Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza Ae Ostreghe

San Marco 2331, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#130 of 368 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception being separated from the rooms is a bit odd (but the location of the front desk is convenient to the ferry). We found the building where the room was but had to call and double back to the reception desk to be let in. If this was communicated beforehand I missed it. I thought the lack of coffee in the room would not be a problem but it is :-) mostly compounded by only being allowed one room key. There are two external locked doors to get through before you get to the room and the room power is tied to the key. Making it awkward for one person to stay behind in the dark while the other runs and grabs coffee. Or if you and your partner want to come and go separately

    Location, location, location. No view or anything but great to be in the heart of the city and a short walk to everything.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location from Barrow drop off walk about 1/4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many stairs to the room and to the breakfast room the room and breakfast room were located in separate buildings

    Excellent location from Barrow drop off walk about 1/4 block to the hotel lobby check it was Fast and efficient the room was in another building from the check-in the room price range Uppermill price the breakfast was diverse and many this property is not well suited with gas having problems climbing due to the many stairs facilities in the room excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one PowerPoint plug in the whole room which made it difficult at night charging phones etc. our only slight negative to otherwise a really comfortable stay.

    Property was clean and the air con was great as we traveled during a hot time in September. The room was lovely and big. It had a nice feel about it and was really central to a lot of great spots.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, close to vaporetto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked being away from the Grand Canal but very close to small bridges , street cafes and Godola traffic. Included breakfast was first class in the main building with awesome Grand Canal views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointing and ruined our Venice visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff. Rooms were in a different location and we had to carry all suitcases over a bridge with steps because the hotel had nobody to help us. There were no elevators and we had to claim 2 sets of stairs. The tv in the room did not work and hotel staff told us that they will bring a new one but they never did.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    The position of both hotels were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not advised by the hotel or by booking .com before hand that we were to go to the Spalda hotel to book in before going to our sleeping accommodation which was over a bridge and a few minutes walk away, so we arrived at the Residensa en Ostreghe unable to enter until a waiter from nearby restaurant told us we had to go to this other hotel to register first. I went there and my husband waited but in the meantime some lady let my husband into the building. The manager at the La Spalda told me off good and proper that that was not allowed and that I had to go and bring our luggage back there also my husband, before we could go in to our accommodation! He was so rude to me! Another time after climbing about 60 stairs to the breakfast room we noticed a lift so we thought we would catch it back down but then we were stuck in it and could not get out! Luckily someone heard us knocking and another manager came and let us out but not before screaming at us that we should not have used it as it was not for the guests!! No notice to this effect was attached to the lift to advise us! We were never greeted with even a good morning before all this happened and no advise of whether a lift was available or not!! My husband lost his temper with him after all this rude treatment so it really spoilt our time at the place where we had to go every morning for breakfast! But the breakfast was the best we have ever had and the staff there were wonderful!

    The position of both hotels were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Too many stairs but great breakfasts and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs,stairs!! About 40 stairs to room from street and breakfast in another building would you believe up another 72 stairs . asked for help to carry bags up but expected to carry them down ,great difficulty locating property you need to contact hosts who do not live at property

    Breakfast was excellentl and location was fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location - near to vaporetto stop and a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to charge for mini bar that wasn’t used and for city tax for an under 10 when it is n/a. Challenged both and quickly accepted the ‘errrors’.

    Excellent location - near to vaporetto stop and a short walk to Rialto bridge or st marks sq. amazing breakfast in lovely surroundings overlooking the grand canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy server in breakfast buffet. Finding hotel as no check in location information was given and check in location was different from hotel location. Manager told me I should have read instructions but neither he would nor I could find any written instructions on my check in page.

    Great location, comfortable bed, good sized room, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    Not a 4 Star Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a 4 * hotel. It is set of 4 rooms set 300m away from the main hotel. For breakfast you need to negotiate 26 flights of stairs ( inc the canal ) and walk 300m. Bed is hard, furniture is false, AC is noisy... not worth Euros 160 / night.

    The breakfast was good - if you make it to the breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location. Staff at the hotel were all really friendly and helpful. Great range of food for breakfast. Amazing view of the grand canal from the breakfast area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    A beautiful accommodation in the heart of Venice. Only short walks needed to the best sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything of significance.

    A beautiful room in a brilliant location. Reception staff and staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    The apartment was clean with comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was extremely difficult finding the separate hotel to check into the apartment. Then wasn't prepared carrying our 34kg of luggage each up 44 stairs to the room. Staff not helpful in finding out information regarding recent transport strike. Made things very difficult trying to make phone calls when you don't speak Italian and the person on the other end doesn't speak English.

    The apartment was clean with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Great staff very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommended for elders as their is no lift and the rooms are at the top floors.

    Great staff very friendly and accommodating. Super breakfast. Great location in magical Venice. I loved the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Bella Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not quite as attractive as the photos and a bit tired. All and all a great stay...would stay here again.

    Lovely breakfast...great for any appetites! Staff was helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Directly in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in another house, 200 m away.The hotel didn't tell that you have to check in in another house.Rooms hard to find....no signs at the walls.....

    Directly in the center.....perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Good place too stay - a great time in an expensive city, hotel with good location and lush breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room is located in a 2nd building, 3 minute walk from the main one where breakfast is. the facilities in the room are very limited, water in the fridge, at 1.50 a bottle, and no coffee... so to get a coffee in your room, not so easy, had to go out and buy one in the morning... the annoying this was the room smelt of cigarettes. i should have put my foot down as as non smokers this was a bad start, but we didn't complain to the reception, because it was in another building... if it was downstairs and we were staying more than 2 nights, id defiantly have complained! also bloody mosquito... remember repellant

    Breakfast.. you get a view over the grand canal and quality of the food... superb... Location, from the airport to boat,easy, then 1h12mins later (boat ride) off the boat and in the hotel to check in, in about 1 minute!! just get off at the right stop :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    It was pleasant, we liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is easy to hear anyone int the corridor, thus people wake you up even if they try to be quite..

    Spacious room, very nice bathroom, bed was not too soft which was great for my and partners backs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and unbeatable location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel, together with the sister hotel which manages Residenza Ae Ostreghe were steps from a ferry/boat stop (with ferries to the airport and train station) and a short walk to St Mark's. Breakfast was delicious, and the view from breakfast over the grand canal was even better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 floor walk up to rooms. 5 floor walk up to breakfast room in hotel a block away.

    Very nice comfortable and clean room. View from breakfast balcony incredible!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Outstanding value. Great location, good size, clean comfortable room. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entrance key system is somewhat glitchy and key card was very torn off and better to be replaced soon.

    Excellend location. Less then 10 min. for St. Marco square (Giglio stop for vaporetto). Top notch fashion boutiques right around the corner. Lots of restaurants - just steps away in pretyt much any direction. Room is spacios, cool, well-maintained. Outstanding breakfast with lots of options and stunning view on Grand Canal and Basilica di Santa Maria (well, from the balcony, there is no terrace).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff, room, breakfast, location - all were good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good, except the 3 fights of stairs to the room and the 4 flights of stairs (in a different building, around the corner and past a bridge that also has stairs) to breakfast... but you don't come to Venice if you cannot do stairs, so we braved it!

    Staff, room, breakfast, location - all were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff. The only friendly one was the porter, come handy man. who carried our bags up the 2 flights of stairs and did his best to fix a few small problems in the room. The gentlemen on the front desk was efficient but that is all. The attitude was a little Basil Fawlty like. We are running a hotel so you guests should not get in the way. Gentleman at breakfast stared at what you were doing so you couldn't feel comfortable. I don't think he wanted guests to mess up his beautiful display of food.

    Fantastic location. Breakfast room (in another building) had a fantastic view over grand canal. Delicious walnut pie at breakfast. Room was very large.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing!! My 14yr old son managed to fill up on breakfast and I didn't need to feed him again until the evening - which anyone with a teenage boy will tell you is an achievement!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.8
    1. The front desk located in different building, and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The front desk located in different building, and they didn't guide us to reserved building from front desk. It is hard to find reserved building in night. 2. A staff in front desk talk that if we have some problem, we can ask a restaurant near by the reserved building because the restaurant is same group with the hotel. I asked location of my reserved hotel building, but they are very unkind and very uncomfortable. And the restaurant is expensive!(I used it) 3. I never recommend this hotel for you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.8
    1. The front desk located in different building, and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The front desk located in different building, and they didn't guide us to reserved building from front desk. It is hard to find reserved building in night. 2. A staff in front desk talk that if we have some problem, we can ask a restaurant near by the reserved building because the restaurant is same group with the hotel. I asked location of my reserved hotel building, but they are very unkind and very uncomfortable. And the restaurant is expensive!(I used it) 3. I never recommend this hotel for you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    This apartment on the 2-d floor of old Venetian building in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This apartment on the 2-d floor of old Venetian building in 5-7 min walk from S Marko square. Big and clean, huge bathroom and very good condition system. Wifi was also ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Central location lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old man on reception at the hotel, he was rude and awful, insulting, upsetting his rude he was

    The room was awesome, lovely furnishings lovely privacy, close to restaurants and water taxis and tours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Good position, very convenient and close to center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some difficult to make the check in and find the reception that was situated in another hotel.

    Good position, very convenient and close to center. Clean and the breakfast was just delicious and fresh 👍🏻👌🏼

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Location and room size were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in a 3 storey building and no fridge in the room.

    Location from Piazza San Marco and ferry stop was great. Building looked ordinary from the outside, but the room was large and cool. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Suggested, clean, good location and well equipped, excellent brekfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is located in another building, find out before!

    Room was clean and large, with large bathroom, and there was everything what i need. Brekfast was excellent! Booked early and the price was ok for Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Classic decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from neighbours in adjacent rooms: Kids shouting etc. were heard very loudly as walls were very thin. (Should only be an issue for people who like to sleep in, in the mornings​)

    Classic decor. Clean, spacious room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Our room was separate from the main hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillow were a little too hard. My back ached after just one night.

    Our room was separate from the main hotel. Very nice and on a fun little street. Breakfast was great and only a five minute walk from our room. The bathroom and shower were well updated and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were itchy, No lift facility and the room is in the third floor. Not really value for money.

    The location is good. Had a left luggage option.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Room decoration, very clean room, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decoration, very clean room, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Kindness of stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kindness of stuff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Not for disabled persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for disabled persons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Quiet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow

    Quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable, felt like we were on cardboard.

    Everything about the property was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Great breakfast the staff top rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast the staff top rate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Hard to find, should make more clear where check-in desk is
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find, should make more clear where check-in desk is

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, lovely room great breakfast with stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room

    View from breakfast room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    I felt I was staying in a real Venusian room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all

    Beautiful furnishings. Charming!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    The €24 charge for 4 small bottles of water and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The €24 charge for 4 small bottles of water and the nonchalant attitude from the guy at the reception at checkout....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful place within easy walking distance to Piazza S. Marco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Best breakfast buffet we had on our trip through 3 countries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice apartment in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in in one place, but apartment is another

    Very centrally located and nice apartment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Good Place/Front Desk Staff Not the Nicest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff was somewhat rude.

    We liked the location, the man who staffed the breakfast, and the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Once off the boat the instructions to get there were hard to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once off the boat the instructions to get there were hard to follow until we understood the number system

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    A lovely clean room with plenty of storage space, free use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in was not great. We located the hotel but could not get access. Luckily I had saved the number from booking.com and had my phone so called the number. It turns out that the Residenza Ae Ostrghe is actually some rooms belonging to another hotel, the Locanda De La Spada where we then had to walk to in order to check in. My advice, if you are staying here save yourself some time and go straight to the main hotel which is on the left of street that you walk up when getting off the vaparetto at Giglio.

    A lovely clean room with plenty of storage space, free use of a safe, a TV and minibar. Perfect location for site seeing and just a few minutes from a vaparetro stop. Breakfast was fantastic and the best meal we had whilst in Venice with a great selection of hot and cold food and drinks.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    The hotel location was excellent and breakfast in the nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a fabulous experience with this hotel. However the hotel itself was extremely hard to find. We had not realised that we had to check in to the 'breakfast' hotel as this information was not on our booking confirmation. This meant we spent an hour trying to find it. Google maps had no idea what we were looking for! That being said...if you had to get lost in any city..Venice is the place to do it! We soon got over our search when we saw the location and gorgeous room. Nonetheless, this needs to be made clearer on the site.

    The hotel location was excellent and breakfast in the nearby hotel was gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    6.3
    The room was pretty big and nice decorated, pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at breakfast were not useful at all and somehow rude. The nice breakfast terrace is a small balcony with a limited view to the channel and the breakfast room is more like a lobby - literally you eat at someone's door from a low table. To reach the breakfast you need to climb 3 floors at least...and the toilet is at the parterre ;). If you have any issues and you cannot climb stairs, this is a no go. Totally overpriced for Venice.

    The room was pretty big and nice decorated, pretty comfortable, but 0 view. The location is perfect to visit Venice. The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    The placement of the hotel was very good, friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor thing but please change the crazy air freshner in the corridor, it is spaying wild. Luckely not noticable in the room.

    The placement of the hotel was very good, friendly staff and umpeccable clean room.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, room with Venice atmosphere.
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to complain about, really. I saw some other reviews complaining about 200 steps to breakfast, that was ok (and view from breakfast room is amazing) until I've run Venice marathon :) But stairs are everywhere in this city.

    Very friendly staff, room with Venice atmosphere. Jacuzzi bath, with relaxing bath salt and foam supplied, all family enjoyed a lot after all day walking.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.5
    Right on a canal to see and hear the gondolas going by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You need to check in at a different hotel and then someone will take you to your room in a completely different building. We were not told to check in at a different hotel but actually stumbled upon it by dumb luck while asking for directions. Take the water bus to the Giglio stop and when you get off walk down the alley to the first hotel on the left to check in. Be careful if you leave the windows open. There are tons of mosquitoes and we were eaten alive! Decor is dated but clean.

    Right on a canal to see and hear the gondolas going by. Centrally located. Great breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    The room was big, fairly decorated Clean, quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Management or the booking site should mention that check in / check out hotel has a different name and location, though not too far from it. But it is hard to find if one doesn't know. I will suggest travellers that the closest stop is Giglio, just few steps from the hotel where you check in.

    The room was big, fairly decorated Clean, quite. The Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Good location, very close to vaporetto stop, and 5 mins walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No sitting chairs in bedroom. Breakfast was on top floor - no lift. Fine for us, but might be awkward for some. Booking.com needs to give clearer directions: go to SM del Giglio vaporetto stop, walk 50 metres down the alleyway and check in at Locanda del Spada.

    Good location, very close to vaporetto stop, and 5 mins walk from St Marks or Academia. First class self service breakfast in small "lounge" in msin hotel overlooking Grand Canal. Would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.3
    The staff was helpful, especially the poor guy who carried...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wish the hotel had told us which dock to look for (Gigilo). It would have saved us lots of money. We paid 60E for a water taxi and could have paid 15E to take the water bus but we didn't know where the hotel was in relation to the various docks. The building that the rooms are in looks pretty run down and the walls on the way up to the room are banged up. The room, however, is very nice, very spacious and very Venetian. Expect a lot of noise. You are near a restaurant which is on a canal. Your quiet hours will be from about 11 pm until 5 a.m. The location is excellent--not far from St. Mark's Square. There is no lift, so be prepared to walk up 3 flights of stairs. When we checked out, the clerk made us pay 15E in city tax even though our paperwork from booking.com said this was included in the price of the room.

    The staff was helpful, especially the poor guy who carried our luggage to the room. The breakfast was excellent. The room was spacious and clean. There is now wi-fi in the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    The apartment was amazing, very central and and sufficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Think that the interior of building ie area around lift, staircase and entrance needs attention by the body corporate.

    The apartment was amazing, very central and and sufficient for our use. Owner very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    This room was tucked away in a quiet little corner in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This room was tucked away in a quiet little corner in Venice! It took a little searching to find it the first day, but it was worth it! The weather was quite hot when we were in Venice, and the air conditioning in our room kept it nice and cool!!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Great central location close to Water Bus stop Giglio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great central location close to Water Bus stop Giglio. Excellent facilities & breakfast with superb view of Grand Canal from parent hotel. Would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location advice from booking.com was incorrect, map requires amending to show actual location. (or the street name)

    Staff friendly and helpful. Great location. Room comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    8.8
    Excellent place for living in center of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No nice view from the room, but if you are in center you can't expect for this price to have first class view. You will have a perfect view to Canal Grande from the balcony during your breakfast at Locanda della Spada.

    Excellent place for living in center of Venice. It is just 2 minutes from "vaporeto" station Giglio and about 5-8 minutes by walk to San Marco square. Really first class breakfast in hotel Locanda della Spada, just 2 minute from residencia Ae Ostreghe. Spacy room. Good if you are travelling with a little kid.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast at the main hotel was very very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water bus on line one was under construction on day of arrival and as we already bought 24 hour tickets at 30 euro each, could not use it. Walked with heavy luggage a long way - also over 2 bridges. But that's not the hotels fault.

    The breakfast at the main hotel was very very good!

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.6
    This was a great little find in Venice and felt like havng...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment is up four flights of steps (about 46 steps in total) - not a problem for us but maybe for older travellers. Breakfast is on the top floor of the hotel nearby which is about six flights up but again not a problem for us.

    This was a great little find in Venice and felt like havng your own apartment with the facilities of a hotel at the same time. Great sized rooms and comfy beds. The property is owned by a hotel a 1 minute walk away. This is where you have breakfast and the short stroll across the square each morning was a lovely in the sunshine. Amazing views of the Grand Canal from the breakfast room. Breakfast was a fantastic spread - would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    6.7
    That breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They give you the wrong address. We had to walk for almost an hour until a nice man helped us. The office was 20 mins walk (with your baggage) from the address they give you. When you get there, they still have to take you to the actual rental.

    That breakfast! OMG! It was spectacular

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    10
    This place is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely nothing, or perhaps lack of elevator could be problematic for older people.

    This place is great. The staff is very friendly, especially Massimiliano (if I remember the name correctly). Very thoughtful of him to suggest to leave our luggage after check-out.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    9.2
    the only negative part it is hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the only negative part it is hard to find

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air con not working very noisy outside at night and bitten to death my mosquitoes because we had to leave window open

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    close to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nil of note

    close to centre. breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    cleaning, breakfast
    • Couple

    Dislocation of room.

    cleaning, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location! Lovely restaurant down stairs from the apartment. The view from the breakfast room is fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.8
    -Very nice room in Italian style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Very nice room in Italian style -Central location -Fantastic breakfast

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: