Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Brancamaria 4 stars

Viale Colombo, 08022 Cala Gonone, Italy

#10 of 15 hotels in Cala Gonone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Everything was o.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all was o.k. Maybe only would be better longer open time for swimming pool. - pool is closed at 19:00 - it made me sad, because there is wonderfull view to the sea. from that place.

    Everything was o.k. and nice. We enjoyed swimming pool, breakfast, sea view..... - all perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay at Hotel Brancamaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a clean, spacious room with mountain view. The bathroom was huge with toiletries provided and re-filled daily. The balcony is small (fits 2 standing people). We had two beach towels in our room ready to use. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus several times per day to Cala Ganone town centre and beach promenade. The pool was clean and has a very good view over Cala Ganone. We were pleasantly surprised on the departure day: having to check out early we were given a breakfast box even though the restaurant wasn't yet open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Visit to Cala Gonone
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to get the hotel bus to go in the city center - the hotel is located on a hill with a nice view and when you want to go back from the beach you will do a 15 min uphill walk - we enjoyed it though - for those more confortable it might not be so fun

    Big room, nice and friendly staff, very clean, good wifi - we had a bus available with a good schedule to take us to and from the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    I am pretty confident that everyone would enjoy staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything as everything was great - breakfast on a sunny terrace, pool with bar and lounge chairs lit by the sun all day long, cleanliness, quality of beds and bedding, view from a window, etc. I was in an awe about my experience there and was thinking that this must be most professional and skilled hotel operators I have experienced because I felt valued, wanted and at great ease there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect base from which to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I am seriously finding it difficult to fault them on anything, and would require me being super picky. But if i had to chose anything, my partner did complain that she could not get used to the hardness of the bed.

    The staff were always very friendly and welcoming. And we really got used to the breakfast buffet! The room was spacious and we actually opted for one of the deluxe rooms, so it had a seaview and a whirpool in the room. Worth it after a long day sightseeing to unwind in the whirlpool with a glass of beer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    We went for a relaxing break which we got despite absolutely awful weather for most of the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was about 2km out of the resort so the walk became a bit tiresome

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. There were good restaurants in easy walking distance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, clean friendly staff, but the restaurant could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant! the atmosphere was lacking and on the two occasions we ate there the order was not correct both times. At breakfast there was only one coffee machine that took forever so queues built up, also no variety, but nice quality I found the pool sun area to be uninviting, just a square slab of paving, nice views though. 15 minute walk into town, 25 mins on the way back and a hill climb

    Bed was comfortable, room was spacious and clean, nice bar and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are perhaps only borderline 4 star but the bathroom is very nice! The breakfast buffet is sufficient but not the most exciting.

    We stayed at the Brancamaria at the very end of the holiday season (end of October) and found the hotel to be quiet, peaceful and extremely friendly. It is well-located on the edge of the town, 15 minutes walk away from the centre (there is an hourly shuttle for those who prefer not to walk). The pool is stunning (maybe 25m with 8 lanes!) and the staff are so helpful. They tended to each of our queries with excellent manners and could not have been nicer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff - highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great.

    The staff were really friendly, the breakfast was amazing, and our room was really nice - clean, spacious, nice view and we had a hot tub! The location is good too, just a few minutes walk from the harbour but we preferred that the area was a bit quieter, and there is a shuttle bus if you dont want to walk. Highly recommend this hotel, thanks for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Our stay in hotel Brancamaria
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would appreciate better coffee for breakfast-there was a coffee machine in the dining room, people were waiting in the queue there to get their cup. Otherwise the breakfast was nice.

    The hotel was nice,I would say probably the best in Cala Gonone. The staff was friendly,helpful,rooms were well equiped, bright and clean, my room was overlooking the sea. We arrived by car which was possible to park in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Incredible dramatic scenery with lots to see and do in comfortable friendly Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing except we didn't eat in the Hotel because it was 40 euros per head and the restaurants in the town were much more reasonably priced with lots of choices, great food and lovely surroundings. Also sad that the sun goes down behind the mountains early in the evening but that can't be helped!

    Beautiful part of Sardinia. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast choices were excellent. Wi fi was really good. Surroundings offer a lot to do.Hotel is situated just above the main town within walking distance but easy to drive down and park. Lots of lovely places to eat. We walked to Cala Luna and the Blu Marino Cave (2 hours) and took the ferry boat back as the trekking is very up and down and rocky but which allowed the beautiful views from above. We also hired a boat to see the coastline from below which allowed access to the beautiful beaches we couldn't walk to and also incredible views of the mountainous coastline so had the best of both worlds. Only 120 euros for the four of us so no dearer than paying for an organised trip and we had the freedom of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, good rooms, clean, amazing pool with a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No gym, Location is a bit far from downtown (10/15 min steep walk), but there are shuttles Breakfast was a bit limited and ended at 10 am

    Comfortable, good rooms, clean, amazing pool with a good view, free parking, good staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Everything was great!

    Wonderful staff and service. They were so helpful in proving all information we needed and answering any questions we had. We only stayed one night but they offered to let us keep our car at the hotel while we went on a tour the day we were checking out along with using their shower facility. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it was, it was basic but clean. There is a gym advertised, but it does not exist Petrol station being built directly opposite during stay which made for a noisey stay also quite a walk into town.

    Valentina on reception was very helpful. Sardinian evening in the restaurant was lovely. Especially with the singing waiters

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and profesional. Breakfast was excellent. The location is good with a 5 min shuttle transport to the port. Would definitily go back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel... but don't deserves 4***
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite old and requires a renovation. The restaurant (at dinner) was functional, but doesn't diserve a 4****. The hotel is definetely overated

    Comfortable bed. Good location with nice views at the sea. Nice Staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Great stay, staff were excellent and very helpful, perfect location for getting up to the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shuttle bus could have been more frequent throughout the day- only 1 per hour, or maybe provide push bikes free of charge for guests to get into town!?

    Rooms and bathrooms were large and comfortable. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was varied, delicious and relaxed. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Great weekend in Cala Gonone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi access was pretty bad. Location a bit outside town, but we like to walk so didn't bother us. Hotel has a shuttle service.

    Cala Gonone was amazing. Great atmosphere and nice beaches. Hotel was good. Nice staff, good location. No complications.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    5.4
    Nothing special but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A big humidity stain and mould on the ceiling of the bathroom. The lack of atmosphere in the swimming pool place. The poor breakfast, no quality food.

    The location, is very close to Cala Gonone. The cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    more shuttle services to the beach / port

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view, good breakfast, great staff, clean and a...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise volume from other rooms

    Beautiful view, good breakfast, great staff, clean and a very nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Large business hotel with good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large business hotel with good rooms. Hourly shuttle service to the beach. On site parking. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Superb!!! Grazie mille!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff especially reception!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but a fare walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slippery bathroom floor when wet

    Nice hotel but a fare walk to town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful personal with good english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful personal with good english. Free transfer trom the hotel to the city center and to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The service and the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and the view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel with shuttle bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with shuttle bus to town. Wonderful pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Nice hotel , Kind service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi was a little bit poor in rooms.

    The customer service The shuttle to the town and to the port The Tour with the boat

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    far from town but they had a shuttle.

    facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Free upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free upgrade

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    The swimming pool was fantastic with a lovely terrace for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very noisy the location was quite a distance from the beach and town ,however there was a free shuttle bus service provided by the hotel which ran all day and stopped early in the evening. No good if you wanted to go out for a meal in the evening.

    The swimming pool was fantastic with a lovely terrace for sunbathing, the hotel was immaculately clean and the bar and reception staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Great location,amazing staff, well-maintained property, view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast quality was great but variety could have been better (it might be due to low season) wifi is available only in common areas

    Great location,amazing staff, well-maintained property, view from the third floor

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Staff are fantastic, incredibly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was disappointing. Breakfast very very basic and dinner was not up to the standard of restaurants in the town, which was surprising.

    Staff are fantastic, incredibly helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    From the friendliness of the staff on arrival to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the friendliness of the staff on arrival to the beautifully appointed room, this hotel, perched on the mountain overlooking the gleaming mediterranean was a pleasure to stay in. They gave us an upgrade on arrival and a bottle of local wine on departure! Nothing was ever a problem for them and our stay was amazing. Thank you Brancamaria!! :)

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Hotel looked brand new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool was great for doing lengths but not that interesting for young children. No gentle steps just the chrome ladder.

    Hotel looked brand new. Very clean everywhere. Very helpful staff at reception. Nice big pool overlooking the sea. Lovely area to sit and have an appertivo.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.0
    - Claudio at the front desk is a very nice and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - relatively far from the town center if you crave a (highly recommended) dinner in town. They have this shuttle service which however stops at 7:10p. After that, transfer can be arranged for a EUR 5 fee. - despite having paid very good money for my high-season stay, they demanded EUR 2 fee for having a fresh swimming towel each time. A plain and utter insult. - AC unit won’t stop blowing air when it reaches target temperature. Nasty to wake up at night to switch it off. - bathroom window faces the swimming pool area, and has no curtain! Had to wrap my swimming towel around it each time I needed to use the bathroom. - Very poor value for money overall. Feels like they take as much money as they can from tourists in high season and do not reinvest any the proceeds in the structure.

    - Claudio at the front desk is a very nice and helpful person - decent breakfast - when parking is not available (as is the case during high season), you can park the car in the alley outside the gate

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are quite noisy and the decor reminiscent of the 1970's

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ample and fresh pineapple went down a treat.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    3.3
    To be honest, nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff unkind and no professional. room 323 unconfortable.too noise from outside and from rear restaurant. breakfast poor and low quality. It is not allowed to introduce food in your room!!! Never found a similar situation in others hotels in the world. Very expensive by the way...

    To be honest, nothing

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel welcome,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We tried for in room Wi-Fi. No luck and really essential. Without it, we didn't extend our stay past 1 glorious night.

    From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel welcome, and that included our medical service dog. The staff is outstanding, the view and room with a Jacuzzi tub was stunning, robes, slippers, everything cared about. A glorious place!

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.2
    friendly and helpful staff, free room upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly and helpful staff, free room upgrade

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No choice for evening meal-all or nothing.!?

    Helpful friendly staff.great pool,

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    Location, swimmng pool and stuff were really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was only in the hall available

    Location, swimmng pool and stuff were really nice

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel with lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfortable hotel with lovely view.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.6
    The place was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    UHT milk at breakfast.

    The place was very clean. Room already cool upon arrival. Staff very obliging and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    The hotel has very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't wifi in the room.

    The hotel has very clean. The pool is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    The hotel has a good position with a great view, the pool is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the rooms

    The hotel has a good position with a great view, the pool is great advantage and all the staff speaks English and is very nice

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: