Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza D'epoca 1861

Lungomare Perrotti, 84072 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Italy

Review score

Based on 98 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff were amazing. Exceptional views and a very good comfortable room. The staff were so helpful and friendly and we were upgraded on arrival. Would highly recommend. Restaurant was also exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly would not change a thing

    This beautiful old building is right in front of the Santa Maria beach, right in the nicest spot in town. The staff is unbelievably friendly and also efficient and responsive. They really treated us like family. The rooms are real gems , with beautiful antique furniture, a balcony with ocean view, an extremely comfortable bed, a great bathroom and all the comfort you can ever dream of. We recommend this place 100% and would love to come back. The staff arranged a pick up from Agropoli station for us. The breakfast is great, with delicious musli and cereals, fruit, juice, the best coffee, ok croissants, crepes, cheese, bread, salami etc etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    we stayed there mid October, low season, a trip as in the ‘70s. Calm atmosphere, nice helpful staff who want to make your stay a success. Fine dining, an Indian summer in a golden coloured Campania, top!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was genuinly friendly and helpful, true Italian hospitality. Rooms were beautiful and spacious. Location of the hotel is excellent, very quiet with beautiful views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator in the building.

    Very large and light room with a nice little sunny roof balcony. Classy building in maybe the best location in this little pretty town. Very nice and helpful staff. Nice breakfast spot on the boulevard. And the best restaurant in town (also according to Trip Advisor) at very fair prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to come home! :(

    The staff were incredibly helpful and made us feel welcome. They were easily contactable before the trip and helped us organise transport to and from the station. Would highly reccomend this amazing hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really an issue but no jug to make tea in the room.

    The location was perfect, right in front of a good spot for swimming and the room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast with a view and the staff were happy to help with any queries. We had dinner at the restaurant twice and found it to be delicious albeit on the pricey side but I think that's because they are going for the fine dining experience. I would happily come back if I got the chance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They could make more of their bar, maybe they do in summer but there was no staff around running it while we were there.

    Terrace in room was superb - can't beat the location and the views. Staff very attentive, room size was good (even a standard), breakfast was excellent. We were lucky that the hotel was quiet when we stayed so had breakfast made to order and delivered to our room at a time we liked. Enabled us to start the day on the terrace overlooking the Med. Dinner at the on-site restaurant was very tasty, probably the priciest in the area (we went to 6 different places while there) but still great as a one-off.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked room was "superior with sea view". However, it was a small room derived under the roof. Sea view was only from a mini-balcony in the roof, and sea was only visible standing there... Impossible to sleep until 2 PM due to very loud live music in a bar in a close building. Awful.

    Location on the sea front

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have had a terrific stay at Residenza D'Epoca. The rooms were huge and spotless, the location and views perfect and the team were very welcoming and helpful. The associated restaurant was an absolute bonus, and we ate there several times, best food we have had in Italy. We had secured parking on advice from staff. The only problem was three nights was not enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i would have liked a more extensive breakfast, perhaps some eggs etc but everything else was perfect.

    everything, rooms were amazing , staff excellent, very reasonable rate for standard of hotel in relation to other hotels in area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    MA

    It was stylish, amazing location, very welcoming!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing wrong with the property

    The location was ideal. It was right on the beach front and the views were stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Oasis of calm , helpful staff amazing view a special place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Public transport to the location

    Very Polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people here did not properly explain that, other than dropping off luggage at the beginning of your stay and collecting it at the end of your stay, you must not access the hotel by car. I made the mistake of dropping my my wife off at the door after a long day out and was told to expect a €100 fine from the town for violating the traffic free zone. This is both very annoying and very awkward as the parking is some way away. I would not recommend coming to this hotel by car at all.

    Simple but pleasant accomodation. Decent value and the staff were agreeable. They did not, however, properly explain the extremely awkward rules on access to the property by car.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the actual property, breakfast was quite minimal, but served freshly prepared espresso Town is quite small, and we were told that weather was unusually cold,so didnt get to enjoy the seaside. Keep it in mind that everything is closed between lunch and dinner, so if weather isnt great..can be a abit boring.

    We received a very warm welcome from Monica and the rest of the staff. Property is beautiful, right on the coast and full of caracter. Propper coffee at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Next to the hotel is a bar that in the evening/night can be very noisy and attracts a lot of people drinking and laughing at the boulevard. When you close the windows at night it's OK.

    Very large spacious rooms in an old building with a wonderful sea view. The sea is literally a couple of meters away. The only thing between the hotel and the sea is the car free boulevard (loading and unloading of luggage is possible). There is a guarded car-parking in the village (€10,--/day and 5 minutes walking). The sunset, exactly between the Sorrento peninsula and Capri is breathtaking. About 50 meters from the hotel there are nice sandy beaches with "lettini and ombrellone". The hotel has a deal with Lido Azzurro (€12,-- a day for 2 stretchers and an umbrella). Lovely lunch at that beach too. Up on the hill lies the medieval Castellabate itself. It's worth the trip: about an hour uphill walking and about 5 to 10 minters by car.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy bar and locals gathering at night.Seemed to be the focal point for the area. Not surprising in view of the location. Did not let it spoil our visit!!!! Ear plugs can do wonders.

    Lovely suite with balcony overlooking the sea. Beautiful sunsets. Great friendly staff.Excellent location for beach and restaurants.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Residenza D'epoca 1861 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: