Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Il Canalicchio Country Resort & SPA 4 stars

Via della Piazza 4, 06050 Canalicchio, Italy

#3 of 4 hotels in Canalicchio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    great hotel with brilliant views and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    20e pp per hour charge for sauna / steam room / hot tub. Should be complimentary for guests for a hotel of this class and cost.

    Superior room was very comfortable with Jacuzzi bath and great view. restaurant was excellent both for breakfast and dinner. great location and magical place to stay for few day. Swimming pools nice. Very friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    The setting was exceptional although maybe too remote for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was that our aircon was not effective enough.

    The setting was exceptional although maybe too remote for some. Staff very friendly. We had a car but the hotel run trips to all local tourist spots. I would definitely go back next year.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    In the valley of Umbria, Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid extra for a superior room but it lacked adequate ventilation because the AC just circulates air in the room. We tried opening the only exterior door, but no increase in room temperature. The Internet in that area of the hotel is to far from the router. It was very weak and dropped at times. The front desk staff seems to think it was adequate but asking other residents her answer did not seem on track with their answers, too. Road conditions to the hotel ad directions in the GPS were difficult. Check group tour rates compared to individual bookings.

    Breakfast was very good. Cleanliness of the property was excellent. The interior design is excellent and yet rustic to the countryside. The location is very attractive. Restaurant staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. The views from the exterior rooms of the hotel is old world country. Parking is very good on site. Although I booked on my own, I suspect that a group tour package could be nice so pricey.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Most amazing hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful - it’s in a gorgeous setting, the hotel is like a castle with lots of history and colourful flowers. The rooms are clean, comfortable and lots of space. Staff are so friendly and helpful. The meals were excellent and plentiful.l with lots of choices. Try the local Prosecco! It’s excellent. The pool was lovely - fresh water, not too cold and not very busy. This was the best holiday ever. I would recommend it to anyone. There are also so many lovely places to visit in Umbria and Tuscany so it’s a great base to explore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    2.9
    Such possibility but currently a dreadful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is truly awful and is not edible. Breakfast is appalling- the coffee is instant coffee from a machine, there are fly’s on the food, the pastries are stale and the fruit is either tinned or past it’s best. In the evenings the food is badly cooked and poorly flavoured and I would suggest that you don’t dare try any fish as it is from a tin. I feed my dogs better food! The bar is not staffed and is very expensive (3euros for a coke) when staff do eventually appear. Waiting for half an hour at the bar for staff to appear and serve you appears to be acceptable at this hotel. On the days that we didn’t vacate our room when the maid required then it meant that our room (which wasn’t clean to start with!) was not cleaned. Our room was away from the main part of the hotel and down some steep steps which were not lit most nights- we had to use a torch most nights, not at all safe! The hotel is miles from anywhere so you need to be prepared to drive if you want to eat decent food. The hotel could be lovely but currently its dilapidated.

    The pool and the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a great room with a large balcony and a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work despite several attempts and questions to the front desk. Didn’t matter for one night, but could have been more helpful than saying “turnnoff your phone and then it will work” It didn’t work.... The typical Italian breakfast was not a surprise but still is a shame for Italy as coffee nation to serve undrinkable coffee from a large machine

    We had a great room with a large balcony and a beautiful view. Two good sized pools.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant food wasn't up to the standard, but the rest of the stay was excellent

    Comfortable spacious rooms, great scenery and location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Would have complained more but staff were lovely and wanted to avoid stress.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was dreadful. Need to find a new chef! Boring, not cooked properly. Chef lazy and showed no interest in his cooking. Bedroom mattress and pillow was like a rock. No TV. No tea coffee making machine. Ants everywhere. Badly bitten. Very noisy. Air conditioning not working properly.

    Location wonderful. Staff lovely. Beautiful property. Owners need to invest in improving comfort as this could be an amazing hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a great position, good food, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled in April and the pool was way too cold to use. The owners should install heating for the pool - even a ground source heat pump or a cover would help raise the temperature so it could be used during more of the year. It didn’t ruin our holiday but it was a disappointment, as nowhere on their site does it say pool only warm enough June-September. Dining staff were generally very good but our waitress neglected us on the last night so service was very slow. The free bikes for hire on the website took a day to materialise (to be fair we were the first this season to ask for them so they needed some maintenance and cleaning) and were old steel mountain bikes - well maintained but heavy. On the hills around there, it was tough going, and I’m a regular cyclist! Modern hybrids or electric bikes would be ideal. Also the hotel could create a few circular walks maps for those who like to explore by walking locally. But these points would not stop us booking again - we’d just go later in the year.

    The rooms were lovely, lots of character. The food was excellent - especially dinner. Breakfast buffet was wide and varied, but was a little boring after 4 days. Staff were generally very good, helpful and had suggestions for visits. The whole village has been renovated, it’s really impressive and views out are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a policy of turning off the A/C from to 2 to 5 am, not nice when it's a hot night and again from sometime in the morning to early afternoon. Considering it's room rates, the air-conditioning should be on 24/7, otherwise a magnificent hotel

    Everything; beautifully located in the middle of the Umbrian hills. The place is charming with exceptionally polite staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Not a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were old and dirty, the air conditioner was not working well and it was full of mosquitos. Breakfast was very poor, it was impossible to use the gym because it is located in a 4m² room without any window. Last but not least, there is a dog that howls all night.

    The hotel is in a beautiful place, in the middle of nowhere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Umbria is probably one of the prettiest and most peaceful places on this planet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    As already stated the food at breakfast was really good we only had one evening meal in the hotel and we thought that it was a little overpriced for what we got. However, there is a very nice little restaurant just outside the hotel grounds which served excellent food for a lot cheaper.

    The location of the hotel is truly wonderful with views to die for. The breakfast was more than adequate with enough variation to please everyone. Unless your ideal holiday is to sit by the pool all day and relax then a car is definitely required. Parking is not a problem. Cannot speak for the rooms in the hotel as we had one of the apartments which was very spacious and more than adequate. (Please finish the kitchen before we come back again!). A really good holiday spot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Staying in a castle has its benefits and drawbacks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was cold and the heating was difficult and sometimes ineffective. Also had some ants in our room. But all in all it should be expected. It's an old drafty castle!

    The location, ambiance and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Retreat but with Access to wonderful Umbrian and Tuscan Towns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hilltop location away from it all but self-contained with all necessary facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    would not go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast or dinnerpor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    View stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting charged an extra 50euro at end for cleaning!

    View stunning. Lovely pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    View was stunning, rooms spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening food was average would have expected better given the surroundings.

    View was stunning, rooms spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    We loved this place and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place, excellent accommodations, great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was great views were amazing staff very friendly always smiling. 4 year old daughter did not want to leave. Can not wait to go back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the money being charged the breakfast was poor, especially the quality of the coffee, which is disappointing in Italy.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Loved the solitude and quiet of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very busy at the time.

    In the middle of superb Umbrian countryside, totally secluded and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Generally good ambience, huge and anciently furnished suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Generally good ambience, huge and anciently furnished suite. We were served by family. Were not charged extra for good local wine at our (single) evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful sightseeing, lovely food and staff kindness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful sightseeing, lovely food and staff kindness. We enjoyed our stay in Umbria also thank to this romantic place.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Wonderful location, superb level of service and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, superb level of service and great food

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Relais Il Canalicchio Country Resort & SPA traveller photo gallery