Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rex 4 stars

Via Del Littorale 164, 57128 Livorno, Italy

#17 of 23 hotels in Livorno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 805 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.8
    Location is great by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very attentive. Product needs some love. Better possibilities for small kids to swim in ocean.

    Location is great by the sea. Easy to park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    If you want to travel back in time this hotel is for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How to say... I think this is really nice hotel but for who want to go back to 80´s. This property has 3 stars but according to retro standards actual 30 years ago. We chose it as a last minute because there were the most properties busy. My expectations are never so high, but this was too much for me. The building is old and neglected. There were some exhibition pieces of equipment belonging to the museum. I think Air condition machine model was invented also in 80´s. The beach... was concrete "beach"! OK, but entrance to water was fine. And the "beach bar"? System of the billing for the room was like handwriting paper :) it was just funny! But the funniest highlight were billiard sticks (tago) which were so worn that they were shattered! This hotel is just T-REX between all properties. Result - exaggerated price for T-REX museum ticket!

    If you look over facts written in :( minus column, you will have nice vacation :) Staff was helpful and kind. There were a lot of kind local people on the "beach". The small bar on the beach next the hotel was the best. The restaurants with local and fresh food near property were just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to relax for a few days after sightseeing in Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was fine for me but others said it wasn't cool enough.

    Excellent place to relax for a few days after sightseeing. The hotel is right on the sea & although there's no sandy beach or pool the swimming is lovely, there are lots of water boards, canoes, pedalos etc & snorkelling is great if you like it! The staff are extremely helpful, e.g. Lorenzo down by the water, & you get sunbeds & umbrella assigned, so no stress staking them out! The rooms & decor are very pleasant & the breakfast is ample & very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Right on the beach but needs an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old with yucky brown over covers on beds. New mattresses though. Outside of hotel looks old, needs a renovation and a painting job. The shower in the room is very confusing with lots of jets but it did provide us with endless entertainment trying to turn the right one on. A little bit expensive for what you get. You’re paying for location obviously. Breakfast relatively simple. Rooms need some decoration too- some more pictures or plants and colour.

    Right on the ocean, with beach chairs and umbrellas and a kids swimming area too. Free SUP boards and kayaks to use as well and peddle boats. Beautiful swimming. Need to watch out for small jellyfish along the Mediterranean in the summer months. Great to see lots of fish swimming! Great for kids. Beautiful sunset views. Lovely staff. Food very cheap downstairs. 15min by Taxi to Livorno town. Balconies in room. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    only enjoyed the sea view from my balcony as i paid extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms very small, the bath area so small that a good healthy person cannot fit for sure. air conditioning was a disaster as after getting ready the next morning i was literally sweating and had to leave the room. breakfast was over well before time. eggs were finished and other things were were also finished. the person informed to wait for 15 mins so that the chef can make it but that was not possible as we had to leave for Florence. Not recommended at all

    only enjoyed the sea view from my balcony as i paid extra for the same. otherwise the whole experience was a disaster staying in this hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Rooms somehow dated for a four star hotel - repairs in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms somehow dated for a four star hotel - repairs in the bathroom was done clumsy, but giving the price , very low for a 4 star hotel. Hotel lobby nice stateful as expected. Price -quality definitely top

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Outdated but very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms and I could hear everything from other rooms. Night from saturday to sunday was very noisy. I stayed alone why I was given maybe the smallest room with bunk bed. Hotel is also far away from the city and the buses do not go late in the evening so 8km walking because taxi is hard to find. Would say more 3 star hotel than 4.

    Clean rooms, nice staff, the view was gorgeous. If you want to spend your days swimming, this hotel is good for you. Otherwise I would prefer one night stay. Liked free rental bikes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not like it is looking on the images. Bathroom was unconfortable with a little kid.

    Breakfast was perfect. The hotel has nice restaurant with a wonderful view on the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Location, amazing beach views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first we had a very nice remodeled room but the air conditioning did not work. We got another room, very outdated, not remodeled but the a/c was "working". At around 11pm it stopped working, we call the front desk and they tell us to wait until the next day. Worst, longest night of my life. The views are amazing but the rooms and service sucks. PS: as a courtesy for all the trouble they gave us a €16 discount...really???

    Location, amazing beach views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Room could have been better, but the restaurant and reception were fantastic and made up for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no food available at the hotel between 2:30-7:30pm when we arrived. Even though there were two of us staying in the double room we only found 1 small bottle of shower gel and shampoo and had to ask reception for more. In the photos online the room with sea view looked lovely, but the reality was our room was directly over top of the umbrellas and dive team area so we heard the oxygen tanks and people setting up to dive all day from our balcony. We only had one flat small pillow each and there was no iron and ironing board in the closet. We thought the room could have been better for the money we paid.

    Carlo at reception was fantastic, he helped us with everything we needed to know before and during our stay. The restaurant was one of the best we visited during our time in Italy and made for a perfect birthday dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Unless you also party on weekends prepare for troubled sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 4 star rating is way below that you would generally expect from such a class in EU. The venue and room even though being clean they lack maintenance: worn, rusty, low quality materials in general. Friday an Saturday was a party time with noises coming from the floor above and from the terrace very loudly, making sleep difficult.

    Great location for those that like rocky shores for bathing or scuba diving. The room, towels and sheets are kept clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    It was great. Quiet. Restful. Peaceful. Excellent weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Distance from downtown. Rocky beach.It was great.

    Restaurant staff was excellent, friendly, always happy and helpful. English explanations of food items would be helpful. Facility clean, comfortable, well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.8
    There was no care for maintaining the rooms, balconies and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no care for maintaining the rooms, balconies and restaurant. Some of the minibar products were expired... can not understand the price range for those conditions. Do not include breakfast in the room price, it will be disappointing and in vain. Although, the stuff was trying their best

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor covering was quirky and overall the hotel room was quite basic.

    The staff were very friendly and the view from the balcony was splendid. We had a meal in the restaurant which was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    The view is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town could use some revitalization. There is nothing around but if you just want to sit and stare at the water then it may be the place for you. The photos on the site are retouched or from years ago.

    The view is nice. There are plenty of public areas to sit and watch it. We weren't there for long but the spa looked nice. The restaurant menu was extensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    2.5
    walked out after one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    complete disaster from start to finish , served uncooked chicken and seafood at dinner in restraunt and threatened to call the police when we said we were only paying for drinks breakfast horrendous , no facilities whatsoever could not even get a coffee , room basic veiw very dissapointing just concrete harbour . sure it had its hey day in the sixties . ruined our holiday and spent another small fortune moving to another hotel . photos on website are very deciving . avoid the place at all cost . book the grand hotel instead that one is superb . staff at the rex had no interest have applied for a refund through booking , com , waiting on an answer x hope this stops someone elses holiday being ruined x

    walked out after one night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    A complete distaster. Its like a scene from the 70's. There is no beach. Just rocks and stones.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    On our 1st morning the staff were power washing the parasols. This went on until lunch time. The 2nd morning we were again wakened by the sound of the power hose. This time they were washing the sunbeds. That's when we decided enough is enough and left. On checking out we had to pay 8 euros city tax. There was no Bar. My husband bought a bottle of wine and asked could we drink it in the Restaurant. The waiter thought about it and then said "ok". At the next Hotel we met a couple from Germany. They had also stayed at Hotel Rex but they had sense and left after the 1st day.

    We left after 2 days. We were booked for 9 days but because it was non refundable we forfeited the cost and moved to another Hotel. We were going to leave after 1st day but thought we'd give it a chance. The hotel was a disaster. Its like something out of the 70's. It's dated, breakfast was a joke. Orange coloured cold scrambled egg and cold bacon. A very limited choice of processed meats and cheese. The waitress kept turning off the toaster. The cereal bowls were smaller than baby bowls and the spoons were the size of boiled egg spoons. The fruit choice was prunes yes prunes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful view. Best in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. We had the family suite. 2 bedrooms. Beautiful view off of the balcony. Very good breakfast included. Rented snorkel gear at beach front for €4. Not many places to eat nearby. We drove around until we found a pizzeria.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    Exhausting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *view dirty balcony *under kitchen very noisy *group partying two nights Contacted Reception But he did nothing for over two hours. It was Then 2.15 *Only one Restaurant Same Menu every night

    Bath

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Sea view and swimming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style is a bit outdated

    The view from the rooms and dining terrace is great. Easy access to the sea with swimming and lounge chairs makes it a perfect choice. There is a relaxed family club atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    We liked the immediate access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been friendlier and more approachable. We didin't like that there weren't any possibilities to eat out or to do groceries. The coffee didn't reach the italian standard.

    We liked the immediate access to the beach. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    3.3
    The last Time in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel its for 1* ,Booking.com take this hotel out from your website this is rediculus! I wanted to make a bath and there was no water! The whole hotel is full of dust!The breakfast was for crying, look at the photo!It does not offer what you pay, I recommend you go to another hotel...

    Only the Reception its gut

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was very simple and would benefit from serving a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very simple and would benefit from serving a selection of fresh bread and "real" cheese, instead of the version wrapped in plastic and normally used for toast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    3.8
    Not much, to be honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was really not good value for money and I don't recommend booking it if you appreciate clean hotels with decent food and good service. The hotel had a weird smell in all common areas, and in our hallway there was a big disgusting stain on the floor carpet right outside our door, smelling even worse. The bed linen felt unfresh right from the start. The air conditioning didn't work, there was no functioning wifi (and bad reception for 3G/4G in the area) and the flushing on the toilet was broken and ran loudly all night, making ear plugs a must. Everything felt worn down and VERY out of style, like it had it's glory days in the 80's and 90's and haven't been taken care of since. The food was terrible and the breakfast contained almost entirely of sugar in different forms. The "beach" was a cemented area and gave no beachy feeling at all. And staff forgot orders and was very restrictive with smiles and that extra service that you appreciate as a guest. I regret booking this hotel, I've lived in so much better places for less money during our road trip in Italy.

    Not much, to be honest. I guess the location is good if you would use it as a base to travel to other places in the area Lucca and Pisa is about an hour away). You need a car, nothing good is nearby. The family room was spacious and had two separate bedrooms, and the bed was somewhat comfortable. The balcony was very big and overlooking the ocean, which was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    can't comment only stayed 1 night but wouldn't do aweek.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking abit dated internally AC didn't work Strong smell of damp and mould in room And signs of it

    Convenient location from getting off ferry Friendly staff food decent Clean throughout Can't comment much on exterior as arrived in a storm and only stayed 1 night Family room had a balcony and was more like a suite Felt like don corleone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Short stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in the bathroom, small bedroom, view was of the car park, very near a train line, lots of old people (pensioners club), locals use the hotel as a get together

    Large comfortable bed, pleasant staff,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very poor breakfast.We eat eggs and old bread three days.There was nothing else.When it is windy there is no pleace to drink coffee in the hotel.Beach and sea was far from our expectations.

    Only sea ​​view from our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely seaside hotel away from the fray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking, while free and generally available during our visit was tight and complicated by people parking in no parking areas which caused maneuvering to park to be difficult. It should be noted that parking is terraced and on a variety of small segments. Italian breakfast is not very exciting....the bread/toast/croissant with coffee is about it, so with that being said, the buffet was ok....scrambled eggs in a steam tray, cereal, some pound cake, croissants and bread for toast. Adequate, but not fantastic. However, the good coffee and sitting on the terrace overlooking the sea made up for mediocre breakfast!

    The view was amazing and each room has one! It was great to leave the balcony door open and fall asleep to the sound of the waves. The bed was extremely comfortable! The shower was a standard European phone booth size, but this had body jets, a handheld shower head and a waterfall option. Although not in a deserted location, not in the busy in-town location which was a plus in my book. Also near the highway so heading out on a day trip was fast and easy. Not much of interest within easy walking distance, however, in case you plan to be without a car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.4
    Beware! Misleading and disappointing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not like to leave negative comments, but this hotel was so disappointing in so many ways. To start off, front desk staff would not check to see if my room was ready when I asked, but when my husband went in after me they were more than happy to do so for him, facilities are extremely outdated and the room smelled musty and moldy, rocky "beach" was nothing like we expected and we were made to sit at a specific chair because townspeople are allowed to come in and use the area- unfortunately, we had a 2 year old and they put us on a concrete island that was not very safe for her- we ended up leaving and going to a different beach a few miles away, unsafe windows were very old moldy and rusty and I did not allow my child to touch them, awful breakfast with very few real options although if you are accustomed to eating cookies and cake for breakfast you were in luck because there was a ton of them, lacking ac that worked , scary elevator which I refused to ride after the first time. My son's bed was nothing more than a cot with a mattress on it. This hotel is rated as a 4-star, but it is nowhere near such a rating. At best it is a 2-star hotel and the pictures you see are absolutely misleading. None of those pictures are accurate representation of what you get. We were so disappointed and the money was not worth it at all! Never.Again.

    The view was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place to play in the sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restuarant should be open more with more variety.

    The beach area was great! Loved having a balcony with a great view. Close to Pisa in a lovely town.great views. Pedal boats, paddle boards, snorkeling and swimming. Beach chairs on raised cement platform with stairs into the sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly below a banquet hall, it was very noisy until after 11:00 pm. The breakfast was substandarded compared to other hotels in Europe, no matter what time you went for breakfast scrambled eggs were always cold. I was there for work and needed to use wifi connection, the connection was horrible! But the location can't be beat!

    The location!!! Beautiful view of the water! Staff very friendly and rooms very clean!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    2.5
    Most unfriendly reception ever.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is very bad, the ladys who are working there are not proffessional or friendly. They give our room to somebody els and still charged our credit card. When we tryed to explain that somthing went wrong they became rude. So we payed for the room that we didn't use. They also spoke italian to each other and made fun of us. The rooms are old and there is a bad smell everywhere. I can't recommend this hotel to no one.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Hotel REX has a superb location, there is a small beach just...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel REX has a superb location, there is a small beach just outside the Hotel, rooms very clean with all facilities and with the added bonus of a balcony with beautiful sea views, did enjoy very much breakfast and dinner at the Hotel Restaurant, also the staff was very welcoming and pleasant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    -The hotel has its own beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Rooms are very small -The hotel needs to be refurbished -There is smell in the rooms on the ground floor

    -The hotel has its own beach -Staff is very friendly and ready to find solutions if there are any problems -Restaurant was not bad.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.0
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor.

    We was welcome by very nice lady at reception. She recommends for us nice restaurant in city. Nice stuff, fantastic view over sea from rooms. Easy parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    Great sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not cool the room.

    Great sea view.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was comfortable and very spacious. The staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no provision for tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    The room, view, facilities and staff were of excellent standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Beach is very rocky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, staff at the restaurant was superb. Close to other restaurant.

    Beach is very rocky.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location to airport for an early flight (half an hour away). Lovely room (No 500)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    convenient location to airport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful beach area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful beach area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Stayed ther for the 7th year, will come back again. Optimum comfort and good location for excursions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Not so clear description of the rooms in booking.com

    Location, view, facilities, all in one area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    This was NOT a 4 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was NOT a 4 star hotel! The rooms were appalling but the water sports facilities were good! Overall, this is a 2* hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    Beach facilities are good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's rated 4* but more like 3 - very basic

    Beach facilities are good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Direct access to a very calm beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Direct access to a very calm beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Beach was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    dated rooms

    beach and views were amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Can miss it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good, but the waiter didn't speak good English and was unfriendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    The beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    It was a bed that was available for a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have been very disappointed if I had picked this hotel for my vacation

    It was a bed that was available for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    AC was not working, bed was not comfortable, quite expensive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not working, bed was not comfortable, quite expensive for the quality of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    This place is a bit far away from Livorno which has better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a bit far away from Livorno which has better connectivity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Cheers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows very flat

    Staff in restaurant morning & evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. Especially bathrooms. Breakfast service and replenishing needs to be adressed

    Location. Staff was friendly. Great sea views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A dream by the sea location in the heart of Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Location is amazing: waking up and seeing the sea is priceless. Being at elevator distance from the beach is as well unique.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Its right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of someone smoking in the passage.

    Its right on the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with a great sea view, clean rooms and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Simple breakfast and slow wi-fi connection

    Nice hotel with a great sea view, clean rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Location I chose to see a beach setting in Italy and to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor and surfaces in room not clean

    Location I chose to see a beach setting in Italy and to go for a swim

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    The closness to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The closness to the sea. Own beach!!! Great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Dinner was very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very poor. And long waiting in quizzzzzzzzzzz

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice location, but that's all really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old 60s style hotel in need of urgent revamp. AC didn't work in tiny room.

    Seafront location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi in the hotel was terrible.

    The view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Balcony view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was average

    Exceptional view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic view and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may be the off season so food choice is not a lot at the hotel

    The hotel is a resort, with clean and many facilities, located along seaside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.4
    Lack of bar and poor food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bar and poor food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In general, excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Good Choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sona and jacuzzi were closed.

    The veiw of the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    The place is very nice, very clean, on the beach, the lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Without a car may be difficult to get to the city center .

    The place is very nice, very clean, on the beach, the lady at the front desk was sooooo nice & helpful we'll never forget her . Very nice breakfast. Super fair price ☺

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    3.3
    Staff is normal and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very old hotel (from 70's) and bad maintained! Dirty rooms (spider webs in the corners, dust on furniture, dirt everywhere on the flour, windows, bad cleaning and smell in bathroom), we couldn't close outer doors of balcony. They have an old elevator which we used only one time and no more in our 4 day stay. It's creapy to use that elevator! The place is really worth 1 star and no 4 and need to be renovated. Avoid them! No worth of your money. Do not trust pictures published on web! I suggest that the owner of the hotel think again if that is the way of running touristic facility. Black spot of Italy touristic accomodations.

    Staff is normal and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    6.7
    + Very nice receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - the hotel seems dead out of season - unacceptable service during breakfast - breakfast appropriate for max 2 stars category

    + Very nice receptionist + sea view and sound of waves

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Travelled all my working life as an airline pilot.
    • Couple

    Maybe a Tea facility for the British in the room, as we all know how British cherish a cup of tea getting up in the morning! ;-)

    Travelled all my working life as an airline pilot. Been in the Sheratons, Hiltons etc. REX compares brilliantly with them all.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    Location to the sea, left the door open to hear the sound of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelled a bit weird, place was a bit outdated

    Location to the sea, left the door open to hear the sound of the waves while sleeping. Very relaxing

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.0
    nice veiw of the see
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    poor breakfast, room for 1 person is horrible, is old hotel - needed reconstruction; missing restaurant, I do not know why the have four stars? max two!!, the shower doesn't work

    nice veiw of the see

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.1
    Position is right on the sea shore with private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Firstly we were absolutely annoyed and disappointed of the level of 4 stars hotel, it is really like what you see on pictures is not what you get. The room they gave us firstly was terrible, we bought room with sea view, but the room was on the position of the roof on the lowest part of hotel (we felt firstly like we are in some basement) so the view was on can roof, the room smelled, the bathroom was in devastated condition (lights and shower were broken). But after ours complaints, the personal was adequate of standard of 4 stars hotel, beacuse they gave us the beautiful panoramic room.

    Position is right on the sea shore with private beach. Great rooms with panoramic view, where you really feel like you are on a bow of a ship. Beautiful view, but only from these rooms. Very nice and helpful personal.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.5
    The view, the breakfast, the sunbed and parasol that come...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The central airconditioning was too strong for us. Nevertheless they turn it off, when you ask them. The bed was too soft: when my husband moved (no matter how swiftly) I was always bumping around in the bed and woke up.

    The view, the breakfast, the sunbed and parasol that come with the room. The staff was always quick when we asked for anything. We had a great dinner in the restaurant. It's a little off from the city center, but that's how you can get a beach like that (far from the harbour) and that is exactly why we have chosen this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    4.6
    Staff was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    However, for the price paid, I would have expected a nice restaurant for lunch, whereas the restaurant staff was ignoring us, there was no English menu and they did not care what we wanted...

    Staff was nice and helpful. They had forgotten to put a baby bed in our room and they found us another room to have it. They also tried to answer all our questions.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.8
    The bedroom with balcony/view on the sea was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant and the breakfast (don t drink the coffee of the machine, request to the waiter a real coffee) were really not good. The wifi didn t work well. The parking on the first area is mostly full. On the second area, the parking is mostly full also and be carreful to the machine which throws out salt on the car. For coming on the parking on the third area, you have really to be carreful to your car because we damaged our exhaust by accrossing the ground beam. There is nothing around this hotel, no good restaurants, no bars, no supermarkets.

    The bedroom with balcony/view on the sea was good. The staff was friendly. It was gret to have sunchairs/parasol.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: