Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Santa Chiara Hotel 4 stars

Via Giacomo Matteotti 15, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#36 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 544 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent combination of quality and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The small room is very small indeed, but this is not really negative. Some parts of the hotel could do with some refurbishment.

    The hotel is perhaps the best hotel located just outside San Gimignano in reasonable walking distance to the city centre. It was nice to chill by the pool after a day of sight seeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel, avoid the small room though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a small double room, and it certainly was small! Almost no space for our suitcases. Nice that it had a terrace though (without an outlook). VERY little soundproofing so the shower from next door sounded like it was in our room.

    Pleasant hotel just outside SAN Gimignano, within a reasonably easy walk into the historic centre. Nice pool with an outlook over the Tuscan countryside. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location and nice facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a small double room - and it was small. We couldn't both move round the bed and the bathroom was er compact - i.e. tightly packed into a small space.

    The location was brilliant with a short walk into the town centre. The reception area and pool were very good and the views from our room were lovely - we had a countryside view. Staff were lovely, very helpful and eager to assist any queries, and helpful with parking etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    If I can say something nice about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a kind of hotel you hate to “cross over” when you are in a nice trip!! The photos of this hotel are misleading....and we really do not understand why this is a 4 star hotel. The rooms are so small that you can open your luggage unless you do it on the bed. Everything in the room is old, the bathroom is so small that moving inside is a hard task!! I use to prefer to write nice things about the places have been but in this case we had an awful hotel experience....

    If I can say something nice about this hotel......I just can mentioned the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Extremely enjoyable holiday with the swimming pool area a wonderful bonus after sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better furniture on the bedroom balcony and less vegetation acting as a screen .extre

    Swmming pool and lawned area attractive and peaceful.Slight uphill but easy 10 minute walk to the old town gate.One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in .Would definitely recommend and return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom, bed, bathroom were all way smaller than expected. We have to leave 5 Euro cash as a deposit to take a lousy towel for the pool.

    The view. The swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Location and outside area by the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny and not clean. It was situated just by the restaurant so it was quite noisy. Breakfast was average.

    Location and outside area by the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, very calm and peaceful, great to have a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but manageable apart from hard pillows. Amazing view from room with terrace and country view.

    Lovely hotel, very calm and peaceful, great to have a pool. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Quite place within walking distance away from San Gimignano old town but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over price for what it is. We have stayed various hotels in Tuscany and there were much cheaper and nicer places including much nicer breakfast

    Quiet and away from San Gimignano old town but within walking distance. Nice sitting area around the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice and clean hotel close to the city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable and the room was very very small.

    Nice and clean hotel close to the city center and restaurants, shops etc., very good breakfast (hard to find in Tuscany) and lovely privat terrace adjacent to our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very nice designed hotel, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast should be improved. Parking place is quite small which is real challenge if you drive a big car.

    Very nice hotel, great design and kind staff makes you feel like at home. Some of the rooms have a big terrace which is nice. Nice swimming pool. Very close to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a short walk from th town and nice to have some space, a lovely view of the countryside, a terrace to have breakfast, lunch and drinks, a nice pool and lots of sun loungers. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and loved San Gimignano.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately if people rose early, you could hear the showers being used. This is a minor complaint as the room we had was so peaceful during the night.

    Was pleasantly surprised on arrival at the hotel, better than expected. All staff were pleasant and extremely friendly. We arrived after the allocated lunch time, but staff were more than pleased to prepare a snack for us. Because of the poor weather we only got to use the gardens once which was a pity as the atmosphere was so relaxing. Would recommend this hotel to anybody and will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    the room I was offered was not at the required or expected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room I was offered was not at the required or expected level. Very old bedsheets, not views and not advice about not views included in the room. The condition of the room was bad, the bed was dodgy quality, and very old. People have to take care when choosing this room because maybe it is more convinience to go to San Giminiagno town to one of the hotels rather than going to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location and beautiful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small but nice

    Amazing location and beautiful property! The staff was so nice and accommodating the entire stay...the best experience we had during our stay in Italy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant views from the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very run of the mill with no outlook No restaurant Grounds not very large Limited parking but own space designated

    Pleasant views from the property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well soundproofed which is an issue for light sleepers.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms and lovely surroundings with a great view of the countryside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was much better than expected and it was good to have onsite pre booked car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That they didn't do a light evening snack if required e.g. a sandwich, if we'd had a lunch and been out all day. There was however a hotel restaurant just along the road a few minute walk away.

    We had far reaching fantastic views from our room plus it also had a small veranda with a couple of chairs on it. It was a convenient walk into San Gimignano albeit it uphill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, pleasant stay
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism was that we didn’t pay whilst there, the funds where taken from the card we registered the stay with before we arrived and we never noticed. we’ve never had this with any other hotel booked via booking before, and when we asked to refund back and pay by other means, we couldn’t which caused us some issues The rooms are a little small and beds not too comfortable but the grounds and surroundings are beautiful with stunning views 10 minutes walk to the town of San Gimignano The breakfast was a good simple selection, something for everyone

    The staff are amazing, Giovanni was fabulous as was a beautiful young lady at breakfast, really looked after us thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    The price was not at all worth the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really small. The bathroom was quite ridiculously small. Not even a bottle of water was offered at our arrival. The pictures on the Booking web site do not reflect reality.

    The staff was helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    We stayed there for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too small for us and it was getting really hot in the night (the AC didn't work). The bed was small as well and you can't fit too much luggage. I would recommend getting a bigger room than the basic one.

    We stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel is nice but the rooms are very small. We payed an extra in order to have a better view over Tuscany (instead of the house vis-à-vis). The location of the hotel is perfect as you are in the middle of everything and can enjoy San Gimignano, which is located only 10min away. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast could have been a little better with more choices.

    Everything was great. Nice location, within walking distance from St Gimignano and the people who work at the hotel are really helpful and very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Not great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair they did say small room in the booking and from now on we'll actually look at dimensions because this room was truly tiny. The bathroom was cramped, the bed wasn't comfortable and generally unless you're going for the pool, which is admittedly stunning, you're better off staying in the actual historical center because staying outside does not, sadly, in this case mean more spacious and luxurious accommodation. The staff were great, breakfast was okay. Parking 13 euros a night within the gates was also excessive but free parking outside.

    The pool and communal areas were beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Special Hotel with a beautiful outside area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was realy small which was fine for 1night but not for longer and the fridge was noisy the whole Night.

    The Hotel is lovely decorated, the pool area is Great with an awesome view! The stuff is super friendly and welcoming. The breakfast got all you need. The Hotel has a Great Location, just a couple of Minutes to Walk to the city Centre. The outside area of the Hotel is breath taking. We will defenitly come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    The location is the best , pool area very comfortable ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our only criticism was that breakfast dishes were rarely replenished paticularly eggs , bacon and cooked foods

    The location is the best , pool area very comfortable , quiet location particulary considering its location to a major tourist centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Probably the best hotel we've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes!!

    Our second visit to Relais Santa Chiara. It is simply fantastic! If you want a quiet, relaxed, tranquil location with first class service in a wonderful location, this is it. On the morning of my birthday the staff gave us champagne with our breakfast along with their food wishes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Very beatiful properly close to city centre, relaxing environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms in 1st floor like us facing a small backyard, not really the view we expected. Neighbour houses are so close that you need to be careful for privacy.

    It's real beautiful properly just 5 minutes walking to historical center. Relaxing environment, very good facilities and perfect to walk around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small double bedroom too small for 2 adults and should not be advertised as such.

    Excellent position to explore countryside and San Gimignano. Beautiful views and within walking distance of walled city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with gorgeous views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We based ourselves at this nice hotel for our week in Tuscany. San Gimignano is a lovely old town with lots of fab places to eat so it didn't bother us that the hotel doesn't have a restaurant in the evenings. The staff were lovely, the cocktails were great, our room was perfect with a wee balcony and an amazing view. Enjoyed a couple of days in the sunshine beside the nice pool too - very quiet and relaxing. Would def recommend to anyone looking for a nice quiet hotel - thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Best hotel unless you want to drag your luggage through the tiny alleys. Stress free solution
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was just ok. Not the best coffee we had on our trip....

    Decent rooms with nice view over the country-side. Clean hotel, good price for what it is. Parking in front of hotel for a small fee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    A good, clean, friendly, well located and reasonably priced hotel that we would stay at again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The small room we booked was just that: it required some negotiations to move around it comfortably but the large balcony just about made up for it. Bathroom (with shower, no bath) was probably the minimum size it could have been without needing physiotherapy after using it. It was also not very well sound-proofed so your partner (and the occupants of the next room!) need to be tolerant. Parking on-site and on-street is limited, so those less able to walk might consider paying the €13 per night to secure an on-site space.

    Quiet location yet only 10 minutes easy walk from the town. Very clean. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent breakfasts, which can be taken outside. Good view from the room's balcony. Nice, clean pool and sunbeds with shady trees as well as sunshades.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    San Gimignano was probably the place I liked most on our trip, the town and views were amazing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an economy room, ( very small ) I hated it, a window that was 10 feet high, couldn't look out of it, more like a cell, bed was very hard, I would never book an economy room again.

    The position was perfect, 5 minute walk to town, swimming pool area was great but unfortunately we didn't have the weather, breakfast was excellent, hotel was pleasant and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfy Hotel right at the entrance to San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a problem and we were not informed earlier that we would have to book parking before arrival. So we had to leave our car in the road. I feel that the reception staff could be a bit more eager to explain to guests where to go and what to do.... and to assist with queries.

    The location of the hotel could not be better for a stay in San Gimignano. The breakfast was served outside on the lovely terrace and the waiters were most friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    A very peaceful and relaxing trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room. Not always easy to find parking. Same breakfast each day. A very large cat in the garden.

    Location was great. The terrace and views were stunning. Beautiful gardens, very peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Heaven for mosquitoes. Hell for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiniest of tiny rooms. Even a budget hotel in central Tokyo would have a bigger room. Ruins things when there is only 50cm around each side of the bed and the bathroom is about 1.2 square metres. Couldn't even open our suitcase properly. I was also feasted upon by mosquitoes. They should spray their gardens regularly.

    Waking distance to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and San Gimignano is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is nearly impossible unless you reserve parking with the hotel. We were lucky and found a spot in the hotel's general parking area but do not count on that.

    Very nice view. Book a room with a terass and view of the pool on the second floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Ideal for a visit to San Gimignano, a safe 8 minute stroll away, but the room size was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. Insufficient room to put our cases and no room to unpack.

    Balcony overlooking the pool and countryside - really nice. The nearby restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.2
    It was just a night stay for us. So just a bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pictures don't match the exact place. Value for money is not there. Staff could be a bit more helpful too. Parking is scarce. I had to find an awkward place to park myself.

    Location is the best about this property though there are much better hotels in even better locations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Great property with clean pool facing La Toscana at walking distance from San Gimigniano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very little although it had a balcony looking the rear of the hotel. Not many ways to plug US/South America electric devices. Staff was not so dedicated to find some solutions. I requested ice to the room and I had to pick it downstairs by myself. No service at rooms and restaurant/bar doesn't work by night.

    Property is facing sunny wide views of La Toscana. Some rooms have great balconies with a superb view. Exterior pool is gorgeous and garden for sunbath is fantastic. A word apart for the pool quality water: Hotel doesn't use any chemical and swimming on it is like doing it on spring water. Wide open your eyes below the water and enjoy it!. Great environmental care!. Parking is great and overall, a great stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.8
    Not good. I Don't reccomend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nothing like the photos. Over priced. The smallest rooms I've ever seen and I travel a lot. My friend couldn't use the restroom and close the door because he couldn't turn around. Old hotel. Old rooms. Staff was not that friendly and not helpful. Didn't want to work. Way way to overpriced for that type of hotel.

    Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Italian Holiday in a terrific area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room and bathroom too small and tired. This made it extremely hot, like the weather. Mosquitoes are a problem which could be addressed.

    Great location, great views. Wonderful staff. Nice Italian feel but needs redesigning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    - Fantastic Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We only had booked a small double room , and as the name suggests it was really quite small. If we were to stay for more than one night I would definitely suggest a bigger room. - Shower is that traditional shower with a curtain (no modern shower corner)

    - Fantastic Breakfast - Pool is a very welcome addition to a day spent in San Gimignano. Garden with deck-chairs worked great as well. - Nice and welcome staff. - Despite the equipment of the room was older it is well maintained and has a nice retro touch to it. - Free parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect including location, staff, quality,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect including location, staff, quality, breakfast, comfort. it is great to find staff speaking english whom can help and suggest a lot on what to do around the hotel and the city. Breakfast was really perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Our favorite city and hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our one relaxing city on our 16 day tour of Italy and we wish we would have booked another night here. The hotel is within walking distance of the main city of San Gimignano which is a great town to explore. We also made ourselves comfortable poolside to relax and enjoy the bar there while we laid in the sun. We got a room with a balcony that had a breathtaking viwe of Tuscany and also the pool - it was the perfect place to sit and watch the sunset with a bottle of wine. Highly recommend this city and especially this hotel - we will be back someday!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    A quiet comfortable friendly hotel in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot find anything to criticise.

    Small, friendly hotel, staff professional and helpful, garden with pool heavenly. Stunning views of Tuscan countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Tranquil oasis within a short walk of Sam Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose a small double room and in future would choose a larger room, as there was not a lot of space for our suitcases and things, and the bathroom was rather small.

    Quiet oasis just ten minutes walk from San Gimignano. Lovely pool in a very pretty garden setting. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.6
    Nice views. Cramped room and faulty billing..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a tiny single room, not suitable as a double room for 2 people. We were very upset that there was very little space to keep our bags and also no window. They also charged us unfairly for 4 bottles of water ( 16 euros) that we specifically said we did not consume. What was upsetting they used our credit card details to charge us after we settled the bill and checked out !

    The views were great; lounge, breakfast area and reception area were relaxing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Good stay very close to San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved parking costed EUR13 which is excessive. Very small shower. No kettle to make tea/coffee in the room. Buy water as the tap water has a peculiar taste.

    Wifi sufficient. Very good location - a few minutes walk to San Gimignano centro. Basic but clean and everything you need for two nights. Room has a balcony. Nice breakfast buffet - nothing fancy but good - and lovely to sit outside on the terrace on a beautiful day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good location, not too far from the city centre of S.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not for a 4star hotel. The hotel is actually good during nice weather, because its main positive attribution is the fantastic view and the area. There 's no dinner in the hotel (but its not importanat, because there's many magnificent restaurant in the neighbourhood-10 minutes walk)

    Very good location, not too far from the city centre of S. Gimigniano (10 minutes on foot). Very kind and helpful staff. Fantastic view from the room and the garden. Everything was clean. Fast check in and out. I am sure that we will go back there, because we spent amazing days there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel. Beautiful views. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on the front desk I think her name was remona. Black curly hair. (Sorry if this is wrong I lost the piece of paper with your name on) could not of been any more helpful. She helped us with train times booking taxis and gave us some great tips on the town. And made us more then welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with great pool and views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and double bed were small, but was advertised as such. The breakfast was OK but not as good as others in Italy.

    Good location, really helpful friendly staff, great pool and lovely view from balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with on-site parking and close to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet access was slow, the tap water tasted strange (sweet-ish) and we didn't risk to drink it.

    Nice property with on site parking (need to reserve & pay) and a visitor parking available nearby. The garden and swimming pool are very nice. English speaking staff was very friendly, breakfast selection was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't go as far as saying "didn't like", just that the rooms were a little on the compact side and that, coupled with (what I considered to be) the unexpectedly warm weather for the time of year, plus air con wasn't yet turned on, it was a little too clammy when sleeping and changing into clothes, first thing. That said, the lovely lady at reception had given us a room with a balcony, so we simply got round that by opening the balcony door

    Fantastic location and setting of hotel, hotel appearance (inside decor & outward appearance), views, swimming pool, easily accessible, availability & proximity of parking, breakfast and staff helpfulness. We reserved parking for the hire car @ €13 euros per night. This was right next to the hotel reception. There was other hotel designated parking, immediately after you turn off the street, 40 or so metres up the hill from Reception which might not be chargeable; best check when booking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Loved the location and the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was less than adequate. It started too late and was extremely sparse! It's not that difficult to have fruit, cheese and meats. They could use the sparse seating for a better spread of food.

    Loved the location and the staff!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff, lovely hotel with beautiful vistas very easy short walk to San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Leaving..... very disappointing and shall definitely return

    This was our first time to Tuscany and so wished to choose one of the larger hill top villages and a larger hotel with parking. This hotel was perfect, very friendly staff, good clean rooms and a very easy short stroll into town for shopping and evening meals. I would recommend spending the extra for the larger rooms if staying for decent duration as the smaller rooms with / without balcony are a little tight for unpacking. but highly recommend this hotel and it's location. Also book a parking spot early to avoid disappointment as there are few spaces at the hotel but plenty nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    An excellent 3 days in a beautiful and historic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to have an evening meal in hotel.

    The location of the hotel, the pool facility. The staff were extremely helpful. Very good and varied breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    3.3
    Very unfriendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed 1 night here as part of our 1 month Eurotrip honey moon in Aug. So you can imagine we stayed at many Hotels around Europe. This one by far was our worst experience. The woman at reception does not even understand the meaning of customer service. She would roll her eyes when we asked for the list of Wineries around. ( We already told her it's our honeymoon and we were there for the wine). Let's talk about the room. There is no windows! Dark and ugly. Probably a $50 room which we paid 200 for. Never stay here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.7
    Great location - fantastic views - but expect a slightly warm night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was limited in its capabilities - could do with a serious upgrade - room was tiny but we were aware about that from trip advisor reviews

    Decent breakfast - excellent location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    The hotel has a great location, a very nice swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked one of the cheaper rooms in the hotel, but we didn't know from the website description that these rooms didn't have any windows and no view outside. I wouldn't advise these rooms to other travellers. It's a bit depressing

    The hotel has a great location, a very nice swimming pool and friendly staff. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.3
    A room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To maximise the balcony we would have benefited from tea making facilities in the room.

    Perfect location, lovely views and very peaceful. Great place to relax.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Great place to just relax at all day or as a base for touring Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit on the small side. Lunch menu was a bit limited.

    Perfect location close to town but quiet! Fabulous views. Lovely pool to cool off in after hot day touring. Very clean, friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Pretty hotel with fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was well equipped ( a bit too much furniture) but very small, no room to put our suitcase anywhere so we had to leave it outside.

    The hotel grounds were lovely and you could lie on a sunbed and look out across the rolling hills...wish I was back there. We had a top floor room with a large terrace over looking the grounds and the pool area and the rolling hills beyond, which was superb. The room was nicely furnished and staff pleasant. Only limited parking but we were directed to parking down the road which was free, given San Giminiano is such a small place space was at a premium so understandable. A short walk into the walled town and loads of choices of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    3.8
    Not a four star!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a four star! We recently visited the hotel in San Gimignano with family. The view from the second floor room was beautiful, and made up for the room being very small. The ground floor economy room was exactly that, budget. We expected this though (to an extent) and unfortunately with it being the last available room we didn't have an option. Both rooms were in desperate need of being decorated and were dirty. It was certainly not the standard of a typical four star. The pool area also felt dirty. One of the main reasons we booked this particular hotel was because on booking.com it stated it was dog friendly. On arrival the receptionist was very rude stating they do not except dogs. When I showed her their booking.com write up, which states they do, she continued to be very rude. We even send a message when initially booking to explain the two dogs, who are both well behaved and very small, would be staying too. We only ever book pet friendly accommodation and obviously we would not have booked otherwise; even if informed prior to check in on the day that it wouldn't be suitable. The booking.com status has now been changed to 'pets not allowed' following the situation. This was our third time visiting San Gimignano and the accommodation was very poor in-comparison to the previous hotels we have stayed in.

    The view from second floor room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have tea & coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Bathroom had moisture problems (smells moist and yellow mold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had moisture problems (smells moist and yellow mold in the shower). Would be great if cleaned and checked regularly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Extremely relaxing week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothingextre

    Breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Just fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave!

    Just perfect location and friendly hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel close to the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel close to the centre of town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay even in small room, amazing viewings of vineyards while you are sun bathing by the pool.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interiors and style is a little dated but really well kept.

    Everything was thought of, room cleaned everyday and the staff are so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel , lovely setting.helpful and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the hotel , there was nothing that we didn't like.

    Breakfast , room ,staff everything. Would definitely go there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything and the service was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and the service was exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property and staff and setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel walking distance to tourist sites, onsite parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location, spotless rooms and bathrooms, if somewhat over representation or elderly Brits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Lounge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view or lack thereof but I guess the view rooms are always reserved for others.

    Although probably just renovated the bathroom was spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff at the front desk where very friendly, incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk where very friendly, incredibly helpful and gave fantastic recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: