Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence Al Granzo

Piazza Venezia 7, 34123 Trieste, Italy

#68 of 121 Holiday rentals in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 350 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Our reception was friendly, warm and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally, a lift would have made things easier, as my 80 year old brother in law found 5 flights difficult. Also the many doors we had to unlock was a complicated process- 4 separate keys in all!

    Our reception was friendly, warm and courteous. The apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a gorgeous view of the harbour and we were central to all the sights and restaurants.. Walter helped me to locate on the map the house where I was born, for which I am eternally grateful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location, large apartment and very friendly and helpful host.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only one small thing: it would be great if they could provide more bags for garbage, or remove the garbage once or twice when we stay as long as one week.

    The host is very friendly and helpful and the location is great. We had a very nice apartment with a lot of space, and the host also provided all the kitchen equipment we asked for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    very good location, a bit pricey for the offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom had flickering light, atrium is extemely hot, lack of free parking space, non-existing view to the sea even if we were 10 meters away from it

    it is very well located, near the city centre, owners are helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    In heart of Trieste very friendly receptionist the apartment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    In heart of Trieste very friendly receptionist the apartment was super clean and big i highly recommend these apartments and im very satisfied

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent position for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather difficult to cool down - a stronger AC wouldn't be bad.

    Excellent position for exploring the city. Walter was extremely patient, nice and helpful. The apartment is really spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Easy access to everything, just don't expect to eat in the kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very squashed as 2 single beds had been added to the living room with the sofa. The single beds were very uncomfortable although the double was fine. We couldn't use the kitchen as there were also only 4 chairs and we were 5 people, and there wasn't enough crockery to eat on. Also, the freezer had mould in it and there was no microwave in the kitchen. So that didn't really work for us

    It was very central and easy walking distance to everything. The host was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, but missed a lot in the kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very few things in the kitchen, only 1 teacup, 2 small coffe cups, no tea kettle/water boiler. I hope they will equipe the kitchen so that it can be possible to make breakfast there,

    Great location and very welcoming host. Large bedroom and good airconditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    A perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. It was perfect for a family with kids.

    We loved this. It is not very fancy, but comfortable and we got a very friendly reception from Walter:) This hotel has a great location and Trieste is full of nice wine bars and cafés.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    comfortable stay in a great location for one or tow noghts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    building was a little dated and the door to our apartment seemed a little unsafe - which I am sure it was not but if we were staying longer than one night, I would have raised it. also there were no toiletries which is a put off in lodgings. some basics like shower gels and soaps would be welcome

    Walter is a great host and whilst our interchanges were brief, he was always helpful with tips about where to park and what to do etc.. breakfast in the cafe downstairs was very welcome and the location was ideal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Centralissimo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great apartment - spacious, comfortable, centrall in one of the classic palazzo buildings. Staff are very accommodating, Cafe downstairs, Eataly across the road, and right at the start of the pedestrian restaurant/bar strip. Easy to find in the car with free public parking opposite. Loved Trieste - it’s sophisticated, beautiful, great food, shopping and great lungomare sunbathing strip (Via Miramare), and loved our apartment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking web site we booked the room for 3 people, the details indicated balcony, city/sea view. We got a room with no balcony and no city and no sea view, our view was the apartment 5mts across the street. We paid 128 euro for 1 night assuming there will be a balcony and view. We wouldnt have paid that price to a room like we stayed in al granzo, or we would have booked some other place to that price. We stayed in hotel miramare 1 day ago in trieste and it had a beach, perfect breakfast, balcony and sea view,it was a 4 star hotel for 145 euros/night. It was booked for that night so we had to get out. We came from a very difficult 5 day multiple stop journey to deal with a shipment to trieste port, and it was a disappointing stay for us. The furniture was old and the covers Were worn out. The cleaning was mediocre.

    Spacious Pets re welcome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Don’t go here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked with booking.com , we booked a studio apartment with a sea view . When we arrived after a long days drive , the owner tried to fob us off with a small, dingy back room with a view of the rubbish next door ( no sea view ) , this room bore no resemblance to the description or photos of the studio on the booking .com site .it was only after my partner argued with Walter, the proprietor, that we were given the studio apartment we had paid for . In our view this was a blatant & dishonest attempt to hold back the studio in case someone came along later . There is no way anyone would stay in the small apartment that Walter tried to give us .unless they had absolutely no choice . We wouldn’t put our dog in it . The booking .com site also describes “ free public parking “ nearby . While this might be technically correct, the reality is that it is impossible to find an available free space within walking distance from the property .parking is available over a busy road for 1 euro per hour . The studio apartment we did finally get had plenty of room ,,& a good view , however it was poorly equipped ,& was not well cleaned , the bed wasn’t comfortable . Overall we would rate our experience as poor , particularly because of the dishonest attempt to fob us off with something we had not booked We would advise anyone to look elsewhere , & note that this is the sort of behaviour by the ownerthat could damage the reputation of booking.com ,a company that we have received excellent service from in the past

    Location was good, very close to main centre of Trieste , sound proofing was good .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A very interesting stay in Trieste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A kettle or small lipped saucepan for boiling water would have been useful. Extra pillows would have been good. A change of towels and bedding would have been appreciated after 3 or 4 days.

    The location is excellent in Piazza Venezia. There are plenty of eating and drinking places close by and a supermarket just round one corner and bus stops around the other. The host was extremely helpful. The free breakfast items were well received. Many thanks! The apartment we had ( Number 10) was spacious and well equipped, including a full sized washer, fridge-freezer and dishwasher.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Would return to this residence again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friday night the street is very active with people and restaurants. Very exciting but noisy.

    The bed and room was very large. Had full kitchen but did not use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location but apartment has disadvantages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness was borderline. Although spacious bathroom the actual toilet bowl is placed in such a weird place that you manage to hit both your right knee and your arm and still not be comfortable. There was mold in the fridge (!!!) and seeing from previous comments it was the case before as well. There was a smell in the bathroom that the owner did not want to recognise. However this can be solved by leaving the extractor in the bathroom running all the time. The apartment is located right across a very busy bar area and there is no sound proof windows. This means that you are very close to where everything happens but if you are looking to get some early sleep this is difficult especially in weekends. Generally the apartment needs renovation. All in all although Trieste is expensive this apartment is borderline ok for the price bearing in mind the actual comfort you (don't) receive.

    The owner is particularly friendly and willing to assist. Flat generally spacious. Location very central although this comes with disadvantages as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    The house is situated close to the see, in front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is not too easy but we found a place every day a little bit far from the hotel.

    The house is situated close to the see, in front of the harbour and the end of the main walking area, still the room was calm. Tha room was very big and the windows are looking to two streets and the park. We got a small breakfast in the small café belong to the hotel. The two owner were very kind and helpful. We enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, very outdated and needs a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big, but everything was very old. It came with a kitchen but there was no garbage can. The toilet was sort of broken, you had to flush with a strange button protruding into the room. There was no hot water. Apparently when we complained on check out they said that there was a button to switch it on with. We couldn't find this button. So if it was there it would have been nice to have been told upfront or to hang up a sign. Cold showers are not the best way to start the day. The beds were very old and uncomfortable. The whole room / place could use a refurbishment.

    The location was really good. On the water front on a nice little Piazza. It was about 5 minutes walk from the main square and shopping areas. Love location, but on Saturday night there was a lot of noise outside from people drinking in the bars near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Real Italian hospitality with a view over the Adriatic sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walter is a warm, charming gentelman who run the extra mile to make us feel really at home. We are very grateful for his generosity and kindness and won't hesitate to get back to Residence Al Granzo next time we get back to Trieste. Thank you again Walter, you've got friends in Spain now!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    No parking place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the street doesnt mean that this place has a parking! Little noisy as there is a bar next to it.

    Localisation, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Waterfont but in town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit fruity in the summer time.

    The access and location of this residence with taxi rank outside and straight onto the Riva on one side together with the Via Torino on the other make it very well suited for everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice place on a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi didn't work third of the time, old sofas don't look great, no microwave oven in the apartment. One vertical does not have elevator access.

    Great location, nice hosts, big apartament, complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. Hosts can give useful advice for getting around. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a short holiday with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I missed was a vacuum cleaner or a brush in the appartment but I guess you can get it by asking it to the owners.

    Very friendly owners. Nice and big appartment with a separate kitchen with wash machine, micro wave... But everything just basic. We had no sea view. It's in the Older part of the town, close to good restaurants and pubs. We also received some breakfast in the pub in the same building. Simple coffee and croissants but nice and very tipical Italian. Parking for yur car is available opposit the main street. 2 min. walk and for free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautifull Trieste!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking could be a bit of a problem. If you leave the space you find there is no garanty that you will find another one so you will have to look for it somewhere around the residence. The room could be a bit cleaner. For 5 days nobody came to clean the room (and there is no ecquipment so we can do it) and no changing of the towels...that is the only thing why the grade is not 10, but all in all with this little upgrading of the room in cleaning sense, this could be the perfect place to stay in Trieste.

    The host was very nice, very helpfull. There was also free breakfast (brioche coffee and juice) every morning which was very nice also. The room was very spacious. Location of the residence is very good. Everything is in close walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Friendly reception, convenient stay, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    This was an ideal accommodation for our family during our short stay in Trieste. The location was perfect, close to the sea within a short walk from the main square and a lot of restaurants around. Our apartment had a nice sea view, air condition and much space for six persons. The staff/owner(?) was extreemly friendly and helpful. Parking place was available on the street in front of the hotel. If we come back to Trieste, we will definitely aim to the same hotel. We recommend this hotel and the apartments especielly to families, a great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent position, claustrophobic apartment! Good for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment is in the attic and and it was too claustrophobic for us. It was too hot and we couldn't turn on the air-conditioning because it smelt awful. They should change the filter.

    The position is fantastic. The owner is very kind. The object has not its private parking but you can park very near for free on the public parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Perfect room for the great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if the air conditioning was turned on before check in. It took awhile to cool the room.

    Wonderful room for the money. Air conditioning is wonderful for this time of year, and the free breakfast downstairs was a huge plus. Great location, clean room & friendly host. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable apartments in Trieste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be a problem at times.

    Central location, large rooms, well heated / cooled / insulated. secure. Could be suitable for longer stays.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.3
    Location of the property is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. Parking is free but not beside the apartment and complicated. Wifi password was not provided. Room was not ready until 2 pm, supposed to check in at 10 am. Overall very poor value for the money, and the restaurant attached to the hotel was over 100 Euro for an average lunch. Go somewhere else.

    Location of the property is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Great location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is excellent, and the view from the unit we were in was wonderful. The residence is steps away from the pedestrian zone, which is full of bars, restaurants and shops. The sea and the port are across the street.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice flat, good lively location, though went on a little too late on Saturday night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen could have been better equipped. Although the night life calmed down at a reasonable time for getting to sleep, it went on a bit on Saturday night but it didn't affect us as we were tired and fell asleep, but might displease some.

    The apartment was bigger than expected and clean. Nice shower. Location good for centre, bars and restaurants, and the sea front. Very pleasant during the evening just sitting in the flat with open windows and soaking up the lively street atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value central Trieste lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    Good Location ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old apartment, wasn’t clean and comfortable

    Good Location ,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Near to the center and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    not so cheap. wifi

    Near to the center and beach Air conditioner Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable. Great price and very nice owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few updates to furnishings would be pleasing.

    Inclusion of breakfast with an apartment rental. Location! Very friendly kind owner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was not as clean as expected

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    I loved the location and the staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the bathroom had a mild smell to it. Also parking was horrendous.

    I loved the location and the staff was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good to have small gel shower / shampoo

    Location, spacious appartement, place where to park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Great town centre location with parking facilities across the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great town centre location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    everything perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Pretty much everything.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pretty much everything. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    The location is perfect and the staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect and the staff was very nice. You can have huge, well equipped apartments with nice view over the square or the sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.0
    Beds for children were awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds for children were awful. Cheap and sub-standard. Room needed modernising.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    All but wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi didn't work most of time. Short periods when it worked were rather occasional and seldom.

    All but wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location to visit the city centre when you enjoy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You have to pay for car parking, one euro per hour 8:00 - 20:00. You can't pay the ticket in advance....

    Perfect location to visit the city centre when you enjoy to do your own cooking.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    - great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - no wifi

    - great location - friendly owners - cleam

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    Spazioso, vicino al centro,piccoli ristoranti vicino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spazioso, vicino al centro,piccoli ristoranti vicino...

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: