Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence San Marco

Via Cesare Battisti, 18, 34100 Trieste, Italy

#36 of 121 Holiday rentals in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 403 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Big apartment well equipped. Great staff - since I was without laptop, a girl from reception helped me to receive and to prepare one important document in Excel for my job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very uncomfortable bed, two twins placed together, you could feel the springs. No toaster or kettle in the kitchen. Could use a refit and renovation. Were given a different room to the one we saw on Booking.com.

    Large spacious apartment, close to supermarket and public transport. Very helpful and friendly staff on reception. Well equipped kitchen. Well heated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows rock hard so didn’t use them No user instructions tv, washing machine, heating unit so much guesswork Not enough bedding- howabout simple duvet no bed cover or blankets? Hot water for shower ran out after two fairly short showers Would be good to have more than two mugs , some wine glasses and a coffee maker larger than one shot ( we were three)

    Location perfect Facilities very good Beds v comfortable Lovely staff Apartment fresh and clean In a typical grand Trieste building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio senza genius
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fully equipped apartment in the city of Trieste. We were quite pleased with the location. Very clean. Reception desk is in another part of the building, but there are signs posted so it was easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio senza genius
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water in shower didn't last long.

    Apartment was clean, spacious & in a great location with a wonderful cafe downstairs. Staff were friendly & helpful. After a full day of enjoying Trieste it was great returning to the apartment to relax & recharge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio senza genius
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The only thing is that we didnt know that one switch was for the water heater and we left it off. So maybe it would be great to leave a note for dummies like us ;)

    The apartment was really nice, big, clean and comfortable. Super sunny and in the same center. The person in charge was super nice and helped a lot. We arrived very late in the night and she managed to give us the key anyway. Also, there was another bigger apartment that happened to be empty and she relocated us to that one for the same money. I slept on the sofa - bed, which was easy to open and close, and my friend slept in the bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handle on bathroom door fell off. Tv did not work n electricity socket fell out of wall!

    Beautiful property close to town Loved the apartment building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, 150 m away for discounted parking garage offered by the property. A lots of restaurants, pizzerias and gelaterias is in next street. Apartment is spacious and convenient for families and had very nice small balcony. Building has an elevator.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was a bit worn out. Still I had a great sleep.

    Everything is really close. Walking distance to anything you might want to see in Trieste.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a bit noisy because our apartment had windows to a very busy street. Other apartments should be fine. Was my second stay there. first time was quiet because the apartment overlooked the courtyard. Parking is also not easy to find since it's the middle of downtown. The apartment offers a great, discounted parking deal to a nearby underground parking garage. take it.

    Friendly staff, huge, spacious apartment, nice kitchen, great location, 10 mins walk from the sea, shopping area, great seafood market, good parking deal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The was very dirty, as were the curtains and the sponge in the kitchen. The apartment overlooked the main road and we could hear the traffic all day long despite being on the fourth floor. It was cold inside (October) and we were only given one thin blanket. Staff were unfriendly and there was rarely someone on reception (they did answer the phone but were rude). There was a washing machine but no washing powder and no option to buy small amounts. Kitchen has very little equipment (no kettle).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told us there was a parking for the car - and when we arrived the parking was not available. The closest parking was piblic garage 1 km away. Extremly noisy, dirty place, unconfortable beds.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was absolutely a nightmare checking in. Please read!!!! When you get to the building, you ring the bell on the right side of door marked "residence". Somehow that should magically open the door. There was no one at the desk located on the 4th floor (which requires you to go up a flight of stairs before you can actually use the elevator). The phone number that they state to call was going to voicemail for an hour. The bar downstairs (which has no affiliation) was absolutely wonderful in helping me get the staff members to tell us which was our apartment and where the key was left. It was absolutely scary when you arrive late, at night with an infant in a foreign country (even though I speak fluent Italian) with no place to sleep. The office is staffed "930-1400", but was not reliable. They would leave early. Parking is an absolute nightmare. There is a garage nearby, but is tight and costs 15 Euro for the night and are screwed if you get there Sat night, they are closed on Sundays. Although, they mentioned you can call someone to open up for you (I would not bank on that). If you are lucky you can score a free spot directly in front of the property. Leave the car there until you are ready to leave.

    It was a very large apartment with all the needs of a family with a baby. We had a laundry machine, no dryer, but we used the fan to dry them on the clothes hanger. The cleaning lady was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    super friendly staff, the appartement has everything you need. dishwasher (in case you cook by yourself) oven and fridge. it's very local and not too far away from the city and beach. only thing missing is a parking lot, they offer a garage but you have to pay €16 over night - which is not cheap. but everything else was perfect. A+

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior design is ok, but not stunning, more modern-practical style.

    The residence is very close to all the interesting spots down-town and situated in an old, beautiful building. The rooms have everything that you need, incl. a kitchen. Personnel at the reception very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning in the room...it was almost impossible to sleep in july in 32 degrees...warmer than outside during night!! But good location...around 1 km from the main area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner has been really friendly and gave me a lot of Useful Information about Trieste. The room was excellent, There has been all The Stuff you Need for a good accomodiation, Nice Kitchen, Nice view from The Balkony - I just Prefer this Apartment for The Next Trip to Triest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and very friendly manager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio senza genius
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very nice, the apartment was clean and we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is on a busy road, which can be loud with open windows.

    Nice comfortable apartment in a nice part of town close to all sightseeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio senza genius
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The unit was superb. The staff very helpful. The location above a lovely cafe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything we may need - perfect location, huge space with comfy beds, clean, privacy...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Location was perfect. Self contained facilities was ideal. Thoroughly enjoyed our whole experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trafic noise from the living room

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could not do enough for us and the building had a mysterious old world charm with a great caffe nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although well equipped there was no corkscrew! We had to go out and buy one.

    Great location and a very spacious apartment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No -

    Perfect!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 13 nights

    no complaint

    convenient contemporary apartment in an elegant classic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception works just from 9. a.m.

    Good position, clean!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the modern look. The location and design of the apartment. Location was great because on the next street is food street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio senza genius
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. I am satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and centrally located to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shower doors need repair, but not a big issue

    Great alternative to a hotel. Easy to reach, apartment comfortable with all standard facilities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    everything was great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, on fourth floor directly over the best historic cafe in Trieste.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircondition in the bedroom and the sofa bed is really really uncomfortable

    In the heart of the city, big and clean, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect but air-condition in our room No. 8 was so noisy that 1st night we could not sleep.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fans instead of airco.

    Host Alessio was the best.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con

    Classic designs with high ceilings in a beautiful building

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio con Genius
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place in the centre and great value for the money. I would say our most favorite place from this year`s trip to Italy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The art work. Nothing that matters much when you want a clean, convenient place to stay!

    Very conveniently located, friendly. The place was relatively simple, but all we needed. We did not rate the kitchen because we did not use it. We only stayed on night.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one to talk with, an apt in a building. We started with only one towel though did get second on request. One of lamps by bed didn't work

    It was a large room and clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Group

    Kitchen is not the best ... there is not enough glass for coffee and wine ..and it would be nice to have more towels per person during the stay

    good wifi

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The apartments are situated in a beautiful neighborhood, not far from the sea. The historical cafe San Marco which is in the same building as the apartments, is one of the best places to have breakfast in Trieste and to sit with the local artistic and intellectual crowd.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    kitchenware was not properly cleaned and some stuff like microwawe or waterboiler for coffee or tea was missing

    nice apartment - excellent location - nice building

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful apartment, good location, plenty of space, friendly and understanding management - we arrived late so they left us a parking spot right in front of the building door. Will be back.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The air conditioner was not vented to the outside, so it did not cool things off.

    Clean, modern apartment in gorgeous old building. Nice neighborhood with cafes and shops, grocery stores, and many gelato places.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basically the units are looking a bit tired now and required maintenance. e.g. the shower was difficult to get in and out off, curtain rods falling off Very minimal cooking facilities e.g. no toaster, no bread knife very few pots and pans.

    the location and size of the unit

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I did not experience negativity

    Very good location. All within easy reach on foot. Wi-Fi is good and fast. Parking a little difficult, but easy to do. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Thanks for. Giovanna is a very good and helpful, honest girl. Thank you very much everything to her. I recommend to everyone. If I go back in Trieste, I will return

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! - Nice staff; we wrote beforehand that we would love a place with balcony, which they gave to us. Plus, they helped us get free parking. - Perfect apartment: Nice, cosy, beautiful balcony, great view! Kitchen has all the appliances you need for 2-4 people (including coffee maker). No food in it, but there's a store just around the corner. - Great location (nice short walk to the old town)

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air condition and pretty expensive to pay 10 euro a day for air condition! When we booked the apartment it said that it would be cleaned daily and they didn't. But the staff were very friendly and cleaned after we told them about this misunderstanding.

    Very good location and not far from shops, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very large, comfortable, modern and clean apartment with good facilities. Nice location, not too far from city center and central train/bus station. The staff were great, they were really helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Windows into courtyard, not too much light and nothing interesting to see, but very quiet.

    Next door to the wonderful and famous San Marco cafe. Nice classy building. Apartment has everything I could think of. Foods, fruit are sold next block on the same street. Near pedestrian zone (XX Sept) with all sorts of icecream and sweets. Very nice location. Easy 15-20 min walk to railway/bus station. Even closer to the sea. Everybody very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water ok but could be hotter! Kitchen could have more utensils. Wifi: continually had to log in again.

    Location, helpful staff, Caffe San Marco just downstairs!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that I had to leave so quickly

    Price-quality wise: this is a steal! Alessio really guided us well and the room was amazing. Everything I needed, lot's of space and stable and fast internet. If you ever need to be in Trieste for some reason, this is the place to stay

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Family with young children

    Parking is a few minutes away, but indoor and ok

    Great spacious location, ideal for a family. Good value!

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good city centre location sited above a fabulous cafe/bookshop

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    great location and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well located for the centre of Trieste. On the ground floor is Cafe San Marco, one of the best cafés I've ever been in.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water runs out quickly ,even when taking very short showe

    Wonderful staff,clean hotel,you have everything you need,great location

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Not enough kitchen utensils

    Good location, good WiFi

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    perfect place to stay

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning.

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - very basic - old mattrasse

    - good location (except for the noise from the street)

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    First set of stairs

    Massive apartment

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value for the money, good location near Cafe San Marco.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great facilities, close to City center, nice bars around, clean rooms...

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Need to navigate a flight of stairs to get to lift.

    Very comfortable apartment with good facilities. Public parking in garage two blocks away.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not enough dishes and spoons in kitchen No microwave pots.

    Lots of room

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Street noise at night due to poor phonic isolation. Bed mattress was really hard.

    Well situated and in a nice building. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Colour scheme bit bland and Apartment needed a bit of brightening up but that's personal taste

    Facilities

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to say ...

    Everything perfect...

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residence San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: