Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence Club Barbara

Via Consolato Veneziano sn, 72017 Ostuni, Italy

#10 of 25 hotels in Ostuni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Great stay in a quiet area - with a few things to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - It was the start of the season so it was a bit cold when we first got there - Maybe for the same reasons as above (or not), the flat always felt a bit damp (which affected the bed and when we tried to get towels and swimming costumes dried) - We were on the ground floor, and every day I had to sweep small ants out of the flat - Nearby supermarket with unreliable opening hours (has to be in this section as the location of the residence is a factor for this issue) - Villanova beach that wasn't the best so had to drive a bit to find one (but the one in Pilone was great) - We only went around the swimming pool at the end of the day which may partly explain the kids pool being full of insects - We had some neighbours with kids upstairs and you could clearly hear chairs being dragged on the floor at early and late hours of the day - The WiFi was intermittent - Cellular signal in the flat was pretty much inexistent so calls were difficult to carry - or when the WiFi was down, we could not rely on our cellular data - This one is completely UNRELATED TO THIS RESIDENCE, but it's good for people to know that petrol stations do not always accept credit or debit cards (at least from the UK or France) which was an issue for us when we needed to refuel or when we returned the car at the car rental

    The communications with the host was good - very responsive and in English. The season had just started (last week of April) so we were the only ones staying there at first and then more residents came as the week went by. The location was good as in between Lecce and Bari and close to Ostuni. There was a good (but at times busy) restaurant a 5-min walk away called Gli Archi. There was a small supermarket (15-min walk) in Villanova harbour which provided the essentials but it felt like opening hours were random. A bakery near the supermarket was good for bread, biscuits, pizzas and other pastries. A very nice long beach was not far (10-15 min drive, in Pilone) as the beach near the residence was not that clean and full of little flying slugs (?). The residence also sported a small playground which our daughter enjoyed. You are provided with a number of towels for showers and additional ones for the beach / swimming pool. All bed linens are also provided. Contrary to what's been said in the other reviews, there was no noise which was probably due to the fact that it was the start of the season and the other residence nearby was closed. Also enjoyed having breakfast (supplies bought at the supermarket) on the private terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    A very warm welcome made our stay nice and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Half of my staying in hotel (3 of 5 nights) WiFi was very slow. Saturday evening music show in restaurant Gli Archi (200 m from hotel) was very loud and lasted till 2 A.M. Actually i like it, but it could be a problem for kids.

    A very warm welcome made our stay nice and cozy. Apartments at first floor with veranda was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Noisy Property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy especially from next door property, loud music until after midnight. Loud music at pool during the day as well. No air con room too hot.

    Good location to beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Superbly splendid stay at Residence Club Barbara, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superbly splendid stay at Residence Club Barbara, excellent location we stayed for 4 days on arrival we were met at the entrance gate by a very charming and friendly lady with very good english who gave us a top class and extremely helpful briefing re transport, local restaurants etc. the facilities at residence were well maintained pool cleaned every morning reception area incl. toilet facilities spotless the other staff were friendly and helpful, our apt. was very comfortable and functional with a beautiful view overlooking the pool and beyond to the wider vista of the Adriatic. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this charming Residence to anyone , thank you very much to everyone at R.C.B. for a really enjoyable stay , hoping my fellow travelers find this helpful. Don, Ireland

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no bar by the pool open which was disappointing

    Staff were extremely helpful in a crisis as in laws left their passports at previous hotel and the staff assisted with their safe return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    Very comfortable say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The greeting (or lack of it) when we arrived.

    Very nice, self- contained apartment with balcony overlooking the sea and pool. (35). It is in Villa Nova, which is 7kilometers from Ostuni but only 1kilometer from local shops and a couple of restaurants. Plenty of on-site. parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    3.8
    Would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Should have moscotto deterants in rooms. Bitten several times. Also Manager Christina had a terrible attitude eg asked if there is any other way from bari airport to hotel other than Taxi which costs 120 euro she said there was not. This is totally untrue as I got there via trains buses for 20euros !! She is just not suited to her job ! Also the sea was warmer than smimming pool which was freezing.

    Not too much !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Top place to Holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we couldn't live here!!

    In a great area, nice and peaceful but enough restaurants and a couple of bars for a relaxed holiday break. Little Cove beaches and great service from staff in Residence Barbara and staff in surrounding shops and bars surrounding around Villa Nova area. Little tip though; Avoid restaurant called 'Holiday' situated on the water front. Very rude, bad service with a very unprofessional owner who can only be described as ignorant and arrogant. A great little bus service is near to the hotel and has regular services to other towns and resorts including the beautiful Ostuni Centro. Definitely a must day out! Free parking availability at the Residence Barbara with plenty of spaces. Also Free bicycle hire. We wasn't due to depart until later in the evening so the kind staff allowed us to keep on the room until we departed, again, for Free. Fab!!! Will definitely come back again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no information on the hotel site ( as well as on booking.com) that the air condition is paid additionally. I was sure that is included in the price - so big surprise

    Good location, very close to beach , to shops, a few restaurants in walking distance, bus stop to Ostuni is 100 m from the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful Spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after the hot spell and didn't need it but you would need to pay for air conditioning if it were peak time and hotter.

    Friendly staff Perfect location.Great to have a room safe.Great location for a base in the area near beautiful Ostuni.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    excellent place to rest from the big city and daily routine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    maybe too overpriced.

    excellent place to rest from the big city and daily routine. room has kitchenette and balcony or terrace. staff is friendly. there was a holiday when we stayed there and they brought a full basket of fruits - that's was nice. pool and entrance to the sea are there. you can take a bus to Ostuni and enjoy its beauty or walk to the village port. there is a bicycle rent. seemed there were not too many foreigners in the entire area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Bellissimo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent hotel, especially for families with children. Nice pool, playground, baby club and activities. The rooms are very nice. The location by the beach is great and there are some nice restaurants a very short walking distance away. I truly hope to return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.1
    Nice place, bad attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like the attitude of the lady at the Reception. She tried to charge me for the air conditioning remote control (7 euros / day, at this leve? come on!), even if I never got this extra in the Booking reservation (finally she admited and gave me the remote for free). When I left, she has the attitude to stab me in my back, and there was no reason for this. Try to smile, lady: you work in the tourism industry and you are suppose to please your clients. The other negative things it's the noise. Do not go to Barbara if you wanna rest. The nearby disco is crazy loudly until 1 in the night. And, for no particular reason, at 4 p.m., when is supposed that you would like to rest a bit, the animation team starts a 15 minute... animation which will make you go crazy. Finally, a black ball for the wifi which is up&down.

    Over all, Club Barbara is a pleasent place, located in Villanova, at the litoral area of Ostuni (which is only 8 km away). The pool is cool and the nearby grotto is a nice place for swiming, even if you will not find a beach at the residence. Rooms are large and with all you need. You have a place where you can eat/drink at the reception. Nearby are good restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big and comfortable apartments. Nince garden and pool area. Perfect location right by the beach and close to supermarcet, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Loud Music from the hotel next by to late night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud Music from the hotel next by to late night. I had to use earplugs to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything at Club Barbara was perfect; Lucia was the perfect host and we will definitely be going back next year!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    It was very nice to have terrase outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very nice to have terrase outside. Swimming place in the see just outside the back gates was quite cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, rooms very big and comfortable, sea view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very loud bar over the street

    Very helpful staff, rooms very big and comfortable, sea view from the balcony, very clean pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    goed value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice park, goed facilities and Nick location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Great seaside resort for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Small shower cabin.

    Loved the seaview and all the kids amenities - playground, swiming pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Great accommodation in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great accommodation in a lovely location. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to returning next year...Grazie mille!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Very nice location, very nice facilities for pets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No restaurant, the restaurants are closing at lunch time. You have to eat lunch quite early elsewhere you'll be hungry ultill 8 p.m. The stores are also closed. I understand that this is the local tradition, but, come on, tourists shall not be forced to live by it. Moreover in September the "Comune di Ostuni" is not cleaning the streets. Guests shall separate wastes in five categories according to the a long list but the streets are very dirty.

    Very nice location, very nice facilities for pets.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Small complex, friendly, attentive, relaxing, memorable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Litttle bit of loud noise from adjacent hotel, goes off at midnight but did not bother us too much.

    Small complex, friendly, attentive, relaxing, memorable, location, lovely attentive staff, very special place. Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Staff were wonderful, they could not have been more helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reflection on Club Barbara but some of the local businesses did not make us feel so welcome; we much preferred the supermarket 'La Delizia' about 7 or 8 minutes walk towards the port than the one nearest to us, the ladies in there were very helpful. The local fruit & veg shop however (with an orange canopy) was run by a very friendly man and we always tried to use him when possible.

    Staff were wonderful, they could not have been more helpful; Christina and Rosetta made us feel truly welcome & nothing was too much trouble. They arranged trips for us that were not on the official trip list, with English speaking guides as well. The animation team also were lovely and friendly & we always felt able to join in the activities.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    The apartment is on very nice place, with a wonderful see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the neighbourhood there is an apartment which has animation service, it is very noisy and music is bad and it sounds twice per day for 3 hours.

    The apartment is on very nice place, with a wonderful see view, the place is clean and the swimming pool is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Great location, clean, superb service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The few days of bad weather.

    Great location, clean, superb service. Christina has a special talent to make guest feel like they are at home.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    excellent place large room and large bedroom with patio...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    excellent place large room and large bedroom with patio overlooking the sea wonderful

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: