Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BnB Residenza d Epoca il Casato

Via Giovanni Duprè 126 , 53100 Siena, Italy

#81 of 98 B&Bs and Inns in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 431 B&B reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are fairly basically furnished and a little tired, but for the location and price it's ok..although it's a historical building you won't find the frescoes seen in the ad there - these are from city sights. The hotel itself has a simple well worn finish albeit with some character

    Very pleasant receptionist, excellent central location in a stunning medieval city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plenty. If I could have left (got my money back), I would have left. The bed was like sleeping on cardboard. The disco runs into the early morning, as do loud voices in the street. Feels like a masoleum. Just not my thing. There is not a stick of nature in that entire town. But that's what a large fortress in an Italian town is like, I guess. Breakfast was really nothing.

    Staff was nice and accommodating. Once you got to the third floor room up stairs with luggage, there was a back door to another street, so no more stairs were needed to climb. My European friend loved it; as an American, I found it dreary, no decorations and a bit run down, and the town claustrophobic. This would be ok, except it was a very expensive place that required payment beforehand with no refunds!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the fact that the breakfast was delivered to my room at exactly the time I’d requested. I appreciated the advice from staff regarding a good place for dinner....just a very short walk from the residence. The building is old but so interesting. I loved the cherubim floating across the ceiling in my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding accomodation. Right in the Center of Siena. It was like living in a old Castle. Natrural air condition, because the heat was cooled by the thick walls. Very helpfull staff. Breakfeast in the garden, looking over the City. Very romantic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the information on Booking.com wasn't clear that reception was closed at certain times during the day. Breakfast was served in the room but with little choice and limited items. For a breakfast for two there could be 3 croissants, and only one cream cheese for example. Bathroom was very dated.

    The location was very central and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No desk staff at night and from 1300 - 1500hrs Steps Bathrooms need a good renovation- small showers and no place to put your soap & shampoo, except the floor - just bad ! the owners should use the bathroom & shower to know what their customers have to go thu. Breakfast - much to be desired.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down. Linens gray with too much washing. Very basic bed linens. Seemed grimey. Very much a budget operation. Breakfast basic and poor quality - stale pastries and low quality juice.

    Location for sightseeing and proximity to parking. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to not like if, as a tourist, you remember that these buildings are hundreds of years old with a history of many other experiences. Consequently, this is not the Hilton...you will walk up flights of stairs with your luggage, you may bump your head or trip on a two-inch rise...these are the CHARMS of a hotel in Siena, not negatives. You will never find or enjoy this experience anywhere else in the world except here, in this special and unique place!

    I loved the unique experience of staying in a hotel that was once a Nobleman's house. The frescoes and inlaid floor in the upper entrance are particularly special. But oh, the garden! This little gem is a haven of peace and beauty, viewed from several of the rooms and available to all guests. The green wrought iron benches supply a perch for contemplating the morning with a coffee and croissant in hand. The stonework, ironwork, and especially the fountain and the wonderfully whimsical dog protecting his property from above, are charming touches that create a cozy and peaceful experience. Inside the hotel, the rooms are decorated in a regal style with touches of medieval and renaissance motifs, from the pictures on the walls to the tapestry headboards and cameo frescoes of cherubic angels on the ceilings. The location couldn't be more perfect for exploring the center of Siena...simply walk about four blocks straight down to Il Campo. There are also several restaurants within easy walking distance with outdoor tables to enjoy the rising moon or the stream of strolling Italians and tourists.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is served in the room whenever you want until 9:30, which could sound fancy; but it can be improved in terms of quality. But who cares, you'll be eating great Italian/Tuscan food meters away!

    Location was excellent - few minutes walk from Il Campo. The hotel is beside a Michelin-rated restaurant, among other restaurants and museums, yet it is a quiet area of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful! I visited Siena on a lean season and so they gave me a family room with a terrace, which was a wonderful place to read, sunbathe, and have breakfast. So thank you for that! The hotel is a villa converted into a hotel. There is so much character to it so you feel like you are taken back in time. There is a reading room and big rooms. The main hall looks like a museum. If you are not into "period hotels" and more into modern ones, then this is not for you. But if you are into character, then this hotel has it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though we could have taken a different room, we chose the twin with direct access to the terrace. But the room is really too small for 2 adults. The breakfast was what we expected but the cappucino was very poor. The bathroom was very small. The beds had only 1 pillow each, not adequate.

    The location is perfect for access to the piazza il campo. Lovely old building with some incredible frescoes and paintings.. The garden and terrace were great. The shower was strong and hot. Very nice girl on reception. If you like 14th century buildings, this is the place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in could use a little updating. For example, the paint in the shower was pieling and the beds felt really worn in and the two beds pushed together were different heights so that was kind of uncomfortable.

    The location was perfect. Right in the middle of the city. Also, the hotel itself was very cute and had frescoes on the ceiling. They brought breakfast to your room so I loved the convenience of that. I also loved the view from our window!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like about the place.

    What a wonderful old building. If you want to feel like you are in ancient Florence this is the place to stay. The room was comfy, the bathroom clean, and the breakfast was delivered to our room when we called for it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would benefit from a small kettle in each room with coffee (like ready made nestles, latte mix), tea , milk & sugar & a few biscutes would also be nice... there one in a communal room but the boling late at night can be noisy... I like a warm drink before bed!! & when I wake...

    Very central, excellent location, lovely staff, interesting & romantic setting, even to be there with friends & family! I will definatly be going back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could do with some updating. WiFi not available in room

    lovely old building with beautiful architectural features. Nice terrace area. Very convenient for the historic centre. Breakfast was better than expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very steep flights of steps were a challenge, unfortunately fitting a lift to a house of this age is not possible. The bathroom is also small for the same reason.

    The receptionist was exceptional, helped with cases to room, recommended restaurants, organised taxi. The 14th century building is just beautiful. The included breakfast served in room. Two separate street entrances - two different streets - was a good find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for me.

    In a great position in Siena. Only a few minutes to the Campo, Duomo and the school I attended for language and cooking classes. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast delivered to room each morning. Close to restaurants, bars, shops. Plenty to see in a lovely area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An exceptional place to stay! thoroughly recommend it and would definitely not hesitate to stay here again. Super nice and helpful staff, beautiful room and hotel grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower had moldy caulking, could use some TLC. Property could use a good deep cleaning.

    Historic building with a lovely courtyard garden. Close to il Campo and other major sites. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was authentic and just what we wanted for our trip to Sienna. Tiny front entrance that opens up into another world. Amazing inside. Staff were very welcoming throughout our stay. Fresh croissants and coffee for breakfast. comfortable, large bed. Will recommend to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c. Wifi was poor. Not open 1:00pm to 3:30pm daily.

    The view was great. The staff were nice. The rooms were adequate. Breakfast was delivered to the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, tiny room. Very run down - bathroom needed a paint, shower doors didn't work well, tiny shower which leaked onto floor. Wifi doesn't work in rooms.

    Great location, value for money OK

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather did become cold at times and the room could have done with some heating.

    A nice breakfast which was included was brought to my room which also had door to a rooftop terrace where I could eat it surrounded by medieval buildings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very cramped and the wireless Internet signal was too weak inside the room (possible to connect in other areas but not ideal). The toilet seat was broken and the sink drain a little blocked - little touches that could be improved.

    Lovely staff, good location and a nice, fresh breakfast served in the bedroom. The building has plenty of character and the room was both spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was more for a child, not exactly king size and a bit shaky, but good. Some furnitures in the room need some renewing, but all is clean.

    What a lovely atmoshpere, I was astonished seeing how an old residence could look like, loved this experience. Nicely renovated, abs fancied it. Staff is so nice and helpful. The location is very close to the main streets where the "party goes on". Easy to find your way home once you know the tricky entrance :) Sunny terrace, hidden little places, and a fresh breakfast. Great choice and not just for this price. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hard to find the hotel by car. We tried to call the reception but nobody answered. The parking was far from the hotel and very expensive. For about 16 hours it costed 35 euro. During the night there was no heating and it was freezing cold.

    The breakfast was wanderful. The appartment was spacious. The building was very old and it was in the old city itself.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Staff very helpful and friendly. This is a charming old building. Some facilities like shower were tiny. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi worked in lounge area but not in room.

    Great position - just a short walk to Il Campo. Lovely atmosphere and furnishings - building had once been owned by a noble family and ceilings all had frescoes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a typical continental-style breakfast, the location is great but you need a taxi to get there to and from the bus station. The stairs are narrow ( it's a charming old building so not the Residenza's fault) and steep and our room on the 2nd floor was large and had a balcony.Right outside our room was the old stove and sink, very cute.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC. Check in must be arranged which was difficult as we had a hard time finding wifi and couldn't use our phones.

    The building is centuries old. Walk around, check out the frescoes, the upper ball room, the outdoor space. Really cool. Next door to fantastic resto Giuseppe. Great location and can park overnight a fifteen minute walk away near the cemetery. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a different room may have had a larger bathroom, but then the room may not have been so large!

    The charm, the location, the room was nice and large, the staff excellent, breakfast was included and it was nice to have it delivered every morning to eat at our leisure. It was quiet, easily accessible to meet friends who had a car (Since you can't drive in the city if not a resident.)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a small and cosy hotel and it seemed really nice on the pictures. What met us was not what we expected. The room was big but not so clean and there was an intense smell of chlorine in the room coming from the bathroom. The bathroom was long and narrow and we almost had to walk sideways to the shower to not touch the molded walls. The shower was full of mold and very dirty.

    The staff was nice even though it was unstaffed most of the time we were there. But they helped us with all our questions and tipped us on places to go on the map.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dirty, my brother and sister in law with a little child could not sleep in the double bed, cause it smelled mouldy. Floors in a bad condition as well, dirt on the cupboard. For breakfast you can sit in your room or on dirty chairs in the garden. It could be a wonderful old house if somebody bring some love in... Not worth the money!

    At least we got 50% off because we complained about the bad rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and facilities particularly the bathroom and shower cabinet were shabby and tiles and grouting worn and grey. Contrary to how it was described, there was no safety deposit box, no fridge or minibar. At all other places we have stayed, booked through yourselves, breakfast has been served in a breakfast room with a great variety of cereals, cold meats, rolls, fruit, yoghurts etc, here a tray with 2 coffees, croissants and orange juice was brought to the room and placed on the small desktop. As requested, we advised the hotel of our expected arrival time well in advance - twice - by email and by text and still they phoned on the day and asked again. On the booking confirmation it notes that reception is not open 24 hours a day and generally one assumes that means that there is no night porter, but here it appears that it closes for a few hours in the afternoon and a code number is provided for the door access. Fortunately there was someone in attendance when we arrived, but another guest arrived to find nobody there at all.

    the location was very central for sightseeing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great location great atmosphere! Nice little terrace attached to room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top sheet had holes in them

    The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom and shower

    Great location highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all.

    Charming place, quirky. My taste but maybe not for everyone!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the internet was terrible, and the shower wasn't so clean.

    the staff was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was noisy on street. Bathroom very small.

    Great location. Cute hotel. Excellent friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is ok. Budget place is not expected to be perfect

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos at night.

    Excellent place, close, easy to access and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location as near centre of town. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a comfortable place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wonderful old building, full of nice surprises, and lovely outdoor terrace area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic, stuff, clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi around building

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Residence was centrally located and within walking distance of attractions and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi only available in public areas - not in rooms.

    Great breakfast, beautiful old building, great location, beautiful terrace and garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi signal in our room

    The place is beautiful and convenient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet is very small the room is very cold

    location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good size room. Good wifi connection. Lovely set up of an old building near the al campo.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where really dirty, dust, spider webs, definitely not acceptable for the cost.

    The location is great, beautiful old residence

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The hole location is so beautiful and well located. When we go to Siena we would like to stay ether so often as possible. The rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is very good.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No coffee making facility in rooms. One of our group had a room with no outlook except water pump which was noisy & closed in concrete work area.

    Great position with lovely views-lovely Anastasia on reception & beautiful garden.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are a bit dirty, it feels like they'd need a good refresh!

    Great position, central, walking distance from everything. The structure is a very old villa that they refurnished as hotel. No elevator, a lot of stairs (do not go with big languages. It is a very characteristic place, which takes you out of time!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room small, in top of the building and bad to reach with suitcases. Room small, no comfort. Shower small you can not turn. Bad internet. Breakfast is bad.

    Location in the old city was bad to reach with a car. When you're there the location is OK.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately, the room was a bit run-down (down blanket losing its feathers, wear and tear) and the bathroom not very clean (hair that wasn't mine, grime).

    Within a few hundred meters of both the Piazza del Campo and the Duomo. Really great staff--wonderfully cheerful and helpful. Very unique building, 15th century Sienese...

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It required climbing quite a few stairs to our room. Breakfast was served in our rooms. Next time I would ask it to be served at the table in the community room. With a bit of redecorating, it could be top rated. It's a very old and interesting building to stay in.

    Loved the location. Easy to walk to El Campo but far from the commotion. The views from our deck were ancient and lovely.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I stayed in this hotel for the second time. Excellent location, very friendly staff. There are very beautiful old interiors in the hotel. Our room had access to a large porch and patio, where we had breakfast. I will definitely come again and I highly recommend this hotel to all my friends!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gorgeous building and room with a ceiling painting and our own balcony large enough for table and chairs.Street level entrances from the ground level and our floor (3rd?)

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is not clean enough. There must be bed bugs in the bed. both my partner and I were bitten by some kind of insects. Will never come back again to this hotel!

    The staff is really cool and friendly!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were cleaned fine, but some fittings and linen need more frequent maintenance and updating.

    The young lady on the desk was so very helpful... spoke English, gave great advice re Siena and the Palio, a really charming person. The location of the hotel is great, near decent public parking on Via Tufi, and unlike many Siena hotels, you don't walk uphill to the Piazza Campo. The hotel has a nice rooftop garden area for a bottle of wine at the end of the day. It was nice to have breakfast delivered to the room. A character hotel, not our first stay, and we would return.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Keys I was given to outside doors did not work. I was locked out of the B & B and if I had not had a cell phone and made multiple long distance overseas calls to an emergency mumber...I might have spent the night in the street.No one on site for assistance after 7:30 pm.

    Beautiful multi storied antique house. Outside garden inside a world of cobblestones, magnificent old palazzo. Woman at front desk was wonderful when I checked in.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old and run down. Has a hostel feel rather than a hotel. Needs a good overhaul and renovation of the rooms and bathrooms. Two entrances, we arrived at the one where there is no reception, so it is quite confusing.

    Great Location. Albania, the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, historic building, convenient access to all major attractions. I travel frequently to Siena and always make a point of staying at the Residenza d'Epoca il Casato - even when my reason for the trip involves a conference just a cross from the train station, which this one did! The walk is worth it to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny shower and hard bed. But the room was spacious and the good far outweighed the negative.

    Loved the old building and charming courtyard where we enjoyed breakfast each morning, and a glass of wine in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower cubicle quite small even for quite small people! Air conditioning didn't work properly. Nice balcony but noisy outside.

    Location. Breakfast served in room. Lovely old building with some great features.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This 14th century mansion was such a surprise, more like a museum than a hotel. We booked last minute so had a basic room on the third floor but the view over the beautiful common terrace was wonderful! Yes the bathroom and shower are small and basic but who cares when you're in such an amazing place. And breakfast brought to our room! We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although we loved the place it needs to be brought up to date with it's facilities as they are looking a bit tired

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location and ambiance were perfect.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were very disappointed with our stay. Whilst the hotel may be 14c, inside it is like a bad bedsit done cheaply in the 1970s. The owners are clearly milking it for the money they can still get given its central Siena location. They haven't even invested in a decent coffee machine for breakfast. Instant cappuccino is not quite what one expects in Italy.

    Good location - very central

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was a little small but it is an ancient building and everything worked and you had all you needed.

    Staying at Residenza d'Epoca Il Casato is like stepping into a time machine into the Middle Ages but with comfortable central heating, a comfy clean bed, antique vaulted ceilings and lovely views over a magical courtyard with statues and a fountain. The staff are friendly & very helpful - one even lent me her personal umbrella when it was raining. The breakfast was generous and TV & Wifi good.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms and bathrooms not as clean as expected for $ we paid.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was a bit basic.

    The hotel was nice and in a good location. No problems with our stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good price, amazing location, beautiful building, the restaurant next door was like a truffle heaven ;)

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to Piazza del Campo and the cathedral Friendly helpful staff Large, comfortable bedroom

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: