Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence Il Casale 4 stars

Loc. San Pietro A Cegliolo 434, 52044 Cortona, Italy

#54 of 87 Holiday rentals in Cortona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 79 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Tranquil and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Glicine (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was closed on the day of arrival. We got the key from the cleaner after waiting for 30 minutes. No information regarding breakfast opportunity or WiFi access. On the second day we received a printed sheet with information. On the day of departure we were informed to leave the keys in the door and the payment was withdrawn from our account. To us the staff was constantly unavailable.

    Nice apartment, clean and tidy. Beautiful garden and pool area. The area is quiet and green. Close by is the most wonderful restaurant, El Falconieri... Expensive, but worth every cent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Really pleased we chose Il Casale however additional toilet would have been helpful with 4 adults
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment Tulipano
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The information given on booking.com regarding facilities is incorrect. This needs to be addressed. There are no additional toilets in the apartments.

    The gardens and pool area are wonderful. Helpful reception staff. Building is very historic and apartments well appointed and in keeping with the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Rustic peaceful make sure you have a car or you are totally isolated..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment Gardenia (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Il Casale were not ready for our arrival. Although we had advised our approximate arrival time. Our initial greeting wasn't overly friendly. Our accommodation had no kettle/toaster and no hot water. The following day things seemed to kick into action. We arrived on an Italian holiday, it was almost like they forgot we were coming. Things did improve & we enjoyed our stay.

    Peacefulness beautiful rural setting & the tabbachi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    I stayed 12 nights and most of the time was alone there, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Glicine (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good, but even better is possible )) 1) Sometimes there were some questions with heating and hot winter - not working stable, but not a big deal to spoil the impression 2) I don't recommend this place to people without a car

    I stayed 12 nights and most of the time was alone there, so very quite, when no neighbors)) The place is not on the main road, so you can sleep without noise from cars. Alessandra was very helpful in all my requests, but I didn't need much actually as everything was good The territory is very nice: olive trees, rosmarino, roses... My location also had table and chairs and even barbecue. It's perfect place to enjoy breakfast outside with birds singing around.. Kitchen has all necessary utilities. I only would love to have some basic products, because I needed to buy salt, pepper etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    High standard for rustic apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Ortensia (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    being bitten ... only to be expected on rural site Would have liked washing up liquid and toilet roll provided

    Typical rustic apartment Well equipped Good bathroom... really hot water Huge swimming pool with beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place - great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View Girasole (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't come up with any negative. Loved our stay.

    We loved our ' home ' for a month. I already miss the place and Ali and Vittoreo. All pictures are very accurate. Location is great for day trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    As good as it gets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Glicine (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Staff was super nice, gave us a warm reception and made everything easy. At our arrival they upgraded our reservation to a better appartament, just because they had it free. The apparments was great, built in stone, nicely furnished and decorated. We had enough distance to the neighbors not to be running into them all the time. Each apartment has its own corner to have breakfast facing the gardens which, on a sunny tuscany morning can be a blessing. Gardens are great and the pool is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Charming appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Glicine (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and bathroom shower was leaking. Drains did not smell so good in the kitchen.

    Location and pool were great, very close to Cortona. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Tuscany stay with an authentic vibe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Ortensia (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We just loved our stay!

    Self contained accommodation in true Tuscan style and surrounded by beautiful gardens and walk paths. A special Thank you to Alessandra who was so kind and helpful. Thank you to Sinor Vittorio for wonderful accommodation. We would love to return in the future and would highly recommend to people who want to enjoy a part of local life with easy access to Cortona and surrounding Tuscan towns. A great base to explore Tuscany! Jane and Tom. Perth Western Australia

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Tuscan property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited in winter and the buildings were a little bit damp (probably due to the fact they are old buildings). This did not bother us too much, and it wouldn't be a problem in summer.

    Beautiful property with traditional old buildings that have been fully equipped with kitchen/bathroom amenities and tastefully decorated. Only a 10min drive from Cortona. This is ideal if you want to see the Tuscan countryside as a family!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Very homely, tastefully traditionally decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Glicine (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very homely, tastefully traditionally decorated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Bad internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Ortensia (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Lots if character, lovely grounds snd pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Ortensia (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots if character, lovely grounds snd pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Needs some improvements to make it a lovely site for a getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment Tulipano
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds and narrow bathroom

    Rustic style in large gardens with a large swimming pool. Rlaxing feel with views of Cortona

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Charming and helpful reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Glicine (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi unreliable

    Charming and helpful reception staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Country relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment Mimosa (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, nice fixtures, interesting historical background, in the country, relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.1
    We enjoyed the country feel, easy access, open space,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower is small, as is most of Italy, needs more thorough cleaning. No supplies to wash dishes and minimal kitchen set up.

    We enjoyed the country feel, easy access, open space, plentiful parking,privacy and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    3.3
    Location good for Cortana/Arrezo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartment Gardenia Dated and tired apartment. Cleanliness cobwebs every room, Scorpion in kitchen first night. Mosquito netting on bedroom window damaged both badly bitten each night Fridge in kitchen door scraped floor on opening. Kitchen unit skirting board missing hate to think what was under there. Booked 5 nights stayed 2 so uncomfortable, sleigh double bed hard as buckram neither of us slept or got comfortable. External Lighting in darkness hours was not working at all used flashlight on phone to get to apartment from car park. Staff attitude to criticism and leaving early would not listen or accept. External furniture apartment and pool unclean and in some cases broken. Booking stated private terrace !!!! none of the apartments had private terrace of any kind unless you call table and chairs outside entrance a private terrace. Refund requested well below expected standard

    Location good for Cortana/Arrezo

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    5.4
    Charming old stone buildings
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi. Dead spiders and webs all over the rooms; no soap or cleaning cloths provided yet we are expected to wash up the kitchen- we don't travel with dish soap! In general the place could use a good deep cleaning - too many bugs and the ac didn't work in downstairs room even though the owner charged extra for it.

    Charming old stone buildings

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.3
    Nice staf trying to fix issues, nice large pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Il Casale is used to be nice location but would require some refresh - 1st apartment we got was all damp; equipment including kitchenette requires some cleaning. Wifi was sometimes not usable at all.

    Nice staf trying to fix issues, nice large pool.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    7.5
    pool is really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all across our travels in Italy every place is old so bathrooms, bedrooms, etc. have old fixtures and have been around for a long time so not as neat and clean as you might expect.

    pool is really nice a/c works okay wifi works okay

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.2
    The apartment was very clean and spacious, biggest bed we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only 1 device allowed on the free wifi

    The apartment was very clean and spacious, biggest bed we experienced in 3 weeks in Italy. Vittorio the owner was very helpful and kept the place spotless, we had apartment "Ortensia" that had 2 bathrooms and large lounge room but the weather was ideal for outdoors so we spent most time sitting at the outdoor setting. The gardens at the property are very well presented and the swimming pool was very inviting.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    7.9
    The place is really great, nicely set, with rather friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kitchen was basically empty, meaning that it had some kitchenware but not all. Bring your own soap, lighter (the stove needs either matches or a lighter to be turned on), paper, etc. The bathroom is spacious, but incredibly cold, there is no heating there. Beds... man, those are the old beds for short people, and that means sleeping uncomfortably; also because the duvet is much larger than the beds, so you end up with extreme heat under the sheets. The apartment was clean, but I presume that the staff failed to make a quick checkup before letting us in as the towels that were in the bathroom were all dirty, probably due to an infiltration from the wooden window above (which therefore needs to be checked.

    The place is really great, nicely set, with rather friendly staff. We took the 4pax apartment called Gardenia, which was rather warm and cozy. We loved the furniture and the way the apartment was set, the spacious bathroom, and incredibly powerful heating system. You can access the shared barbecue, which is one of those with wheels, they'll take care of the cleaning. Overall great place, rather quiet and perfect for a short stay with fiends or family.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    - garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - bad wifi

    - garden - pool - authentic

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    being told we could not be near the pool before elven by the gardener

    everything

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: