Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Lombardy hotel reviews
  4. Milan hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Rio

Reviews of Hotel Rio This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Giuseppe Mazzini 8, Milan City Center, 20123 Milan, Italy

#265 of 439 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1910 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2019

    7.9
    Good location, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. For the price it was good value b

    The location was excellent, just a short walk to the Duomo. Lots of good cafes, restaurants and bars nearby. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2019

    8.8
    In the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an awkward step from sleep space to bathroom. We both stubbed our toes trying to navigate to bathroom at night. Not all of the power outlets worked. The bed was minimal and uncomfortable. Overall the room could use some updating.

    Located in the heart of Milan. Staff was very nice. I liked the breakfast. air-conditioned.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2019

    4.6
    Poor hotel, but excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel look's like from different century - the last one, the aspect (in general) was poor (the room was not cheap-130 euro/night) and the key from room was "old fashion" with a big plumb (not to take outside of hotel). We leave the hotel after 1 hour and move on in different location (on a brand hotel).

    Location

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2019

    7.1
    Breakfast was good, the place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the room on April 23 and asked him not to be on the main street. When I arrived at the hotel, I got a very noisy room, I couldn't sleep at night. Who to ask if not taken into account. The room was booked early.

    Breakfast was good, the place was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    8.3
    Worth it for the walk to the Duomo alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Though there is “air conditioning” in the room, don’t count on it. I tried to have it blasting but didn’t get much cool air. If it’s not too hot for your stay, no problem

    So close to Il Duomo, made going for sunrise so nice. Plus, almost all the staff were so pleasant and friendly

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. Really bad management. That’s people need help. I feel sorry for them as well as the money I spent staying there. Everything was so poor. The service, client care, breakfast, wifi, everything. I’d like a refund from it, it was not fair. Lady very unprofessional at the reception (rude) first impression when I arrived was already really bad with her on the phone and texting while I was in front of her waiting. Besides taking a copy of my passport and giving me the keys, didn’t explain anything to me at all. The safety looker wasn’t working I had to request a check, 6 hours later they sent a guy to fix it. Breakfast 7:30 to 10:00 am every day (really poor) even if you arrive 8 or 9am, there is nothing left and they don’t refill everything. Had to eat out because (there was nothing there. 8:30am) Wi-Fi was not working in the second day they reset the internet and after that did not work anymore. (Everyone was complaining as I could see). Had to use my roaming data and I’m sure I will pay a lot for it. Room has a really bad smell of cigarettes and electric cables exposed. Really dangerous as it was inside of the shower. Everything the mate made my bed, every i was back I had to open the windows and turn on the air conditioning because of the really strong smell of cigarettes. Not sure but seems like the mates are smokers and are smoking in the room or in the area. I am badly disappointed with this experience and would never recommend this hotel to anybody. A refund would the less you could do for this terrible experience to at least cover my cost with breakfast out and roaming internet from my provider.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    9.6
    Superb location - Definitely worth staying there again if I come to Milan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is a little small but since I didn’t spend all my time there , it was fine. No problem. The breakfast area is small but it is okay. At least breakfast is provided. There are no supermarkets nearby. There are so convenient stores though that I can get provision though.

    The receptionists were great. The air conditioner remote was not working and the receptionist found a replacement within 30 minutes. They were all great friendly people. The included breakfast is nice because it saved me the trouble to look for a cafe. It is so close to the Duomo. I love the area. The 24 hours reception was great.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent facility...would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is excellent to the Duomo and Galleria with its good restaurants and upscale shops. Easily walking to center of Milan and public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was fine - but internet did not work on my second night. Was fine by next morning

    Location, location, location. To be so close to the Duomo was just amazing. Price was great for what I wanted

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    8.3
    Great for very short stay to visit the city. Kind of extremly fancy hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on top floor (six) tiny and very hot (weather over 25 degrees), which was causing troubles to sleep, noises of the street that calm down eventually though quite late. I advice to bring ear plugs.

    Excellent location, literally the city center. Catherdral, metro station (Duomo, red and yellow line), trams (eg. tram No.3 only four stops from the evening life area) and taxi lot reachable within few steps. Breakfast simple but quite enough. Bed comfortable. Lift. Easily visible because of the sign above the door. Good WI-FI in the room. Accessible shops around (eg. Zara).

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    10
    Only 1 night but all beyond our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The location is outstanding - close to everything Great bathroom. Breakfast was good. Staff were very very helpful & friendly. Great value for money

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    6.3
    Quiet room, extremely convenient central location, quick...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot of mold in the bathroom which I didn't notice until the morning. Very clear this had not been cleaned for a very long time if ever.

    Quiet room, extremely convenient central location, quick check-in

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    6.7
    Great location, could use some renewal works!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was clean but very small (too small). Overall it needs a makeover, furniture and bathroom look quite old. Windows as well are quite old and it feels like you are out due to the outside noise.

    Location is simply amazing, you open your window and see the Duomo Square! Room was ok for one person ( I only stayed one night). Staff always available and with a smile on their face.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    7.9
    Location- very friendly staff- excellent breakfast choice-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn't have the heater on because centralized. Breakfast room a bit tight...as the rooms themselves.

    Location- very friendly staff- excellent breakfast choice- particularly loved the hot drinks on request at no charge (espresso, cappuccino, chocolate)-very clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    6.3
    Location is so awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms r very old. and small. Doesn’t feel fresh.

    Location is so awesome! in the center! It’s only few steps from Duomo di Milano and everything else : cafes shops...

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent all round really, at a budget price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bit of a smell in my room at first, sort of bad drain smell? I didn’t notice it the second day. Trams were loud in the road outside but got used to it.

    So close to the Duomo, great access to transport and places to eat.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    8.3
    Absolutely great location - very good value in Milan for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Less attentive and slightly grumpy staff in breakfast room. Some renovations would not hurt to have truly modern rooms, but then this would certainly also increase prices which people coming to this nice Hotel would not want.

    Absolutely great location basically around the corner from Il Duomo. Great value for an okay room. Great and helpful staff at reception.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    10
    Hotel Rio is in the very centre of Milano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't mention anything.

    Hotel Rio is in the very centre of Milano. Exactly by the Duomo cathedral. So if you want to discover and have the best out of Milan's visit, this is the best place to stay. Breakfast is very good. Hotel staff are very helpful. It's a must to book.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    7.5
    The location is in top of everything for 1 night its best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise of the trams till 2 am in the morning would be problem for sleeping, but if you planning to stay for 1 day in Milan and see everything this is the spot

    The location is in top of everything for 1 night its best hotel

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    7.9
    The location is amazing sibce it's almost just across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the trains and pedestrians were really loud from the room.

    The location is amazing sibce it's almost just across the Duomo and other major sites. The breakfast is really good as well. The male staff (forgot to get his name) was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue we really had was the bathroom wasn't too clean, and the air con unit wasn't working and there was no windows apart from the main balcony door overlooking the street.

    Excellent location within walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    7.9
    Excellent location - literally round the corner from Piazza...
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location - literally round the corner from Piazza Duomo. One of our party found the trams a bit noisy - I was on the 5th floor and not bothered in the slightest. Would I stay here again? Most definitely due to its excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    8.3
    The staff was very kind all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very very small bathroom.. the sink was basicaly on the top of the toilet.. bed was in a horrible condition..

    The staff was very kind all times.. and the location is excellent

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    10
    Amazing, loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked this for my daughter and her best friend as an 18th Birthday trip. We had been to Milan months before and stayed nearer Central Station, however as it was her first time abroad without parents I wanted something nearer to the shopping. What a great choice I made. The kids had a ball. Right in the middle of the shopping and a short walk from the square and cathedral. There were plenty of places to eat around the hotel. The best part for me was the staff. They felt totally safe, staff offered advice and helped them out finding clubs and places to eat. They really looked after them which was fantastic. Hotel looked fab and they enjoyed the breakfast. Will book it myself on my next trip. Fantastic

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.2
    special thank to the man who check me in to the hotel, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noise when you sleep on the road side next to the window, but that’s what you get when your hotel is in amazing location! :)

    special thank to the man who check me in to the hotel, very friendly! He know what he is doing :) breakfasts was good! location was better than I was thinking! Easy to go shopping and easy to go with metro to main train station!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.2
    All above mentioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning of the floor could be better.

    All above mentioned. Friendly staff. Perfect location, just hundred meters from Domos square. Caffeterias within one minute.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Excellent short stay to explore Milano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. No complaints.

    We only spent one night at Hotel Rio, but could easily spend several nights. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was good, particularly the coffee. This hotel has an elevator, which is a plus when traveling with elderly parents. Location is great, only steps away from Milano's Duomo. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around the hotel. Also, really appreciate the fact that it is pet friendly and we didn't get charged additional fees for our doggy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    10
    Short stay at Hotel Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked the convenience of being able to walk less than 5 minutes to the Duomo. My room was small, but it served my purpose as a solo traveler. The reception staff was great! My suitcase had been lost, but the airport delivered it directly to the hotel and the front desk called me right away to let me know, but also kept me updated on its status until it arrived.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The single room was very small, which i expected. But there was a lost of moisture/mold on the walls and it was not warm enough.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    Superb location few steps away from Duomo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small and basic, though surprisingly quiet for such a central location. The shower is quite old and probably needs a bit of maintenance. But all in all, really good value for money. Can surely recommend the place for a 1-3 days stay.

    Superb location few steps away from Duomo. Very friendly personnel and surprisingly nice breakfasts.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    5.0
    The Hotel has perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is extremely dirty, I have to say , sorry but it's the truth. If you need some places to rest, don't ever book this hotel. You event listen to the snore from someone next to your room, then there is no doubt that all the noise from street will lull you for the whole night ^^" You can imagine, for sure !

    The Hotel has perfect location The breakfast lady was so nice . Breakfast was not bad

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.3
    Amazing location, very moderate facilities and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities were old, room was tiny and humid, reception was alright. aircon was not working, heater was not working during morning time/daytime, or occasionally working, that might because of the room was located at the 6th floor, that water was hard to go up. showering room was small, i can barely turn around in the showering box.

    the location of the hotel was amazing, very close to the duomo subway station, in approxi 3 mins walking distance, you will be at the hotel. Many restaurants nearby. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    7.9
    The best location, but needs more cleaning and renovating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the negatives: for the price I expected a bit more. The furniture seemed old and tired. The hair dryer was put together with tape and didn't seem very safe. The cleaning was ok in general but in some corners it seemed like it hadn't been cleaned deeply for a while. The windows for example, the sides of the glass were dusty no end, specially at the bathroom. The view was interior to a patio that needs painting. Also bring earplugs, because I could hear my neighbour snoring. My door had marks as it had been opened forcing it at some point. Thankfully it closed well. The lift is very very slow and just can hold 2 people at once, so I recommend using the stairs when possible.

    I chose this hotel because of the location, that's the best of it all. In 2 minutes you are in the Duomo and in 10 minutes you can be at Cadorna station for the train to Malpensa. Also good connection for Centrale and for moving around the city with trams and metro. When I arrived I was lucky that I could have my room earlier, so I could do an early check in and that was very convenient. The staff on reception were polite all the time, they spoke English and helped me with my questions. The room was a single, not too big because it had a huge table in the middle of it taking the space, but for one it was fine. The bathroom was a lot bigger. There was a hair dryer, a shower cabinet, bidet and it was old but ok. Toiletries were included. Some of the Italian towels are very thin, but I knew this from other places. Also in the room, hangers for the coats, a drawer-shelf on the corner, a safe, a small fridge, bedside table (a bit too close to the bed), a bed (comfy), heating and a big wardrobe. Breakfast was included and it was fine. Many products to choose from, juices, yoghurt, cheeses, cured meats, fruits, coffees… not a big buffet but good as it was included and very welcomed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.1
    Super location, bit basic and irritating non-functioning elements for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The blinds at the window did not function. The light switches functioned very inconveniently. The staff could have been more helpful when asked for information.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was perfect for my friends and I to go to the opera at la Scala!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room very small, but very nice coffee & food.

    Helpful staff, great continental breakfast, clean & comfortable room. Very close to city attractions!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.3
    positive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is a little bit small, but for a one night stay is fine

    a stone throw away from Duomo, very center, close to metro and all facilities (restaurant, bar, shops..) good for tourists and short period travellers check in very fast, efficient staff would stay again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money but there are more comfortable hotels around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very small and the bed was not very comfortable. The interior design is very old-fashioned and the rooms very small. The view from my room was terrible (looked like an oversized chimney shaft).

    The location of the hotel is excellent, the breakfast is very good and overall it offers good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    6.7
    Good location for being in the hart of Milan, but find a better place for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very poor with not-hospital staf. Very poor selection and bread tasted like it had been served before. Very small tables - breakfastroom was clearly not inviting for breakfast. Reception-lady was absolutely not interested (her male colleagues were friendly though and very helpful)

    Room was spacious and clean; bed was good. View from the small balcony was not spectacular but good for night-photography though the Dom was not in sight.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    7.5
    Steps from St Marks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small as expected and worked for what I needed. Bathroom was ridiculously cramped. A lager person would have trouble sitting on the toilet. Shower needs an overhaul. Doors don’t seal and drain is so slow, I stopped the shower after three minutes so it would not overflow. Shower head was not adjustable and ran mostly cold. Never got any hot water. I didn’t complain to staff because I didn’t see them overhauling a bathroom for my one night stay. My advice is to stay away from room #36.

    Great location. If you are coming from Milan Central or Linate Airport, I can’t imagine an easier hotel to get to. Perfect location for a visit to the Duomo or any other central Milan attraction. Breakfast was great. Good coffee and pastries along with fruit and cereal. Staff was good and answered all my questions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    4.6
    Small room. Great coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small. No space to put the bags. The shower was over the bath. But the hose was only 1m so you couldn't put it over your head. Water went everywhere. The breakfadt room was so small you had to juggle around to put food on the plate.

    The location is excellent. Less thank 5 minutes walk to the Duomo and surrounding shopping and restaurants. Even though we had a room facing the Main Street it was very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    8.3
    Location is excellent, double room large and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room set a side for breakfast far to small. Good sellection for breakfast but uncomfortable area to eat in, far to busy and crowded.

    Location is excellent, double room large and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast area was very small and cramped. if I returned I would try to get a room-only rate and have breakfast over the road in a sweet cafe

    the location was really great - just around the corner from the Duomo

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was in dire need of modrnisation. The view when you opened the curtains was a dirty courtyard. A few repairs to the bathroom are long overdue. The sliding door to the shower were coming out of the rails every time it was opened. The breakfast room was cramped every time more than 6 people were present.

    Friendly staff and of course location location! Breakfast was ok but room far too small.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.5
    Everything about this hotel is its central location- about 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed was a bit small and not very comfortable

    Everything about this hotel is its central location- about 3 minutes' walk from the Doumo, with public transportation around, shops, restaurants and all the rest…. It’s a simple hotel, noisy if the window is open, the room is small (but clean), breakfast with not much selection, but overall it was OK. If you are looking for a cheap hotel for a short stay in the heart of Milan, it’s a good choice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.3
    The location was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything I would change! The rooms are small and basic but a good value for Milan.

    The location was fantastic! Really easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go in Milan. The bathroom was large and the room was cozy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    A perfect base for our short stay in Milan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to fault.

    The hotel is exceptionally well located being only a few metres from the Duomo. Considering the noise of Milan generally, and the main road the hotel is on, our room on the first floor overlooking the street was quite quiet with shutters and windows shut. Thanks to the air con and the good mattress we both had a good nights sleep. With most hotel checkout times at 10am, we appreciated th extra time our 11am gave us. We would certainly look to book here again when we return to Milan. PS. The variety of food at breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    6.3
    Okay place if you don't mind
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light didn't work, facilities were old and in some cases run down, especially in the bathroom. Door lock was confusing and key was heavy and bulky.

    Breakfast was good. It was clean and safe. Lift worked fine. Room was generally comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.1
    Perfect Location. Very small hotel. Good for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room. Tram noices almost all night long. Room mini fridge did not work. Breakfast room is really small and since we were travelling with a baby first my husband went down for breakfast then i went.

    Perfect Location! They kept my homemade babyfood in the hotel fridge. Good for the price we paid

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Actually everthing is good except the shower and maybe for a big man like me the bed is a little bit small

    The staff was helpful , polite and so kind specially Jimmy The location is perfect just near the duomo and the room is small but smart The breakfast is so good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.2
    Great location at a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size is surprisingly big for the price. The location is absolutely IDEAL for exploring Milan. Honestly around the corner from the Duomo. Breakfast has all the basics. Staff were welcoming and always on hand to ask for help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.2
    Value for money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is friendly and smile all the time Room is spacious. Good enough for one night stay Location is the best. Few steps to the church :) taxi from milano centrale to the hotel is ard 10euro. Breakfast is simple with few selection of bread cheese and ham.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    8.8
    The situation is perfect, a few steps you can find the Duomo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed is quite small, but the room is comfortable.

    The situation is perfect, a few steps you can find the Duomo square. On the other hand, breakfast is good and people so kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location!!The stuff is helpful,the room is clean and conformable,a little bit small of course, but the Duomo is just around the corner! What else can you ask for? Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful 1-night stay at Hotel Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small but it wasn't really a problem. The aircon didn't seem to make any difference to the temperature in the room, I'm not sure why. In any case, it wasn't too hot so that was fine.

    The bed was very comfortable. I loved the fresh fruit salad for breakfast. The staff were very pleasant. I was very happy that they let me leave my bag at the hotel all day while I wandered around. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would go back to this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    6.3
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room and toilet extremely small. Decor very dated. No tea/cofee facilities in room Air con wouldn't turn off, very cold during the night. Noisy at night as tram likes go right by window. Perks of staying in the city I suppose.

    Location excellent. Breakfast lovely. Woman serving breakfast was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.4
    The location is really excellent-100m from Duomo and from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really noisy,there was a construction on the back side of the hotel and there were some workers and machines all day long,You can hear all your neighbours around you also!

    The location is really excellent-100m from Duomo and from the stores!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Hotel very close to Duomo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel very close to Duomo. The area a bit crowded, but it did not bother us. Metro station nearby. Across the street you have a cafeteria and a mini restaurant where you can eat at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel with excellent location. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reception area is small and does not contribute to the image of the hotel. However, the staff is friendly and helpful.

    The location is excellent. Close to many attractions and restaurants. The Duomo is just around the corner and the metro station a mere 100 meters away. The breakfast area is very small and sometimes overcrowded, but with a little patience one can enjoy a good meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    3.8
    The location is great. Just wondered whether I got poor room because travelling on my own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff (apart from my interaction with the gentleman I put my concerns to) were ordinary in terms of welcome, assistance etc.

    The location is unbeatable however I would check in advance that you are not given a room overlooking what appeared to be a huge airconditioning unit which was very noisy. I did not sleep at all. I was tired and did not bother to get up to complain. The gentleman on the front desk the next morning was helpful and said he would have happily moved me had I said anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.9
    Okay hotel on a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds are really hard! And breakfast room is really small for the amount of people who have to eat there, we had to wait to get a table.

    The location was absolutely great! Super close to the beautiful Duomo di Milano. And the hotel has friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very clean and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Good size room, confortable bed, huge bathroom, AirCon works really nicely. Few metres from the Duomo. Breakfast room small, but ok, with real coffee/cappuccino served.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Nice room, but try to ask for an interior room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was a street facing room, which made for a LOT of street noise, as it is a very busy street. The water pressure in the shower was close to non-existent.

    This was the second time I stayed at Hotel Rio. My room was significantly larger as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cramped bathroom. The breakfast room could use some more AC, its not comfortable to sweat while you eat.

    The location is great, less than a block from the Duomo. The breakfast is good. My room was ok. It was small with just a single bed, and a very small bathroom, but it suited my needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    I recommend the Rio as a well-run and affordable lodging in the big and expensive city of Milan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect, about a block from Piazza Duomo. The room was appealing and quiet (good windows to shut out any street noise). with a comfortable bed and pleasant decor; very clean bathroom. Efficient and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect. I walked everywhere. Just around the corner from the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House and other sights. The room was small but comfortable with good air conditioning. The service was excellent and the staff all very helpful. I loved the breakfast, good range of fresh food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice "does the trick" hotel right in centre of Milan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is super, right next to Il Duomo and shops. Breakfast was small but had enough to fill a tummy. Beds comet memory foam. Pretty basic room but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    6.3
    good location to Duomo square but VERY loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    REQUEST room away from the street- the trams, buses ( all public transport) are so incredibly loud even with window closed and come every 20 min- so you will not sleep all night! - two twin beds put together, not he most comfortable

    pillows were very comfortable and location to Duomo square ( one minute walk, can see square from balcony)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.1
    Next time I will definitely stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can not say anything bad, we receive the value for our money.Staff was nice.

    The location was perfect!The staff was nice and the breakfast as well. The room was clean as well as the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.9
    the hotel was none of the above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was none of the above......basic would be my answer. the big advantage is how close it was to the Duomo. The entrance area was basic and cramped; and no common room or sitting area and i wouldn't want to spend time in my room except for sleeping. Saying this, if i was coming to Milan for only one nite to do business or a quick evening visit with a friend i would stay there again, staff were excellent and clean rooms......i'm just getting abit too old for this style of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    5.4
    Staff at breakfast more interested in chatting to cleaning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast more interested in chatting to cleaning staff who came in to have coffee. Not helpful or bothered with clients who were staying and paying. Bathroom very small, had to be contortionist to use toilet. Room very dark, on first floor completely on view to the many people waiting at the bus stop opposite. Very dissappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    8.3
    Very cheap price for a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi didn’t work well. There was a bad smell in the bathroom. The single bed was too small. There was not enough available tables in the breakfast room to sit down.

    The hotel is very well located in the heart of Milan close to the Duomo and the metro station. It is close to all the attractions. The room was comfortable enough for the price and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    5.8
    Good location, terrible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was horrible, very outdated in a desperate need for a make over. Walls were dirty, interior missing things. I ordered two double rooms, one had two seperate beds pushed together but there was still a huge gap between, not good for couples. The shower is not made for people over 150 cm, no pressure, it did not close properly and was really dirty. The AC didnt work so we had to keep the window open with the tram station right outside it was nearly impossible to sleep because of noise. The elevator is very scary, says it carries 4 people but it only carries 2 and it wont go unless you stand in the middle of it, if you stand by the walls of it, it just opens up again.

    Location is the only upside to this hotel really. Staff that took care of our payment was nice though, ordered us a taxi for the night we left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    A super break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    That I could not stay longer!! I had to go home and back to work.............

    The location was spot on, the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, and I had a room with balcony over looking the busy street, everything was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.5
    Location is great and pillows are comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower is terrible, property should definately invest in fixing the shower heads and the pressure . Shower head is spraying water in 4 tiny streams into different directions, therefore impossible to shower.

    Location is great and pillows are comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    The hotel is located in a very centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that I would suggest is wifi in the room. The connection was poor.

    The hotel is located in a very centre. The hosts were very kind. The room was spacious. The towels changed every day and really really clean. The room faces the main road and was a bit noisy but it was my mistake; I could ask for a the one that faces the backyard...

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: