Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza Paolo VI 4 stars

Via Paolo VI 29, Vatican City - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy

#80 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 625 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 euros for coffee on terrace too much

    Fantastic location 2 mins from vatican. Great housekeeping. Free water every day. Nice breakfast beautiful terrace overlooking st peters basilica

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Very worthwhile and never a boring moment. Loads to see and do and no shortage of places for eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not really fault anything. They meet all my expectations.

    Very satisfied with everything. Would recommend this hotel and stay here again. Great location and staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed it despite some faults already mentioned above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Breakfast does not start until 7 am. Not good for early morning tours, had to miss breakfast the first day. Lunch served on the terrace only on Sunday. No other day at all

    Location. Very pleasant staff. The stunning terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is simply perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower is very low. The mattress is very soft - not comfortable to my taste

    The location is simply perfect !!! Good breakfast Good staff Very nice looking and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our 5 nights at the Paolo IV.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our 5 nights at the Paolo IV. The hotel has an excellent location. We enjoyed strolling through St. Peter’s square whenever we wanted and frequently walked around the corner to take the #64 bus to the attractions across the Tiber. The staff was excellent and booked a wonderful private tour for us with a guide at the Vatican. The tour guide, Suzanne, was very knowledgeable and catered the tour to our interests. The hotel is very clean! The rooms are a bit small but that was not an issue for us. The breakfast is a nice selection but it some items aren’t replenished once they are gone, which was a little disappointing. The terrace is very nice and a great spot to have a glass of wine. We were disappointed to read the fine print on the menu that the food the terrace serves is frozen. Overall, great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Hotel, fabulous location next to the Vatican,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that they did not serve lunch was inconvenient. Places to eat around the area the food was very bad and expensive, it was 19Euro for lasagne and chips and we could only eat the chips it was so bad. As there was an elderly person in the party it would have really helped if lunch was served at the hotel.

    Beautiful Hotel, fabulous location next to the Vatican, clean and comfortable and lovely staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    I like to thank the staff for the customer service provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size small

    I like to thank the staff for the customer service provided to guest . especially a person that we dealt with , she was very professional ,very welcome, very helpful in giving us guidance to the areas we wanted to visit and made our stay very comfortable. Her name is : SABRINA. Thank you very much for all the support.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    What you see is what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No olives on the cheese platter?

    Spent the evening in the restaurant sipping wine and enjoying a nice cheese platter while overlooking the Vatican all lit up - awesome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was not working on the first night. There is a significebt step up to the bathroom which is important if you have a mobility issue. The hotel does have accessibility icon when booking but you must request in advance as only one suite has an accessible bathroom. If mobility is not an issue you have no worries as the hotel is clean and very well located. Food is very basic but ok so if you want italian cuisine, eat out.

    Location is excellent and staff are friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Superb location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was everything, The rooftop bar was great with great views. Staff was very helpful, breakfast selections were great. Recommendation for driver for private tour was great value and lots of fun

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - good view of Vatican . Able to get through security along the same side of hotel. Courteous and helpful staff. Lovely room. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    An excellent base to explore Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was really very little that we didn't like. We liked that it was a small hotel with a family feel.

    Friendly and efficient staff, lovely clean rooms and a perfect position for visiting Rome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    If in doubt - book it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Would definitely come again

    Service was excellent. Hotel staff was a team are devoted to their work in the hotel and care for the customers. Quiet, prime location, rooms are modest but have everything you need, good bed, breakfast included and terrace with views on Vatican. Small drink and snack bar is open in the afternoon with home made pastry on display. Very clean. Free water bottles. Excellent value for money. I had everything i need to my stay and my soul.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    About as close as you can get to the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was closed our first night for a private event. Dinner was overpriced and poor quality. There seemed to be an awful lot of microwaves dinging while we were waiting for our meal and I’m pretty sure the tomato soup I ordered was Campbell’s. Breakfast was included with our room but the offerings were extremely limited. We are elsewhere for the rest of our stay. The room was very small, just enough room to walk about the bed, which was very firm (unfortunately that’s not our thing). And it’s not the hotels fault, but there was an awful lot of street noise outside our window.

    About as close as you can get to the Vatican. Shower was nice, great water pressure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    THE venue for a visit to the Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a pity that the terrace bar-restaurant was only open during evening hours and not in the afternoon to enjoy a drink with the view.

    During our visit to Rome, I spent two nights in this lovely hotel. The room and the bathroom were of simple elegance, furnished bright white, very clean. The staff at the reception, in the breakfast room and in the terrace restaurant was very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast offered a variety of choices. Situated directly next to St. Paul, this little hotel is the perfect venue for a visit to Vatican. The terrace offers a stunning view. On Sunday noon, the staff opens the terrace for guests to enjoy the pope’s short speech from the window of his apartment, followed by the Angelus and ending with a blessing. Also noteworthy is the one pager Bible text provided to guests (in guests’ language) under the door to give them a good start into the day. A unique idea... I felt really warm and cosy and can only warmly recommend a stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    I booked at the last minute and was delighted with the price and the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn't great. It kept logging off and was not high speed. There was a lot of noise on the corridor at night. The bar person was confused at times about maths and billing!

    Loved the location and the view from the balcony area. Room was clean and bathroom facilities were spotless. Reception staff and domestic staff were so friendly and courteous. The door man was wonderful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Unforgettable stay in "Vatican City"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel Bar was closed when I stayed. (Because it was off-season)

    Unforgettable stay in "Vatican City"! Clean & Simple room. Very very close to St. Peter's Basilica. There is souvenir shop nearby. Good restaurant is close to the hotel. Staff are so kind and supportive. No occupancy tax.(because this hotel located in Vatican City, not Rome)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location to visit the Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time for us in this hotel, it is very nice little hotel, with excellent location to the Vatican and walking distance to other Roman sights. Clean, peaceful place with good breakfast. Nice views from the terrace to the St. Paul's cathedral

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    more work on quality standards for guests
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too little regional products from the market - too much from the super market.The breakfasts were better years ago. Old towels. The rooms smell of chemicalsThe quality of the hotel stopped.General Manager does not understand the word: strategy and quality. Even the best location needs good work on quality. I suggest more respect for the regular guests and for the beautiful location!

    Professional and friendly service. Nice service, I go back to this hotel for 20 years. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    A perfect start to our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection.

    While rooms were small everything was spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water in shower. Loved the bath products. Location was perfect for us. Staff was super helpful and assisted us in booking a car for travel to the port. Internet was sometimes spotty but mostly reliable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Very close to basilica in Vatican -I can't even imagine...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to basilica in Vatican -I can't even imagine the closer place. Very clean, elegant and silent. The view from the bar charming and unforgettable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Overall the stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable, they were rather hard.

    The view from the rooftop was amazing. The breakfast room was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    More than I expected.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is comfortable, friendly and accommodating. Our arrival was the only negative experience, but it wasn't the fault of the property - it just so happened that the time we arrived at the place, the audience with the Pope was not over yet, so the road to the front of the property was blocked off by the police, and we have to ask help from the bellhop to pick up our luggage for about 200 meters uphill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again, would just get larger/better room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Room was not cleaned properly one night. 2) Bedding and towels had hair from someone else on it - Gross! Staff fixed immediately. 3) Hop on/Hop off buses should come closer to the Vatican - Long Walk!

    1) Location was awesome! 2) Dinner meal was excellent 3) Helpful and very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    A Room with a View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress is quite firm, but otherwise a beautifully spacious room with magnificent views.

    Location, location, location...we were here for a close family friend's priesthood ordination so our focus was St. Peter's Basilica which was merely 15 steps from this hotel. With only 35 rooms, the staff became very familiar with our needs and could not have been more helpful with restaurant and transportation reservations. Each morning we would gather at the breakfast room, decorated like an elegant hotel, and enjoy a bountiful breakfast buffet. Julia, one of the hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly to our party of seven. The upper roof terrace was the evening destination, as all of St. Peter's Square was illuminated and we would gather for wine, dessert or appetizer. The gathering spaces and reception areas allowed our group to have a comfortable area to sit back, relax and discuss the day's plans.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location for a visit to St. Peter's Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our favorite hotel of the trip. It is located across the street from St. Peter's Square. The room was a charming European hotel room with the corridors lined with pictures of Popes. The rooftop terrace overlooks The Basilica. It was spectacular at night! We loved our entire stay. It was worth the money to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Scored big with other family members as they felt extremely happy with my hotel choice
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hardness of the bed mattress was the one and only downfall.

    First, the location to St Peter's Basilica couldn't have been any better for our needs. The hotel staff were extremely helpful in securing transportation needs and both breakfast and snacks and wine on the terrace added so much to our multi-family gatherings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    The bathroom shower had a forceful, easy to regulate spray.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower had a forceful, easy to regulate spray. The clothing armoire offered enough space and hangers for 7 days of clothing. Location could not be any more perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    our stay was fabulous-couldn't ask for better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! I thought it was terrific!

    Everything! The staff was so friendly and helpfuland the facility was so clean! I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Clean, modern, updated, perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. No complaints! And the hotel is located right next to the Vatican, literally like 50 ft. max.

    Out of a 10 day trip in Europe, the one night we spent here was THE BEST! We should have just spent all our nights at this hotel. The hotel was very clean, updated, modern, simple. They didn't go over the top with anything and didn't have to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel very close to the Vatican. Small rooms, but still nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very small.

    Breakfast was good. The terrace and the bar/food service at night was really nice. The close proximity to the Vatican was amazing, being able to see it from the balcony. The daily word was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous Hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant Menu, and quality, No reason for Frozen Foods

    Other than a little more Room and the Restaurant better Quality Food, don't change a thing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been a little better. It would have nice to have the choice of fried eggs and less sweet croissants.

    The furnishings and cleaniness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Bad value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are extremely small and unpleasantly decorated (they do not reflect the pictures). Also there is a reason why the hotel doesn't show any pictures from outside - not nice at all! I would definitely not recommend this hotel - very bad value for money. There are much better offers in Rome!

    Location was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Our stay was wonderful here, we could not have asked for anything more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like, except only two plugins behind the end tables to charge our phones, etc. All in all, I wouldn't change a thing.

    Could not have been a more perfect spot to enjoy the Vatican 🇻🇦. Reception was great upon our arrival, we were able to check in early so that we could enjoy Vatican City awhile longer. The views from the balcony were spectacular! The breakfast was more than you could ask for. Just perfect for our last day in Roma!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    This is a first rate hotel located about 50 feet from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a first rate hotel located about 50 feet from the start of the Vatican circle. it is a little on the stuffy side but as should be expected for the location and price. the staff was both cordial and informative. the property was clean and well appointed and was in one of the best area's in Rome as far as I'm concerned for both shopping and just getting lost in one of Rome's neighborhoods. the roof top bar with views of the Vatican building was a must at night as was the stroll around the Vatican at night, great views and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent clean and comfortable hotel with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was somewhat sober compared to other hotels, but still satisfied our needs.

    Excellent view on the bar terrace, the rooms were cool despite a 38 degree celsius outside. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room furnishings were simple and I had hoped for a view of St.Peter's Square but this was not the case. It is expensive for the hotel you get, but the location makes up for the price.

    Literally across the road from St.Peter's Square. Great view from the terrace where you can get a drink from 4pm. Close enough to the rest of the sights to walk. We only took a taxi once (to the Colosseum) and it cost 10EURO. Lovely staff, very helpful. Nice clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of Vatican gift shop below hotel. Many tourists by hotel entry way. Parking is approximately a 5 minute walk away in a garage.

    The view overlooking St. Peter's is breathtaking. Hotel has great features and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    recommended for visiting Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is extremely small with tiny windows late check out is not allowed no view from rooms

    Amazing location The view from terrace Smiley and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location,Very friendly hotel.Righly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space inside the room was too congested and so was the bathroom.

    The location was the best you could ask for and we could see the St.Peters Basilica from our window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The crowds and heat.

    It is across the street from the Vatican and St.Peter's. Fantastic location. Very good breakfast. Excellent staff and very quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Literally next-door to the St. Peter's Basilica
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't say I didn't like it, but the rooms were small and pricier than available accommodation in the area (but no other hotel is excellently situated like the Residenza). The lights in the rooms are yellow lights rather than white so it gave a bit of an eerie feel. Breakfast is served not at the terrace - it would have been better if one could have breakfast with that amazing view.

    Location, location, location! The terrace has an amazing view of the St Peter's Square. We saw the Pope and heard him during his Sunday Angelus from the terrace. It was an amazing experience without having to stand waiting under the heat of the sun. The hotel is literally across the Square and very convenient for when one wants to go to the Basilica. Excellent reception staff. Great staff at the Terrace restaurant. The rooms are impeccably clean, the facilities may be basic but fit for purpose.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful rooms, bit classy ( might be too classy for many). Very clean. Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing available. The external ironing service was not available for urgency request, that is: a request at 4 pm for an asap ironing of 5 shirts could only be met with only 1 ironed shirt next day 11 am. While the in-room info states a complimentary mini-bar, there was no mini-bar at all!

    Very clean bathroom (and room). The friendly staff. The location and the roof terrace with view of Saint Peter.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Best boutique hotel to visit the Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served on the roof top Terrace, what a disappointing menu and quality!

    Excellent boutique hotel right on the walls of Saint Peter Square, the place to stay if your visit purpose is to be at the Vatican or visit the Vatican. Magnificent view from the roof top Terrace!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small and strong smelling in my room. Breakfast is so so.

    Best location for visiting Vatican, just outside of St Peter square. Sataffs are extremely nice and always happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.7
    If you're only after location, go here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for two people and old bed linen. Felt like a match box accomodation. Oh and they don't give you a press to iron clothes coz it is hazardous, and that is too bizarre.

    Location takes it all. Plus the fact that you'll be in the building that has Filipino embassy. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Right in the vaticans door step
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double guest rooms were tiny as tiny can be . The triple room had a little more space as the second bed had its own half room. The rooms are sparsely decorated .

    On our taxi ride we realized how amazingly close we actually were to the Vatican !!The staff as we arrived were quite curteous. Leading up to our rooms was as a wonderful bar area with a patio looking right on to St. Peter's square . Cocktails and snacks served from 4pm until 12 midnight !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Rezidenza Paola VI was the perfect hotel for a perfect vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything we didn't like; however, we returned to the hotel early one night to have dinner and go to bed early, just to find out that the restaurant and terrace were closed. One of the staff at the front desk was extremely nice and managed to get us a sandwich, but it would have been nice to been told ahead of time that it would be closed.

    We loved most everything about the hotel. The hotel staff was awesome. Everyone was very welcoming, friendl, and helpful. The accommodations were great, very clean and comfortable. The view of St. Peter's from the terrace was great. We looked forward to the delicious breakfast every morning. It was a great way to start the day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic trip to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on--liked it all!

    The historical aspect of the hotel, super friendly & helpful staff & terrific terrace with spectacular view not to mention the best location to the Vatican/ St. Peters

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    I liked most the short distance from St. Peter's Basilica (a stone throw), the Vatican Museums, St. Angelo's Castle, the city-tour buses stop, restaurants and cafés. I loved the view to the Basilica and the Pope's quarters from the restaurant's terrace. The staff is polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    6.7
    Nice people, great location, clean, but uncomfortable room.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was absolutely tiny and extremely uncomfortable. Double bed pushed against wall, so had to clamber over wife to get out of bed if needed the toilet at night, which meant waking her up every time. No bedside table due to being against the wall, but shelf over the headboard instead. Great for holding a bottle of water, but made it impossible to sit up in bed as shelf jabbed into your back. No desk. No kettle. Basically if all you were using room for was sleeping (mattress and bed itself were fine) then you would be OK, but I would not want to spend any other time in there.

    Location for St Peters and Vatican fantastic, OK for rest of Rome. Breakfast decent, and all hotel was spotlessly clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay for visiting the Vatican!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to see many of the other attractions of Rome it is a good distance from them. Easy to take taxis around town (ALWAYS make sure they run the meter). We got tricked by a taxi driver the first day we were in town who charge me 30 euros for a trip from Vatican museum to the Spanish steps.

    Location, Location, Location. If you are doing anything around the Vatican, such as a Papal Audience, this is the place to be. Literally steps to St. Peters and the Vatican. The staff are incredibly helpful and accommodating. We let them know we were on our honeymoon and they threw in some free champagne on the rooftop bar that has an incredible view. One of my favorite places we stayed during our trip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is simply perfect ! Staff very friendly and simpatic ! Room very clean and comfortable ! You cross the street and are in the St. Peter square.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small with shower but no bath. Room was next to reception so fairly noisy late at night and early morning. My real bugbear was tinned fruit salad, at breakfast, I hate it. Has the chef lost the recipe for fresh fruit salad? A minor thing I know, but for a hotel of this quality and price, a disappointment.

    Location was excellent. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful short break in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor issue was that once breakfast had finished at 10.30am there was no bar or refreshments service until after 4pm.

    Fabulous location and helpful staff!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't very comfortable but the room was clean

    Location was amazing. The view of st Peters from the bar/ restaurant was jaw dropping. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Charming hotel, steps from the Vatican!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel, comfortable beds, great complimentary breakfast, wonderful location, the balcony outside the bar was very nice. We saw the Pope giving his Christmas Day blessing from the balcony. Convenient to great restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Small but comfort room, comfortable beds, continental...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small but comfort room, comfortable beds, continental breakfast, friendly staff. If your goal - St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican, if you plan to spend more time in the Eternal City, but not in the room, then this hotel is for you. And be sure to go up at the evening on a terrace with a breathtaking view of the dome of the Basilica.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Unbelievable value in a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great breakfast buffet, clean and comfortable (small) room and bathroom. The location could not be improved upon, literally within a stone's throw of St Peter's. The staff is friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    A jewel across the street from The Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be replaced, lumpy and difficult for my husband to get in and out

    Convenient location, across the street from the Vatican. Rooftop garden to see Pope Francis and hear the Papal Blessing on Sunday. Walk to local restaurants and shop.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Third Time to Rome and Loved this Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all very helpful and courteous. Our room was nice, quiet and comfortable. Our friends room (114) had a view of the Vatican and the roof top terrace is really nice. You can't beat the location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Don't miss this special spot to make your Rome experience perfect!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I relied on the website photos when choosing a room. The single/double classic room was tiny and not as well appointed as it appeared in the photo. In my case I was pleased to get any room for that particular weekend - but I would upgrade when returning.

    The location was perfect and the staff was most accommodating and pleasant.The terrace was particularly delightful - especially brunch. All in all a very good experience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    5.0
    Waste of money
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. Beds are small and very hard , uncomfortable pillows hard. Breakfast was bad bread stale really nothing to choose from. Fruit was orange and pear . Would be good for backpacker.

    Staff were helpful. Building was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Exceptional 5 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would of liked to of had a converter for 110, maybe the office could get one so that guests could borrow one if they forgot.

    The staff were so helpful, I will stay there again no questions asked. Next time we would get a jr suite if it had the luxury of a bath tub.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Great place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    our room overlooked St. Peter's square and Bascillica. The room was very clean. The bed was hard, but most of the beds in Europe are. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and very good, the waitress remembered my hot tea every morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    It was unforgettably lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. The staff was friendly and the room so clean. I would highly recommend this lovely place to my friends and family when they go to Rome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    On the doorstep of the Vatican!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was interesting!!! Especially the one to the breakfast room.

    Staff at the reception desk were all very helpful. Excellent service available for a hire car to tour the city of Rome. We had a wonderful day being driven in comfort to see Piazzas, fountains, Roman ruins around the city. The Terrace bar although small had a wonderful view and staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    We totally loved the location and the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We totally loved the location and the terrace. The staff was extremely helpful to answer all our questions and assist us in any which way they could of. I would stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Authentic Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick a fault, it would be tea making facilities not in our room which we like.

    Really authentic place to stay in Rome. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Perfect location and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location couldn't be beat, and the free breakfast was delicious! Also, the staff was very helpful and quick to answer any question we had. As Catholics, this place couldn't get any better; the location was perfect, and the staff slipped the daily gospel (in English) underneath our door before we woke up. I saw other guests who spoke different languages and the daily gospel was given to them in their respective language.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing! will definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved everything!

    balcony view amazing! Free and plentiful snacks when purchasing drinks on the terrace, very friendly staff, lots to choose from at breakfast including good tea and coffee. Free water in mini bar in room, refill shampoos and shower gel every day in room, daily Gospel pushed under the door in our language was a lovely touch. Great air con in room. free slippers in room :) very secure and safe location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant location, wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was on the small side but I had a very comfy bed, and slept soundly. Very welcome air conditioning. Good bathroom and toiletries.

    The Terrace was blissful, overlooking St Peter's Square. Breakfast was great! Such a good spread! Cereals, juices, yoghurt, croissant, pastries, bread, fresh fruit, dried fruit, cheeses, hams, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon etc etc ! Staff always helpful and friendly. Simple but elegant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location for St Peter's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very pricey in the evening so we only had drinks which were pricey as well.

    The hotel was very nice and the staff very friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. The triple room was great for our fsmily of three - we slept very well there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    Affordable & nice, close to St Peter's Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little bit firm. We were disappointed that we couldn't go out onto the terrace to sit with our drinks in the evening, but this was due to St Peter's security.

    Lovely place to stay, we had a very spacious room and the location was about as close to St Peter's square as you can get! The outside sitting area of the bar had a great view and was beautiful at night when St Peter's was lit up. Great breakfast, we were travelling with a group and they had some nice big tables in their dining room, which was nice that we could sit together.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residenza Paolo VI traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: