Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antica Residenza Santa Chiara

Via Santa Chiara 12, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#97 of 152 B&Bs and Inns in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 123 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room. Happy with my choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't realise that breakfast wasn't on site. We could hear the outdoor cinema in the park from our room, but as we stayed in August, the low hum of the aircon blocked it out!

    Fabulous big room and big bathroom. Extra bed put in by Alexandra when she saw we had a 3yr old with us. Alexandra was very helpful, spoke great english. She sent info to me prior to our arrival which was very helpful. Parking round the corner was great, easy accommodation to get to.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Lucca is an outstanding town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a hard time with Air conditioner, noisy in morning from street and it also sounded like some water was running all night from room next door. What is that picture from that shows above with this place? Did not see those tables and that setting?

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice big room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big room and bathroom. Very clean and nicely kept. Never met any staff but self check in and check out was absolutely smooth and the owner was always in touch via text messages. A nice little gem in the beautiful city of Lucca.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The charme of my room was just perfect and the lady at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charme of my room was just perfect and the lady at the reception so welcoming - I really can recommend this place! Its location in the old part of the town is very comfortable because it's situated near the pedestrian walk around the historic centre of Lucca.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    B&B Within The Walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The B&B is within the walls of Lucca with the use of an underground car park nearby. Alessandra kept in contact with me with instructions on what to do if she wasn’t available when we arrived. The room had all we needed with big shower, big bed and TV and fridge. Breakfast was at a small pizzeria round the corner and was the best €6 I spent that morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    A beautiful place; very comfortable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was perfect-we loved it.

    Great location-just a brief walk to most things of interest but far enough away from the centro to be very peaceful. It is a beautiful old building-14th century we were told. Not large-just 5 rooms available. Still, our room was spacious and comfortable with a generous sized bathroom and big shower. Good lighting if you like to read. We were on the top floor-the building has 3 levels-stairs, no elevator but it was an easy climb. I had requested 2 single beds but when we arrived it was a double so I messaged the owner. We went out and when we got back it had been corrected. The room had a TV-but we didn't watch. WiFi is included. Highly recommend-the owner is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. They do not serve breakfast but can arrange for a very reasonable breakfast at a cafe just around the corner but we chose to just wander. There are many places all around town. Also-it is a short taxi drive from the train station-if you are not driving. ( Just a personal opinion-it is very nicely decorated-with respect to the space-which I appreciate.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    The B and B is exactly what it says - and what we expected for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For aged people like us the stairs were a chore, but it is a typical Italian building, so quite expected! An easy chair would have been a bonus!

    Location was excellent, and Alessandra was always helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Maria is watching you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning wasn't working very well and gave off a lot of noise.

    The rooms gave a very 'interesting' vibe. Maria paintings with angels and everything, matched perfectly with the city!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Charming residence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property manager wasn't always available, no kettle to boil water, the A/C a bit noisy and dated.

    Very clean and roomy with plenty of space and a nice quiet location that is a little bit away from the action but also close enough to public parking if you have a car. Lucca great place to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Lovely big bathroom and tasteful room in keeping with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being really picky.... a slightly larger table would have been good as there wasn't breakfast so I I brought pastries back as we preferred to have something at 'home'. We could have gone out for breakfast close by as we were offered an excellent deal from the residence but it suited us better to Have take away - my mum is 88 so different needs.

    Lovely big bathroom and tasteful room in keeping with the historic city. A good position as relative easy access for taxi pick up while easy walking distance to tourist attractions and close to the city wall for my morning walk. Staff were helpful and keen to assist my elderly mother and gave us a room with easy access for her. They were available to rider a taxi for us and we're keen for us to enjoy Te accommodation and their beautiful city. Good bakery close by and a city of many restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold growing on the bathroom wall. The lights outside the doors were out so it was difficult to see how to put the key in the lock. Once inside the vestibule was dark and one had to search the walls for the switch. The amenities were meager with a combination packet for shampoo and soap.

    The location was convenient and there was parking if needed. The room and sheets were clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Lovely small traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Size of rooms and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Walkable location in Lucca in quiet but accesac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Parking included. Inside Lucca.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice room. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    5.4
    It is on the edge of the downtown so everything is in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lady was not really friendly with us, she almost kicked us out when we checked out a bit later than 10:30. The wi-fi didn't work at night at all. The rooms are very old-fashioned and they definitely need some renovating. The beds were horrible and the rooms didn't feel like cleaning every day.

    It is on the edge of the downtown so everything is in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    Good wifi network, good location, helpful staff, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room is high up on the 3rd Floor and need to tow the heavy luggage up the stairs. The room is a bit dark with insufficient light. Sockets are inadequate for recharging camera batteries, iphones for 2 persons in a room.

    Good wifi network, good location, helpful staff, and adequate amenities.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Proximity to city centre and local cafe's and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey! we had a refrigerator but no coffee/ tea making facilities. Cleanliness was good but could be more thorough.

    Proximity to city centre and local cafe's and bars. Ease of access by car and on foot.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.2
    Antics was a lovely surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Antics was a lovely surprise. It was genuinely old 15c I think with exposed beams in our bedroom. Sandra, the owner and manager was most helpful and friendly. Being within the city walls with secure parking was a real bonus.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.5
    Really helpful Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little basic and dated decor but with a reasonable price.

    Really helpful Staff. Secure garage parking and great location.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff (Jessica helped us a lot!). Will stay there again on my next travel to Lucca.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    great for a short stay in beautiful Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great for a short stay in beautiful Lucca. Eat in the Olive Restaurant for fabulous food and shops to die for. Luca is magical.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    8.8
    It was just 1 night for us and everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    It was just 1 night for us and everything was good.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: