Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza D'epoca San Crispino

Via Sant'agnese 11, 06081 Assisi, Italy

#19 of 88 Holiday rentals in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 177 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice, tasteful and quiet accomodation, spotlessly clean. Good breakfast with eggs, cheese and ham!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only little time when an actual person was there at the reception desk. But communication was excellent, which was especially helpful, as we arrived later in the afternoon.

    Very nicely furnished, good breakfast, absolutely quiet. Very close to sights. Really convenient!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Assisi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Beautiful Room. The staff was great. I couldn't have been happier with my stay here. I will be booking again next time I'm in Assisi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small wonderfully restored B and B ( although v small basic kitchenette included in cupboard). 7 rooms / suites only We stayed in Sister Moon and Stars. Smallish but the thick walls made it very cool and we had the amazing private garden just for us. Lovely old style furniture small bathroom and shower. Everything thought out and worked well. Would choose this room again over the larger ones with no outside access apart from balconies. One other room has a private garden but on a different level. Breakfast room just across the street and fine cold spread hams cheese etc plus cakes and pastries. Nice coffee Walking up through the cut through steps we could get to the bustling central square in four minutes.. and we were able to walk everywhere .. but in a nice quiet position. Car parking in garage was €12 a day and reached by well hidden escalators so very easy Can’t wait to come back or recommend for visitors who like rustic and unusual. All other guest when we stayed were Italians who knew a thing or two

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    The rooms were beautiful with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could have been more comfortable.

    The rooms were beautiful with beautiful views. Everything was very clean. It was close to the center yet also close to the escalators from the parking garage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one on reception after 4:30. Couldn’t get there till 5 due to traffic. Instructions on what to do was helpful

    It was right in the middle of Assisi very convenient to everything. Large suite with a kitchen in a cupboard kettle provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay in Assisi. We would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We loved this place. Parking was close by. We had a private garden with stone table and iron chairs that had a view overlooking the town below. Just lovely! It's a very romantic setting and very peaceful town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    1 teabag for 2 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as above

    1 teabag for 2 days. Coffee machine milk frother not working . Stove top but no pots or cooking untensils. Sink for dishes but no dish wash or tea towels. We wanted to prepare our food from the apartment but this was impossible due to, Stove top but no pots or cooking untensils. Sink for dishes but no dish wash or tea towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Wish it was longer. We were only there two days; could have easily used two more days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like how you (Booking.com) don't include in your "who you traveled with?", 'your spouse'. I traveled with my SPOUSE, not my 'partner'. I see political correctness is ruling in Europe. So the gays are more important to you than traditional marriage. God's judgment IS coming.

    The hosts were very nice. Assisi is just a wonderful city and this was a pretty good location. Rooms are spacious and quaint.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location d breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town seemed busy but for some reason the reception area was only staffed for 2 hours per day. All staff seemed to be located at another villa outside town so if you had any questions you had to call them. Room furnishings were not to our taste - a combination of some lovely old pieces, some chintzy pieces and some 70's style. Shower is tiny and not very good.

    Great location, large room with additional sitting area, nice view from room, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The view from the terrace was spectacular, and the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although there was a message for us on the door, it would have been helpful to have someone at the desk to check us in and carry bags up the stairs. It would be nice to have a binder of information in the apartment telling us how to use the phone, regulate the heat, etc., and perhaps provide a list of recommended restaurants.

    The view from the terrace was spectacular, and the rooms beautifully decorated and spacious. Dante, who served breakfast every morning and handled all questions and checkout, was outstanding. We appreciated all that he did for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and and wonderful views from terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to put up a blanket over the window in the double bedroom every night to block out the light as the curtains were simply a bit of (pretty) voile! (Other bedroom Ok). But it didn't take long so no big deal. Also, the kitchenette is not somewhere you can cook a proper meal, comprising a fridge and 2 cooking rings (but no saucepan!) We had to ask for a kettle, bigger mugs and a corkscrew, but everyone was very friendly. Again, it was fine as we ate out every evening anyway, with rolls at lunchtime (plenty of cutlery and plates).

    The location was fantastic, including the most wonderful view from our terrace - of the hills in the distance, the surrounding gardens and the tower of the Santa Maria Maggiore church (photos show part of it). That made it for me... I came with my sister and we also really appreciated that our apartment incorporated 2 bedrooms - one double, one single - rather than simply a sofa bed. Not sure how many of these are available - would check if important. I felt we were really lucky to stay here and would definitely come again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to experience the unique atmosphere of Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn’t work throughout the room. I would have preferred thicker pillows. The blinds don’t fully close the windows, so the room gets bright early in the morning.

    Beautiful, wonderful, stunning place! Spacious room, excellent location, very quiet, it felt like a dream.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful visit in an extraordinary, historic residence during a very spiritual Holy Week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Despite the smallish size of the bathroom (limited because of the historical nature of the building) everything was first class.

    Wonderful return visit to the incomparable San Crispino after 10 years. Nothing, thankfully, has changed —- still the finest place to stay in Assisi (and one of the finest and most memorable places to stay in the World). Beautiful suite in a 700+ year old building - easily accommodated my wife and I, plus a cousin living in Italy who decided to join us for Easter weekend in Assisi. The concierge, Dante, was helpful in every regard — all of the staff were friendly and superb. Lovely breakfast pulled together by Dante every morning. Beds and bedding of fine quality. Our suite (moon and stars) includes a large walled garden with extraordinary views of Santa Chiara and the valley below Assisi. Because of the historically preserved nature of the seven suite hotel, a visitor instantly feels connected to this beautiful and very spiritual city. Spending time here during Easter week was truly memorable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Evocative and charming Inn located in the old town of Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed could have been more comfortable if it had a pillow top and feather pillows would be a welcome addition.

    Dating to the XIV Century the antique filled former San Crispino monastery is now a charming small inn located near Basilica di Santa Chiara. The rooms are large and ours called the Moon and the Stars had a sitting room, bedroom, bath and terrace garden overlooking the ancient walls of Assisi. Breakfast was served in a small restaurant across the street. Parking was available nearby at the Mojano underground facility which is conveniently accessed by a funicular. Several good small restaurants are in the immediate neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat not properly secured to bowl and after three request to do something about it, nothing was done.

    It was a quaint, historical property at an excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and very easygoing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for the junior suite with small kitchen. Extra charge for coffee which is standard in every other hotel room.

    Excellent location and very easygoing staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Genius loci in Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small problems in the bathroom - lack of hot water.

    The Residence is great - it offers you everything you want. Atmosphere of the place, quality service, absolute privacy. Our room (Junior Suite) had a private entrance to the garden overlooking the Church of St. Clara. Fantastic. The breakfast in the side bar is great, its staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    This is what I call a proper "tuscany residenze"
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was just perfect!

    Everything - the reception, the room/suite, the view, the breakfast, the location, my mini kitchenette, the very friendly staff, my little private terrace with private garden to reach through a few steps down. All sites are in walkable distance. Good arrangement with a garage equipped with an elevator and a couple of escalators that take you within a few steps of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Medieval Magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! This was the most beautiful place to stay. Our suite was exquisitely furnished and had a lovely private garden from which you could take in the views. It is centrally located, yet at the same time very peaceful. We loved our 3 days here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Beyond expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We were delightedwith our stay, our terrace overlooking the stunning Umbrian valley and moon rise over Sta. Chira was spectacular. Dante, Serena and Alexandra were so kind and gracious. We did not want to leave beautiful, peaceful Assisi...we will come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues to note.

    The building and decor was period 13th century but with modern interior amenities. Also, the hotel is centrally located to all of the historic sites. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, with a selection of juices, cereals, meats, eggs and yogurt. Coffee, of course.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spacious suite in atmospheric building. Fantastic views from terrace of countryside and churches. Great position for walking round Assisi. Parking in nearby car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely beautiful hotel and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful hotel and great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic view!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view! Nice staffs !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place. Great staff, breakfast and location. Best place we stayed in Italy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The property is perfectly located with stunning views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is perfectly located with stunning views over the countryside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Perfect,the man at front desk Dante was so wonderful, the rock!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was self contained apartment but no pots,pans or cutlery etc.

    The comfort,atmosphere,view.thi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect choice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for romantic visit of town. Beautiful setting with great view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room with a huge patio that overlooked the valley. Great time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Lovely place, but needs a little upkeep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not As fresh as could have been

    Got our reservation wrong

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    It is centrally located and charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could hear the people upstairs walking.

    location and I had a room with a private yard that overlooked Umbria!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We will definitely tell all our friends to stay at this amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had our own secret garden, we could just read in. It was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Assisi. A beautiful place, and requires 2 nights, if not 3 to really soak it all up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any negatives.

    The room was beautiful. And plenty of room with our own outdoor space. Assist so beautiful. A joy to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    The view was spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site staff at night

    The view was spectacular

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a wonderful place to stay. We would return--just excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.5
    friendly staff and super nice break-fast in a close-by house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff and super nice break-fast in a close-by house - super nice location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Our suite had a beautiful little garden with a breathtaking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were a little firm.

    Our suite had a beautiful little garden with a breathtaking valley view. All the main sights and a host of highly rated restaurants were within a short stroll. Lots of lovely little extra touches like freshly baked biscotti and a vase of flowers in the room on arrival. The staff were all so friendly and went out of their way to meet all our requests including booking taxis for us and recommending restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.6
    it was a gorgeously renovated room with fantastic private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was bit noisy and cranky

    it was a gorgeously renovated room with fantastic private garden. everything was right and even better than our expectation. Staff was very kind and supportive, and its location was very convinient. I would definately stay again

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    The atmosphere was so lovely - such a special and spiritual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere was so lovely - such a special and spiritual feeling! Serena, an employee, went above and beyond to make our stay so special and memorable - a wonderful young woman! <3

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Had a great room with the private garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed one night!

    Had a great room with the private garden. Incredibly huge. Lots of room. A mini kichenette. Cool design. standalone furniture peice that holds a mini fridg, dual burner hot plate, kitchenware, and most importantly a krupps nespresso. Breakfast is a few steps away in another building. But not a problem.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    The view below seen from the garden amazed us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be better if the bed had been harder.

    The view below seen from the garden amazed us. It felt like we had the vast beautiful fields of Umbria all in front of us. We were happy to spend hours in the garden enjoying the wonderful view and warm sunshine. Breakfast was awesome, rich and fresh, home made every day. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful, spotlessly clean hotel with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful, spotlessly clean hotel with a great location. Very large rooms. The woman at reception (Serena) and the breakfast room (Katia) made our anniversary very memorable - they were very kind, helpful, and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    One of the two best hotels on our 25 day trip to Italy, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave after one night. Next time we will stay longer, and we will return. Assisi is not exactly in the center of the action, but it is most certainly worth a trip and a tour.

    One of the two best hotels on our 25 day trip to Italy, it was everything we could have asked for. Clean, comfortable, exceptionably well-appointed with a full kitchen built into an antique armoire, refrigerator, views of the valley below, and near everything in Assisi. The parking lot is at the bottom of the hill, and there was an escalator and elevator to take you there from the room and back, Parking was secure and plentiful. Breakfast was at the nearby trattoria across the street and was quite nice. Extremely well renovated and decorated, quaint but ultra-comfortable. A gem.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location! Accommodations were excellent! Very charming, spacious, and perfect for a family or group of friends. Breakfast was wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    Love the location and the style of the décor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N/A

    Love the location and the style of the décor.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    far exceeded all expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    far exceeded all expectations

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Lots of space, great view for balcony and and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of space, great view for balcony and and excellent location! Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    Great location and spotless.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only small criticism is that the shower was tiny.

    Great location and spotless. Friendly staff and always happy to help

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    The extremely friendly girl at reception and at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The extremely friendly girl at reception and at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not have a view or access to the garden.

    Location was good. Excellent breakfast.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Residenza D'epoca San Crispino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: