Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Punta Chiarito Resort 4 stars

Via Sorgeto 51, Forio di Ischia, 80075 Ischia, Italy

#19 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress in the dependence/annex was a bit old. Maybe time for a new one. Toilet seat needs tightening.

    Amazing views, super nice people, great food, all fresh local produce, spa treatments were amazing, nice almost private beach, annex gave even more solitude than the hotel itself and a slightly cooler more enjoyable pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in main dining room could have been better.

    Fabulous location, friendly service, clean , quiet, relaxingAmazing warm spa pools - real luxury! Food in ‘cantina’ was simple and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small and very basic for 4 star hotel. The thermal pool was lovely but slightly ruined by ugly scaffolding and dirty netting which blocked the picturesque view to the sea from the pool. The hill which the hotel is located on is VERY steep, we were out of breath walking up to our room, I can’t imagine how hot this would be in July or August. The food at the bottom cafe was more expensive but much better than the food in the main restaurant. There was only one main thermal pool, the others were empty when we were there.

    The hot thermal pool was lovely. Really enjoyed it. The location has breathtaking views. The staff were all exceptionally friendly, we felt very welcomed. Free shuttle into town is great and essential considering the very steep hills of the hotel and the road to get back to town. Lovely and quite location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Liked everything!

    Punta Chiarito is like heaven on earth. Remotely located yet close to transport for everywhere on the island. Meals wonderful, staff wonderful!!! It's why I will try to get there again next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inget

    Fantastic view with relaxing pool and lovley staff. A perfect visit for autumn when the area isn't crowded with tourists, still warm temperatures and the mediterranean sea still offers wonderful baths. A perfect stay! Recommend this for everyone who's looking for a genuine place with beautiful surroundings and lovley staff. The hotel is placed at the most beautiful coast of Ichia and close to a beautiful beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic, clean and ok but you would expect a bit more from a four star room.

    Location and views unbelievable. Absolute gem. Products of the farm were tasty and the breakfast was best during the whole Italian trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only issue would be it is a little isolated and rough for persons who have difficulty walking.

    This property is wonderful the owner Nicolo, Teresa his daughter, all of the wait staff, everyone was excellent and extra accommodating. Great for a quiet getaway. The thermal pools are to die for!! The only issue would be it is a little isolated and rough for persons who have difficulty walking. However, the staff does everything in their power to assist even driving you down the hill and back up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    That my stay was not long enough! :)

    What could you not like about this family-run property? The location was a bit out of the way but ideal for its panoramic setting! The property is an agriturismo- they produce their own olive oil, honey not to mention everything else that is tasty and healthy! The thermal pools are a plus not to mention, I received a wonderful massage :) I loved everything about this hotel and I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I love love this property for the amazing views, the delicious food, the warming treatment. All I can say is that I can't wait to go back!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The listing itself on booking.com was a bit misleading. I blame booking.com

    The resort sits on top of a cliff on the beautiful island Ischia. Staff were all friendly, our view was amazing and the restaurants were 5 star! We would come back again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the annex. Horrible so tired so we moved to more expensive rooms. Really unclear during booking that we were off property, quite a distance away. So far one had to shuttle to main property. Owners were not pleasant or helpful during our room Change. No love at this hotel. Needs improvement to attention to making guests feel welcome. It was lacking despite the beautiful surroundings.

    No wi fi in rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked fresh towels for swimming every day but we did not specifically ask

    The bread was fantastic as were the evening meals Delicately balanced and absolutely delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was terrible, location isolated and no efficient hotel provision of transport. The hotel is tired and dated with very few comforts and stuck deep in the 80's...

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights

    n/a

    The housekeeping staff really looked after our room. They provided fresh towels daily, made the bed and left the room as new. Breakfast was fantastic, with fresh juice, fruit, cakes and amazing coffee. I loved the pace of the hotel, which was slow, silent and relaxing. I was looking for a week to relax and that I got. Only 1km from Panza and 5km from Forio. The views from the hotel are second to none. Swimming in the pool overlooking the cliff out into the sea! Ah Bliss!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities for a disabled person. The hotel shuttle didn't provide the service it said it would and we constantly had to argue with staff about this. The hotel was very isolated. Limited choice on the dinner menu and you had to be up early to get a good choice for breakfast.our room was separate from the main hotel and we relied on the shuttle bus to get us to the hotel for meals etc. This felt isolating.

    The rooms were nice and some of the staff were nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the screen that protected agains the wind =, but also blockedthe view of the sea from the wnoderful swimming pool

    Wonderful location, I loved especially the trail to the cove below the hotel where i went to swim before breakfast, which apparently no one does , because they advise their average (mostly elderly and unadventurous) guests against it, though the trail is very easy for people who are even minimally used to hiking The thermal water pool is a special pleasure

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There might have been something, but I can't even remember now because we just had such a great time! Oh - no towels provided at the spa (that we could see - although we didn't actually ask so maybe there are), so just remember to bring one.

    We were staying at Villa Caterina - the annex, which is 800m away from the main resort. It helps to know what to expect so read the description closely when you book (and remember 800m is nearly a kilometre!). We knew exactly what to expect as we had received a helpful email after booking giving all the details about Villa Caterina. We loved it, it suited our needs perfectly - it has its own thermal pool which never seemed to have anyone else in it, so very private and the view from the terrace is stunning. We love walking so weren't phased at all by the pretty downhill walk to the main resort and never had any trouble getting the free shuttle back up the hill - seemingly all the staff are geared up to provide this service and they are all so friendly and willing to do it, they never made it feel like a chore. (They will also collect you from Villa Caterina and drive you down if you call reception- we just fancied the walk!). The great advantage for us was that the Villa Caterina is very close to the village of Panza (5 minute walk) which gave us lots of options for evening meals - lots of good pizzeria's in town and Da Leopoldo (great place, very friendly) and lunchtime/afternoon snacks - we recommend Pasticceria Mike! Shops to buy fruit etc. It was really nice to be able to go out on foot in the evening to get dinner, no hassle. Panza is also where the bus stop is to get around the island... And there are a couple of beautiful little walks that start just near Villa Caterina - Baia de Pelara and Monte di Panza. Anyway: - Great breakfast - including lovely homemade cakes, jams, marmalades. Also meats, cheeses etc, fruit etc. - great food - the bruschetta at the cantina is heaven - the resort is paradise - great thermal pools and cave! The views are wonderful and you feel really in the midst of nature.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms at villa Caterina dependance are not 4stars; Whater in the pool of villa caterina was extremely hot (definitely more than 40 degrees)

    Amazing location and view; Very nice staff; Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea or coffee making fasilities in our room, as we were 800 km from the main hotel we could'nt have an early morning or late night drink

    All food lovely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have preferred to gave new bed sheets after 2-3 days at least.

    The familiar atmosphere- owners working side by side with colleagues. The tranquility of the establishment. Great, simple food, always fresh. Great thermal pool&spa- small, but really relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real improvement needed. However this place has quite a number of dogs and cats walking around-some of the owners,some of the guests.

    The view is amazing,very friendly staff,always helpful,even in the night. The food is produced locally,very clean and healthy. Proximity to the Sorgeto beach,that makes a good combination of pool and sea.We have booked room in the Villa Caterina and shuttle service was provided,whenever we were tired of climbing the stairs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would not hurt little Italian music (in the restaurant and around the pool) to complete the perfect setting for relaxation

    Great location, excellent traditional food (La Cantina), great view, very courteous staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were hosted 800 meters (with big slope) far away from the main installations (they called it "dependencia"), we had access to a marvellous fresh water swimming pool that was most of the time with no people. The other pools were warm water (not recommended for July temperature in my opinion). There is a little beach access near the main resort, you have to descend +300 steps, here the water is warmer than the pools in the main resort (not in the "dependencia"), you can even make a tea, imagine!!! Be careful with the dogs near the parking, one of them (the little) was almost to bite me.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't too fond of the restaurant we are at for dinner. We only ate there the first night and chose to eat elsewhere for the remainder of the trip. The appetizer and desert was great but the main meal could have been better.

    From the time we got to the resort, we were treated like family! Luigi showed us around and the lunch restaurant halfway up the hill served all fresh fruit and veggies that they grew themselves. Amazing! The thermal pool was also fantastic and had a cave you could swim through to get out of the hot sun!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not everybody talks englisch or german. But this is ok for Italy, you have to accept it. This is charming same time.

    On arrival with the taxi from Ischa Porto my first impression was that Punta Chiarito is located in a bit less green and boost part of the island. But it turned to be wrong, that is probably the best location on the island. On top great peole, great views, great food and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful location, nice gardens and pool, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food only 3/5

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were average and no iron facility

    Beautiful resort

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Dreamy place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff Relaxing stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quite isolated and rooms very very basic and quite dark

    Staff were lovely and us a beautiful place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel and facilities. I recommend hiring a scooter to go round the island as the hotel is on a cliff and a bit isolated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff is veeery very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at the reception ignored me and didn't speak English anymore as soon as she realized my friend spoke Italian

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great views, buildings fit into the landscape

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in annex too far from main building

    Excellent spa

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect care, excellent staff - feels like family :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, stunning location . . Breath taking :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A beautiful experience on all counts: meals, scenery/location, thermal pool/tunnel and other spa amenities available. Best: the staff is incredible in making you feel that meeting your needs are their main purpose. We wanted low key and incredible as well. Punta Chiarito was perfect for our needs and expectations. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restaurant caters to non-Italian tourists, so food is not as authentic as it could be, plus all courses brought at once. Not the usual wonderful dining experience. There were extra charges for towels, robes, etc.

    Beautiful views of coastline

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our own fault for not knowing more Italian, had a small communication problem or two. And a road was closed coming from the ferry in our rental car, took us some time to find the place (we're not used to Italian signage - our fault, not theirs).

    Loved the thermal pools, being there during the St. Angelo festival (amazing fireworks!), and witnessing the harvest and crushing of olives and grapes. Bought some excellent wine and olive oil at good prices.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    has come into its years, must have seen better times 15-20 years before, certainly not worth the money, rooms inacceptable standard, breakfast and food with surprisingly little passion despite using this as unique selling prop and definetely appears to make a difference to be italian if you would like to be treated as guest who deserves a friendly word and average hotel services

    the only nice thing about the place is its location

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Blue floodlights at night which are a real eyesore when seen also from S. Angelo. No Wifi in bedrooms.

    Location,(though the approach road is very narrow and you need to know how to reverse round sharp corners!) lovely warm Swimming pool and grotto. Various shady terraces. Book rooms over the sea.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The annex room is rather small, although the bathroom is very spacy

    The main hotel has very nice views towards Sant'Angelo and the sea. The annex looks towards the sea and you can see Capri in the distance

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a superior room on the basis of the photos on booking.com. We had clearly been given a room that was like the comfort room photos in every respect. When we complained there was no acknowledgement of our point whatsoever and they tried to defend their position saying that all of the rooms were different. We had no terrace which is a prerequisite for a superior room and a single shower rather than the double shown on the photographs. Whilst its position is fabulous they could make so much more of it by improving the upkeep of the grounds (that were tatty) and the quality of the food and dining experience that were both poor considering the price compared to other hotels on Ischia.

    Home produce served for lunch at the cellar bar. Great views of St Angelo.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the location beside baia di sorgeto and the spa+sauna facilities are excellent! The staff are very helpfull and friendly! homemade food and wine are delicious!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is a great hotel run by a very nice family who really cares about their customers. Vegetables, Oliveoil, Honey, Marmelade and Wine all are produced in their own backyard. The location and the view are really amazing and beautiful. The swimming pools and the swimming cave under the rocks make it very special. As well the half pension menu as the a la carte restaurant serve excellent Italian food and the kitchen is very flexibel to your extra demands. The Island specialty is Rabbit. Try this and the rabbit tastes very well with the wine from the owner. Never has seen such a dog friendly hotel. The employees are very kind and remember very well your personal favors. The view at the bay of Sant'Angelo is very impressing. If you go to Ischia, for sure book this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't sample their local drink. It's 5Eur for a large shot of something that tastes like Jaegermaester! Otherwise everything was great!

    Amazing location. Great views everywhere and short walk (down steps) to beach containing hot springs. Nice relaxed feel about the place and great that much of the produce is grown on their farm.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the demonstrarive unfriendly and tepid behaviour of one offensive waiter, that brings efforts of whole caring and super nice owner's family to nought; hotel restaurant seems to be overrated, especially in comparison with the variety of cozy places in S'Angelo

    perfect home made products - tomatoes, basil, mozarella, and orange marmalade are astonishing, as well as sea view and сharming staff (except that one) - hotel is perfect for relaxation and hedonism in the manner of Southern Italy

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We expected the room at the cliff-top, but was at the another location away from the cliff. It's better if such information is given in advance. But the room was VERY nice with the beautiful view and terrace.

    Beautiful terrace and the view at the room. Very friendly and kind staffs. Tasty fresh food and drinks from their own farm. Wish I could stay there longer. I want to live in Ischia :)

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location on the cliff is just fantastic - you've got an amazing view from all 4 sides. Hotel stays a bit distant from the town, so you can relax from the crowd and enjoy calmness of the place. Hotel has wonderful terms - one with the view at the rock, and another in the form of the cave - so cool! Our room had a greeat view to St.Angelo peninsula. All the rest was good as well - very good bathroom, nice bed and very friendly staff. Hotel has its own winery and food production, so we enjoyed local meals. This stay was really fantastic - recommend this to everyone!!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i liked everything.N

    i loved everything. We came with our two dogs, who were able to take morning hikes down the stairs to Sorgeto Beach. THen we could come back up, eat a good breakfast and relax in the hot springs tunnel and two beautiful pools on a cliff overlooking the mediterranean. With dogs, you need a car to stay here, but the owners were able to arrange a car rental from Ischia Porto where we stayed the night before. The little town of Panza is close and FOrio and Lacco Ameno, not that far away.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi in room, only in restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful setting and an extremely helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were ignorant and rude towards us.

    Fantastic facilities.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First of all it's location! Unfogettable views, own thermal spring, high class restraunt, very moderate pricing (at least in April).

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Punta Chiarito Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: