Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rex 4 stars

Via Torino 149, Central Station, 00184 Rome, Italy

#659 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 773 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Was not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady at the desk

    A bit disappointed when we first got lady on desk was very nice , all very old needs a big make over . Breakfast hot food cold was not happy with breakfast . Man on desk in the afternoon not very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.5
    You understand that Hotel Rex was wrong decision at the very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You understand that Hotel Rex was wrong decision at the very beginning of the stay. I was not welcomed upon arrival, I was told to wait because the receptionist was busy. Then he charged me the price of the room in US dollars for my Euro card in Italy. You understand that I overpaid all the transaction charges. I had to ask for the details, I had to ask for receipts to understand that. The room was not clean. The room was designed a decade ago, with no renovation from that time. Safe was out of service, as I understand in all the rooms. There is no door in shower, so you can expect the flooding in the bathroom. Finally I fallen on my back. Everything in the bathroom was outdated and damaged. The view from the window brings you to 18 century. The same with the key - it’s not magnetic Overall: The good price for the room should be 10 times lower than I’ve paid. Very very bad service and feelings from the stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.3
    Bad experience, 120 euro per night looser
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at terrace and reception evening men not friendly Breakfast very poor Cleaniness very poor Room AC not working no vcentilation in room many more

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.8
    Nowhere near four stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated rooms. No air con or opening window in one room. At best two stars. Pictures do not reflect current state of the hotel, particularly public areas.

    Proximity to Termini and Republicca stations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Looks better on photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was not fully clean; safe was out of function; staff is kind, but not so efficient; room is very small.

    Location is good, five minutes from Termini station and 15 minutes from Colosseum. There is mobile guide in room with access to internet, that you can bring with you and follow the map everywhere in the city and have useful information with you. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful old building close to downtown Rome. Roof garden for breakfast was divine. Comfortable bed with soft down comforters. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Only you dont find another...for same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and a very bad matress...so we couldnt rest at all. Very tall windows and didnt have view...same breakfast for days...limited and only a few specialities...We didnt recieve the room showed on Booking site, that actually have another carpet (later we saw that it was on first floor and we recieve an old room at third floor). They said it was an upgrade but i really dont think so. The atmosphere of reception and stairs to the rooms is dark and quite dirty... No 4 stars at all... the staff cant make for it. Disapointed! I will never book again under 8-8,5 rate on Booking site!

    Good location, near metro station. Coffe and capuccino on request. Towels changed everyday. Staff really friendly. Tks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Hotel room comfortable, position great for access to buses and train, Rome fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no safes available in the rooms as they had had a theft of the master key recently! Left valuables in reception in signed envelopes to keep in their safe which was ok but hope they are repaired soon. Confusion first day where to eat breakfast as it is on other side of hotel via another lift so signage not great - could do with some signage to show people where to go when they come out of the lift.

    The room was extremely comfortable, clean and large and very quiet which was a bonus. Very easy access to the train station, and easy walk to the main road for catching bus into main areas of Rome. Lots of lovely places to eat quite close by and not too expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    I really recommend this hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A screen between shower to avoid that bathroom is wet

    Perfect restaurant, merits a Michelin star, very friendly staff and superbe roof terrace where you can have your breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    I'd stay again after small renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very old and sometimes not working facilities. Especially related to bathrooms.

    Very good location, near railway station and not far from all main see sights. Very hospitable staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    A jewel in the middles of a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was outstanding. The staff extremely friendy. The location was perfect for seeing most of the attractions in Rome. Centrally located to Metro and train lines.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    Basic but friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may have been a 4 star several years back but certainly not now - was overpriced for the facilities and decor was so very dated. We were in a group of 3 families and 2 families had to change rooms after 1 night due to both rooms not having shower doors - safety hazard! Bathrooms were not great - again dated & in need of some tlc (mould, cracked tiles, leaking sink & temperamental water - either scolding hot or freezing cold). Although our safe worked, none of the other rooms did (they told us this!). Breakfast was extremely basic - no toaster! I felt we had to make a fuss everytime the croissants ran out.. which they often did by 9.30! However, they did make extra croissants when i asked on our last day - lucky or we literally would have been eating bread, butter, cereal and an omlette. Other foods on offer - cold rice & cold vegetables - not something that we are used to in the UK. A simple toaster with some sliced bread may have satisfied us! Management need to spend some money on this hotel.

    Good location - close to Terminii and walking distance to quite a few locations. Staff were friendly- they tried their best to rectify problems where possible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and let us check in early +gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little dark and we could see what people from the opposite building were doing, so if you didn't shut the curtains, there would be a privacy problem.The breakfast was good but a little poor, the tv had few channels and the remote wasn't working

    The staff was very friendly and let us check in early +gave us a map and directions. The hotel is very close to Termini station. Bed was comfortable and we had a lot of nice features in the room which was recently renovated. The hotel had two elevators so it wasn't hard to reach the terrace where we had breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.2
    staff happy to see you but when things go wrong did not seem interested
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room not ready when we got there 13:20 ok 14:00 check in. Asked if room had a fridge said yes.went out and bought supplies to put in fridge. when we got to room no fridge. put one in later that day did not work very well.

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    The stay at the hotel was ok. A good place to rest after standing in the sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property a little dated. Electrics in room elderly and temperamental, aircon noisy, and no clear markings to find facilities. Room advertised with a fridge and did not come with one. Also got bookings the wrong way around with kids in the superior suite and parents in standard.

    Beds great, breakfast awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Not a 4-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is really old and urgently needs a complete refurbishment and renovation. Air conditioning was not working in our room. Should not be advertised and sold as a 4-star hotel, since it is not even close to that. 2-stars on a nice and sunny day. Booked cheapest room in a rush without looking into details - lesson learned. However, the people working there were extremely helpful. Thank you for that!

    Location. Location. Location. Very helpful staff - they took care of us and for example let us change our room when A/C was not working.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was not working and I reported it 3 times and they said it's normal although no cold air comes out of it... till the day before my departure it started dripping water... then they fixed it and there was a huge difference as the room became cold!... also I found remains of hair in the toilet after it was cleaned

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Very good located with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WC wasn't working very well.

    The hotel was very good located and we just needed to walk to reach museums and historical places we wanted to visit. The staff were super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel, great base for all that Rome has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, close to the main station and just one block over from Via Nazionale, short stroll to a number of major sites. Hotel was very quiet, no traffic noise, air con was just about able to cope with the 33 degree heat in the room. Breakfast was interesting with cereal, bread, ratatouille and cake, excellent coffee. Breakfast is server on the 4th floor, quite a small and warm room, however there is a roof terrace which offered a cooler location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Great location great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely and staff were a great help, especially night time desk staff, young man in particular. Great location could walk to everywhere and room was always lovely and clean upon return. Would defiantly stay there again and recommend it to all my friends. Great location but also quiet to sleep easy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Room comfortable, cool and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited milk/tea bags provided for tea making-and when asked for more still limited! Was looking forward to our "breakfast on the terrace" - but didn't expect to see pigeons coming for my food (and the determined ones tried coming inside too and needed to be chased out)! Not sure if that particular morning was worse than usual!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Super friendly and helpful staff, well located, very...
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi, very poor signal and sometimes nothing at all. Nowadays any hotel can't allow such a thing.

    Super friendly and helpful staff, well located, very comfortable and very clean. I'd recommend it though they must fix internet connection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel. Great location. Wonderful, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fabulous!

    This hotel is about a 10 minute or less walk from the Termini train station. It's on a nice quiet street. We were unable to use the food facilities because of our schedule, but they were nice enough to make up a breakfast package we could take onto the train. The staff were EXTREMELY nice and helpful. We arrived quite early in the morning with nowhere to go, and our luggage in tow. They let us have our room at 10:00 in the morning! This helped us SO much. They were very knowledgeable about the bus tours, public transport, etc. and even sold tickets for the Metropolitania (Subway). I'd stay here again in a heart-beat. Again, incredible staff that I can't say enough about. Just wonderful people! :-) A real gem in a wonderful city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    Disappoointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hot 35 degrees. Air conditioning not working latch in window broke so could not get any air very hot. They finally out in a fan which helped a little. Staff apologetic and tries their beat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.7
    A good location to reach directions in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi - Fi wasnt working most of the time. Toilet flush was not working. İt was a room for 4 persons, and we were not informed that one of the beds is actually a sofa which wasn't comfortable at all ..

    Secure and an old but beautiful hotel. . Perfect location near Termini station .. Roof tarace where You can eat breakfast is very nice. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    The hotel did not distract from our visit to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needed refurbishment and fridge hadn't been cleaned in months. Toilet flush system was broken when we arrived.

    The breakfast patio was wonderful in the morning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    4.2
    Awful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    This property is shabby, dark and in real need of an update. Room/bathroom awful tiles broken etc. Everything awful. This is not a hotel for families etc more a backpackers hostel. But Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location for train station and Opera House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the internet connection was down during our one night stay. The safe in our bedroom (and all the others) was unusable because the machine to fix them in case they remain blocked was broken. That meant having to hand in and retrieve valuables from the receptionist many times. The bathroom could do with some revamping.

    Great location only 6-7 minutes walk from the railway station and 2 minutes from the Opera House. Our room at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard was quiet. The staff was very kind, helpful and smiley. Great to have breakfast on the roof terrace on a sunny spring day and breakfast was reasonably good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.4
    Fairly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to have some drinks on the top terrance which was meant to be open untill 23.00 but was told it was closing at 20.30. The mini fridges in the room werent at all cold enough.

    Large bathroom. Good location for public transport to the sights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Rex not perfect but almost!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower handle needs repair, fridge non functioning -box lunch for day trip is weak-however shower is hot with excellent pressure! Staff brought us a fan since no air conditioning this time of year (May)!

    Staff! Big room huge bed ! Elevator, night manager recommended two excellent restaurants right by hotel! 7 minute walk to Ternini -bus 492 also convienent! Wonderful breakfast with outdoor balcony!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    The staff were extremely helpful, answering our queries with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely helpful, answering our queries with a bright smile and making light conversation. My sister and I arrived a little earlier than the expected, and were asked to wait for a little while as they were still cleaning our room. The room was spacious, and very clean. Would recommend to youths travelling to Rome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Great place for a less expensive stay near the main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More comfortable bed. Room was re-done and clean but gave a 'dark' impression, probably due to the dark wall coverings. Nice though.

    The location just a few blocks from the Roma Termini train station was ideal. The room was very large for Rome standards, if a little out-dated. The price for a last night stay in Rome was great. The staff was fantastico.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.7
    An average 2 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything I read about this hotel is true. Good or bad. In the 80 's was probably a four stars hotel, the problem is that since it has remained unchanged. It is currently a modest two-star hotel so don't be fooled by the alleged deals to becouse you get exactly what you pay. But if you are looking for a hotel in Rome Termini area with a good breakfast and you are not very demanding, hotel rex can be a variant.

    Very close to the metro station, good bed, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.2
    Property and services of an unrated hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property and services are very poor

    The Rex hotel is falsely advertised, overrated on your site, imagages on your site need to be updated and the Hotel Rex needs major refurbishments. I was only there for a day but very disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice clean quiet hotel within easy reach of Rome attractions and the Termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room felt a bit outdated and dark. Slight modernisation here and there but not to lose the old feel and charm.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. No question to hard to answer. Clean throughout the hotel. Good quiet location and easy to get about.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    4.2
    No hot water, would never go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel, it was dirty, bedrooms were old fashioned and very dull. The bathroom was mouldy and damp and there was no hot water. The rest of the staff were very miserable.

    There was one member of staff that was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor breakfast, no hot water for shower one day of our stay. We were advised by reception reason was that everyone was having a shower at the same time.... we were supposed to check out in an hour but we were not given the ok to stay for longer to have a shower before we leace

    great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel to stay in Rome for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Varity of the food on breakfast was not so big. Toilet flush was not working.

    Perfect location of the hotel, very close to metro station and main train station Roma Termini. Roof tarace where You can eat breakfast. Very familiar staff. Possibility to leave luggage after check-out. Direct connection with the taxi service to easy manage Your transfer to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    3.3
    Property in decline.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was not functioning properly. The room smelled accordingly. There was mold in the mini fridge which was not cooling at all from the years of ice build up on the freezer compartment. There was mold on the tile grout throughout the bathroom The stool in the bathrooms chipped all around the seat and the chrome base was rusted overall. Looked like a dumpster dive. No hot water!!! Front desk argued that the room was fine. No view from window, had to keep drapes drawn for privacy. Had to check out next morning. Front desk refused to refund second night booked.

    Staff were pleasant upon arrival.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Staff and great decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dark and the bathroom could be updated a little!

    Breakfast was fantastic, location 15 min walk to main attractions and the staff were so lovely!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    i will not be returning to the rex hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was un comftable and the shower soaked the whole of a very small bath room had to shut the toliet door to use the loo. very disapointed.

    The staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.0
    The room was quite spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean enough, it seemed as if it has not been used for ages. It needs renovation. The breakfast consists of pre-cooked stuff.

    The room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    convenient for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don t know the hotel classification system in Rome, but this hotel cannot be a 4th star hotel. they are still using the old heavy key system (modern hotels use the cards), the furniture is old, the bidet has traces of rust and also the bathtub. I asked a quite room high floor, I had a room 1st floor near elevator. during the night a very noise group of tourists were speaking loud and slamming the doors so sleeping was difficult. the view from the room was a dirty wall.

    the bed was comfortable, the linen was clean. I liked the parquet in the room. overall, the room was clean but outdated. close to termini station, good for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    We really enjoyed the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and rusty bathroom...really dark rooms, (really add some more lights.)Personall was confused all the time... only one boy was nice and looked confident of what he was doin. The breakfast is simly terrible...would never payed for it if i knew i would have to eat things lile that for breakfast...even i had early check in and was sure the hotel was not full they refused to let me in my room so i had to walk the city for more than 4 hours without even having a bath after the trip... at all the price i paid for a delux room was reaaaaly too big for what ive got... will never come back in this hotel for sure...and again DO NOT USE the breakfast option if you are booking a room there... or you want rice and fried eggplant with tons of oil and green tomatos and terrible coffee. This hotel is deffinitely not a 4* hotel...

    We really enjoyed the location. Metro and train and bus station near by...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Good value and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite a poor selection. It would have been better to have a toaster machine, cooked items on order and fresh sliced fruit. The fruit juice was from concentrate rather than fresh.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was excellent and the whole Hotel was very clean and well presented. The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and friendly at all times.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bathroom, no warm water in the shower, old carpets in the bedroom, dirty pillows. Breakfast was so poor, it's not a 4 star hotel. An hostel would have been better!

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Excellent friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No channel listings for the TV so couldn't find an English speaking channel. No kettle or drinks in the room when I arrived but this was sorted out the next day.

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.4
    located hotel in Rome but a bit tired
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaners shouting and apparently arguing around 9am for 20mins until I induced silenced by banging on the bedroom door. The spider shaped crack on the toilet seat was not welcoming and could easily have been renewed. Tried to upload a photo but unable to do so. The toilet bin without the plastic casing over the foot pedal could easily cut the skin of your foot if you didn't know. The bin could and should have been removed.

    The Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient position scores highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike.

    Breakfast was good. Room was spacious as a double and huge for me as a single occupier. Staff were really helpful and very accommodating. Hotel position was near to station and Metro underground so for me that was brilliant. Even in the city centre it was quiet too with a comfortable bed. All round excellent for me.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    DO NOT BELIEVE THE PHOTOS!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very dated. Bathroom was dirty with rusting taps and dirty tiles. The breakfast wasn't overly edible with very little choice. The bar area was cramped and unwelcoming The photos on the website have been taken at angles to believe tis is far more spacious and clean than it actually is. Very disappointed with the entire stay. The only reprieve was the location and the staff were helpful. Thankfully we hardly spent any time there and would go to bars around the corner for a drink.

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.9
    Smells a bit like mold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled a bit like mold

    Great location, huge bed, staff was helpful. We asked for a quiet room and got one. Right next to the Opera - sometimes you can hear music. It's great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    Great place, highly recommend for family with kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was huge, which is quite nice. But half of the bed has a good mattress and the other half has a really old and concave one, which hurt my back. The elevator is very small - can't fit in a stroller.

    The best part of it is that they have a kids corner, where my son (1.5) really enjoyed playing at - lots of toys and books, and the ambiance is also very delightful. The location is good, walkable to most of the popular locations. The stuff was extremely helpful, recommendation to nearby restaurants (BTW, Target has fantastic steaks), and they even lent me an adapter. Breakfast is quite good. Room is spacious and nice furnitures. They even hand wrote a small welcome card with a small snow global.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    The room was very spacious and located at the rear of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very spacious and located at the rear of the hotel, which meant it was very quiet. Ideal. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, advising on sites and facilities and transport, and even arranging a taxi for us on one occasion. I would definitely visit the Hotel Rex again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Excellent choice, very good value for the money, the best staff you can imagine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A very good placed hotel, close to every single touristic attraction but still in a quiet vicinity. We are a family of four, so we had a big room with a double bed and a junior single,connected with another room with one single bed. Very comfortable, the kids just loved it! The breakfast very good, salami, cheeses, cooked salads, cereals. Coffee or hot chocolate on demand, again the children love it (not to talked about the PS2 in the room!). But without any doubt, what does the difference is the staff! Emmanuel and Laura are the very best example of the perfect concierge! Their priceless tips save us a lot of time and money. They made our trip more successful and for this we are more than grateful! We recommend it warmly and really hope to visit it again. Solomovitch Fam

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    3.8
    Rex
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of customer service. They were not able to help the bad smell in my room without contacting the manager or owner

    The room had a terrible smell. Really horrible I am working with manager to get acdiscount

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.4
    Great location to the train station unfortunately that's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a huge renovation, we didn't take our shoes off. And beds need to be replaced. Very old with a weird layout.

    Great location to the train station unfortunately that's about it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.5
    a real mixed bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was cold. the take-out breakfast box was a great idea but was of poor quality and disappointing

    the bed was great, room lovely and staff very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Large comfortable rooms, conveniently located within walking distance of any of Rome'so sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave before they started serving breakfast, but we believed it was included. We were informed at check in that it would be extra.

    Although a bit worn, the room was roomy, clean, comfortable and quiet!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Location from train was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small, and you could barely turn around! I wasn't aware that reservations for restaurant had to be made months in advance.

    Location from train was great! Staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I look forward to breakfasts when I am away and have been disappointed in the past with Italy so wasn't expecting much. Hotel Rex exceed my expectations and there was a good choice, served out on the roof top terrace was a particularly nice touch. Hotel was 5 minutes walk from the train station, direct train in from the airport. I liked the quiet location away from the throngs of tourists, but still only 20 minute walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc. Enough restaurants in the area to visit after a busy day's sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Good Location, poor services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy room, old furniture, it was quite cold inside and the water was cold as well.

    Very kind personnel, likely to help if needed. They also have the possibility of checking in luggage in case of a late departure, after check-out hours.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost no vegan breakfast. Some nuts or almond or soy milk would have been nice, as well as a greater choice of fruit. Also, hot water runs out fast, not enough for 2 people.

    Breakfast terrace on top floor was great! Very nice and welcoming staff. Nearby Termini train station and tourist bus stops.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    The location of the hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shower curtain in the bathroom. Made it a little difficult to keep water from spraying everywhere.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. We were close to the main train station, tourist sites, and good restaurants. Hotel staff members were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    A grand old hotel in an excellent location if you need access to Termini Railway Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a better kettle that worked more easily that the one we had to struggle a bit to engage to boil, and a more smart piece of furniture (to house the television) in keeping with the style of the rather grand hotel rather that the IKEA type which was well worn and scratched.

    i enjoyed the welcome and apology for the delay in checking me in based on another customers needs. The breakfast was lovely and in a garden room, once again the staff cheery and friendly. I loved the location and the grand old world of this old hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    Great location but not worth the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to request slippers. Not allowed to have any food in the room - food forbidden. More upsetting bed was uncomfortable and possibly had bed bugs. Breakfast wasn't tasty and awfully bad service and no coffee machine. Coffee was from the thermos.

    Location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.7
    Had a comfortable stay, apart from the lack of hot water one night, no air conditioning and TV reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water in the bathroom shower the night we arrived, but it returned the next morning, no air conditioning in our room and the TV antenna was broken so we had no TV reception. The elevator was really small and narrow, not much space for us and our suitcases.

    Location to the train termini was within walking distance, lovely breakfast on the terrace, clean room, comfortable beds, the day manger an Asian guy was really nice and very helpful. The price of the hotel was reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.2
    The staff were very accommodating and managed to get us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a family with small children and wanted rooms together, we arrived late, the hotel was full and the message that we needed rooms together had not got through

    The staff were very accommodating and managed to get us rooms together for the second night

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    3.3
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room Single use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water for two days in a row, room was in need of major remodel, no cover for bed, breakfast below par.

    Room was quiet and close to Termini station. WiFi worked well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.3
    Ok for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room had barely any hot water and it seems that other guests had the same problem. Air conditioning was noisy and not very effective. Free breakfast was not that good. The hotel really ought to work on this. Beware the 6 euro per person per day tourist tax that is NOT included in your booking price and has to be paid on departure. I'm sure it is in the small print somewhere, but it is pretty poor that booking.com does not show the final price.

    Friendly and helpful front desk staff who all speak excellent English. Convenient for railway and metro stations. (short walk away from Termini railway station, that has a direct train from the airport.) Reasonably (and also unreasonably) priced restaurants just round the corner. Clean and spacious room. Quiet location. Free wifi in the room works well and is fast. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is nice on a warm morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.6
    Great value for your money...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    English translation of the TV shows.. we did not enjoy our favorite movies. You may also want to improve the breakfast menu.

    The cleanliness of the room. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we loved it all!

    We loved everything about the hotel, our room was beautiful, comfy beds, air conditioning, clean bathroom. Breakfast was fab, staff were friendly and welcoming. Proximity to everything was good by foot or on the Metro.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.9
    A good first up welcome to Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from hotel window. View from breakfast terrace was good though.

    Central location. Friendly staff. Carpet on the floors. Decent size bedroom. Decor good. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.1
    Bad price/value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be careful with pictures from this hotel on Booking. The photos don't correspond to the reality. It's a dirty, old place. If you clame - we didn't have hot water in our bathroom - they promise to check and fix it, but nothing happens.

    Good location, very close to Termini station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    6.3
    Enjoyable stay but hotel room refurbishment overdue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms are in serious need of refurbishment and until this is completed it is highly inaccurate to list this as a 4 star hotel.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Easy to get to from train station and close to stop for hop on hop off bus tour.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rex traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: