Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residence San Giorgio 3 stars

Via Fiorentini 259, 75100 Matera, Italy

#6 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Matera is fantastic and the staff were very helpful . Ask for the free of the underground church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of fruity teabags were supplied but would have liked more plain black tea and some more instant coffee. There was plenty of coffee for italian style expresso though.

    The bed was comfy and bathroom modern and spacious with nice soft towels and shampoo, hairdryer etc. Good aircon. We stayed in Bifora room which had a cave cellar. Breakfast was local bread and biscuits and jams and cereal and milk. The room was in a handy position for walking around and quiet but the reception was lower down and a bit harder to get to with bags. We walked from the station which was too difficult with big cases. So got a taxi back on leaving whIch cost 10 EURO...MUCH BETTER.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Matera was brilliant and the hotel was ideal for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find your way into the old part of the town

    Very central in Sassi Barissano. Good little kitchen & very good supplies for breakfast. Nice little terrace to sit on & right above a huge cave with water cisterns etc. Amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.5
    worth seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very humid atmosphere in cave rooms higher up are probably better. Lots of steps to reach town centre - slippery in bad weather. Not the hotels fault but no good if you aren't too mobile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    A must see destination in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room , we had the suite with kitchenette facilities, generous breakfast items. Perfect location to experience Matera, but take note, do not take more than a small overnight bag because it’s all cobblestone stairs to get to Reception and then your room. Parking is not included but we found free parking on Via Piave approx 2 streets away. You must walk down Via D’Addozio to get to reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in a cave in the sassi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not working due to someone renaming the network.

    Staying in a cave was a great experience. The suite was quite large including a wine cellar. The location was perfect - right in the heart of the sassi. Our host gave us great advice on finding free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable & would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tricky to get hot water at more than a dribble out of kitchen/bathroom taps.

    Location perfect.Many good restaurants within few minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Luxury cave at a great price but I missed the daylight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was slightly concerned regarding security as we were in a quiet back alley far away from the hotel reception and the door had a glass panel and could be opened without a key from inside. However it seems that most rooms in Matera are like this.

    Beautiful cave room with luxurious bathroom, massive shower, small kitchen area and breakfast provisions in the room. Really warm and not damp (had a dehumidifier)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Truly wonderful holiday experience at the San Giorgio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect.

    Superb service - Gianluca was an excellent manager. It was exemplary. I cannot praise him enough - he made our stay a truly memorable one. The room, the location & the facilities were wonderful & I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel again & again. I will certainly be returning .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay in Matera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in Matera is difficult, but we knew that. Pack lightly! It would be nice to have some help with the luggage, if necessary. Bennie helped us at the beginning - he was lovely.

    The cave apartment was wonderful. Clean and comfortable. We had a nice meal at Cantina Della Bruna, right around the corner from the apartment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful, magical town! Great apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location; clean, comfortable room; well stocked items for breakfast and refilled daily. Best was couple who run it! Helpful, great recommendations, more than helpful when we called with a car issue after checkout. Follow up emails to make sure we had arrived at next destination. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    OLD FOOD FOR BREAKFAST......STOVE REAKED OF GAS SO I DIDN'T COOK.....I HADN'T PLANNED ON COOKING !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was offered to sleep on the couch because of my mobility. I told them that I couldn't go up the many steps because I just had 3 surgical procedures under anesthesia this year...they gave me 2 choices, all with many steps & had a hard time there. WISH WE HADN'T STAYED THERE......HONESTLY !! GREAT FOR SOMEONE ELSE ! TRIED TO CLOSE CURTAINS & THEY FELL ON MY FACE, HONESTLY !!! We were told that we had to go up Many/many steps in order to reach the top to the plaza, & that there was nothing else around. It was BRUTAL & PAINFUL !....Later that evening for dinner, we went the opposite way, & encounter a beautiful area within walking distance, less than 4 min. (They chose not to mention this area which was better for my walking mobility) Why I don't know. Bathrooms You could barely walk through. Next day, closing attendance was rude when I tried to tell her about the smell of GAS from the stove, & pretended that I was stupid.....(I SPEAK ITALIAN, I'M NOT STUPID ).We asked for a room NOT with a kitchen....REFRIGERATOR HAD FOOD, SO THOUGHT THAT I WOULD FIX BREAKFAST,BUT GAS FROM THE STOVE WAS DEADLY !!! WAY OVER PRICED.....NOT A DO OVER !!

    I LIKED THE STORE ACROSS FOM THEM. I BOUGHT 2 BEAUTIFUL MADONNAS....NOTHING FROM THE HOTEL. !! Iextremely over priced !!!! NOT A DO OVER FOR US !! BREAKFAST WAS GIVEN TO US THE DAY BEFORE OF A PACKAGE OF HARD COOKIES & A PACKAGE OF HARD BREAD WITH NUTELLA....FRUITS THAT WERE THERE FOR SEVERAL DAYS & OVER RIPED. I DIDN'T LIKE ANYTHING OF THIS EXPERIENCE.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We were helped at every stage of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were helped at every stage of our stay. Super friendly and helpful staff helped up to park, carried our luggage for us, showed us the caves under their property and gave s directions and recommendations. FAcilities in cave room brilliant and food supplies good too. They even provided fresh eggs for breakfast as well as me ok and other drinks etc in the fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    A unique experience for the adventurous in Sasso Barisano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking and the baggage are issues that are inevitable when you consider the physical constraints of the location. It's worth it though.

    The location is the key - right in Sasso Barisano. The hotel rooms are remote from the reception as buildings are small in the Sassi. Parking is not permitted except for pick up and drop off. It's worth the inconvenience of carting bags up steps for the unique experience of staying in the Sassi as long as you are reasonably fit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    We had a great time in Mateara the location of the hotel was in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that it stated parking is inlcude it was not we had to pay 20 Euro to have someone move our car and park it somewhere else to try our luck at parking out of the old city.

    I really like the location you were very close to everything. The hotel staff was very nice and assist with us on parking. Even though it states parking is including it is not. The bed was the very comfortable and the towels were very soft and was sufficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Amazing !!!'😘🍷🇮🇹👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing!! 10/10

    The atmosphere, the staff very friendly and helpful!! Simply a beautiful place and a wonderful place to spend time!!amazing and would come back again and recommend it to friends!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    positively surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Get used to it, this is no parking area!

    Amazing! The room is in fact a little apartment escavated in the stone (we got Granaio). Extra rooms include a storage for wine, an original stair to a little nowhere, an entrance and a kitchen. Just so cool! Breakfast was self made on a little terrace. They provided original Italian coffee (in a mocca), yogurt, bread, butter, jam, and many many fresh fruits. The whole is built on top of a private old escavated church and water storing complex accessible by the guests only. Just in the middle of sassi! Best place I stayed since ages (I never give 10/10)!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Everyone should go to Matera at least once and Hotel San Giorgio offers a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was not very good. Old bread and some packaged toast.

    The room we stayed in (like 100m from the check in) was located in Sasso Barisano. There is really no bad location when you are staying in the sassi but our room was pretty close to main square and the cathedral. The sassi are probably the most particular places I have visited. I would advise people to pack lightly, since it can be hard to carry heavy suitcases while getting to the hotel; or take a taxi. The apartment we stayed in was unbelievable. It is carved into the soft stones of Matera and has a wine cellar built in it, which doesn't have any real purpose in a hotel but was very cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Matera a magic place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What not to like in Matera,

    The staff were so nice and helpful Alexandra took me in her car to the train station when leaving she is why we like very much Italian people in Ireland. Also the facilities were great,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful and peaceful place to stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was perfect

    Beautiful appartment in Matera, secluded position is Sassi but very close to the main sights. Staff were very welcoming and helpful (Bruna at check in). Would go back and stay longer! We stayed in the appt called 'dimora del vicinato'

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    A Cave Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything I didn't like. Guess it would have been nice to have an English TV station but that is certainly not a negative.

    This is a very unique place to stay. You are in a modern "cave". It was very nice. You do have a walk to get there from reception. You cannot drive to the room. The room was clean, nice bathroom and a small kitchen. The staff bring you everything you need for breakfast the day before, fruit, juice, cereal, bread, yogurt, milk, coffee. Had nice outside patio with table and chairs. The staff are excellent, extremely helpful. We enjoyed are stay thoroughly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the old Matera. Our suite was really comfortable, the breakfast superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Living in the Sassi for two days was exceptional! 360 degrees historical place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially i was dissapointed that there was no city view of the sassi but all the rest made up for this 😜

    we were lucky to have had the graffiti suite which was located exactly on top of the underground church of san giorgio! And were also given a free tour of the church! A unique opportunity!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.1
    OK'ish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appartment had ants. Appartment is not at the same building as reception.

    Good location and wifi. Staff is friendly and helped us to find free parking. Also gave us a ride to our car with luggage.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    The city amazing accommodation amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was catered for, no complaints at all.

    The city amazing accommodation amazing. Didnt know this existed until we started to travel through southern Italy an absokute gem to find. Hotel something unique so clean comfortable and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    We loved staying in the cave apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing significant. Since we made our own coffee, we missed having cappuccino. We could have walked to a cafe though.

    We loved staying in the cave apartments. They were in a great location, clean, and cozy. The staff was amazing. They even google imaged our path to the airport shuttle, so we didn't get on the wrong bus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    The atmosphere was fantastic and location ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited food was provided for breakfast which we prepared ourselves. There wasn't much to eat and the bread was so hard it was practically inedible.

    The atmosphere was fantastic and location ideal. the receptionist in the hotel was most helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    great experience of staying in a historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    spacious apartment with tasteful furniture in an exceptional historic building with caves underneath - from our kitchen window we could look into the cave; very friendly and helpful owners; everything needed for breakfast, including fresh fruit, was provided in the apartment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in a unique cave apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location. We and our teenage children occupied two rooms. The rooms, converted from cave houses, were mini apartments with kitchenette, bed platform and bathroom and had lovely quirky historic features and their own balcony. One room had a window looking down into the fascinating cave complex below. The staff were very helpful, giving directions from the station and booking a taxi at the end of our stay. The rooms were clean and ingredients for breakfast were provided and topped up every day. A unique place to stay and highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Perfect 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can only highly recommend to spend your vacation here. The staff was extremely kind and helpful, the room was wonderful, very clean and with everything you would need, breakfast in the room was an extra plus, the location could not be better. Thank you for making our trip to Matera even more fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The experience of staying in a cave and the great walk in shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Perfectly lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space in the middle of Matera. Very nice people to deal with.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place to stay! Our room was huge, duplex style with great facilities. Staff is very friendly. I would love to have stayed longer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Well placed for exploring the Sassi district
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The adjoining caves were fascinating and the proprietor spoke good English

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Great place and location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Location and ambiance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    All of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Cannot wait to return!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    Wonderful staff! Magical location! Extremely nice rooms!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Beautiful room. Not really a hotel though as rooms located in different places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like having to make my own breakfast.

    Very big room. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ladies who are taking care of this hotel are super helpful, lovely central hotel in the old city, we loved it ! Matera is just amazing !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Luxury in the caves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of a walk to the room.

    The in room breakfast was fantastic. Large bathroom with whirlpool tub and large waterfall shower. Staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Good stay. Would check the price for other properties to compare. There are so many around. If the p
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little too many steps to get to room from office

    Nice staff, friendly, helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful apartment right in the "Sassi" of Matera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is only possible outside of the Sassi area.

    Wonderful apartment right in the "Sassi" of Matera.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time to this hotel and for sure not the last time. Great location in the old city, very quiet. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    First Class Apartments, Location and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, apartments and staff were all amazing 10/10. The service we received was exceptional and nothing was ever a trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle to boil water for tea would have been welcome.

    Fantastic room in a cave - loved it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Well Done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good. Great job!

    Special experience staying within an architectural gem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Caved dwelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi,p parking service was unreliable

    The location, and layout of the suite

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Along carry of the luggage. Prepare your wife for minimal weight of the luggage.

    Great welcome. Good advices for tours and food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful spacious rooms in renovated "cave houses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit of a walk up some stairs for my 80-year-old mother, so it's not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. I also had to drive a ways out of town to park and then walk back in (though you could get a little taxi to shuttle you back and forth if needed).

    Beautiful spacious rooms in renovated "cave houses," with kitchenette, and breakfast already laid out individually in the rooms. They even provided for special requests (like soy milk). Nice giant jacuzzi tub as well.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    8.8
    The uniqueness of the accommodation was great, we also liked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Replenishment of the toiletries and some of the breakfast ingredients but this was quickly addressed with lots of apologies from the management. Also it would be good to be able to contact reception from the room to save an international phone call as it is some distance to walk. An intercom perhaps?

    The uniqueness of the accommodation was great, we also liked the breakfast kit and cooking facilities. We even made ourselves a nice meal and ate it on the patio area in front of the room.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    Quite a unique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a rental car and we had to park a distance away, as there is no overnight parking in the historic area. But we worked around it. The staff at the hotel guided us to where we could leave the car.

    Quite a unique hotel. Located in a "cave" dwelling. Very spacious, comfortable. We all really enjoyed it. Be aware that there are many hills, stone stairs and cobblestone streets in this area. Good way to work off the delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.6
    The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a little bit of a hike uphill from the front desk to the unit. The free parking is simply street parking

    The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful. We wanted to stay longer but there was no vacancy.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    An absolutely beautiful experience all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    An absolutely beautiful experience all around. Our "apartment-4 rooms" was in one of the oldest structures in the world. Now renovated to strict code, the old- world sense prevails. The hotel staff and owner, who is present, are one of the most hospitable and helpful we have encountered. And the kitchen was chick full from biscotti to ziti! 100 stars!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Apart from the mattress which caved into the middle, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apart from the mattress which caved into the middle, the place is amazing located right in the middle of the incredible sassi of Matera. Staff was very helpful and the facilities very modern.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    The room was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast lacked the care and attention to detail of the room. Why not order some fresh bread in when the room is so nice and you are paying 150 Euros?

    The room was superb. Some people have complained if the damp but its a cave what do you expect? The location at the heart of the Sassi,

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.2
    Was it an upgrade or do all the rooms have the space of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting you suitcase 200m over stairs and bumpy paths is a bit of a challenge. And breakfast lacked fresh bread.

    Was it an upgrade or do all the rooms have the space of a suite? Anyway plenty of space (3 rooms), nice kitchen, outdoor terrace.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    The room was excellent - a lovely cave, with it's own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carrying the luggage up to the room and back down again. Although, we did have the help of one of the staff.

    The room was excellent - a lovely cave, with it's own wine cellar. Unfortunately, no wine.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.5
    Great location in the centre of Sassi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficulty bringing luggage to our rooms. Difficult walk carry luggage through rocky road and stone steps. We drove to Matera so parking was limited nearby and next parking area was a fair walk.

    Great location in the centre of Sassi. Room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    The San Giorgio is a remarkable place run by awesome people!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The San Giorgio is a remarkable place run by awesome people! Our cave room was more comfortable than many fancy houses we've stayed in, with the bonus of being steeped in history. The room was immaculate and quiet. We loved having comfort and privacy while at the same time being in such a rugged, dramatic place. The staff were incredibly helpful. Do not miss the chance to have Alessandra give you a tour of the Sassi and the cave churches. She is so knowledgeable and so smart and fun, too. We had a truly magical stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Location was excellent for the Sassi ( cave houses) and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a problem near the accommodation but it was free further away and we were helped with our luggage up the many steps in Matera.

    Location was excellent for the Sassi ( cave houses) and the facilities of the modern city just a few steps further up the hillside.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.3
    Staff friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Had to lug my luggage about 100 meters uphill Breakfast selection was not to my liking No tissues at all in the room

    Staff friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations and everything Room was quiet and spacious Great spa-type shower

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    The staff (Manager) was very welcoming and her English was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff (Manager) was very welcoming and her English was excellent too. The room was amazing with a very comfortable bed. The room was spotlessly clean and had a beautiful power shower. We were very centrally located and there are lots of bars and restaurants located within 5 minutes walk. We would highly recommend this hotel and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    We have stayed here before and requested the same room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, we will return

    We have stayed here before and requested the same room and the staff were very accommodating. The standard of room is excellent, and everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided, especially the jacuzzi bath.The weather wasn't particularly good when we were there but the room was very warm which was very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    The room (or shall I call it an apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Given how spacious the room is, an extra bathroom would add a lot more to the comfort in this property. For a family of 4, just one bathroom was a little limiting at times when you're rushing to head out for the day.

    The room (or shall I call it an apartment!) was much more spacious than we had anticipated which was a huge bonus for our two young kids. The character of the room, the cleanliness, the staff, everything was perfect. In fact, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My husband and I even managed two romantic dinners on our own as the hotel owner found us a brilliant babysitter! Can't recommend it enough.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.1
    Spacious apartment, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was a bit cold and less helpful than hoped for - did not offer to help us make a restaurant reservation (we don't speak Italian) even though we had made clear we would need one... Also did not help with carrying bags uphill to the apartment. Not the end of the world but not the standard of service we would expect for such a highly rated hotel

    Spacious apartment, comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    10
    Matera is absolutely magical and this property made our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike at this property.

    Matera is absolutely magical and this property made our stay in the Sassi even more enchanting! Our rock dwelling room was decorated so beautifully. It was spacious, clean, and the cellar in the room was fantastic. I have travelled all over the world and there is nothing that compares to this property in that location! Brunella was superb with check in and all the suggestions she gave us were spot on. Arturo's for the best sandwich and Da Francesca for a most memorable and delicious dinner with typical food of Matera.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    10
    Room, area around, breakfast (butter was not included)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mattress was not good

    Room, area around, breakfast (butter was not included)

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    it is a great location in matera the apartment was huge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it is a great location in matera the apartment was huge and better then photos can describe the hotel owner generous kind and professional.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    The setting was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Internet connection was very weak.

    The setting was great!!!

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Amazing character cave room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing character cave room. Excellent location. Good facilities, excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Shower , cave room , kitchen , patio , food in room , staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking , Rooms a bit far from checkin area , rooms a bit damp .

    Shower , cave room , kitchen , patio , food in room , staff helpful .

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    We loved everything about it, the location, the room, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about it, the location, the room, the furnishings, the breakfast on the terrace. perfect.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely large well appointed cave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely large well appointed cave!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    The shower was not as efficient as one would like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was not as efficient as one would like.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    The apartment was really well finished and the hotel had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The apartment was really well finished and the hotel had paid attention to things a guest will like

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: