Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residence Montelago 4 stars

Via Roma 32/34, 21020 Ternate, Italy

#1 of 1 hotels in Ternate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    The staff is very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very kind and helpful. The location is lovely as it is located on s small lake. We have stayed before and will return in the near future.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.3
    Pick another hotel if you want a proper place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms old, warn out furniture and bath. Not cleaned properly. Everything felt a little dirty. Very poor breakfast. Basically only jam, egg, youghurt and bread. Stays a lot at hotels all over the world and this one is amoung the ones at the bottom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay for travellers exploring Lombardia by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings were a bit noisy

    Excellent service of the staff, excellent room, very clean, private parking, very good WiFi, vicinity to lago Maggiore

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    superb staff. the man in reception is a hero.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the property, I would like to mention the extremely kind and helpful staff, particularly the gentleman in reception, who put in a tremendous amount of effort to ensure that we had a good stay and got us on our way again to our next destination. The man deserves full marks, actually I would give him a medal if I could, he was so helpful to us, and we are very grateful for his good nature, his patience, his kindness and the efforts he made for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place - would consider returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit isolated without many dining options - the shower and shower head was covered in mould which wasn’t very appealing.

    Staff were lovely and couldn’t do enough to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is for those who seek outdoor activities in surrounding areas. Not for party seeking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kitchen/kitchenette included, not even water kettle, so that was a pity, though totally understandable as it is a hotel and we stayed in a hotel room (my fault that didn't read the description properly). Cleaning service comes way too early. Room felt a bit small.

    Beds were wide and comfortable. Air conditioning was working properly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and convenient. We asked for a very late check out due to our flight time , the staff was happy to assist us with a little extra cost for the late check out. Very spacious family rooms. The restaurant across the hotel was lovely too. Excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely time by the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast whilst large in scope, did not change daily, and the coffee was from a capsule machine, not a proper coffee barista machine. The toast took wins to cook in the toaster, the bacon was very greasy, and the hot water for tea was not boiling, so the tea wasn't great. The bar prices are very high. A large bottle of Moretti was 5 euro. A similar size can in Aldi up the road was 1 ...

    The pure honeycomb for breakfast. Quiet, idyllic location, beautiful lake view, excellent restaurant opposite, had a fantastic run round the lake. Our room had great air con, a good fridge, and the staff were nice enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Quite good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was dirty. There were ants in the bathroom. Poorly soundproofed rooms. You can hear how other guests walk or use the bathroom.

    Quite good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with booking.com that I did not get the quality that you advertised, and I paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This did not meet the criteria advertised and paid for, and would need a considerable stretch of the imagination to be 3 star. This was supposed to be a studio, as described in the summary from booking.com, with kitchenette, kitchenware, tea/coffee maker, and electric kettle. The kitchenette existed but was totally without kitchenware, ie no cooking or eating utensils, so was pointless. There was no electric kettle, and no tea/coffeemaker. We were told hat this had not been requested. The first room offered was a simple and cramped double room. The second room offered had a kitchenette, again without kitchenware or tea/coffee making facilities, or kettle, and had an extremely small double bed.

    They moved us twice when we complained about the poor quality of rooms, and so we were lucky that the hotel was not fully booked. At least the third room had a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    All in all it was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all it was ok. But was really upset that I took a taxi from the airport to the hotel for 30€ and then asked them to call me a taxi in the morning back to the airport and this taxi was 58€!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Do not take room upgrade, they lure you in with "free...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not take room upgrade, they lure you in with "free minibar", and it turns out it's only bottled water ! The room has a kitchen in it, but no pots or pans or plates or any other tableware. Shower is mediocre regarding water pressure. Breakfast is rather limited, only on the last day they had something warm. No veggies. In general, you can do better if you shop around, plenty of hotels in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly and the location was nice with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a suite as we were traveling with our 2 year old daughter and felt it had a low value for money.

    The staff was very friendly and the location was nice with a beautiful park on the lake next to the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Peaceful and sunny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Sunday I would have liked extended hours for breakfast, non just 10:30 but 11:30. Just a plus it would have been.

    Very nice garden where all the rooms of the property re located. Peaceful, surrounded by nature. Lovely to hire a bike the next morning and go around the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay..willl definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike..very pleasant stay.

    We had a lovely room with a balcony. It was very spacious & even had a small kitchenette with fridge. We walked around the lake that it is set On..very pleasant stay. We will definitely return & stay longer than 1 night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Quiet place with nice lake next to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned decor.. badly needs a renovation... no personal touch at all..

    Quiet place with nice lake next to the hotel. Good for bikes and walking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Generally a relaxed holiday atmosphere with very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unable to swim the lake that the hotel is situated on, however, that is no fault of the hotel.

    Generally a relaxed holiday atmosphere with very helpful staff, clean and spacious, next to a lake and an excellent restaurant. Good position to access Milan - 1 hour by train and the various lakes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall Good, but room to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel staff were unpleasant at first, but seemed to get better as our stay continued. The bikes weren't in the best shape, they could use a little more managing.

    The breakfast had a very wide variety of choices. The bicycle route around the lake is very pleasant to bike on, as well as walk on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location for a family vacation away from noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a couple of rooms have a view to the lake. Most don't, so if you expect one, there's a little chance of getting it. The button panel for switching the lights is a bit awkward to work and makes strange noises.

    The hotel is a bit old, but well maintained. The staff is quite friendly and very helpful. The restaurant next to the hotel is excellent with a nice view of the lake. There are also a few very nice restaurants and pizza places on walking distance. The location is quite good with all the lakes within an hour drive. Breakfast is quite delicious and adequate in choice for this size of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful setting and nice décor/colour scheme.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The first thing I saw in the room was that the wash basin in the bathroom was dirty. - The (free) Wi-Fi kept losing the connection. - There was no decent dinner restaurant nearby that was open. Without a car, that was a problem.

    Beautiful setting and nice décor/colour scheme. Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovel lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could offer shuttle service to station. Although not far, difficult pulling cases along the streets.

    Very scenic location, great views of Lake Comabbio. Very good walks & cycling around lake. Staff v helpful & allowed us a full early break fast, due to early train to catch. Good restaurant & pizzeria nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed old

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice and helpfull staff, good location close to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and helpfull staff, good location close to the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Room with small kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with small kitchen

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms & old

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Paradiso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Un paradiso

    La tranquillità e la location ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely time in this beautiful part of Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was excellent, as well as the food at the restaurant on site. We found everyone to be friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Very kind personnel and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind personnel and good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    spacious room, very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    spacious room, very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Service, location, spacious, balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was not user friendly and too hot.

    Service, location, spacious, balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    We liked the restaurant next to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were lots of insects everywhere even under the bed sheet

    We liked the restaurant next to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with decent rooms including fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel with decent rooms including fridge Optional good breakfast buffet Very good dinner in the adjacent restaurant close to lake

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    The place it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place it was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Excellent communication with staff, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent communication with staff, helpful and understanding. Very clean and comfy. Amazing location. Nearby restaurant is superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay in a peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quiet peaceful location, lake view, hotel very clean. Bike rental.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Right on the lake, quiet, great views from my room, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find any sockets near the bed.

    Right on the lake, quiet, great views from my room, which had a balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice location and great personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not attended to well enough. Only one guy on 30 plus people so the banquet was missing a lot.

    Very nice location and great personnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Spacious room, quiet, parking (important as I had my foot in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, quiet, parking (important as I had my foot in a cast)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    3.3
    Only location on lake side was good during my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast No air conditioning working in room no. 205 continuous 2 days No Restaurant to eat even pizza?

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Everything was clean, but the shower curtain needs changing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean, but the shower curtain needs changing - it wasn't very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    Staff very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms only have dim light, it would be nice to have extra lighting next to the desk and bedside tables.

    Staff very helpful. The location is very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly or helpful

    Lake view was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    This was our third visit to this hotel and it seems to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel. The only suggestion I would make is that perhaps sun beds could be provided for the 1st floor rooms overlooking the lake. This is not a criticism, just a suggestion.

    This was our third visit to this hotel and it seems to improve every time.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lake view was great. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and very clean. A safe in the room is an added bonus. The cycle hire at the hotel is very useful as is the easy cycle route around both the nearby lakes. The WiFi worked very well and there was always a space to park in the hotel car park. Overall this is a great place to stay if you want a quiet on lake location with easy access to the larger Lake Maggiore and Lake Lugano.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    Silent room.
    • Family with older children

    The elevator was closed on Sunday morning at 8 a.m.??? The integrated lightning system in the room was too complicated.

    Silent room. Nice view to the lake. Early morning jogging round the lake was perfect. Breakfast was good and the personal friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    10
    friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group

    bad wifi

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    I like the amazing lake site location,
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I like the amazing lake site location, Staff was really nice and helpful, room was very clean

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    Helpful friendly staff, changed our room to give us a lake...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Helpful friendly staff, changed our room to give us a lake view upon request

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Air condition was Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I could not swim on the lake nearby

    Air condition was Very good. It was wonderful to jog around the lake

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: