Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence Le Terrazze 3 stars

Via II Traversa Olivo, 19025 Portovenere, Italy

#10 of 30 Holiday rentals in Portovenere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 362 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit of a trade off. While it is a bit removed from the hectic action of the town center, and is right on a small beach with wonderful seaside views, it is also a bit of a walk from all of the transportation and of course town center. The ferries, as well as the bus stop for the bus that brings you into town from La Spezia, are near the town center and are a good 15-20 minute walk from this hotel. The bus stop for going back to La Spezia is very close by, however. It did look like on site car parking was quite easy. So, people should consider these trade offs and their transportation means when looking at this hotel. The accommodation was less than comfortable, however. Unfortunately, the bed was not comfortable and sagged toward to center so we had a hard time not rolling toward to center. And, there was not hot water in the bathroom. My husband commented on this during the evening, suggesting that I try letting it run a long time before attempting a morning shower. I was up at 5:30am the next morning and attempted to take a shower, let the water run 10 minutes and it never got even tepid. I doubt that the hot water had been all used up at that time. It is possible that our location at the very end of the hall made it difficult for the hot water to ever get there. This is worth asking about for people thinking of staying here. The restaurant service was unfortunately not very friendly, and in fact drove us away for dinner as we were met with a brusque inquiry equivalent to "What do you want?" (we were the first customers for dinner, but we were definitely within open dinner hours). Breakfast service was again less than warm and the offerings were the most meager we encountered during our entire 26 days in Italy.

    This hotel is located immediately across a small street from a little public beach, so has great beach access and a very nice open unobstructed view of the Portovenere seaside. We had a nice little terrace on which we enjoyed a nice snack of bread, cheese & wine. The room was very spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked the poolside bar to be open for a light lunch or afternoon drink but despite this, it was lovely to see the the stunning surrounds of Portovenere.

    Stunning views from a comfortable, clean and functional apartment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Coffee cups and kettle in room no teabags only coffee offered and room cleaned each day but no fresh or clean cups, saying that when we asked tea bags where offered, so possibly a cultural difference, no big deal really

    In a quiet beautiful spot very few tourists, mainly Italian holiday makers which was a pleasant change, staff pleasant and helpful, didn`t eat in the restaurant so can`t comment on that but the inclusive breakfast was adequate and plenty of it, all in all would recommend a stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no cleaning but only trash pick up. The beds are not made. And they left new towels only on the third day. If you are there to visit Cinque Terre, it is a little bit far from the city center. Tough it is a nice walk next to the beach. There is a kitchenette in the room, but no water boilers or anything to clean the dishes.

    Our room is almost on the beach. The view is perfect. The room has its own terrace with sun loungers and table. If you are there to have a beach holiday, it is a really nice location. Also it is good to have two rooms in our apartment. There is a kitchenette in the room with two basic stoves and a good sized refrigerator, if you plan to eat some of the meals in the room. There is also a free parking place while it is really hard to find parking in Porto Venere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was unmanned most of the time. We arrived before check in time and there was no one there or anywhere we could leave our bags so spent most our afternoon outside the hotel waiting for staff to arrive as our bags were too big/heavy to carry around with us. At checkout there was no one at the desk to check us out either. Waited around but no one there so just had to leave the key at the desk.

    Great location Lady at the desk was extremely helpful and was given a free bottle of prosecco as it was my birthday. Also brought up anything we needed up to our room. She really made our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Residence Le Terrazze is a welcoming, comfortable hotel located very conveniently for the touristic points. The staff is fantastic: friendly and helpful at all times. The room was lovely - great size, bathroom with power shower, comfortable bed and a perfect view from our window. Sure, I will recomend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be better. :)

    The hotel faces directly to the harbor, so we had a perfect view from the balcony. Parking is right in front of the hotel, so very convenient. Staff is really nice and helpful. Room is clean and standard, with all the basics we need during the one night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much but it’s more self contained villa than hotel. Bit of a walk to town centre and the area is a little dead out of season

    Great location with stunning view Porto Venere is stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lacking - selection not particularly extensive and receptionist was covering both reception (in neighboring building) and breakfast service so was not on the spot when food items ran out or coffee required. Proceeded also to have an animated discussion about hours / holiday time with what I presume was the manager or owner across the breakfast room with no consideration for guests sitting there. Lacking in professionalism

    Booked property on hotel room basis so had breakfast included but allocated an apt which probably all units are. It was very well appointed , modern, clean and great seafront location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was terrible!

    Great spot! Would be AMAZING in summer! Private beach and awesome pools/outdoor bar and attached restaurant. Surrounding restaurants are super too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checked in - we found a leak in our mini fridge. It took about 20-30 minutes to find the receptionist but once round-trip she was happy to exchange our room to an upgraded one so overall we were happy :)

    This is a great hotel with an amazing view on the sea and islands. We had a great room with great view and private balcony. The hotel had a great parking, private beach, and a pool. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains.

    Beautiful views from the small balcony. Modest but nice room. Fast internet. Very acceptable AC, a rarity in Italy and highly appreciated in summer. Kitchenette but no amenities, just water. Maybe forty steps from the beach ? A paid swimming-pool (some 45 steps ;) that we didn't have the chance to try on, but handy because the beach is pebbles and rocky so tricky to walk and get into the water. Parkin a blessing because there is no parking anywhere. Nice, easy walk to the old centre. Picturesque building. Fairly good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes

    great view of the bay from most apartments, salt water pool was very good alternative to sea. Good access to sea on private beach. Plenty of lifeguards and plenty friendly staff. Easy and pleasant walk to town / port

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think hotel guests should be allowed to use Sun loungers free of charge. Pool staff not as friendly as the hotel staff.

    Beautiful hotel,amazing view from the rooom. Friendly staff and only a short walk from the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've decided to pay a bit more than usual to stay in this hotel because it has a pool. The information on its booking.com page gives the impression that the pool is free for hotel guests to use but in reality it costs 14 euros per person to have a sunbed and an umbrella for the day, so an extra 42 euros for the 3 of us!!! It was also a bit hard to keep to the 10am check-out time, so I've left my phone charger behind in our rush to check-out.

    We got to Portovenere at 1pm for an afternoon boat trip but couldn't find anywhere to park, so we went to the hotel but the car park there was full too and reception was closed. Thankfully we found a very helpful member of staff at the bar, and he gave us the keys to our room and led us to a covered parking space. The location was great overlooking the Poet's Gulf and the town centre, and there is a lovely restaurant nearby where we had lunch as the hotel restaurant was not opened at lunch time. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was really good, although the choice on the menu was limited. We like the pool area right by the beach too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a lot of noise inside the room because of the water system. The noise didn't let us sleep.

    The view from the window was really nice. We had a good and free parking place and there is a bus which can bring you to the port which takes 4 minutes. walking to the port 10 min.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked drinks/snacks inside the minibar.

    Great option in Portovenere. Location is near the bus station, couple of nice restaurants nearby and located in closed street right in the corner of Portovenere which renders a very quiet stay combined with a wonderful view of the bay and city. Room was clean and very cozy. Staff was friendly and flexible allowing a late checkin with the key and a kind letter waiting upon my arrival.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    4stars hotel?? not really!! accomodation is like 2 stars hotel and the breakfast? Only toast and one type of ham and one type of cheese, croissant (what about eggs? some choose o pastry, vegetables, fruits, more choices) its not 4stars hotel and or this money? Im so disappointed.

    nice pool and place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. No hot water

    The view from the balcony was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful view, free parking and the harbour nearby made our stay wunderful. We enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, just in front of the beach. Perfect view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, lovely view, the pool wasn’t open but would be lovely in the summer, great apartment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is a bit old .

    The best place in portovenere to stay at. No problem with parking , 2 steps from the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place with beautiful sea view and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good

    Good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff particularly the lady in the recruitment were rude. It doesn't hurt to be welcoming.

    Location and views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from machinery during night. Could have tidier

    Location, view, facilities, free parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have had more furniture

    Facilities were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOCATION

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue for some would be the 15 min walk into town. Wasn't a fan of the restaurant menu.

    Great views. Big rooms. Nice out door area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super service in charching el vehicle (Tesla)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    For the price really just a very basic equipment. Wifi not working in the room. No tv channel working. Cooker not working. Not possible to adjust heating temperature from the room, it was controlled from reception only. So in the begining very cold, then very hot. I reserved a room with sofa bed but there was a bunk bed. Then we were moved to a room with single beds. Would be ok for 50€ but not for the price they ask for

    Location. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even by Italian standarts the breakfast can't be called a breakfast, there weren't even boiled eggs.

    There is a beach right in front of the hotel. It is a quiet spot while still only a fiffteen minutes stroll from the centre of Portovenere Large room with kitchen area As always it depends on the price. We've booked for 125 euro and I find that very reasonable even with the lack of a good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi wasn't too fast. Pool's water was salty. Pool chair and umbrella were 14 euros per day. We couldn't lock up balcony's door properly. Some ants on the floor.

    Scenery was amazing, Portovenere is a very beautiful and lively village

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad wifi - struggled to get a connection at all in all our devices A bit far to walk into town - we ended up driving there instead.

    The view. We arrived after the reception was closed, and it was not a problem to get access to the room. Ample parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not good wifi Balcony had no cover from the sun and when you sat down you couldn't see the view over the banister in room 201

    Great location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms was a bit dated. Maybe other rooms were more modern?

    Location was great. Pool was closed, but looked wonderful and would be a great spot to relax beside the ocean and close to town.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is beautiful, the location is at the same time great and a little far - if anything can be far in Portovenere - but it's not an inconvenience if you don't mind walking. breakfast was nice and staff very kind. Highly recommend!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Wonderful setting on the edge of the bay. We got the evening sun on the terrace, which was lovely to enjoy the view. We only stayed one night but the apartment was very well equipped for a longer stay. Nice breakfast, plenty of choice and a pleasant setting in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is very poor.

    Location is great with free parking

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful place to stay. Superb views and close to port town cafes restaurants. Thoroughly loved our stay

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible management. They could not care less. They even said so on the phone to others in Italian when they thoughtake I could not understand.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The location was great, staff was nice and brought us some water when we arrived. room was clean with a great view of the water

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience, only suggestion: small table on blacony would be nice.

    only 20 minute (slow) walk to centre of Portovenere.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great balcony view over beach, harbour. Lovely breakfast. Room & bed fairly basic....just slightly above average....

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely room, stunning view of the gulf and Portovenere from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and comfortable room with a small terrace. And they allowed us to use their laundry facilities.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: