Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rex 3 stars

Piazza Ricasoli 19, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#13 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 597 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location. Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a good refurbishment. The bathroom especially was past its best. It was fine for the couple of nights we stayed, but I wouldn't have wanted a long stay.

    Excellent location. Very pleasant, friendly, helpful staff. Kettle in room. Air conditioning which was effective.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Convenient stop-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were welcomed by the lady at reception who had reserved a parking place for us by placing a chair in it! Very quaint but effective. She was very friendly and helpful. All staff were helpful, breakfast was good and checkout was very straightforward. We will return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, classic, quiet hotel, extremely convenient for both station and centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Very comfortable hotel. Our room was lovely and was also large. The staff were friendly and really helpful. Breakfast was good. The position of the hotel is very convenient, right by the station and also very close to the walls to get into Lucca - 5 minute walk. The hotel was quiet, more so than the centre of Lucca.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for us right next to the train station so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just could do with some modernisation, few more electric sockets, but then it may lose it’s charm.

    Perfect location for us right next to the train station so we could do a quick trip to Pisa in the morning. Free parking and short walk to the old town. Very friendly and helpful staff who were great with our kids.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Three romantic days in Lucca 💞💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Could not fault the hotel for anything!

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Very smooth check in and check out. The breakfast was excellent. Location very good and very quiet considering it was very close to the railway station...very convenient for visitors to Italy travelling by train! Bike hire shop is just across the road from this hotel which is a great way to explore the old town of Lucca. Hotel Rex is right beside the walled entrance to the old town. Overall, a wonderful experience and I highly recommend this hotel; great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.5
    A for convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be improved by better fresh bread and more fruit. If they reduced the space taken up by jams and other toppings there would be more space for essentials

    The location was so convenient, a stone's throw from the station yet very quiet at night. The staff were excellent, so obliging and friendly. We were out after 1 am on 2 occasions but there was always someone to let us in. There is a lift and air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Would definitely return to this hotel if staying in Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was really helpful & always friendly. They save the parking spots for you. This hotel is outside the city walls but it’s a very short walk & there are excellent restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard!

    The location is excellent. Just outside the walls by the gate and next to the railway station! Very good if arriving by train. There were also some parking spaces for those of us arriving by car which was free!! When we left after our 2 night stay we were each given a little gift! Very sweet!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Location - just out of the city walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking issue the day before I left. There was a concert and the no parking was allowed,. The night staff wouldn’t have even told me if I hadn’t came late at night to get something from car and he was a bit rude. Owner was good the next morning and when I had to pay to park 3 blocks away, they reimbursed me for parking. However, i had to go ask police and concert staff where I could park. Would have been nice if the hotel had tried to figure all of that out. I was stressed all night and the morning that I was going to get towed for parking in a resident s only zone and got up at 7am to figure out where to park.

    Location - just out of the city walls. Good clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The location was amazing, and so convenient to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint would be the size of the shower. It was a very tight squeeze getting in and out but otherwise nice.

    The location was amazing, and so convenient to the train station and easy walk to the walled portion of Lucca. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Too short so will have to go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for catching early train but didn't hear trains. Very close to the wall and into Lucca. Best of all was how friendly and helpful the staff were. Lovely feel and felt very welcome. Would definitely stay again, need to go back to explore an amazing and beautiful city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Rex enhanced my Lucca experience. Would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for train station access. Neighborhood clean and safe,not typical of train station areas. Staff extremely kind and friendly, went out of their way to accommodate any request. Mini-fridge was a bonus, also outside sitting area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Perfect. Lovely staff. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I returned to the hotel limping due to a sore hip and the man at the hotel reception offered me some ice to take down the swelling when he noticed me limping through the lobby. The lady on reception was also very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are well kept with plenty of space and are clean. The breakfast was plentiful and tasteful. The hotel is situated next to the train station and a 2 minute walk from Lucca city walls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, great staff, great location. Recommended to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    All staff were very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to help. The location also was perfect, right next to the railway station (no noise) and close to the town centre. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel just outside the city walls so perfect for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit thin & hard.

    The location was great for walking into the old city. Parking outside the hotel. The room was big enough as was the shower room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    A very congenial and welcoming base for exploring Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very well located, beside the railway station and within sight of the walls of the historic area. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, with plenty of tea and biscuits and the WiFi was faultless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Might have been just our room but found the bed quite uncomfortable.

    Very helpful staff and the location is perfect, just a few hundred metres from the entrance to the walled city. Parking is free and right in front of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Very nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are to thing and i couldn’t sleep very well.

    The Hotel is next to the train station lf Lucca. It’s outsite the walls of the city but 3min far for one of the entrace. That entrace is in front of the cathedrall so you are not far for the tourist places. The bedroom was big and clean and the staff is really nice and kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent comfortable, affordable 3-night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The little shower enclosure was a wee bit cramped, and the hand and bath towels were not really towels at all, rather large, thin pieces of fabric. I guess they did the job well enough, and helped to keep the price low.

    Ideal location next to Lucca train station and bus stops, across the street from historic old town center, near plenty of restaurants. Working elevator. Excellent value. Extremely friendly family run operation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    You cannot do better.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The owner is 101 years old and we the privilege of having a nice conversation with him. His daughter and granddaughter help run the hotel. The location is 100 feet from train station but is in a small park which is quiet and safe. It also is within 5 to 15 minute walk to every attraction in the old walled town of Lucca. The rooms are Italian boutique size but more than adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Hotel Rex did exactly what it said on the tin. Clean ,friendlystaff, transport friendly and comforta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small point all the condiments were in individual sachets a little thing, but I do like to spread my butter and jam. Juice too could have been fresher, it had an artificial quality to it.

    When we arrived the curtains were drawn and a light was on. Friendly welcome although we were later than expected. They found plasters for my daughter who had had a fall. Room was large clean and plenty of storage. We had clean towels daily an d fresh sheets after the second day. Every morning I was offered coffee a specialist coffee. Good selection of cereals fruit etc yoghurts were lovely the hotel was excellent for transport links and for accessing the town of Lucca

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value and enjoyed our stay but would have rated it more if the bathroom had been clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The traffic was a bit noisy as its on a main road. The bathroom was a bit grubby with hairs on the floor on arrival. I didnt like the fact you needed to drive to a supermarket..none nearby that we could find

    The bed was comfy and the breakfast really good for the rate price of room. The hotel was only a ten minute walk to the walls of Lucca . We liked the fact you could sit outside at the front where there were tables and chairs to read or relax and have a drink. It is very near to the train station to visit other places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was really convenient to the train, and to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not overly comfortable. You needed to tell the staff when you wanted the air on: you couldn't do it in the room. This was the only hotel where we had trouble with the outlets working with our converters. The shower was small. Lighting was low.

    The hotel was really convenient to the train, and to the walled area of Lucca. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    A most enjoyable time .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were most helpful on our departure day we discovered no trains as there was a strike on Staff at the hotel phone the bus company and directed us to the bus stop. During our stay the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Everything we needed and asked for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit outdated but that doesn't take away of the friendliness and great service you get here.

    Breakfast was great, everything you can think of was available and great coffee too Personnel was very friendly and helpful! The hotel is right next to the train station, if you come here by train it is perfectly reachable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    On the top of places to stay in Italy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of my favorite places in Italy. Breakfast a little space compared to other places

    The location was prime!It was across the street from the train station, opposite the place to rent bikes, 2 blocks from the entrance to the old city. It is surrounded by old trees . staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    I do appreciate the angelic and warm hand of this hotel even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do appreciate the angelic and warm hand of this hotel even after my check out. Fortunately two sweet and angel-like signoritas helped me out of unfortunate Toscana Train Strike. All the trains to Firenze were cancelled without warning. I was astonished, got back to hotel and asked for solution. Luckily they figured out bus solution for me, even tried to book instantly, and I can arrive Rome Fiumicino in time. Thanks a lot. Lucca people's heart is definitely as beautiful as Lucca.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location directly outside the city walls-easy walk to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to locate. They provided parking directly in front of the hotel. The hotel is situated near the train station, so very convenient if you are traveling by rail. Easy walk to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient, comfortable place to stay near historic city of Lucca, with parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older, showing its age in minor ways.

    Excellent breakfast. First place we had stayed in Italy that had CNN and BBC. Easy walk to old walled city. Parking!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Couldn't have made a better choice of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Pietro greeted us and provided us with assistance and information regarding where to eat and sights to see. The hotel was clean, quiet and full of character which was very much to our liking. The room was comfortable and large enough for 2. The hotel was perfectly placed close to the central rail station and opposite the walls of the ancient city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Not enough time to spend there.

    We were made very welcome on arrival and management and staff continued their hospitality throughout our visit. Very convenient to train station, 2 minutes walk and very convenient to the city of Lucca. Will return here again. Breakfast was very fair and sufficient to start the day. Could have had more if we wanted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location by car and train. The gelateria next door is excellent. A great welcome by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The personal service was excellent and very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well presented. The choice at breakfast was excellent. The present as we left was a lovely touch. We would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Really good value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, except, it would be helpful to advise guests what time they lock the front door at night & what to do if locked (there is a buzzer by the door).

    Value for money, car parking, good breakfast, quiet, good air-con & good sized room with view of square & city wall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Convenient and reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the convenience as the hotel is a 3-minute walk from the train station, across the street from the tourist info shop with bike rentals, and a 5 minute walk to the entrance to two of the gates to the walled city. I loved riding my bike on the walls, a majestic 4.2km ride. The hotel is clean, comfortable, with a very nice and helpful owner and staff. I wasn't traveling with children, but as a grandmother noticed the hotel had many toys and games available for children. Q

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    good value for short stay easy to get into the city of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything.

    good choice of food, different coffee could be asked for , staff very friendly. Easy to get into the centre of Lucca also very close to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Our Favourite Lucca Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was excellent with tea, coffee and cookies provided...and a very comfy bed...and lovely breakfast and great service! Our third stay and there will be many more!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    User friendly hotel, good location outside the bustle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine, we had no problems

    User friendly hotel, good location outside the bustle of Lucca but within easy walking distance of city gates, and excellent nearby restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    The extreme helpfulness and charm of the Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts could have been better. Tinned fruit was not the best to offer. I think less choice might have been better. Table napkins were much too small !

    The extreme helpfulness and charm of the Staff. They were delightful .Nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel was very convenient for the railway station which was useful for travellers without a car - like my friend and I.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    A warm welcome when visiting Lucca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a shower, but no bath.

    The staff were very friendly and recommended an excellent local restaurant for dinner, which we would not have found otherwise, plus a nightly Puccini concert. The hotel's location was great, just outside the city walls, but easy to visit the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable lodging in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark in the room, and noisy...so many ambulances, police sirens! Couldn't sleep with open windows!

    Wonderful friendly caring staff! Good breakfast and great location coming from a long train journey. Easy to walk to the walls and old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    worked out ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not realize the main highway was right by (VERY noisy if window is open) I had to really insist ion AC to be turned (and be left on) shower is bit tight, especially counting that bathroom space is quite large weird electrical wiring with one transformer (so either teapot would be on or the camera battery charger)

    breakfast had various choices location (close to train station) big rooms friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Booking Blind, but not disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing ... spot on - Many thanks

    The Staff and the Welcome was so friendly and accommodating, overall, even though it was a short stay, everything was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location near Lucca train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had a think plastic sheet from chest to knees, with only a sheet between my body and the plastic. This made the bed lumpy, crunchy and very sweaty. How about putting a thick absorbant layer above the plastic sheet and under the thin cloth sheet on the bed? Bed was also very hard and the pillow thin and hard. .

    Clean and really nice bathroom and TV. I especially liked the kettle and the supplied tea, creamer and sugar, very nice! Breakfast was fine with the usual plus yogurt and fresh fruit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Best Hotel in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have nothing to say . We like everything.

    Excellent breakfast. The best we ever had in a hotel. An amazing choices of sweet and salted. Freshly done, excellent quality. Excellent coffee. Nicely presented and tastefully prepared. Simple yet adequate. The prices were excellent given what we had. The room was spacious and spotless. A very kind reception and extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Easy parking and close proximity to wall. Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower very very small. Could be an issue for person with limited mobility. Wifi patchy.

    Hotel is located next to train station and adjacent to wall. One of the easiest car parking we have ever had with parking directly outside hotel. Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits in room and top ups outside room. Quaint "old world" style decor; comfortable clean room. Very short walk to wall and access to old city. Small gift given to each of us on check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent parking and close to Train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear some noise. Had issues with the Internet connections

    Parking and being right next to the train station. It was just a few blocks from the Lucca walled entrance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying at this hotel for the second time when visiting Lucca. Very close to the historical old town. Has private parking outside. Comfortable hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The owners and staff were tremendous, going out of their way to help. Rooms were very comfortable. Location very close to both rail station and walled town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent Proximity to Lucca Old-Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi was very slow. They use blankets on the bed – not duvets. The shower was small. Whilst we were staying, there were a group of older students staying there and we found them quite inconsiderate at breakfast.

    Nice family run hotel - The receptionist was very helpful and friendly – she had also reserved a park for us in front of the hotel. The location to the old-town is excellent, just outside the wall (5-minute walk). Great place to stay with or without a car as the main station is only couple of minutes away. The room was a good size, with tea/coffee making. Also out in the passage extra tea/coffee/biscuit top ups, help yourself.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electrical outlets in bathroom, no air conditioning, towels are poor.

    Location, firm bed, excellent breakfast choices, helpful and friendly service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Lucca charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved the hotel.

    Super location close to train and gate to old city. Lots of restaurants nearby as well as bicycle rentals. Cheerful breakfast room with good selection of food items. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    A very special hotel with very special staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst it's location is superb, it is probably most suited to older travellers.

    The staff were wonderful! Helpful and friendly. As a solo traveller they were always so helpful with advice for travelling out of Lucca.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Would love to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As both my husband and I love our fresh fruit and yoghurt we would have liked more variety. Peaches would have been appreciated. Fresh fruit was hidden behind juices and was just ok. Tinned fruit was at the front.

    Warm ambience. Staff with excellent English but willing to assist when I was attempting to speak Italian. Lovely to feel that my attempts were encouraged. Great location-- Just beside train station and just outside walls of Lucca. Room was clean, fresh and spacious. Nice touch-little present when leaving! Very thoughtful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff and good location near the old town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Friendly staff and good location near the old town and station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Close to the wall and entrance to pedestrianised area of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited

    Able to park outside hotel. Friendly service. Close to main sites.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    1 minutes walk from the train station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings where the hotel lay was a bit boring.

    1 minutes walk from the train station! Nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    An amazing hotel from staff to rooms and cleanliness,I highly recommend The Rex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No terrace

    Close to station and short walk to sights.The room was very comfortable and the staff very helpful and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    This is a kind if "old style hotel" keeping all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a kind if "old style hotel" keeping all good memories of what hotel ment years ago!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff that spoke english
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was outside the old city but I new that when I booked it

    Friendly and helpful staff that spoke english

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location steps away from the train station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location steps away from the train station and the walls of Lucca. Staff was very freindly and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    We can recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient to station and to Lucca centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient to station and to Lucca centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    It was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very kind and thoughtful. Close to railway station and old city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right by station very easy to find, lovely staff and simple short walk across a road to the walled city of Lucca

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    The room was big, it was very child friendly, the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big, it was very child friendly, the location was really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Highly recommend Lucca and Hotel Rex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How easy it was to park and walk to the wall of Lucca. The staff spoke good English and were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and easy location in a sweet historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved that they had hard bolied eggs. Friendly staff. Great view of the Duomo out my window!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Position and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay - would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely breakfast included with room. Location couldn't be better if you arrive in Lucca by train.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    great location -access to train and city. Wonderful attention from owners/licensee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    soft pillows - prefer hard

    Home stay style- friendly family run hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    The Staff were very friendly and always very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Staff were very friendly and always very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    This is a very aweful experience. No parking is allowed while my visit because of concert.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. They only have public parking outside the hotel. No parking space while my arrival.

    Room is quiet and closed to the park.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rex traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: