Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dimora Al Doge Beato

Calle Larga 1662, Santa Croce, 30100 Venice, Italy

#211 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 169 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Antonio is a great host, very friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negatives are one of the curtains in our room didn't close properly and the air conditioning after a while seemed to go quite warm. it was cooler to have the windows open.

    Antonio is a great host, very friendly and informative. Overall Great location and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous old palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous old palace. Lovely decor and super nice staff. Thanks Antonio! If possible recommend requesting room 102, with the balcony. Looked very pretty

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Loved Venice and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No breakfast facilities, No coffee/tea making facilities in room and bathroom outside in hallway (which I should have spotted when I booked it), hairdryer in bathroom is pants as well which didn't go down too well :-( (not that I use one!)

    Family that run it are very friendly and nice people though and location very good, restaurant below just to the left is superb, cafe opens at 7am for breakfast just outside and that is very good as well, supermarket just round the corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    We had a lovely time in Venice and will definitely return one day!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only problem was finding the property , the signage out the front could be a little more obvious but other than that there was nothing to dislike !!

    The hotel was centrally located in a lovely quiet area of Venice, about a 10min walk from Saint Lucia Station. The room was very quiet and spacious , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful spacious room with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spacious room with lovely views. The staff were very helpful, giving us recommendations that helped us make the most out of our stay! The restaurants next to the property were very good & very good value. The deli bar on the other side was great too.....fresh peach Bellini’s were delicious & only €5!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded my expectations tremendously. Would absolutely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom attached. Needed to use a shared one down the hall. However no trouble with this and the bathroom was clean and very nice. No breakfast, but close cafes. No 24 hour staffing.

    Beautiful room in an excellent spot of Venice. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    External bathroom as advertised. Is it for you?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that they can help it but the wifi wasn't wirking the day we checked in. The bathroom was difficult to lock and unlock. Even though I knew the bathroom was external I hadnt realised how inconvenient it actually was as I had to get dressed to go to the bathroom through the night. Not recommended for people who frequent the bathroom through the night.

    Clean and comfortable and close to transport. St Mark's is about 40 minutes away as you have to walk to the ferry and have a 35 minute ride. It wasn't a problem as transport was regular and you got a nice tour up and down the grand canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The hotel has an excellent location close to all amenities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has an excellent location close to all amenities, the room's were immaculate, the owners were very friendly and gave information on the areas secret places of interest, anyone going here Antonio and family will look after your needs home away from home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con wasn’t too strong but leaving the window open was sufficient to keep yourself cool over night.

    The staff are a lovely family and were so lovely and helpful they couldn’t do enough for us. The room was beautifully decorated and perfectly clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Venice, it is in a great location. The best ice cream we found was just down stairs opposite the hotel. Thank you for our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Great neighborhood if you're like us who wants to avoid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no breakfast, but there is a cafe outside which opens early for breakfast.

    Great neighborhood if you're like us who wants to avoid crowded places. The location is perfect for travelers, surrounded by nice restaurants, gelato (good one), and a supermarket. There is also a gondola stop in front of the building so you won't have to walk to the grand canal to look for one. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great Location, Out of all the hustle and bustle, but close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buy your tickets for the Vaporetto before getting to the stop (S. Stae).

    Great Location, Out of all the hustle and bustle, but close to the Vaporetto waterbus and in a delightful hidden gem of a square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was just great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing can be that you need to check in and check out in specific time and agree this with the owners as it seems they are not in the hotel all the time.

    Hotel was just great! it is in perfect location, very close to everything in the heart of Venice, but it is not too loud and there are no plenty of tourists around. We had great room, comfortable, clean and spacious with a great view on the canals. Personel is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.0
    Location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what is basically a family inn with spotty wifi, curtains that wouldn't shut completely and an external toilet at the other end of the corridor. But the worst thing was that on the second day of my stay I asked if a late check out would be possible, and I was told it wouldn't be an issue if I vacated the room before 1 PM. I then asked *twice* if I would be charged and how much it would cost, just to make things extra clear. They said again it wouldn't be a problem and did not mention anything at all about charging me. On the day of my departure, lo and behold, I'm told that I have to pay extra. They make up a lame excuse saying that on the previous day they still didn't know how much it was going to cost, so basically they lied to my face. It's amazing that in this day and age there are businesses that will choose 20€ over customer satisfaction and their own reputation, but so be it. I'm planning on returning to Venice later this year and I definitely will not be staying here.

    Location and view. It's basically all you're paying for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike at all

    The rooms were very clean and the proprietors were exceptional. They were generous to actually upgrade us for a couple of nights at no charge! A very accommodating venue!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    An average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not marked accurately. We searched for more than an hour and could find it only with the help of a local.

    The bathroom was very spacious and had all amenities. The rooms are maintained properly and are clean and big enough compared to rooms average in bnb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a mirror in the room as our private bathroom was down the hall.

    Spotlessly clean, lovely comfortable room in a lovely location. Owners were really nice and we were welcomed with Italian sparkling wine and Italian biscuits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleased with our experience. Great location, in a quiet but well serviced area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 105, which is basically in the reception area. Felt a bit invasive as we could hear the comings and goings, conversations, phone and door bells. Loved this hotel but, if we stay again, I would request a different room. Coffee making facilities in the room would have been a plus.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location. Clean and comfortable hotel. Several restaurants and bistros nearby including a Co op just around the corner, in the church square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location; nice staff; good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Google Maps was unable to locate the place. I recommend to pass on watertight walking instructions with the reservation. The bathroom could use more shelfspace. The entrance/staircase was a bit run-down, but this is Venice, where such things go under "romantic decadence".

    the room/bath was big, nice, tasteful, clean and heavenly quiet. The staff/family coudln't have been nicer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    A Great stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is in a separate place from the room so this can be annoying when you have to get up in the night. Also there was no light on the stairs when you came in at night.

    The property was on a great location not around all other tourist and was very easy to walk around and see Venice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is outside the room, when i've done the booking it was told to me that the breakfast is included but it's not...actualy there's no breakfast at all.

    It is good if you need just a place where to sleep...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Owner was very helpful to us suggesting what to see in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was very helpful to us suggesting what to see in Venice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location beautiful room lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location beautiful room lovely people

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, outside tourist hustle, great local restaurants and amenities. Close to transport, clean comfortable and delightful hosts. Grazie.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    The room and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room and the location. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spacious room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful spacious room with a wonderful balcony. Excellent personal care.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Great quiet location, easy to get too , great service , air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer and no kettle but no major issue

    Great quiet location, easy to get too , great service , air conditioned by Antonio !!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Too brief but most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely building facilities and staff 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacious and clean and had a very nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean and had a very nice view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Location and small balcony was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find

    Location and small balcony was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Excelent holiday in a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the building itself is a work of art, the kindness of the hosts, the elegance of the interior.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Typically Venetian without the crassness of a hotel chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typically Venetian without the crassness of a hotel chain

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    On a charming piazza
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY hard to locate.

    Lovely room, canal view. Very nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    We had a lovely stay in Venice so these were only little niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in bedroom. No door knob on the wardrobe.

    Cleanliness and the small balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Good service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get there by public transportation after 9 pm

    Good service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all perfect!

    Fablous room, modern, sophisticated & romantic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved every thing! The big room, the view, the hosts and the welcome. Perfect location. . Truly beautiful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Clean room with comfy bed in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View with Private External Bathroom in Aisle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with comfy bed in a great location. Good view and very pleasant hosts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room, a little out of the way but still convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty uncomfortable. 😞

    Beautiful room, a little out of the way but still convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nil

    Great location from Ferry drop off. Good view off canal outside window, very spacey and great staff

    Stayed in January 2018

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: