Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza D'Epoca Palazzo Magi

Via XX Settembre 160-162, 52037 Sansepolcro, Italy

#2 of 14 hotels in Sansepolcro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    The owner was extra helpful - provided us with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected a "Palazzo", probably unreasonably, but got instead a place that could have been decorated and maintained better.

    The owner was extra helpful - provided us with an alternative route to Sansepolcro (necessary as the normal routes from where we were were either blocked or impassable), guided our driver to the parking area (again very helpful as many roads in the town center are closed to tourists), gave us suggestions for restaurants, and directions to places to visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable in grand but slightly faded style, charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment a charming hotel an manager.

    The manageress, Sophia was very hospitable and relaxed so a delightful place to wind down. Our room was huge and stunning, and cool in the extreme heat. Quiet yet in the centre of the old town, quite beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Lovely boutique well appointed old hotel. Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely boutique hotel offering friendly and specialised service. The rooms are huge and really well appointed. Excellent breakfast and the whole experience was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    The host is a real gem,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The host, sofia, is a real gem. Very service minded and friendly, and always with a smile and a chat. We stayed twice , one year apart, and both were excellent stays. First time, we got upgrade. Second time, our flight was canceled and we had 24 hours delay, but sofia was able to host us the next day at her last room at no extra cost, even though our original reservation was past the cancelation deadline. She also offered to get us from the bus stop as it was raining. And gave good restaurant recommendations. All rooms are different, but both rooms we had were special. One was very very large, i mean enormous. The other small, but at the roof top with 360 degrees view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    excellente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous stay... the hotel is so comfortable and beautifully furnished... the best accommodation so far on this trip ... Sophia was an absolute delight... our stay was so relaxing ... wished we had stayed longer... felt like and treated like we were staying in a palace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    The room was palatial with a huge comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was palatial with a huge comfortable bed. Beautiful Egyptian prints in the hall. In the main street of this gem of a town. And Sofia, the chatelaine, who speaks perfect English and could not be nicer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Super Sansepolcro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sansepolcro is a gem, nothing to dislike. Fantastic experience!!!

    Sofia was wonderful. Very helpful with ideas of what to visit and making reservations for us. Great breakfast!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    location, very convenient to visit Borgo Sanseplocro and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast: more variety would be better

    location, very convenient to visit Borgo Sanseplocro and Tevere valley

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    This is an exquisite and unique place to stay. I highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything great!

    The manager is excellent and very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Big room and big comfy bed right in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Spacious room. Fantastic shower. Good location and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Excellent breakfast, very approachable and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    A very nice hotel, with a familiar atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was very friendly, breakfast good, room comfortable, large bed, big bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Sofia is very friendly and welcoming; location is excellent; magnificent room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size and decor of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Un posto squisito e memorabile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Era tutto perfetto!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sofia the manager was extremely well informed and helpful. She had good suggestions for tourism and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    LOVE!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing. Beautiful hotel I. A wonderful city

    Loved it!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    An interesting historical hotel in the heart of the down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit hard to find the place

    An interesting historical hotel in the heart of the down. We got an upgrade to suite, so the room was huge.Good breakfast, everything is clean.The owner Sofia is English-speaking and makes a woderful atmosphere for the guests.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    The entire experience at Palazzo Magi could not have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not one thing!

    The entire experience at Palazzo Magi could not have been better! From the friendly staff, the amazing hotel (rooms, decor, cleanliness) and the perfect location helped to make our first trip to Sansepolcro an amazing experience. As our travel dates changed during our trip, Sofia was extremely gracious to allow us to check out a day early, which was the same day we notified her. We wished we could have stayed longer but we will definitely be back! **The pictures of the hotel on the website seemed too good to be true but they were true!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    Sophia, the manager, was friendly, engaging, and a real...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sophia, the manager, was friendly, engaging, and a real wonder. Located near the Municipal museum and the Duomo. Free parking and near good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    10
    Charming hotel in the middle of Sansepulcro's old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming hotel in the middle of Sansepulcro's old city. It doesn't feel like a tourist town, but like a contemporary, living, breathing real community. And of course it was home in the 15th century to Piero della Francesca, one of the greatest painters who ever lived. Some of his best paintings there are what brought us to this town. It was a lot of fun to stay in this unique hotel which has trompe l'oeil painting on the walls. There is an unusual communal space on each level (including a pool table on one floor). In the morning there was a full-on array of home-made breakfast pastries and mind-blowing fresh organic juices, plus all the cappuccinos we wanted. Relais Palazzo Magi offered the most generous hospitality of any hotel I've ever encountered. While my husband waited in the lobby with the luggage, the manager of the hotel left her desk and drove with me to park my car in a free public lot nearby. While parking I grazed a curb, which consisted of stones with extremely sharp edges, and I got a flat tire. She said, Never mind, I'll change the tire for you myself. And she did, the next day, while her two-year old looked on. What a woman! And the restaurants she recommended were world class. She made eating well easy. Check out Osteria il Giardino di Piero. The hotel, the food and the manager were extraordinary.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are on the street side of the absolute quiet pedestrian street you can have the early morning noise of the cleaning truck of the municipality and/or the market twice a week.

    Do not expect a lot of luxury but instead you get loads of charm in this old palazzo in the centro storico. The lady owner is absolutely wonderful and let you feel as if you are family. The staff is super friendly. On the breakfast buffet lovely cake made by the owner. The old center of Sancrepolco has a lot of high quality shops and good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely nothing!

    Everything! I loved my time here This elegant hotel is in the centre of the historic town. It is tastefully refurbished so the experience matches the title of a palace! I had a huge room with comfortable bed, full lounge suite, great storage facilities. Bathroom with spa bath and bidet and a real hair drier not a fan attached to the wall! . Best of all the hospitality was so warm and helpful. Sofia even drove me to Montecasale and then collected me after my visit. Felt like a friend not a visitor.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    Very old and grand palazzo in the centre of Sansepolcro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room / bathroom cleaning could have been more thorough; provision of previously used shampoo and shower gel bottles was poor, especially given the price of the room. In need of some modernisation.

    Very old and grand palazzo in the centre of Sansepolcro. Staff refined, very friendly and helpful. If you like staying in antique buildings, this is for you

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice family driven hotel with the design and atmosphere of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi not working well and no air condition in the room. Bed could have been more comfortable.

    Nice family driven hotel with the design and atmosphere of the old historic centre of Sansepolcro. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, great ambiance, ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't dislike anything although I found the shelving in the bathroom difficult to reach as I'm rather short!

    Very helpful staff, great ambiance, ideal location.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.6
    A very easy place to stay and see - once you get there by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The main reason for the visit was to see the 'Resurrection' fresco but it is undergoing a major restoration which will be completed in 2017. I would have liked to have been told this but in all the websites there was no information at all. Also some information about public transport would have been very helpful

    A very easy place to stay and see - once you get there by public transport!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    Great service, beautiful room, and huge!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Can't say anything bad about this restaurant. Perhaps a little more fresh fruit at breakfast? But the coffees made up for it!

    Great service, beautiful room, and huge! Perfect,y located in the centre of the historic town. Wifi worked perfect,y, and was fast, but from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated very specially.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.6
    All the local restaurants were booked when we arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the local restaurants were booked when we arrived because it was Valentine's Day and we couldn't get a reservation. So the proprietor added us to a party at the hotel and cooked a lovely gourmet meal -taking responsibility and going out of her way when it wasn't expected. A real treat!! ar

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    Sophie, the manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Sophie, the manager.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    10
    Hostess Sofia is a nice, hostable, responsive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hostess Sofia is a nice, hostable, responsive. Location is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.6
    The size and decoration of the room, & indeed the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found the pillow a little unyielding.

    The size and decoration of the room, & indeed the whole property!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    8.8
    Not much soun proofing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much soun proofing. Needs some soft furnishing to absorb the noise.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Right in the town centre and.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right in the town centre and. Dry convenient when the festival was on.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Town center location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Town center location. Close to a number of restaurants and shops. Very helpfull friendly manager

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    very kind to take to the bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would choose two single beds next time

    very kind to take to the bus I am very pleased I will come back to you any time

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location, upgraded to a lovely airy room, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, upgraded to a lovely airy room, very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    owner, location, comfort, Piero, Il Rosso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    owner, location, comfort, Piero, Il Rosso

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful room (upgraded to a suite), center location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful room (upgraded to a suite), center location, friendly staff, close to Monterchi..the best of Piero della Francesca

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    8.8
    The location and friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    Play eight ball
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not special

    Play eight ball

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Very large, elegantly decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very large, elegantly decorated room. We were made to feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Superb cakes for breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Superb cakes for breakfast!

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Residenza D'Epoca Palazzo Magi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: