 14 wonderful days staying at this hotel. The hotel itself is situated about 2 miles from the local town of Martina Franca. It has 2 buildings for guests. We had a junior Suite (room 102) in the main building. The other building was 25 yards away next to the swimming pool. Our room was tastily furnished, airy and has enough wardrobe space for all your clothes. The bathroom had every conceivable thing you would want including a spa bath, hand and overhead shower attachments and a bidet. The balcony was vast with a lovely view over the grounds and swimming pool. I read comments from other reviewers that the hotel needed updating. I can only say that people must be confused between needing updating and being rustic in appearance. We found the hotel itself tastily furnished with comfortable chairs in the lounge and bar areas. If you don`t want to sit inside they is a lovely terrace outside with ample chairs and tables with parasols. Breakfast was wonderful with a good selection of cereals, rolls, cakes, jams, meat and cheeses. If you want scrambled of fried eggs you only have to ask and they happily make it for you. Just the place to sit with a drink before dinner. We ate dinner at the hotel 4 times. You have a choice of either sitting outside or inside depending on your preference. We thoroughly enjoyed the food. The price for dinner is slightly more than you would pay in a restaurant but you do get the quality. Every other day we travelled to see the beauty spots of Puglia. The days we were not travelling we relaxed by the pool set in their beautiful grounds. The shape of the pool and the water just oozed luxury and relaxation. The hotel host weddings and we had 3 during our visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no connection at all in the room and wifi was weak

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Road outside very busy. Rather nearer the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exquisite grounds, beautiful rooms. Very comfortable. Nice staff. Excellent food for dinner and also very good for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful gardens and pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Things move quite slowly in southern Italy

    Such a beautiful peaceful location. Very relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard. Staff hard to find for drinks by pool or in garden.

    Nice and relaxed. Friendly staff and nice spa.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    not enough space for storage in the closet.

    The beautiful gardens, the nice pool, the nice breakfast terase, the nice room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are very uncomfortable and the rooms need doing up. Not at all sure how it got its Relais and Chateau rating. Food average.

    The staff are charming but untrained.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is in the middle of nowhere, and you can only get by with car or taxi. There are no coffee or tea making facilities in the room. The restaurant is closed for 5 hrs and you can only get toast during the day, and that is by the pool, where the service is very slow.

    Beautiful place in an amazing setting with a great swimming pool. The room was great but it wasn't really a junior suite as we had booked, we saw a junior suite as one was being cleaned and it was much bigger. Food is good in the restaurant and the restaurant manager is lovely and very knowledgeable about wines.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They double the grounds up for receptions, eg weddings and other celebrations. You can't use the facilities when this happens. Also they say they are giving you a deluxe room but when you get there it was normal room and they asked for more money for a deluxe room,. sharp practice.

    Lovely grounds and pool. Quiet location just outside Martna Franca

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They organise wedding and anniversary parties so we think it can get noisy sometimes because of that. However nothing bothered us while we were there (3 nights) though there was a birthday party in one of the multiple privatisable spaces for parties.

    Excellent place, which I highly recommend if you are looking for a beautiful and quiet place where you can relax and enjoy a beautiful pool, excellent food and wines and very kind staff. Special thanks to the waiter at the breakfast and the lunch who was extremely kind and who also knows a lot about the good products of his region, including wines. I must add that the food was superb, and looking at previous comment, it is obvious they have changed chefs... because now it was absolutely delicious, refined and beautifully presented. As you can read I am very enthusiastic about this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A total gem of a hotel. Immaculate grounds, beautifully presented, fabulous spa. The photos do not do the place justice! I only wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathroom floor had not been cleaned and some staff are not too well trained.

    This is a small boutique hotel with beautiful surroundings. It is peaceful and relaxing. The restaurant is outstanding. Unbelievable value for money (perhaps the cheapest 5 star hotel in the world)

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No really bad experience: if anything I personally found the bed rather firm but my wife thought it was perfect! Apparently this is a feature of the beds of the region and in any case I got accustomed to it pretty quickly.

    The cleanliness and fine attention to detail everywhere from the magnificent swimming pool to the well-appointed dining room. Staff extremely affable, courteous and helpful. Excellent selection of wines particularly local ones of surprising quality. Wonderful gardens tastefully lit at night.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you need a car here as it is a few kilometres away from Martina Franca center & also its excellent restaurant has a very limited choice if you stay here for a few days

    beautifull place & gardens

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't find the hotel as the name was under Villa San Martino, and needed to ask where it was, Sat Nav took us to town centre, very pricey "extras like Spa and hotel cost more than the hotel stay!

    They loved having my Jack Russell dog around, even in the restaurant and told us to let her have a run in the grounds which she loved, the staff were fantastic and Guiseppe told us about his 13 dogs that hunt for Black Truffel's, and then he gave me a whole Truffel to try. The spa was not open as we were the only guest, but opened the spa for for us. Food was special but we just wanted a dish of pasta and veg soup and the chef prepared it for us, the rooms were cleaned daily and it was a very relaxing stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Murky pool needed cleaning

    Splendid room with lovely private terrace.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a little too hard for someone used to a water bed.

    Absolutely a gorgeous hotel with all amenities plus a spa. Always a luxurious stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great facilities and food Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sauna and spa : extra costs

    breakfast, restaurant ( very High quality )

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Villa San Martino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: