Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence La Rotonda Sul Mare 3 stars

Via Aiemita 29, Forio di Ischia, 80070 Ischia, Italy

#13 of 93 Holiday rentals in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The hotel's own beach, free transfer to/from port,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel's own beach, free transfer to/from port, view from the window, lots of gear to borrow for free made us feel that we are at home. Amerigo was very friendly and did all to please us. We were unlucky that the air conditioning broke during our stay, but it was fixed the next day, which was better than we expected since it was a middle of the season. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Absolute paradise with perfect warmth and hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Colella family defines hospitality. Every need is met with genuine sincerity and care. This is where you want to stay. Right on the water, amazing sunsets, kayaks, great food and drinks, great atmosphere...just everything you could want!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay, and would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A great little resort, with a beautiful sun deck. Good location, near great restaurants and beaches. Staff all lovely and went out of way to make us feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    I cannot wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That I was only there for four days.

    The whole package was amazing. From the time we arrived, we found our host to go out of his way. The staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble, We were taken to his family run restaurant, which was the cherry on the top. I give this hotel a score of 100%. Loved every minute and cannot wait to go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to unwind and be well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower head in the room we had needs replacing but it worked and wasn't worth making a fuss about. Nothing spoilt our stay at all.

    Lovely, friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble (and yes, lifts are offered without hesitation). Felt perfectly safe taking a kayak out and exploring the bay. The whole place was clean and smelt fresh. We walked into town every evening - took about 10 to 15 minutes, depended how often we stopped to look at things. We found bars and restaurants closer to La Rotonda were slightly cheaper but just as good as the ones in town. Good little snack bar on site and we also bought our own wine (fridge in the room) - it really is like other reviewers have said. Fantastic little place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable relaxed atmosphere as set by Amerigo and his family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are a little dated but look past that and enjoy La Rotanda Sul Mare.

    Amerigo , the owner, could not do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Always available with advise and even drove us to and from the family restaurant La Casereccia abt 15 minutes away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Ischian Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic family vacation. All aspects of the facilities were above expectations and we would thoroughly recommend to all travellers but particularly families who can make use of the free pedelos, kayaks, snorkelling and all manor of water based activities. Amerigo the owner and his family are excellent hosts making everything even more enjoyable and pleasurable AA++ will be returning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Great family location run by a warm and friendly familie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On arrival on a crazy busy sunday, our room was booked so that was disappointing. The owner gave us another room and a discount which was the best option at that moment. Having our reserved room would have been better though...:)

    On arrival our room was double booked and there was only a much smaller room available. The owner took his responsibility and gave us extra perks the following days that we stayed with him. We rented a car on arrival by boat and we recommend everyone to do so as the streets are okay to drive and the distances between touristic spots are fairly large. Ischia is a beautiful island and staying in Forio was an excellent choice as we went everywhere on the island within half an hour and the terrace or beach in front of the Residence was one of the nicer places we saw with great service. After 21 hours it is very calm and quiet. We recommend 'La rotunda sul mar' for a stay especially for families. Amerigo ( the owner) speaks good english.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    It is a family run business and Amerigo and his family were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only tiny thing was that the double bed was made out of two single beds.. and the only bad thing was that I wish I had more time to spend there!

    It is a family run business and Amerigo and his family were absolutely amazing. From the start till the end they really went extra miles. Amerigo came and pick us up from the harbour (even if it is really 5 min walking distance from the residence). he drove us to the restaurant and negombo (SPA). They recommend us lots of nice places and nice beaches and told us the best ways to get there. The residence is very well located: 5 min from Forio and from plenty of beautiful beaches. The sea in front of the residence is clystar clear and as a guest you can use all the facilities for free (pedalò, canoa, paddling board, scuba diving equipment). I couldn't hope for anything better in our stay and I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay with fantastic sea front location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air Con didn't work, but wasn't really needed - Amerigo was happy to get the repair done if we wanted. No kettle or toaster, but could manage with the stove and grill.

    Location on the sea front is excellent, with a platform over the sea with direct safe bathing possible. The upper sun terrace is lovely with views across the sea and to the port in the distance. Amerigo was so helpful, taking us to the port when we left. He reduced the cost for us voluntarily as we needed to leave a day early. Loads of restaurants within walking distance and all with beautiful sunsets. Worth trying Amerigo's mother's restaurant. The night we went it was extremely busy as it was a feast day, so waited a long time for our food. You are taken to and from the restaurant - through narrow streets, a white knuckle ride free of charge!! We will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did have a room by the road, and although the road wasn't very busy (it's a dead end), there were times when people were just riding up and down on scooters. But this was just every now and again, and we were on holiday, so could lie in anyway!

    There were supermarkets, beaches, and restaurants (which turned out to be better than the ones on off in the centre of Forio) all extremely close by. Every morning, I nipped to the snack bar on site to buy a cappucino and tea, and took it back to the room to drink on our terrace. The sunsets that can be viewed from the communal roof terrace are breathtaking. It was just a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere with everything you might need near by. Amerigo and all the people working there were extremely nice, and we even got a lift to the ferry when we left. I felt incredibly safe in the hotel, and in Ischia in general! Will definitely return!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Welcome to paradise!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the rooms have a good view and they could use a little renovation but the location and the great hosts make up for it.

    Very beautiful location directly at the sea with great sunset views. Amerigo and his family are super friendly and helpful, they made our stay super easy and relaxed. Make sure to try the family restaurant it was delicious! And take their kayaks (and soon maybe SUPs) for a ride and explore the west coast like a local (and even better is free!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    A nice family appart hotel with a very friendly owner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A nice family appart hotel with a very friendly owner and staff. All mentioned in descriptions is true and available. Our room was pretty good with a nice sea view and everyday cleaning. For us it was more important to stay out of a city but not so far and near the coast. La Rotonda was the best choice, cause there was quiet but it took only 15 minutes to Forio city center and 40 minutes to Thermal park Negombo by walk or staff can transfer you for free wherever you want. Inspite of the lack of restaurant in the hotel, the owner or staff can bring you to the nice restaurant with very delicious food for good price. I fell in love a pizza/pie Vincenzo an homemade ravioli which I strongly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Had a wonderful stay at La Rotonda Sul Mare!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The management was extremely helpful and provided us with valuable information that was very useful during our stay. They were all very accommodating and friendly and even offered to drive us to the town center so we could take the ferry. They also provided us with restaurant recommendations and even offered to drive us there .My wife and I had a wonderful time and we look forward to returning with our family!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.6
    Best place to enjoy the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - easy access to the see because they have a very nice platform/sundeck - clear waters perfect for snorkeling - free sunbeds and umbrellas - free kayak, pedal boats and snorkeling

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.5
    Room very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what was described!! Disappointed at size of room and VERY DISAPPOINTED NO PLATFORM OVER ROCKS TO WATER!!!! We should have been advised or at least got a discount as that was the reason we chose that hotel!!!!

    Room very clean. Beds comfortable. Nice bar area with eats. Very amiable owner Amerigo....very kind, friendly nice young man.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    An amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, clean room, very nice staff. The hotel owner drove as to his Restaurant ' La Casereccia' - very good food and affordable prices! Our room had a very beautiful view of the sea. We kindly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stay, can't wait for our next trip to Ischia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, extremely friendly staff, access to the beach, beautiful views from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    - very friendly and supportive personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows in the room are missing, but there is a glass-door, so this is not a big issue.

    - very friendly and supportive personal - directly at the sea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    8.3
    Good location on the sea front in a nice quiet part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing really. A couple of little things inside the room were a little bit shabby but nothing major.

    Good location on the sea front in a nice quiet part of the town. Easy to get to buses and the owner is brilliant, very helpful and kind. He gave us lifts and took us to the ferry port. They have a lovely terrace with kayaks and fishing gear, snorkels, it's a perfect place for a wonderful holiday by the sea and easy to get to all the attractions on the island.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    4.2
    The apartments are just right in front of the sea and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    On our arrival we were told that our apartment was not ready, so we were put up in a nearby hotel. Having a 1 year old this was not ideal as I needed to cook to prepare her supper. The room was also very small so we could not bring upstairs all our suitcases. The owner owns a restaurant and offered us dinner that night as we did not have any facility to cook our meal. However on check out he charged us the full day price (100 euro) even if we did not use the apartment. If you would like a holiday with no worries, I would not recommend this place.

    The apartments are just right in front of the sea and a 10min walk from the main town Forio.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    Excellent owner and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a family room which was actually two rooms and unfortunately the aircon didn't work in the bedroom.

    Excellent owner and location. Loved the deck out into the sea, and free use of kayaks etc. Free lifts to the local restaurant and port also excellent. Amerigo is an amazing host! Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    The location is perfect, close to the center but in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is perfect, close to the center but in a quiet area. Amerigo is a perfect host, always available and nice. I really recommend this place. You should also try the restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.3
    - close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - address of the property has changed, but we were not informed prior to arrival and had a hard time finding it - no bikes available during our stay - long time checking in as system was down - WiFi signal weak in room

    - close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.8
    The views from the deck and most of the rooms are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all to dislike.

    The views from the deck and most of the rooms are amazing. A wonderful host who will help you with anything you need including transport to the great family restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, proximity to the beach, spacious apartment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walk to the supermarket was a bit of a trek

    Friendly staff, proximity to the beach, spacious apartment with well equipped kitchen

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    The location, the appartement, the host, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot of doors and keys

    The location, the appartement, the host, breakfast. Everything is really good

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Stunning location, amazing views, crystal clear waters, wall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stunning location, amazing views, crystal clear waters, wall to wall sunshine, excellent hospitality and food.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Residence La Rotonda Sul Mare traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: