Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza Porta Guelfa

Via Ponte Delle Tavole 2, 06031 Bevagna, Italy

#1 of 8 hotels in Bevagna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Residenza Porta Guelfa is quaint and charming accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outdoor furniture is a little tired and worn and needs renewing and updating.

    The location of Residenza Porta Guelfa in close proximity to the Old Town of Bevagna was great and within walking distance. We found it to be very clean and well serviced and the staff very welcoming and friendly. We even got to pick and eat fresh cherries from their cherry tree, it was such a special treat. We LUVD that the Umbria Region is not so touristy, the cafe and store owners and restauranteurs in the Old Town are so welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and close to town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have been more comforatble. It was short, even my feet hung off a bit and I'm not a tall person. There was some dust in the corners and small cobwebs. The turkish bath smelled musty and could use a good wash down with vinegar or something cleansing.

    Very good breakfast with warm, whole grain croissants, plain whole yogurt, meats and cheeses, tea and coffee. Well stocked mini kitchen in the apartment with stainless steel pans (Nice that there was no scratched up non-stick!) The option to use the spa and turkish bath was great especially in winter to help warm you up. An easy walk into town! Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Must Stay for any one who comes to bevagna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easily the best stay in Italy...Unbelievable dreamy place out of the movies. Add the location to it and you have a winner. Mikael, who was the Manager along with Piero did an amazing job of ensuring that everything was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Great stay, wish we had more time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were extremely pleased with our stay - the staff went above and beyond to be helpful and the location was absolutely stunning. We used the Residenza as our headquarters to visit a few of the nearby towns and it turned out to be perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.8
    Most relaxing and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    weather turned cool so missed out on a swim in the lovely pool. No fault of the property.

    Michael was so helpful and informative, assisted with any question with a smile and a chat. Property is exactly as pictures show and is just outside of the town walls. Easy drive to many surrounding towns, great vineyards close by and great restaurants in town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Perfect base for Umbria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer turned itself off if I moved too much when drying my hair.

    Perfect base to explore Umbria. Lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds, with plenty of parking and only 5 minutes walk from Bevagna. Miguele is a charming and helpful host. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    10
    delightful and most relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (3 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the pool surrounding could have been more attractive . Having said that the Pool was sparkling . More information of the surrounding towns would have been helpful. WiFi was poor

    We loved our room with balcony over looking Bevagne . The room was very simply decorated but so in keeping with the surroundings. Spacious and a separate lounge /dining . Good bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Umbria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bevagna is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding countryside and we were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. The apartment was perfect for our requirements and it was great to have use of a swimming pool. Very good location - 2 min walk to town. Very nice host.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Convenient to beautiful biking and hiking paths, bikes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to beautiful biking and hiking paths, bikes available at the hotel. The manager, Piero, could not have been better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money in Umbria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable,large rooms with nice view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Quiet rural location very close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    good breakfast delivered to your room. very close to town centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Lovely experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Excellent courtesy , excellent service and amazing view from the room! A wonderful stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Superb stay with fantastic host
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting. The hosts were super friendly and helpful. Top.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    Generous and warm host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Storage for our cases were a little limited, but it was a minor issue.

    Generous and warm host. Beautiful views overlooking pool from our apartment. The town is within 5 minutes walk of the property.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    -Great location with easy walk to the center of Bevagna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -Rooms were on the warmer side and a/c is centrally controlled (isn't turned on until June 1). Our room had a private terrace so we opened the door to let some air in (not many mosquitos). Overall, not a big issue.

    -Great location with easy walk to the center of Bevagna (300m) -Michele is a fantastic host, very friendly and cordial. -Grounds are clean and peaceful. -Ability to easily access other towns in the Umbria area, very centrally located. -Quiet, country feel. -Breakfast is brought directly to your room and is more than ample. -Free parking. -Clean pool.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location for visiting Bevagna and for getting to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything.

    Excellent location for visiting Bevagna and for getting to neighboring towns. Micheale, our host, was most welcoming, gracious, and helpful. The property is very lovely and well cared for.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Strange room layout. The room was not clean enough, with spider webs in all sort of places. Bad breakfast. You can hear the road from the room. We reserved a baby bed, and we got a camping crib, without any mattress, so it was very uncomfortable for our baby.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    Great location, just outside the old town walls, a two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, just outside the old town walls, a two minute walk to the old historic centre, so best of both worlds, easy parking and close to this beautiful little town. Michaele the owner takes great pride in his Residenza. The gardens, the grounds and the buildings are very well maintained. Comfortable room, very clean, all set up for self catering, simple breakfast in our room with a warm pastry fresh from the bakers. Kettle and coffee machine much appreciated. The swimming pool looked wonderful, but as only early April, not warm enough for a swim.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Excellent location, just outside the Bevagna town wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, just outside the Bevagna town wall. Excellent, secure parking. Comfortable rooms with cooking facilities. Sauna, large spa and swimming pool all on site, free, and in excellent condition. Great breakfast choices, including your own coffee capsule machine. Michael is a great host, and is very helpful in arranging wine and olive oil tasting opportunities. He has a good grasp of English. The associated Mura restaurant has an excellent, good value Umbrian menu, and good wine selection. Our week here was like a home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    The location just outside the "town gate" meant it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location just outside the "town gate" meant it was close to the sights and restaurants. Our room had a separate sitting area and was spacious. A great base for touring the area.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in Residenza Porta Guelfa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful stay in Residenza Porta Guelfa. The location is superb, the rooms are really more like small apartments with plenty of space and there are all the facilities you could need / want. But what really added to our time there was the kindness and hospitality of Michele (the owner) and his wife- they constantly went above and beyond and treated us as though we were friends staying with them. We can't wait to go back.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Perfectly placed within easy drive to all destinations,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfectly placed within easy drive to all destinations, walking to the old city. Great room and facilities, nice pool,very friendly staff and above all Michelle the owner, charming man and great host.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow wifi and no connection at poolside.

    Lovely breakfast. Clean, safe and secure facility. Bikes to borrow (although needs some service...). Friendly and warm staff. Nice pool.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    We have spent two weeks in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We have spent two weeks in the hotel. Actually, we had two room apartment in a separate building together with small private terrace/garden. The place was extremely comfortable for us - also for our dog, who spent fantastic holidays there;-) There is large, very nice garden which was very important for our dog. The owners - Michele and Maria wery extremely friendly and helpful - they made our stay very enjoyable. The localization of the hotel is very good - on the outskirts of nice town with choice of restaurants. On the other hand - Bevagna is in the middle of Umbria so most of interesting places to visit is in range of half-day trip.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The location so close to Bevagna (within walking distance)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast especially cornetti could have been better.

    The location so close to Bevagna (within walking distance) and the beautiful surrounding countryside.. Staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Delicious breakfast brought to the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None

    Delicious breakfast brought to the room. Washing up and beds made for us. Excellent surroundings. Bikes available. Owner always around for whatever was needed.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    The rooms were very clean and the staff was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were very clean and the staff was lovely. We had a great excursion to the nearby town of Bevagna!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location, Very easy walk to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, Very easy walk to downtown. Apartment comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful view, excellent and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Average breakfast.

    Beautiful view, excellent and quiet location. Very friendly host. Spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Michael is a wonderful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Michael is a wonderful host. The accommodations are great.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location for Bevagna and other places in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for Bevagna and other places in the area. Calm atmosphere and private apartments. Owner very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and friendly owner. Location close to village and quiet. Well kept pool.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Location was great just outside Bevagna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Location was great just outside Bevagna. Lovely rooms, very comfortable. Pool and spa very clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    The garden with pool, and the short distanse to the venter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garden with pool, and the short distanse to the venter

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    Clean and tidy both in our suite and outside of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing !

    Clean and tidy both in our suite and outside of it.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Quiet location, within easy walking distance of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location, within easy walking distance of the town. Free parking. Comfortable, large room. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    everything

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Residenza Porta Guelfa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: