Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residence Villa Cibele 4 stars

Via Marletta 17/A, 95123 Catania, Italy

#20 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 235 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    It is a sweet hotel - the parking, courtyard with the smell...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a bit awkward, but after we learned it we were O.K.

    It is a sweet hotel - the parking, courtyard with the smell of Jasmin, the friendly staff, good breakfast (except for the eggs who were always too salty...), the peace and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    nice, friendly hotel close to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi reception in the rooms was very poor. Location is too far away to walk to restaurants and shops.

    Nice pleasant and helpful staff, good closed parking on the premises, tidy and clean rooms. Good simple breakfast. Quiet rooms. just a 15 minute drive from the airport!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative is that the bed cover could use more frequent washing.

    The hotel was in the non-tourist area, which we liked, because we were able to feel the real pulse of Catania. It is 35 minutes walk to downtown, but we had a car, and it was not an issue. I read comments of other fellow passengers how the area was unsafe and the hotel was lacking in every aspect, but this is so far from the truth. We walked around the neighborhood at night to buy pastries and water, and even took a bus from downtown to the hotel, and felt perfectly safe. It is not posh, but rather hard working class neighborhood, but we loved it. The room was spacious, with huge balcony and windows (first floor room). The girl at the reception extremely helpful and kind. Breakfast was great, even had fresh tart every morning to go with the coffee. Trust me, we were at 5 star hotels in other cities in Sicily and some of them had poorer breakfast that Cibele, so I do not understand how people can say that it was inadequate. The bathroom was clean, though the shower could use a face-lift. However, it was much better than expected and great value for money. The parking was private and closed with walls, so that was also a plus regarding safety. All in all, really recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options

    Value for money but 45 minute walk to piazza dummo main centre so not for old or with children but taxis are available for 10 to 15 euros b

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Good night's stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get the air con temperature lower which resulted in a disrupted nights sleep. We went to breakfast 30 minutes before the end of breakfast and there wasn't a lot of food left - should have been replenished.

    Welcoming staff. Clean and comfortable modern room with good toiletries. We had a balcony which was nice to relax on & were able to park on the hotel site which was helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Staff really tries to be helpful and friendly, they do their...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is old and in the middle of nowhere. But for this money it's a decent opportunity to sleep one night and drive away. Ok for car travelers

    Staff really tries to be helpful and friendly, they do their best Wifi was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant and relaxing with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far out for me but this was booking.com's fault with not the correct information.

    The staff were really helpful and interested in giving you all the information you asked for. Lillianna was especially helpful giving me written information in Italian to give to the bus driver to make sure I got off at the correct stop (which I did). Lovely cheery girl at breakfast who was also helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and the Hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    Staff great - hotel awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How can it be rated at 4 stars?!!!! Despite wbat website says, it is NOT close to city centre. Min 20min walk through rough streets or 20 euro taxi ride. Bed extremely uncomfortable - rock hard mattress with stains. Described with microwave (missing in our room) and cookkng facilities. Mini stove filthy and no plates, knives, forks etc. Shower very small with poor water pressure and temperature changing from hot to cold during shower. Last day we were there - no hot water at all. Breakfast mediocre and had to ask for bowls one morning.

    Helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi worked but at times lost connection. I had to click on it every so often. I suggest to look into it. However no major issues experienced and I highly reccomend the place.

    The hotel is perfect for the price and central positioning. The staff at the hotel have been very supportive and welcoming. During this weekend there were water works in the area and the hotel was experiencing troubles with the water system however this was not their problem and the staff have been very available to our every needs. Parking was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.6
    Looks beautiful, but the service is not at all. Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so small (standard double with a third bed) that the pass was only possible on the beds. The window was small and access was impossible. Air conditioning though, and lowered the temperature, but just drove the air is stuffy during the night was terrible. There was a kitchen in the room, but it was impossible to use it (wasn't working, according to staff). There wasn't any dishes at all- not EVEN ONE GLASS OR PLATE! Breakfast - barely three stars, no choice. Generally, if your room not on the ground floor with terrace - will not recommend to anyone this hotel in Catania is full of hotels better and cheaper. Yes, and this is so far from the center, what to choose it is not necessary.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Here for the Giro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard and needs a mattress cover.

    The staff went out of their way to help with any and all of my questions, even the GPS from AVIS that didn't know where any of the major attractions were! It is very quiet and peaceful part of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff and very clean.Safe private parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Great staff and good food
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms to small

    Clean and fresh

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and staff is excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean , good location if you are travelling with a car, good breakfast and well sized shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Hotel have perfect location for who wants to go to Catania...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel have perfect location for who wants to go to Catania avoiding the traffic caos of Catania with secure parking area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    It was a pleasent stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice and polite personnel! Many thanks!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.6
    Would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful location

    Secure parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they recommended a car hire company that was exceptionally poor . They should remove this company marketing material.

    comfortable with nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Great breakfast, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small, a bit expensive

    Very clean. Comfortable bed, great breakfast. Big shower, free parking, breakfast staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and receptionist.
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and receptionist. Very clean room and value for the money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay for a night when visiting Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some cleanliness and bath equipment issues.

    Nice living room, very good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice,hotel has free parking,wifi,rooms are clean and we liked it very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff :) Parking included

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    The staff was verry kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    The staff was verry kind I liked the breakfast The residence was very quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff was very gentle and polite
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very gentle and polite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Location is hard to access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is hard to access. Parking is too small.

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Hotel Residence Villa Cibele traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: