Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence Porta Al Prato

Via Ponte Alle Mosse, 16, 50144 Florence, Italy

#548 of 1,186 Holiday rentals in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1510 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    ok for a short stay. cheap option to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is a lot of noise in the area. Luckily we had a room in the back. but this is Italy's problem... they are noisy. traffic by the door. The bedrroom is not separated from the living room. I was sleeping in the living room and it is not very confortable if people snore in the bedroom. Door is replaced by a curtain and there is a gap in the wall.

    Close to the center. only one tram stop to the station. There are some free amenities, no breakfast. Internet wasn' t very good in the rooms. Building a little old.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the mattress, too soft for my back. And also the wifi connection was slow from time to time, or got disconnected.

    I liked the area, close to a supermarket, coffee shops, train station SM Novella, and that it had a parking in the back of the hotel and the room we had was quite because we had the windows to the parking lot. The reception staff was kind, we didn't need anything from them though.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    The room was big and clean, the air condition works well.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was big and clean, the air condition works well. They have a big parking and safe too. The location is good, you need 15 minutes walking to the center and public transport is nearby. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    The receptionists were very nice, the overall service was...
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The windows are very leaky for noise and rumors, so it was quite loud in our appartment on the street side.

    The receptionists were very nice, the overall service was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Worth for the money, it is in very good location not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi connection was poor and not connecting from inside the rooms The air conditioning was missing in one of the bedroom

    Worth for the money, it is in very good location not far from the city center, restaurants (Italian, India, Kebab etc) are very close to the hotel, self service laundry is just opposite to the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Location, apt staff and room conditions were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City tax details, which were very high! have not been mentioned while booking. Tax were too high and effects the total price, so these details should be mentioned during booking procedure...

    Location, apt staff and room conditions were very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    It is a one bedroom apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a one bedroom apartment. We used the kitchen also a little. Place was close to bus and tram stops at Porta Al Prato. Comfortable stop for two. My daughter used the sofa bed in the living room and managed well. Some decent food joints nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment and floor hallways badly need an upgrade. Carpest were old with stains. Outside could use a new coat of paint. The living room air-conditioning stopped working after day 2. The kitchen needed a kettle and a coffee machine.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Apartment size was good. Downstairs lobby was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    still a good choice for vacation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    any progress from my vacation before 3 years Rooms are large, but the equipment is the same, worn out it would like to refresh rooms, exchange floors, furniture ...

    close to the center, good location and accommodation prices

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    We will never come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and outdated. Scruffy carpet. Horrible chairs and disgusting tablecloth. Old kitchen. The fridge was leaking. Noisy air conditioning. Weak WiFi

    Nothing. Nice pillow

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is slightly out of the way in a secluded and quiet area. Walking to the centre of the city is quite the hike. Be prepared to take the bus. Restaurants in the area were not the greatest.

    Spacious and comfortable. Air conditioner worked well and the apartment was clean. Snacks and toiletries were provided. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Spacious room, great staff at counter who were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry facilities not available as stated although laundromat right across road.

    Spacious room, great staff at counter who were very helpful. Air con worked well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect , personnel very kind and ready to help you for any possible questions - especially i thank the evening male employee in the reception at July 16 & 17 for the insxtructions given for bus to piazzale Michelangelo etc . A/C for us was good , I suppose that for some people who like an extra cold atmoshpere maybe they will ask for increase of the tension !! I really suggest it to everyone , Thanks , Dimitris

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice and Specious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is big and comfortable. Kitchen and bathroom are also have sufficient space. The staff is very helpful and always smiling. I like it’s waiting area very much as it’s give good comfort and space. Overall this is a nice apartment to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Big rooms and lovely atmosphere
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wi-fi was patchy but there seemed to be peaks of 'traffic' before 9am and after 6pm it was difficult to use but the rest of the day it was fine.

    We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and it was just right. It felt like home. The staff were lovely and welcoming. The beds are comfy, the rooms and balconies are huge and well equipped, bathroom spacious and good water pressure. The vintage feel is lovely, reminds of the hotels I stayed in as a child in Italy. It's also a testament to the house keeping staff that the vintage furniture is in such condition. The hotel is in a quiet area with lots of restaurants within 100 metres (try the pizzas from a couple of doors down, yum!) and there's a Carrefore supermarket within 300m. It's about a 10 minute fast walk (with a 12 year old) to the centre, also really easy to get to by bus and tram. Really enjoyed our stay, thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment had plenty of space for two. Kitchen was well equipped though we hardly used it. The property was well located for reasonably priced food, close to a supermarket, close to transport to the city, or a walk to city area. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Florence.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Quite close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No supermarkets nearby.

    Quite close to the train station. To the centre around 30 minutes on foot. A lot of useful stuff - soap, shower cap, cotton buds, threads with needles. Spacious apartments.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice apartment in the cosy area of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi connection was not very stable

    Good location, not far from the center, but in more quite and cosy area, nice and quite place, big room, comfortable bed. Water and coffee with sweets in the room were very nice touch. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    location is great not far from station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could do with better sofa bed.

    location is great not far from station.very friendly and helpful staff, specially Sanjeewa who on our arrival told us about how to go about on Florence by bus. tram n train. Apartment had everything one would need for self catering.Bath tub was bonus. Very good size rooms. Restaurants near by as well as train station is also walking distance.we really enjoyed our stay if ever in Florence would stay here for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    It was adequate for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front door entry key never worked and if we came home when the desk was not manned we would have been stranded outside. The staff are aware of the problem door but nothing seemed to be done to correct the problem.

    It was adequate for our needs. We could prepare our own meals. It was like stepping back into 70/80’s decor but comfortable. Best ironed, white crispy sheets we have found in Italy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    A basic but clean, convenient and affordable place to stay in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No microwave.

    Can walk (with wheelie bags) from station on paved sidewalks. Basic but well equipped apartment (no microwave). Market close by, all that Florence has to offer in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for a family of 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent property for a couple with 2 grown up children. Very conveniently located for public transport as well as for all other local amenities. The staff is very helpful. All locations of tourist interest are within walking distance, and those not within walking distance are easily accessible by public transport. Lot of good restaurants nearby as well as grocery stores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Good place to stay ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was to front of building on first floor over main road ... a little bit of traffic noise generated in mornings

    Comfortable rooms and easy to find from the Firenze SM Station. Good communication by tram or bus into city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended accommodation in Florence
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very minor flaws. Air conditioner was not working (probably because it was May, though one night was hot). Also, it would be convenient to have an electric kettle in the kitchen to avoid using the stove for just boiling the water.

    Everything was good with this accommodation and I think it deserves all 10 stars. Very friendly staff, large, clean and comfortable apartment with everything necessary. Well equipped kitchen with all kitchenware, fridge, large electric stove, microwave oven and even dishwasher. Free water, tea and coffee packs were available. The living room was with a large round table, two armchairs and a TV. Comfortable large bedroom with balcony. Good WiFi connection. High level of privacy acceptance by staff (e.g. they never clean rooms until "Please make up the room" is not hung on the door). Not bad location - about 10 minutes walking distance or 1 km to SMN train station and main city attractions. Those who don't like walking can take a tram to reach the train station. Many eateries nearby and a small Carrefour Express supermarket in just 300 meters.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Florence is a beautiful city. Had a wonderful guided tour of Uffizi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen had only one power outlet to use either microwave or kettle. Minor inconvenience.

    Hotel staff very welcoming. Roomy apartment, gret location and laundry across the road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent location. good staff. Some added facilities would make it better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast, and no toaster / microwave facility either. The third bed was a sofa bed which was really not the most comfortable (despite booking for 3 people in advance)

    Fairly close to the station, accessible by tram. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    It could be better
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was very old fashioned, the furniture was old and damaged (e.g. it was very hard to open cupboards in the kitchen). Inside apartment there are curtains between rooms instead of doors. In the bathroom the lock was broken so we had to have doors to the bathroom still open. There was a lot of dust in the apartment.

    Good location, big size of apartment, nice cosmetics in bathroom. Quiet vicinity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Appartment nice and spacy but furniture should be upgraded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartments facing the street are extremely loud. Not possible to sleep duento traffic noise 24/7.

    Appartment nice and spacy but furniture should be upgraded and changed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Mostly i am impressive with this place and if i have chance to visit Firenze i would back to here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is too close with street, it is quite lound with car annoying.

    Room was clean and have a lot of facibilities. Staff was very kind and support a good information. Mostly I am impressive with this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rude lady who at the front desk who checked us out..very unpleasant..Ac bit finicky..

    Loved the80s vintage feel and the gerneral upkeep of the property...the staff was friendly except for one lady.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    WE stayed only one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communication about the parking on the last day was a bit poor. Didn't get a reply when asked by messenger about the parking location.

    WE stayed only one night. The staff was helpful, especially the evening shift. The parking was great, a bit difficult to spot at first, as the entrance is on the right side street of the hotel, and the Reception entrance is on the main street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wifi was not very stable

    Pleasant enough apartment although we were only there for 1 night so didn't really utilise anything other than the bed and the shower! Very comfortable though and a very helpful night porter if anything was needed. Would use again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    The location that near city centre,and the staf (Sanjeewa)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building that may be need renovation

    The location that near city centre,and the staf (Sanjeewa) are really helpful and give us complete information about how to enjoy the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice accomodation for a very favourable price. If we came to Florence we would certainly choosethis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The technical equipment in the kitchen (slowly reacting cooking plates. long waiting for warm water for the kitchen sink (you must let the water flow a coupl of minutes), non microwave oven. Some rooms face a street with high traffic noise (unless there are special noise proof windws). In our room, we had virtually no problems as it as fing the backyard and only the sleeping room windows were in a side wall, with rsulting minor noise between 6:00-7:00 in the morning. However, allthese minor shortcomings are to be forgotten owing to thepositive aspects of the accomodation.

    Good position 15 walking minutes from St.Maria Novella, 20min. from Uffizzi, 17 minutes from big supermarket Esselunga in Otrarno, 5 minutes from a small Carrfour EXpress open till 24:00 with a basic sortiment. Friendly servce, reception in the house the whole day, if something does not work, they fix it immediately. Plenty of dishes in the kitchen. Safe in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.8
    Helpful staff, clean room, bed and showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy room on top of main road. Room does not look the same as the photo on the web site.... We had changed the room the next night and was better.

    Helpful staff, clean room, bed and showers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Convenient location with bus and tram lines at the end of the street, plenty of retaurants nearby. Easy walk to the city center. Very friendly staff, huge room, a bit outdated but functional furniture. Cheap too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the center. But if you like walking a little every day, no problem.

    Very big room. You could find everything you need in the room. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    WE LIKED IT. THE PLACE IS VERY NEAR FOR EVERYTHING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ONLY THING I DIDNT LIKE IS THE PILLOW IT'S TOO SOFT.

    THE APARTMENT IS WELL CLEANED AND ORGANIZED. THE PERSONNEL IS VERY FRIENDLY AND TRAINED FOR HIS WORK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, nice staff and great location. Small room for improvement in wifi and warm water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patchy wifi (although Netflix worked in night). Old and small lifts. Warm water was also patchy in shower

    Location 1.5 km from City centre just outside ZTL. A good private parking. Clean and comfortable rooms. Children had fun

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    A place offering good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal is sometimes a bit too weak.

    Everything is fine. The kitchen is good enough for us to prepare simple meals. The only inconvenience is the non-stick pan which is obviously worn out and should be replaced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    The room is big and well equiped, the kitchen has everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isn't bath mat in shower room, you must be very careful. No one cleaned our room at first day stay.

    The room is big and well equiped, the kitchen has everything you need. It needs a card to get into the front door so I feel safe. Staff is also friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Walking distance to the S.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy because room was facing to street (we asked for quiet room when reserved). Check-in male staff was rush and impatient when helping turn on air condition.

    Walking distance to the S.M. Novella station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    2.5
    The price is too much for the condition of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is too much for the condition of the hotel. Furnitures are old and some is not working condition. Would not recommend to anyone especially if you have bigger party. They will try to charge you on every little things.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money with a convenient location & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was a real problem. A bit too noisy in our room which faced the street.

    Location was convenient to central train station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful, architectual apartment complex with everything one would require for a short or lon-term
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exterior looking very tired. Needs a re-paint. An electric jug in the kitchen would be an advantage.

    This property was I real surprise. The exterior was showing it's age, badly in need of a re-paint but inside, I found a very architectural interior full of everyday comforts, probably from the 80's but with suites beautifully set up all with individual kitchens, just full of everything one would need for a longer stay. I was in a one bedroom apartment, exceptionally well designed & fitted with everything I required for a restful night including a generous size single bed. The furnishings were modern & tasteful, lovely bed linen & accessories with plenty of wardrobe space. There is no other place I would prefer to stay. Good location, easy walk to Station, shopping & attractions. Parking on site is a huge bonus. I live in Italy so I will be back again without hesitation..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Well situated, middle of the road accomodation, a little old but served us well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no toaster or kettle in the kitchen, so we couldn't make our own breakfast or even a cup of tea or coffee, unless we used the microwave. Tried to use the laundry facilities, there was only one washing machine and dryer was out of action. Ended up using the public laundromat across the road.

    Well situated, within walking distance to main train station. 2 bedroom apartment was large with plenty of space for parents and teenager. Also walking distance to most of the attractions. Great little restaurant called Pinolo is a couple of doors away, we ate there most nights, family run restaurant, good food, good prices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Decent, just ten minutes too far out of the city really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No oven! Only a microwave. Cigarette smoke came through the vent for one evening and other generally not great smells for the rest of the days.

    The reception staff were lovely, the balcony was nice, and security felt pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    Ok if you don't plan to use kitchen
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the light bulbs not working in the apartment plus the kitchen is very poorly equipped, no kettle, toaster or microwave (microwave specifically mentioned in their blurb) or chopping board but there's a fridge and a stovetop so I could boil water in the saucepan to make a hot drink, There's a clunky loud washing machine guests can use in the basement for €3,50, (now I understand why the 'rules' say not to use after 9pm) but no dryer, and no clothes rack in the apartment, so I'd think twice about doing any unless like me, you're desperate for clean clothes.

    The staff were lovely, very helpful and pleasant and the apartment, with its dated furniture, was very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    This is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Florence. It is a little dated, but the room sizes are great and the staff are wonderful and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    The apartment is really nice, it has living room, kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in the room is really poor! I need to login and login again… text chat to someone with WeChat or whatsapp seems very difficult, I have to use my own data and have to buy another sim card....... And if you have many luggage, I have to remind you it's not so easy to walk from train station to the hotel, this is the reason why we call a taxi to the airport....

    The apartment is really nice, it has living room, kitchen and bedroom~ The staff here are nice, allow us to left our luggage and helped us to call a taxi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    I only like the location it was close to the center and the staff was helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old, the carpet's smell very bad, the pan in the kitchen was in very bad condition the staff changed but the one they bring was still bad

    Only the location and the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Old hotel but very clean and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel but very clean and welcoming. Everything was there/supplied for a pleasant stay. Large compared to other accommodation in Europe. Bed comfy, shower great, welcome basket, English TV channels and within 10 min walk from central train station. Would recommend for value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and felt just like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen equipment was sufficient, though an electric kettle would have been more convenient as we stayed 10 nites. The fridge did shudder quite loudly throughout the night,but we stopped hearing it after the first couple of nights as the bed was so comfortable.

    Our apartment was very clean and cosy. The bed was comfortable. Helpful staff and overall very pleasant accommodation with nice sitting area in the lobby area and there's a launderette in the basement. Good restaurants in the same street, and we went to the Pinolo twice - a lovely family restaurant with friendly staff and very generous portions and great steak and desserts. The Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station was about 12 mins walking distance, with a couple of mini markets in between and a good supermarket at the train station. Great location for travelling to Pisa and Cinque Terre, and Rome and other cities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    The location was ideal for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no real negative points to mention

    The location was ideal for exploring the city. It was well placed for the station too. Amenities nearby were excellent making the stay very easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    A good economical hotel that looks after the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms with rugs are definitely not as "clean" as the ones without - but of course, you pay more for the hardwood rooms. That said, our room was fine - but we did look at another room with a very strong smell of rug deodorizer. We also chose to sleep in the bed (more than a single but not a double) but it was fine - better for cuddling! :-). when booking, pay attention to the beds and not to the number of people the room sleeps. (our room was for 2 people but it had a pull-out couch and a single bed)

    We had a wonderful balcony that we could sit out on and enjoy. The AC was most appreciated as it was very hot while we there in July. Staff were most helpful and always friendly. We loved having the "kitchenette" although the only real way to cook was by microwave. The fridge was a nice size (bigger than usual mini fridges in hotels) and we kept our breakfasts in there easily. Also, a laundromat is right across the street - which we appreciated!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Good residence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facility and furniture. Need detail cleaning.

    Security of residence entrance and parking entrance. Spacious one bedroom apartment. Good view to outside. Excellent air conditioner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it looks a little dated in photos, all the furnishings are in excellent condition. Apartment was really roomy, really well equipped, spotlessly clean. Great value for money and a pleasant 10 minute walk to all major sights - 15 minutes if you choose an even more scenic walk along the nearby river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very nice and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't the best, but certainly wasn't the worst. The location is a little far from the attractions and requires either taxi or metro transportation to reach.

    The staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    70s style hotel but very large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    70s style hotel but very large room. Receptionist was very helpful. Was about a 15 min walk from the centre. For what we payed was a good stay. Had a lift which is a bonus in Italy. Receptionist let us leave our bags with them after check out for as long as we liked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Porto al Prato a Sí!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and rooms were done in a vintage style but could have used some updated pieces to make it more inviting ,such as new pillows and sofa . Different bedspread too.

    The front desk service was amazing. They were so helpful and took care of getting us transportation and giving us tips about the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood felt a little questionable but we had no troubles. About a mile walk to sights. Carpeting in apartment and halls were pretty old.

    Easy parking, good security-front door always locked, clean & well stocked. bottled water & goodie bag with tea, coffee, & cookies in apartment waiting for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.8
    Old style apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pretty old apartment. The internet connection wasn't good especially in the evening. It would be good if accommodation like this will have cooking oil, salt etc. For guests who only stays for a short time, it's not very good because if you want to do some cooking, you need to buy the mentioned stuff and will only use a small amount!

    The room was clean and the staff were nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment just felt a little shabby and in need of redecorating (very 1970s). Kitchen was functional but you couldn't get more than one person in there at a time.

    Location is good - easy to get to from the station (Santa Maria Novella) either on foot or by tram. Staff were helpful with local knowledge and info. Room was good sized and the bathroom had recently been renovated and was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    We liked the Retro vibe around the hotel, from old-school...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the street is really a huge problem. Impossible to sleep.

    We liked the Retro vibe around the hotel, from old-school lift to light switches. The rooms were very spacious, well conditioned. TV was on when we first came to the room - kinda spooky as it was midnight. The kitchen was small, but well equipped, the only thing I would suggest to add is salt, pepper and some oil. The staff was friendly and helpful. Gave some tips on where to eat (where tourist do not go).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Three nights with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building. Clean but old. Wardrobes smell really strongly od mustiness. I would not want to put my clothes in there. Weak lights. I would consider staying here again because of the parking and price, but I would look for other options first.

    Very spacious. Great to have on site parking below ground behind a gate and not within the ZTL no-driving area while still easily accessible to old town Florence (by bus or walking). Kitchen in our unit had the basic equipment and there was a grocery store a few blocks away for buying food for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable appartment in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little more expensive than avarage but I guess it's a good price for a whole appartment.

    Very comfortable appartment, everything was there, good equipped kitchen, many toiletries, even a shoe sponge! Very good localisation to come with a car, just outside city centre, walking distance to all main attractions. Parking costs 10 euro per night but it's an oasis in the busy streets of Florence - big and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Old fashion decoration, but everything function well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding area was a bit run down. I would not feel comfortable walking down the street after dark. Accessing to parking lot was a bit tricky because I had to first get inside the lobby and get the key from receptionist. It would have been more convenient if they have the video camera at the parking lot door.

    Safe area for parking. Spacious room. Clean. Kitchen equipment function well. Old fashion decoration, but everything function appropriately.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facility seemed dated and needing an update. Based on previous reviews, we expected much better. Our room was warm and the AC struggled to cool things off. Things were functional but not much more.

    Just outside the center but reachable in foot if you like to walk. Good dining options in the area. There is a kitchen, although we did not use it. Staff was helpful in making arrangements for an early flight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Very good location close to train and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location close to train and bus station. Quiet, considering downtown Florence. The building had a groovey 60s decore and the apartment had a hide away kitchen and was north facing so no direct sun in the afternoon and evening. Was convenient for walking into the heart of Florence. I'd stay again. #41. The unit of choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    good location and comfortable appartement for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was traveling with my adult son: so we got an appartment with 2 single beds ans all the necessary accomodation for a comfortable stay. Also very good location: you don't need public transport to reach te center of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    We will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smoking that one could smell when exiting your apartment. Traffic noise

    The staff were amazing and extremely helpful and knowledgeable even in recommending a vegetarian restaurant. Apartment very spacious and fully equipped and overall quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Cheap and cheerful, has everything you need and perfect for a budget trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not many restaurants or supermarkets near by the accommodation and it is situated on a busy road so there is a lot of road noise during the night.

    It was tucked away from the main tourist area but within a 20 minute walk of the centre. There is plenty of public transport to use within easy reach. The staff are really helpful and accommodating, very friendly and always around to help order taxis for you or book excursions. Our room was extremely clean and you can have your room cleaned when you require.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.7
    Great place but they could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small old bed sloping into the middle that I had to share with my wife. Didn't have a good sleep for 3 days. Otherwise everything else was good.

    Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.0
    Skip this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They advertised the hotel with air conditioning but it didn't work even though it was pretty hot outside. The room was filled with mosquitos which made it hard to sleep through the night and exacerbated the problem with the heat. The wifi didn't work for about a brief period of 30-45 mins but was fixed promptly. Finally the shower pressure wasn't great and hot water took a while to come.

    These are basically service apartments and they have a very generous size. Though they have a ton of access keys etc. to be able to access the property from different sections.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    We had everthing we needed for an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The noise of the traffic sometimes made it hard to sleep.

    Enjoyed having more space than just a hotel room. The rooms had everything we needed. The balconies were good to watch the world go by. Close to bus and tram stops for getting into the city. There were 2 supermarkets close by with a good range of products.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residence Porta Al Prato traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: