Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva 3 stars

Via Giovanni Macchi 146, 21100 Varese, Italy

#3 of 18 hotels in Varese

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 474 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, not too far from motorway. Very quiet on the banks of the lake, with a splendid view from the rooms on the lakeside. Very clean rooms, good size. Wifi works excellent. Good restaurant, good price/quality ratio.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gentleman at the reception was was so nice. The restaurant had already closed after lunch, but he still managed to get us a wonderful pasta for lunch. We loved the lake near the property. The dinner was so, so, but the breakfast was plenty and had everything. The housekeeper came running after us with things we had left in the room after checking out. David and Karine Koplar, San Diego, USA

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather in the evening ....

    Very nicely situated at the lake side and a superb staff. The evening we where at the restaurant and a unforeseen thunderstorm passed over the garden restaurant. In such a way that the guest needed to shelter and continue there diners inside. The coolness of the restaurant manager was amazing and the reaction of the rest of the staff was excellent. This showed that these guys are professionals and do the best to make it comfortable for you under all circumstances.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast could have been better.

    the view from the balcony was perfect over the Lago di Varese. The restaurant was fantastic and seemed popular for locals, even though a little bit noisy on weekend evenings. convenient parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, location on the lake, very good breakfast, staff are friendly, the children liked the bunk bed and free good parking spot. It was good for our one night stay to rest and continue our journey the next to Florence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    We liked everything the room was nice and clean the restaurant lovely and having the breakfast on the terasse was lovely.We certainly stay there again.We loved it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard mattress (we didn't mind) and pillows - i would suggest changing the pillows which made for miserable sleep. The guesthouse is on the road, so a bit if traffic noise - not bad, though.

    Clean, good size room, extremely convenient to get to Venice and back (15 mns by bus right across the road) and nice welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The weather!

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and their attention to keeping the hotel and grounds immaculate, the free bicycles, the location next to the rowing club and the food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no complains really, all was great. The coffee in the morning was from a capsule made for us and not the usual boring coffees they serve in most hotels. Only as a tip but not a complain, we would like a bit more variety for vegetarians in the breakfast, but thats about it. The restaurant food was also very good and the desserts also. The bathroom was also more like 4 star hotel rather than 3 stars. We are very pleased, decent stay for a good deal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best place to stay at for all the motorcycle enthusiast coming to visit MV Agusta factory as it is situated right next to it. Absolutely loved the atmosphere. Restaurant is fantastic (serves possibly the best Tiramisu I have ever had in my life). Great value as well. Will definitely come back next time I am in the area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not many other choices in the immediate area for dining.

    Very quiet and comfortable. Right on Lago Varese. But we were there in the fall (October) on a rainy day so could not take advantage of the lake and the many water activities. (It's undoubtedly much busier in the summer.) Very good dinner. We drove up to S.Maria del Monte to visit Sacro Monte (UNESCO World Heritage Site) - a church and several chapels (12?) that are spread out down the mountain. We only hiked to one in the rain . . . view would have been stunning without the cloud/fog cover!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal very weak in bedroom. Had to go downstairs in order to download newspaper. Tv choices mostly Italian. BBC World included in channel list but when I selected the channel i got a message that said it wasn't available.

    Lovely location, very comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant recommended - excellent food and wine. Although there were a couple of things that could have been better, the pros far outweighed the cons and we will continue to stay at this hotel. It's also close enough to Como to spend a day sightseeing and we enjoyed a tour round the lake. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed in a lovely clean room with a view of Lake Varese. The staff were really friendly and efficient even though they were really busy in the restaurant for lunch and dinner. Very close to a bike hire shed which is also great if you want to ride around the lake. Nice and relaxing with really Lovely food and we will be returning

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware: the restaurant next to the hotel (not operated by the hotel) is playing outside karaoke very loudly until midnight. This makes it impossible to get asleep!

    Nice location directly at the lake. Rooms are small but good. Breakfast is good. Restaurant terrace is very nicely located and decorated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    friday/saturday nights a bit noisy as music from open air disco could be heard.

    lovely lake view room with balcony, just a pity no chairs on the balcony. clean, comfortable hotel. excellent restaurant, particularly fish choices on the menu. great breakfast, plenty of choice and well catered for food allergies,well placed for cycling (excellent bike path around the lake). quieter, less commercial than other larger italian lakes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gorgeous setting, next door to the MV Agusta factory. 10 min from downtown Varese

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food, View over lake and peace

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view for sun set over the lake!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing absolutely.

    Great staff, great food, highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved swim facilities in the lake.

    Calm lakeside environment. Great bed. Sensational antipasto buffet at dinner!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent; all the staff, dinner and breakfast and the room were perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Everything! Staff, Food, Facilities was fantastic. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options is very limited

    Room size is big and lovely staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was all very good, including the friendly, helpful staff.

    The hotel was clean, very comfortable and perfectly located for me.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A system to can open the window tand keep proteccion against insects

    Near the lake Views The environment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just by the lake!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE first impression we hot of THE hotel was wauh!super location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldnot swim in the lake you have to go to the other lake e.g Monate

    great location, free parking, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed (on a Tuesday)

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    The rooms were of a good size staff were friendly. We were put in a room at the back for 6 Nights 207! Even though not fully occupied. The even number rooms have fantastic views a shame realy our trip could have been outstanding. Food was of top quality service excellent and good value.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very noisy. There was a lot of early morning noise from other guests on a Sunday. There is a dog on a neighbouring property which barks the whole night. I know this is not the hotel's fault, but they should speak with the owner. Also the dog is tied up the whole day - someone should report this to animal welfare.

    Staff and breakfast were great. Restaurant is always good

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    lack of restaurant, no support of receptionist in identifying the nearest active restaurant - with great reluctance pointed CLOSED two being nearby.

    nice neighborhood, quiet surroundings

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No coffee machine in the room....Sorry, but we like it.

    Location - Near the lake. Parking. Wi-Fi. Staff. Romantic area. Travel in the mountains around.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to Switzerland ( we were going to Lugano)is not easy and there is heavy traffic. Take your GPS!

    Comfortable small hotel on Lake Varese. The hotel is next to a rowing club and each day we saw single and double shells gracefully gliding across the lake. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The restaurant very good and popular with the locals.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A tad expensive but I guess this is down to the location.

    The exterior pictures do not do this hotel justice. The interior is very modern and of a high standard. Very friendly staff. Excellent food and very generous portions.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not allowed to swim or bath in whole lake. Restaurant food could be better. No large size beds(even if ordered). Too boring for a long stay.

    The location close to the lake makes the stay very pleasant. But for those who plan swimming or bathing - forget it. It is forbidden and not mentioned is hotels description. For a meal you don't have to think about it - its all there. There are walking as well as cycling tracks around the lake.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very busy on arrival, nowhere quiet to sit and just have a drink. Had to sit in the small reception area.

    Great location, lakeside. Very helpful, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lakeside is a bit messy, swimming not recommended. Breakfast selection wasn't great, particularly little the non-sweet stuff.

    Quiet and clean hotel with friendly staff. Nice dinner for the money!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience, just would have liked a hot alternative for breakfast. What there was was perfectly adequate, however.

    Excellent food in the restaurant. Dinner had a wide selection of choices, very popular, restaurant full. My tagliatelle with mushrooms was absolutely delicious.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't really think of anything. We would definitely return when going to that region.

    We loved everything!This property was in a perfect location for easy access to the bike path. I loved the lake view from our upstairs room and the pretty flower boxes. They also provided nice bikes for us to use both days we were there at a reasonable charge. The staff was very helpful and the airport transfer driver was prompt and very friendly. The included breakfast was incredible and the dining area was very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing !

    This hotel was renovated in 2008 and is a very comfortable a quiet location. It is located on the lake, by a park and you you an excellent view of the mountains as well

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nithing

    Very good hotel excellent location Very friendly staff with a good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not stay longer.

    The food was great! The location was fabulous! The staff was friendly!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the people, the food

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant small hotel with exellent food!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful spot on the lake and bike trail.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was close to Malpensa and an easy ride to Switzerland for lunch.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, nothing to do at the location. Although Varese is a nice town.

    The food is Always of excellent quality

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    amazing location professional and willing staff

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only really accessible in reception, bedroom quite small.

    Very friendly staff, outstanding restaurant at very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lake walk was very close to noisy main road. Nothing to do when it rained

    Friendly staff, great food

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situated by the side of the lake. Serving good food. We had a lake view on the second floor. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. Food & staff are great

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    One of my preferred hotels in the area. Good location, very nice cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no French channel on the TV

    Spacy , nice room ,good restaurant , beautiful landscape

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: