Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Relais Dell'Orologio 5 stars

Via della Faggiola 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy

#47 of 51 hotels in Pisa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 613 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5 star hotel and we were bitten 12 times each over 2 nights. There were many squashed mosquitoes/flies on the wall. Breakfast was terrible, service at breakfast was very slow. So much so we didn’t eat breakfast on the second morning.

    Location. Room style.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location, interior needs some attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor needs updating. The room was too hot and the air conditioning didn't work well. The room was very small. The windows didn't have a fly screen - mosquito central. There was old food in the mini bar.

    Polite and welcoming staff. Comfortable bed. Old italian charm. Provided with slippers. Offered coffee before we left early before breakfast. Clean bathroom with decent shower. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Convenient hotel for visiting historic Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs refurbishment. Shower leaked badly on to floor. Television didn't work.

    Excellent location for visiting the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Easy access to good choice of inexpensive restaurants. Receptionist very friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    Extremely expensive for a very run down place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down place, you can really see the wear and its very dirty. The staff was ok, but not very helpful when we had problems with the room AC

    The location is really the only thing that keeps this place alive. 5min walk from the Pisa Tower and Cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    A charming hotel full of character in a very central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming hotel full of character in a very central location . The staff are helpful and friendly and our room was full of individual features which made it charming .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced but some redeeming features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't a 5 star hotel so feel like we were short changed on what we paid

    Hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. The location of the hotel was brilliant and an amazing spread for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Old fashioned and traditional.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it was an old property it is never going to be utterly pristine but to be honest, that was part of its charm so there was nothing I disliked.

    Old fashioned and traditional. Felt very authentic and old Italian. I loved the art work and the garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel - both accommodation and facilities poor, staff unfriendly and sour attitudes. Breakfast aweful.

    Nothing, would not recommend this hotel, better accommodation near the tower of Pisa.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    Very dissapointing the write up is very misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advertised as having a restaurant but only breakfast was available which was poor. No lunch service or dinner. Was more like a B&B. No mini bar as advertised. I don't know how this could be classed as 4 star!!!!!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff that act like you’re an inconvenience.

    Likely once a really nice fine manor, but has fallen to disrepair and poor customer service and this makes it a really over priced venue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location but NOT 5 star, tired basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decor. Lamp hanging off wall in bedroom. Worn rugs in room, sink coming away from wall in bathroom, black mold in corners of shower, poor quality toilet paper. Dirty parasols in garden, stale looking items at breakfast buffet. Stair carpet rail broken.

    Excellent location. Spotlessly clean sheets and pillows. Comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful staff. Air con.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    All in all a nice place and we would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room faced the street, so we heard people going by late at night...probably because we had to have our windows open, since the air conditioner wasn't working. By the time we left, the AC was fixed and all was good again. For the inconvenience, the front desk staff comped our parking fee. We were happy with that.

    The hotel is well situated. It has a very nice inner courtyard/patio with a Jacuzzi and a sun room used for breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of delicious options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, bad smell in room, very old blankets to put on top of your sheet, not possible to use an iron. They did not have an iron. No minibar, no room service.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect spot for a one night visit to Pisa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air system, no hair conditioner

    Fabulous breakfast included, delightful outdoor courtyard, nice overall classic decorating, bathroom fixtures and finishings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.5
    It would have been okay if the Air Conditioning worked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Air conditioning didn't work properly and was leaving room too hot. We complained 3 times but it was not rectified. We had to turn it off and open the windows. When were disturbed by noise of air condition units operating outside and we were bitten by mosquitos that left us both covered in mosquito bites that left us very uncomfortable at the end of our holiday. Up to the last night we had enjoyed our stay

    Good Location and we enjoyed first 2 nights but last night was a disaster due to air conditioning not working correctly - see below

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Oodles of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really cute place. A bit old and frayed around the edges but I thought that just added to the character. Lovely little garden out the back. And who needs more breakfast (as per other comments)? Leaves more space to eat pasta later

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Room did not match information given and I should not have incurred an excess charge as a result.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested quiet high floor room. Given ground floor room unable to open curtains due to position of room. Room had a mobility access bathroom and facilities purely for disabled users.I was not informed of this on booking.I had to change rooms for a ridiculously excessive cost!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Charming hotel with outside space. Let down by breakfast experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not 5 star. Only 15 people eating and at 9.30 no fruit, eggs or ham left. Only one waitress trying to bring coffee and restock buffet. waited 30 mins for over cooked eggs and a very stingy selection of diced fruit. Tables not cleared and very disappointing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Very enjoyable very good staff brilliant position but hotel not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Defiantly not 5 star probably 3 star More staff needed and breakfast hot food not enough cooked for number of visitorsAlso bar ran out of Nranfy and Tomic water which as not very busy was not a good sign

    Excellant staff and position of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced. Old. No air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel based on the positive articles I read online about it. The air conditioning didn’t work. The hotel is extremely old and needs renovation. The rooms were airless, felt like suffocating. You could clearly hear when people on the other rooms were using their bathrooms. The staff were impolite. The breakfast was gone by 9am - tried to raise this issue, the staff argued with you as you were asking for “their food”. ...

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t sleep a wink in the rock hard bed. Our tiny shabby room was boiling hot as they don’t turn the air conditioning on before June. I opened the window but was disturbed by noise from the street. There was no suitable socket to recharge my iPad or use my hair straighteners and I had to ask for WiFi code as no information in room

    Garden where we had breakfast was very pleasant and the breakfast was fine although the only cooked options was scrambled eggs. The location of the hotel was very good as it was close to Leaning Tower and Botanic garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    2.9
    Will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, rude and surly staff, decor scruffy, many things broken in the room (wardrobe door, hairdryer, towel rail etc). Worst breakfast ever, no food left when we arrived for breakfast, not a single table had been cleared so we had no where to sit down.

    Location was convenient. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Poor poor poor. NOT a 5 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small, some lights didn't work in the bathroom, the whole room was totally run down and felt grubby, there were no tea/coffee facilities, TV didn't work. Breakfast was limited and of low quality and water dripped through the light fittings during breakfast when it rained, water also came in under the door. Some of the staff weren't helpful, porter didn't offer to help my pregnant wife with her bag as I couldn't as I was carrying the rest of our luggage, we had to ask. Whole hotel was dingy, run down and is certainly not fit for a 5 star rating. We would give this hotel a maximum 3 stars...at a push. BEWARE - The pictures available on booking.com are completely mis-leading.

    Just round the corner from the leaning tower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t recommend- disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is NOT a 5 star hotel. It is not even a 3star hotel. Very old (not dated, just old). All the plugs at the room were broken (3!). Very disappointing breakfast, in quality and quantity.

    Only the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned hotel which could do with some updating. Room was too hot with no controls to turn the heat down. Room was very small.

    Great location. Pisa is a lovely town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.8
    This is definitely not a 5 star hotel. It is old and shabby, it needs complete renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs complete renovation, it is old and looks shabby. Bar was closed the whole evening, this you don't expect in a 5 star hotel. An extra blanket was also not possible......I cannot recommend this hotel.

    Good beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    2.9
    “discouraging anyone to choose it, it's a 1 star hotel or less.”
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ​The room was small, smelly of drainage and dusty, there was rust on the bathroom fittings and accessories, dangling / falling parts of the false ceiling, for breakfast I was brought a dirty dish and when I asked to change it I was brought an under cup dish for cappuccino instead of a dish for dessert. The WiFi is not working, only to the the reception area, in the rest of the hotel is non-existent. Staff is not helpful, they keep repeating for any issue highlighted, that they are not allowed to do anything to solve your problem or that it is not their responsibility but of someone else to solve the problem, unfortunately this someone is not there in that moment etc.. etc...

    ​I didn't like anything of the hotel.... the tower of Pisa only!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay, great location, even better staff!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed where a little hard..

    The staff of the hotel where amazing, really kind and helpfull! My boyfriend run the marathon and i was sick. They did everything to help and took really good care of us!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Great romantic hotel. I'll be back for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant in the hotel - a problematic factor in a bad weather. But stil there is a lot of them quite close.

    location, staff, room, breakfast - all were fabulous!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer in the room was terrible (similar strength to a mouse fart) The shower completely overflowed every time we used it and water went all over the bathroom floor.

    The breakfast was great! Lots of choice and staff on hand Staff were friendly Rooms were clean and bed was ok (double was just 2 singles pushed together though!) Good location to all the sites of Pisa You can actually walk from Pisa airport to the hotel in about 35mins

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.2
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived expecting this to be a 5 Star hotel..... it is not , I don’t know How the hotel obtained its rating ? Or who the accredited body is .... very disappointed! Wish I read the comments, not just looked at the score ! As the score in my opinion reflects the location

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    We were surprised at the lack of attention to detail and definitely not 5 star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty floor in bathroom. Broken knobs on shower and heated towel-rail. Rusty grab-rail in my friend's bathroom. Cold breakfast room. Scrambled eggs and bacon had run out before 9am and we were told would not be replenished. A snail-trail ran across our table cloth on the breakfast table, over my paper napkin and cutlery! The netting drapes in the bar area were filthy. The lounge areas were let down by glass cabinets filled with tarnished silver and grubby upholstery on the chairs.

    Characterful building . Pleasant staff. Plate of tiny cakes and biscuits served with our pot of tea. Convenient location near Piazza Cavour and a short walk from the Cathedral. Helpful young woman on the desk who deducted any extras from our bill in acknowledgement that the single rooms fell well below the 5 star rating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    2.5
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of management, lack of maintenance, lack of hot water!

    The hotel may have been grand in its day, but is sadly looking very tired. There was no hot water at the property, the receptionist could not find a maintenance person, and we were left with no option than to leave and find a new hotel. I have emailed customer services at Booking.com on two occasions and had no response! I hope for a full refund but not sure how to make contact.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.4
    Hotel was tired, badly maintained and shabby (not the chic type !)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived for breakfast 40mins before close of service. Pan for scrambled eggs empty so asked for replenishment only to be told very rudely ‘no- scrambled eggs are finished, we have run out of eggs’ - this hotel has 5 stars !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed with hotel considering cost. Complained and received discount.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff during breakfast and total lack of facilities advertised being available.do not think for one minute you are getting what you would expect from a British 5 star hotel

    Location to the tower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Adequate for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not exactly friendly, the hotel although clean was a little tired around the edges. There was no tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms.

    The location was great for the Leaning Tower of Pisa and Cathederal. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    It was 5 min from Pisa tower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a terrible experience. We had water leaking from the ceiling in our room, cracks all over the place, web cobs everywhere, halls were very run down. Staff was not very helpful and seemed very arrogant as well, we definitely didn't feel welcomed. I would NOT recommend.

    It was 5 min from Pisa tower. That's pretty much it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.6
    Not recommendable - and even less at the regular prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When checking in: no greeting and no infos at all (surroundings, breakfast, wifi, hotel's facilities - e.g. I only learned from the flyer that the hotel has a Jacuzzi, which I didn't find, though). Also, in the room, there was no map with infos (on facilities, surroundings, timings, tv channel list, etc.) - only marketing flyers. Even for the minibar, there was no price list around. On arrival, the bathroom was not made (it's actually been dirty! but I only recognized that later as I usually assume that everything's alright at that level and don't search for faults) and there was no toilet paper. When asking for some, they just gave to rolls to me, so I could carry it into the room by myself. The shower and sink were not clean at all (soap rests at the door and at the sink's drain, the toilet's "cleaned" seal was broken), the amenities, such as the shampoo, was not filled up. At the door, one of the two hooks for bathrobes was torn off, leaving ugly holes. I got pictures of all that. In addition, the room itself didn't seemed to be really clean: the window was very dirty, for example, and there were thick spider webs below the (decorative) ceiling. As the bed was made, I didn't see it right away, but after discovering other things, I became aware. The sockets in the room were all pushed into the wall or came out when unplugging the device. Simply unsafe! The windows' blinds couldn't be properly closed (electric solution was broken). Out of over 100 tv channels, only three seemed to work. In the flyers, it's been advertised that Sky-TV was included - but none of the channels worked. During breakfast, the service was very loud and inattentive: they took away the empty cup, but didn't ask, whether anything else was needed. In a five star hotel, I expect service to be overly attentive at the guests' needs and not to be heard or seen while cleaning tables around or working inside the tea kitchen.

    The hotel's location is superb. Nice to know, this used to be a medieval residence tower. For breakfast, they offer a good variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location and breakfast, unhelpful staff and a slight grotty shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on reception were very unhelpful, bordering on rude. I was traveling with my mum so had booked a twin room - on arrival we were given a double room (although it was clearly two separable beds pushed together with double bedding). Splitting the beds seemed like a simple and easy job to me, but when I asked at reception, I was told it was "impossible". So I asked for a spare sheet, thinking I would do it myself. Again, "impossible". The shower was also blocked and generally a bit grim.

    Location was excellent - about 200m from the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Breakfast was also very good, which was a pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    Rubbish. Won't stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar open in the evening. Breakfast served far to late in the morning. God knows what was going on in the floor above my room but every morning at 6am two elephants practiced their tapdancing routines on the floor...

    Not much to stand out really.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    Hotel a bit sad in need of some TLC....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a nightmare in Pisa.... no concierge service to park for you. Which would be a really good idea as they know where to go and the one way system..

    Not a lot.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.8
    A nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unclean hotel

    The hotel and its breakfast were disgusting the room was unclean and wasn't ready for the 3pm check in time I never touched any of the breakfast couldn't even finish the coffee a complete nightmare

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Charming, on a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite compact, with little space to unpack.

    The bar/breakfast room is very charming. The location is on a quiet street, 10 minutes walk from the active area nearer the river. The room is quite nicely furnished, though rather small. Nice bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a supposed 5 star hotel, this was a huge disappointment. Bedroom was shoddy, plug fittings loose, poor air con, bin in bath missing a pedal. No turn down service....

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    An oasis of peace and faded elegance right in the middle of the tourist centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor has charm but is somewhat faded. Our room was very small. Some furniture items in the room had a nice antique look but were locked so were of no practical use and only crowded the space.

    The hotel is located in the heart of Pisa's historical centre, within a short walk from the Campo dei Miracoli and a vast array of other churches, palaces and important cultural monuments. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice and attentive service. It was served in a lovely little garden at the back of the hotel - very peaceful. Staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant next door, I miei sapori, is superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good location and very pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was very small. It would be have been good to have tea and coffee in the room - the cup of tea bought at the bar was expensive - 5 Euro.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the leaning tower and close to many small eateries. The staff are very nice and helpful. Very comprehensive breakfast, with wide choice of pastries, meats and cheeses, cereals, and fresh fruit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Good little hotel, really well placed yet away from the mainstream. Quiet and quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An anti slip mat under the rug in the bedroom, all lights in the room functioning, a supply of tablets for the mosquitto plug

    Really freindly and helpful staff. Fantastic location, literally a few minutes walk to the leaning tower, duomo, Piazza Caverlieri, shops, resteraunts, minimarkets etc. Away from the main streets to be quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    That's it's close to the main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not easy to reach by car The furniture is dirty and old No one to help with bags or car parking The breakfast is very limited I don't know why it's a 4 star hotel (although at the entrance glass door it had 5 stars) I seriously believe that they need to work on the decoration of the hotel and it's cleanisness

    That's it's close to the main attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.0
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a premier double, very dark room in the loft, very low ceilings. Electrics went on and off. Could hear water running during the night. Didn't stay for breakfast but weren't told where or what time it was when we checked in.

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    A lovely boutoque hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in Pisa is difficult and we had to park approx 400/500 metres from the property and walk the rest of the way with luggage.

    A lovely boutique hotel ideally located and within walking distance of all the main sites of Pisa. The room was beautifully appointed and the garden and small public areas were a delight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Ideal location for the Tower and other attractions, with spacious, period rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The complimentary drinks and nibbles for the afternoon is a nice touch, however as these were not replenished, it was pot luck if some greedy guests had scoffed and drunk the lot before you returned. Similarly, whilst breakfast was comprehensive, as this was also not replenished, eg eggs, bacon, pastries etc, some items ran out early on. Whilst they say they cater for gluten free diners, I am not sure a packet of biscuits and a small cake constitutes breakfast.

    Ideal location for visiting the Tower of Pisa. Lovely period rooms with excellent air con and complimentary soft drinks in the bedroom refrigerator. Tranquil garden for a leisurely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Great old world hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, bed big and comfy and the bathroom was huge. A bonus was complimentary drinks and snacks in the lounge. The decor is old world which isn't everyone's cup of tea but I didn't mind it. There is an outdoor garden area for summer relaxing after hectic sightseeing. It is a very short walk to the Leaning Tower etc and good restaurants are near by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    It's a traditional hotel that's aged well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking, which I knew. However, the parking is a good 10-minute walk away and costs a lot more than the hotel says. It cost me over €18 to park from 2.30pm to the following morning. Walking to the hotel with your bags in the daytime heat is one thing but I had an early flight in the morning, which meant leaving at 3:30am. It is not a pleasant walk at that time with the drunks and dark alleys you have to negotiate. I was nervous so I'd say don't do it if you're worried about walking at night or are a single female.

    It's a traditional hotel that's aged well. I loved the history.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No "city view" from room, only wall of building across road. Noisy air conditioning. Bath plugs did not hold water. Very little information on hotel in room. Garden was largely paved concrete. Jacuzzi water was green. Stair carpet was not properly secured , so dangerous.

    Good location near main sights. Reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    Loads of Charm but tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can imagine that when this hotel was first opened after refurbishment it must have been great. However the premises are now very tired looking and are in need of a much needed revamp. The room had a leaking shower and a constant loud dripping sound from the overflowing toilet cistern which we informed the hotel staff of, who took no action. Very disappointing. But despite this the hotel had a certain charm and made our brief stay in Pisa very enjoyable.

    Very nice period property with a delightful courtyard garden which was a delightful place for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Facilities OK for the money. Great location and fabulous breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall-mounted air conditioner (AC) led display was unreadable and the numbers were distorted. You would not know the set temp. Also the AC will turn on automatically in the morning even if you try to turn it off several times. It was the narrowest single bed I saw in a hotel room.

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff was helpful and amazing. One man gave us our favourite tiramisu icecreams at 23.30 <3 despite of the kitchen was closed. Great place for couples. Very comfortable bad and good equiped bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a little colds but breakfast staff were good!

    Location is incredible for the tower, lovely bars and restaurants. Nice olde worldly hotel with a rustic feel. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Hidden gem in a Pisan back street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    minor point...more privacy on the bedroom terrace and window shutter needed repair

    Excellent service, friendly staff . Authentic style, very comfortable, warm toned Persian rugs. Homely unpretentious luxury. Would go again definitely. Massive breakfast choice. We had a delux room which was good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.2
    Great breakfast, staff service questionable, as was the room description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked and paid for a superior large double bedroom with views. The room was very small. The hotel was situated down a side street, so no chance of a view if your room was at the front. The bar was closed, the jaccuzzi hot tub was off, cold and full of flies. I concluded that they did not have a bar manager, the bar was stocked but without service. Some of the staff (the late afternoon receptionist), were not particularly welcoming or helpful. For example, she was loathed to arrange for a pot of tea, rather let the next staff member starting 20 minutes later to deal with it.

    Central to Pisa, moments from everywhere. Breakfast was excellent, so much choice. The waitress manager was business like and efficient, which was perfect for us to get on with siteseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Springs in mattress we're protruding and bed was a zip n link of two single beds. Room dirty and generally v v dated. Information provided etc at check-in was limited to a rude grunt explaining room wouldnt be ready until after 2pm. Despite request for extra towels none were provided.

    Proximity to tower

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Location, 100m or so for the tower, within the charm of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- It says "soundproof" in the description of the facility, which guided my choice. This is not true at all: door was ultra thin, so one could hear absolutely everything from the corridor, the toilets of other guests, etc. Same goes for the room facing the street, as it felt like pedestrians were in the room - never experienced that before. Please update the facility description accordingly, this is misleading. 2- It says "Free! WiFi in all areas". Again not true at all: no WiFi signal at all, the network doesn't even appear. The password I got provided was no use. The devil is in the details: water stain on the chair, shower not isolated from toilet seat, marks on the wall, fixtures loosely attached to the wall, water temperature in the shower unstable. Fresh cut fruits not very tasty though, and no fresh fruit juice that you would expect in a five star. Overall, sorry to say that this is not a 5 star. Not suitable for business.

    Location, 100m or so for the tower, within the charm of the old city. Building inner decoration with more authentic furnisher. Breakfast is varied and one can taste the delicatessen from Italy. Staff very nice. Clim working (to contrast with some other posts complaining about the clim not working)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.8
    Tired and dilapitated hotel, poor value for money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Claimed to b 5* but really 2-3*. AC switched off, room refridgerator not working. Hydrotherapy bath not working. No plug for bath. Very poor value for money paid. Hotel dilapidated, needs complete makeover. Paint peeling off walls and grubby in general. We booked 5* hotel on ur recommendation and got 2-3* hostel. DO NOT STAY HERE. Bitterly disappointed.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    4.6
    would not stay there again or recommend anyone to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no way 5 star did not reply to email requests needs refurb health and safety issues Not clean No concierge

    large comfy bed, friendly staff eventually

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    4.2
    old and in desperate need of simple upgrading. not the cleanest. NO working aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel information provided. NO working Aircon in room of 29 degrees!!!!! Couldnt open window as large commercial aircon unit working behind hotel. Noise was megga annoying as never stopped. Also shutters on inside of window so no way to keep sun out and air in. Night staff let everyone down as totally ignorant, rude and ung Helpful.

    The food selection for breakfast along with the day staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Expensive stay for a small warm room. Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and small, and the bathroom has the toilet right next to the shower without a partition. I left my leather coat in the wardrobe, and they were reluctant to help me get it back. I was disappointed.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    5.4
    Good location but not a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3pm check in seemed quite late. No air conditioning available - the room was roasting hot! We were told to open the windows but the downside of this was the Mosquitos. The property had a 5 star rating but I wouldn't agree- 3 star at most.

    Good location for the main Pisa sites. Only a 5 minute walk to the tower. A selection of eateries also close to hand.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, relaxing atmosphere, lx
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite hot but could open the windows without any trouble

    Breakfast is outstanding, a plethora of delicious, fresh italian pastries, cold meats, cheese, eggs, bacon and delicious coffee and fresh juice. The "welcome drink" also exceeds expectations,prosecco, juice, olives, crisps, mini sandwiches and pastries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    nice but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the decor of the hotel was a little dated and not up to cleanliness standards. The beds were clean and the wash rooms but the overall finish wasn't up to scratch especially for a 5star. For example bed linen left in the hallways, and rooms generally looked old and tired. If updated would be nice.

    The staff were very nice, and made every effort to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Also the hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Just book it you will see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been easier

    Great staff lovely hotel close to our reason to be there the tower oh and really good breakfast also fantastic recommend for somewhere to eat real Italian food not touristy food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Cosy old-fashioned boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, especially the bathroom, was a little worn down. Breakfast had an eclectic and delicious spread, but few healthy and vegan options. No international TV channels. Not a five star hotel by its services, rather an upscale bed & breakfast with 24h reception.

    Beautiful old fashioned charm. Calm and quiet. Nice to eat breakfast in the patio. The single room was larger than usual. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. Excellent location between the Tower and Piazza Cavalieri.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Location for a Lovely Small Hotel with Pleasant Garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (basic standard/classic one) was extremely small).

    Great location: walking distance to Piazza dei Miracoli (Torre di Pisa); nice restaurants around the property. Lovely garden/yard in the hotel. Fruit juice, sparkling wine, olives and chips always available in the lounge of the hotel. It felt like home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    After I booked this hotel for 90 dollars, the next day the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After I booked this hotel for 90 dollars, the next day the same hotel, day of, was selling for 49 including breakfast. When I called booking, I was told that I could not take advantage of this opportunity even though it had been less than 24 hours. When we got to the property we were given a tiny, hot room Maybe this is the way all the rooms are in this hotel but I'm not sure. I didn't get the sense that the hotel was full and in such case knowing that we were checkng out the next morning I would think that the hotel might have given us a nicer room. The check in clerk asked me to leave my passport at the desk so that he could make a copy of it, which I found weird, but we asked him to make a copy and give it back to me because I don't leave my passport with anyone. Breakfast on my rate was not included and while it looked nice was very expensive

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    have already recommended the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room a bit small due to age of building, more than compensated for by the third floor lounge.

    location. excellent breakfast, large lounge for relaxing, staff, historic building well adapted.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful double room for 3!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful small hotel. The room was remodeled and still had interesting architectural details. We had 2 complete rooms plus bathrooms. Great location just a couple streets away from the Tower but quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Relais Dell'Orologio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: