Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Italy hotel reviews
  4. Italy hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Rio

Reviews of Hotel Rio This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Castello 4358-4358/A (Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo), Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

Review Score

Based on 1136 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    9.6
    I’ll recommend this hotel to my friends & I’ll stay in this hotel if I visit Venice again! 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no elevator 😂

    Excellent location! Near to Water bus/taxis stations, San Marco Squad, only 5-8 mins of walking and is clean too! U will not go hungry coz there are all the cafe and restaurants just outside/along the hotel. I’ll stay in this hotel if I visit Venice again! 👍🏻😊

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    9.2
    We found it to be value for money and an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy at night because of the close proximity to bars and restaurants.

    We found it to be value for money and an excellent location. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    The location to st marks square is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing was the bed was slightly uncomfortable but otherwise everything was great.

    The location to st marks square is perfect! We got the loft type room which was so awesome! I liked that it was clean! 🙂 The staff were so lovely, the guy helped us carry our bags up to the room and they were quite heavy! big thumbs up from us! Would recommend staying here to anyone. Good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The location is great, right in the centre of all the tourist spots. Easy to find coming in from the airport via waterbus. Communication with hotel was good and responses fast and friendly. We requested a specific room and they delivered.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator and small winding steep stairs to room all on the same level. Reception desk is up on a separate steep staircase so you have to descend the long winding staircase from your room to climb a long staircase up to the desk. Not for those with lots of luggage, small children, or mobility issues.

    Great location, clean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    9.2
    Friendly and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was uncomfortably small. Had to go in sideways and it was almost impossible to bend to wash feet and legs. I'm not overweight at all so would worry if someone any bigger than average size needed to use the shower.

    Staff were fantastic. Bed was very comfy. There was at least on channel in English on the TV. Location was fantastic for St Mark's and Rialto. Water bus to/ from station was about half hour but easily walkable depending on amount of luggage.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    10
    A good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit small.

    The location is almost the centre of Venice. Many restaurants and supermarkets nearby. 24 hours counter is convenience to us. The room is clean and comfort.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    9.6
    Exactly what I needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Except no elevator but I came with heavy luggage If you pack lite it's not a problem

    Very nice hotel, great price, nice staff, good location every thing that you need

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    7.5
    Nice clean hotel but very loud at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being so central I expected a bit of noise at night, but unfortunately my partner and I barely slept due to constant noise of drunks outside. Being in Venice previously I know the bars and clubs usually wind down early, midnight the latest. However the noise didn't stop (screaming shouting glasses broken) until 3am and then we had two hours of peace until the vendors started their work. Was a very nice hotel but really wasn't expecting so much raucous outside our bedroom in the small hours.

    The staff are really friendly and helpful! The room although small had great views and was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    Everything perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything perfect. Great family room, bed, shower. Perfect location 2 minutes walking from San Marcos and vaporetto. Super staff, so nice and helpful. It’s home in Venice.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    10
    bargain price for hotel 2 mins walk from San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    hairdryer a bit weak but a minor point

    bargain price for hotel 2 mins walk from San Marco. Overlooks lively little square but windows and shutters kept out any noise. Room fully equipped with kettle tea and coffee plus bottle of water included. small fridge was usful. plenty of toiletris in bathroom. friendly welcome. all excellent.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    3.3
    Dirty and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stupidly didn’t realise it was a 2* was below standard in my opinion,the laminate flooring was disgusting chipped and damaged all over, didn’t feel clean, was very noisy, never slept. We stayed one night of a 3 night stay and booked elsewhere. Extremely disappointed as we paid way over the price for this Hotel, booked a 3 * round the corner much cheaper and much more acceptable condition

    The location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    9.6
    Reception, room, bath, bed, tea and shower-gel-stuff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Conditioner/heater was very loud in our room. We had to turn it off for the night. Could be a real problem when it's very cold or very hot outside.

    Reception, room, bath, bed, tea and shower-gel-stuff were excellent!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    A perfect place for 2 people visiting venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little cold and we had only one blanket. Two of them would be wonderful.

    The staff was very friendly and the room service was excellent. The location is wonderful if you want to visit Venice because it is 2 minutes to piazza san marco.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    9.6
    It was close to main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the hotels fault but it was quite noisy from other guests staying. Coming in late at night being noisy and waking up early being noisy also. Might need a rule to be quite between certain times as respect to other guests staying perhaps.

    It was close to main attractions. Right around the corner from St Marks Square. It was tidy and spacious for 2 of us. Great bathroom and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    An amazing hotel with a reasonable price! Its location is perfect! All the things in this hotel are beyond my expectation. Recommend it to everyone!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Pretty and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room key was heavy and bulky

    The pictures didn't do this hotel justice. It looks way better in real life! There was even an extra pillow (unexpected) and some nice personal touches like biscuits & tea, and a small welcome chocolate. Staff was friendly and went the extra mile to show us to the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    The best vfm hotel ever. It made our trip in Venice even more amazing. I wouldn't think twice about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed at the 2 person economy room in December.It was very clean and Beautiful in the center of Venice (1 minute from San Marco) at an affordable price. Everything you could ask for . The view from the window is also very nice (it's a small piazza). It may not have breakfast facilities but it's always better to go out and discover the local delicacies.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.2
    Small, but comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator, hard to carry luggages to the room

    Small, but comfortable hotel. Very clean and heating system is really good also. Walking distance to square.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.2
    Top location for the best price! Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was too noisy, there was construction activity and even at 7:30 at the morning you could hear the noise. At night there were some restaurants/bars from which the music was very loud until 2:00. The hair dryer is old. There is no iron - you can iron your clothes only if you give them to the maid.

    Top location in the heart of the city, next to the top attractions of Venice for the best price. The rooms are nice and clean, the stuff is friendly. Good wi-fi network. There is water, tea and coffee at the room - free of charge. I and my friends really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and we will recommend it to our friends!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.2
    Top location for the best price! Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was too noisy, there was construction activity and even at 7:30 at the morning you could hear the noise. At night there were some restaurants/bars from which the music was very loud until 2:00. The hair dryer is old. There is no iron - you can iron your clothes only if you give them to the maid.

    Top location in the heart of the city, next to the top attractions of Venice for the best price. The rooms are nice and clean, the stuff is friendly. Good wi-fi network. There is water, tea and coffee at the room - free of charge. I and my friends really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and we will recommend it to our friends!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place but pack light!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevators was hard getting luggage up and down 3 flights of stairs. We were not prepared for that!

    Great Location in a very charming part of the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't even towels in the room. The room was so tiny. It wasn't looking all clean. No elevator in the other building. No comfort to be found. The only good thing about the hotel is the location. It's really close to the Santa Marco square.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.5
    Very close to st marks square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy in the square outside until well after midnight. The hotel doesn’t lend itself to people who can’t do stairs! 14 up to reception and 32 by dog leg landings to the rooms!

    Very close to st marks square. Ample choice of restaurants in the vicinity

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.8
    Attractive rooms in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception was up a long flight of stairs without an elevator, but the staff carried my bag and no tip expected. They are renovating and plan to move reception downstairs by next year. There is no breakfast and breakfast on the street is expensive. Att

    A five minute walk to S Marco and the boat landings. Lots of good restaursunts in the neighborhood. The room was very comfortable with tasteful modern fixtures. Friendly staff.receptio

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.1
    Pleasing location and relatively easy access from vaparetto stop. Helpful and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Age of the, he bathroom, needs to be renovated. Overall interior design is not up to modern standard or particularly attractive (subjective, but again the room should be updated)

    Very good position with restaurants in the small square below. Ease of getting therefrom Vaparetto stop, close and easy access to San Marco and major attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    6.7
    Very comfortable bed and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room and very small bathroom, not very well equipped with things such as shelving, there was no where to put anything in the bathroom.

    Very comfortable bed and fantastic location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs to reach room, but this would not keep me from coming back...

    Great location. Close to St. Marks, Doges Palace and San Zacharias water bus docks and Alilaguna airport boat dock. Located on a lively small square with dining and shopping. Beds were comfortable and air conditioning worked perfectly. Friendly staff. Definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is not working since in our room.

    Location is perfect. Very close to Piazza San Marco. I like the decoration of the the room, except the floor.(there are cracks on the floor.) The staff are all very kind and willing to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doors were a little thin which meant noise travelled a bit, may not be ideal for a light sleeper but not a massive problem for me

    Amazing location, ideal base for exploring Venice. Air con in the room, fridge to keep drinks cold

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Good value accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t a lift, so be prepared to drag your suitcase up! In saying that, I would probably stay again!

    Location was good! Easy to get to from airport and train station! Rooms were more modern and not the traditional Venetian style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Central to good food, canals, beers, spritzas and people taking up their 'photo pose' in gondolas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having headed off initially in the wrong direction - phone maps get in a bit of a pickle in amongst the little laneways. Everyone we asked seem to send us in the wrong direction. Eventually the last person we asked said yes - it was the very next door! Tired and hot we were happy to get there and the guy on the desk helped us up the stairs with our luggage.

    Close to both the water bus, Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square - once we found it! Took a wrong turn getting off the water bus!!! (Our fault) Lots a great places to eat or stop for a spritza. Easy to find once you get there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.6
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better coffee & tea ?

    Very comfy & 2 separate rooms rather than all in together which is always a bonus in a family room! Friendly staff, very clean & room ready early. Amazing location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Very central. Good for a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few stairs (no elevator), and the room did not have a fridge.

    Location couldn’t really be any better. Room was very nice for a family. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    Cold AIR! Yay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold air conditioning! It was nice to come in at any point of the day for a retreat from the heat and break for the feet. Basic small room, but excellent location and easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, clean rooms and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its a small and narrow hotel, with no elevator. So if you have trouble with stairs, it's not so convenient.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Clean and comfortabel room compared to the price. Excellent location near Marcus place and the San Zaccaria boat stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome location, clean rooms, and excellent front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Alley way was dark on the annex (building behind) the hotel where our rooms where. Needs a little lighting.

    Perfect location for the area of San Marco. Also, water taxi closeness was excellent especially when hauling your luggage on the streets. 24 hour front desk was excellent!!! Would stay there again. Staff at hotel was exceptional! They also provide water bottles every night in the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great location & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insufficient privacy from window curtains at night

    Staff were very helpful with directions & with luggage. Great location handy to water buses & places of interest. Bathroom was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Good location is the most important thing in a 1-2 day Venice tour. Hotel Rio definitely has that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some suggestions (not unlike): 1. Any possibility of an elevator? 2. A better lock. 3. Service desk could be closer to rooms for better security environment.

    1. Very good position. 2. Kind and helpful staffs. 3. Good cleanness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    Budget hotel but with really excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staf in front desk kinda bit unfriendly just they were did their job, no hospitality just greating no smile.

    Almost everything, kinda perfect hotel for that budget, lovely room, bathroom, amenities, 24 hr front desk, lots variant for Breakfast, good coffee and good food. Also they were allowed us to early check-in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great value for the money. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were a little thin and we had a neighbor who snored very loudly each night.

    Everything was very clean and the staff were super friendly. The stay included complimentary bottles of water, tea and coffee each morning. They even provided chocolates on the pillows! You can't beat the location (5 min walk to San Marco square).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, and everything you need from a hotel:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls were quite thin though, so you could hear everything that was going down in the other rooms. Could lead to funny anecdotes, but not really something that I loved.

    Great location, and everything you need from a hotel: comfortable bed, good bathroom etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    Very good location, nice staff, easy to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are super thin. We heard our neighbor on her cell phone and our room was across from a shared bathroom so we could hear anytime anybody went to use the bathroom

    Very good location, nice staff, easy to check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, clean rooms, friendly staff and uncomfortably small bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was tiny, not small, TINY. The toilet was wedged between a wall and the shower door. The space was cramped and uncomfortable. The shower door only opened 18 inches to allow you in and out. It would never pass British building regulations.

    Great area. Close to St Marks square and lots of good restaurants. The rooms was spotless and the bed very comfortable. We were in the annex and it was very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    3.3
    Avoid this hotel - prefer a tent instead!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed. Actually it is 2 star (although priced for 7*) thay I would not give any single star.

    Good location - If you prefer to be in the crowded centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.1
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although I had booked on a room only basis it wasn't made clear on the website that the hotel did not do breakfast - I thought we could have paid for it as an extra.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay, convenient location next to St. Mark's Square, and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My sister and I loved the location - it was conveniently MINUTES from St. Mark's Square, where the majority of attractions were. And we walked there from San Lucia train station, which was only about 30 minutes (we could have taken the waterboat, but decided to walk). The room was clean and had everything we needed, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. They allowed us to keep our bags there for extra hours while we explored the city on our last day. The wifi was strong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel ... but too noisy to sleep in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chambermaids woke me up early and continued talking at the top of their voices for at least 1 and a half hours - so I could not go back to sleep!

    Very clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Happy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One recommendation - hotel linked with restaurants for dinner discounts, a breakfast location would have helped us but it's not like you can get a pastry easily in Venice :)

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. Always a smile on their face (even when we checked out at 5am) Location is lovely, a short walk to San Marco but away from the really busy areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and modern rooms. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi kept buffering during our stay. We phoned reception to reset the WiFi but they did not listen to us. The next morning when we checked out, the staff member apologised profusely.

    The room was very cosy. The setup of the room is very attentive by the staff - they had welcome chocolates on the pillows, bottled still water and complementary tea & coffee and biscuits. Modern room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.2
    Great location in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls so a little noisy but all buildings are like this as they are so old

    My partner booked this place for my birthday and it did not disappoint. The location is fantastic for the price - you’re close to everything without being in a tourist trap portion of the city. The staff are all so lovely and helpful. Our room was spotless and cleaned daily. Overall amazing stay absolutely loved it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.6
    Location is perfect for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to carry bags up the stairs, but the staff will help. With the room facing the square, it can get a bit loud. We weren’t too bothered with that.

    Location is perfect for the price. The staff were helpful, the room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The room faced onto the square which was really cool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    8.8
    Good location. Mediocre hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That there was no elevator.

    Very good location but I would not have booked here Had I known it did not have an elevator. Kind of dated. But it serves the purpose. I had spent the night at another hotel the night before and the other hotel was much better and cheaper.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place for Venice lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This time no fridge in my room :(

    Perfect localization, helpful hosts, clean and comfortable rooms. It was my second stay in Rio and everything was great again :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be mindful that there is not lift and the stareways are steep. The bathroom is tiny but perfectly acceptable.

    Brilliant location for both sightseeing and departure to the airport by boat. 24 hour reception. Stylish interior and a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    10
    Great stay in Hotel Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping were chatting early in the morning next to the room and that was a bit disturbing.

    It was in a great location, just a few minutes walking from all the major attractions. Reception staff was friendly and gave some useful information.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    8.3
    Nice location and easy stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great except the room had a sewer smell. At first I thought it was my 12 year old son farting, but then realized the smell was constant. When I mentioned it at checkout I was told that it is common in Venice in the winter to have that odor. I am just used to bad smells though with a son.

    We loved having 2 bedrooms that were connected. This was perfect for a family. Our check in was smooth and the hostess was friendly. We even got a discount at 4 nearby restaurants for staying at hotel Rio. Although Hotel Rio doesn't serve breakfast, there were lovely cafes across the street serving reasonably priced croissant and coffee. The location is great and easy to find from the water taxi stop. The actual room was in a back alley with no view, but it was quiet. Our family of four was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    8.0
    Best location to wish for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lounge is more a former breakfast room with plastic furniture rather than cozy place to have lazy glass of wine or coffee at the end of the day. But it's not a problem if you have a busy and long day in the city. Some more hangers would be good and some sport channels on TV would be just perfect :-) Triple room is quite small and find a place for three big suitcases was bit of a challenge but we managed it.

    We studied reviews and knew what to expect. Thereby our stay was as pleasant as possible. Earplugs are absolute necessity as room was facing the street and it's very noisy (I can't imagine what happens here in summer whe Venice is full of people!). And I have to agree with previous comments - location of the hotel is just PERFECT! Bed linien and towels has been changed daily from second day of our stay; complimentary tea and water, cups provided, small fridge in the room and what is most important in winter time - good heating! Could sleep even without my wool socks! Strong WiFi signal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    The best hotel I stayed at in Italy within my budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best hotel I stayed at in Italy within my budget. Rooms are very clean and new and they provide everything you need. They even gives you two bottles of water, tea, a few cookies and chocolate. Staffs are very friendly and checkin/checkout is very fast. Location is great too, it's very close to San Marco and Grand Canal and all other attractions are within walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    10
    Overall we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No sound proof, can hear people talking. House keeping came early morning can hear everything what they are doing.

    Perfect location, value for money. Very helpful receptionist

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are very thin so you could hear people talking and taking a shower.

    The hotel was lovely. I liked the decor of the room and it was in a great location. True value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, very close to San Marco square, easy to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room walls are extremely thin and every sound could be heard, especially in the morning as other guests were quite noisy and cleaning staff talk loudly.

    Great location, very close to San Marco square, easy to get to from the pier

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.9
    Very center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very center. From the airport, the boat costs 15 euro and arrives within 30 min. The hotel is 5 min from the nearst harbour, and also 5min from san Marco.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    7.1
    nice staff,clean facility, good location in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa bed in our triple room was uncomfortable, sinks in the middle and one cannot get refreshed after sleep.

    nice staff,clean facility, good location in the centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    Very very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe some people need a lift but I didn't need one.. it was a couple of stairs only. I'm not sure why there were some night I smelled cigarette smell from outside my room, I suspect a worker was smoking or a hotel guest. Happened for 2 nights.. the smell came from the staff door so.... Some people might not like that the blinds for the windows are very translucent.

    Exceeded my expectations after reading less than average reviews on this place. I was a solo traveler for 2 nights there. Loved the tiny little place:) Everything was great I really have no complaints. Counter service was great, the lady was attentive and relaxed. Room was clean, it was basic and not the most modern looking place but I liked the personality and charm of it (Modern TV though!).. for a single traveler I thought the toilet was going to be tiny but it was a good average size. Best location as its 2 mins walk from the main square(5mins if u are unfamiliar). They did my laundry at a last min request perfectly for 10euros. My attached photo is the only thing I've got. But the photo provided when I booked the place, and the actual room is exactly the same.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    The hotel was very clean and enough space for the two of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel was very clean and enough space for the two of us. Nicely decorated. Very friendly staff. It's located at a small plaza or square with restaurants and bars in the middle Castello very close to San Marco. We loved the place very much!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More accurate photos, clearer indication of which rooms are in the annex building

    Friendly reception staff, comfy bed, clean facilities, perfect location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    10
    Let the staff guide you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was really professional with good suggestion regarding food and transportation,room was big and cosy, extra services not including in the price, position close to everything, free map providing by hotel is really useful and makes your stay more easy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    9.2
    cleanliness and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1- My trip from the airport shuttle bus station Directions from the shuttle bus to the hotel was not clear at all when explored in google ! in my trip from the airport to the hotel, The water bus dropped me to the Ospital station ! which is very far by feet with luggage when i checked with the hotel to send me a guide as i did not get an italian sim yet, they have no body - that's why in my trip back to the hotel, it was much easier - no problem 2- No elevators !

    cleanliness and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location and clean spacious room! Perfect stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside would be that the room was quite cold at night (I guess the autumn has arrived in Italy) and we couldn't set up the heating - there was only an air con available and no heaters.

    We stayed here as a group of 3 people for 3 nights at the end of September. We were allowed to check in earlier so we could drop the bags and enjoy Venice as soon as we arrived! :) the room was very clean and quite spacious for Venetian standards. It had all the amenities such as tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer and free wifi. The location was amazing as we were right in the centre - just off the St Mark's Square. overall, we would definitely come back and stay here in the future!!! Ciao Venice :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    8.3
    The staff went out of their way to make sure we could confirm our return flights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a sheet to cover the mattress but no sheet under the duvet. I like a wash cloth but none are provided.

    The bath was exceedingly small. When using the toilet, your knees were touching the bidet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had a fan that made horrible screechy noises. Also, the rooms we had were pretty average - the wallpaper makes a huge difference in terms of making the room look more high-end.

    Lovely staff and fantastic location. Easy to find, clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    8.8
    A very nice hotel deep in the heart in one of the most beautiful cities in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was perfect deep in the heart of Venice close to the sights.The bed was nice and comfy and the room had plenty of storage facilities for your clothes if needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    7.1
    Location in center of city;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was booked into a 2nd floor room which was actually on the 3rd floor. Then there wasn't an elevator. It was difficult to maneuver luggage up and down 3 flights of narrow steps. The porter didn't show up to assist with getting luggage down steps and to the water taxi.😩

    Location in center of city; easy access to neighbor travel and other islands

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location. Comfortable, beautiful and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not and easy climb upstairs with suitcases. Water taxis are pretty pricey and the only way to get to there.

    Beautiful decor, comfy beds, water and fridge. Great shower and nice spacious room.Best of all was the location. Great restaurants and all the sights of Venice right on your doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Rio Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: