Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Ciconia This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Dei Tigli 69, 05018 Orvieto, Italy

#28 of 34 hotels in Orvieto

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    Cheap but NOT a 4* in any way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I had it all to do over again I’d have stayed at an agriturismo in the hills around Orvieto. This hotel was ok but despite having a lovely exterior it lacked any soul and really could do with updating particularly the bathrooms and furniture. It is NOT a 4* hotel in any way and out a bit of a dampener on the holiday but you get what you pay for I suppose. Cheap mattresses and pillow (only 2 pillows for 2 people which isn’t normal). No information in the room about the local area. Don’t know if the higher priced suites were any better. Restaurant was good value and decent food but VERY slow service and only open for dinner.

    Price was decent for the area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    8.3
    Old-style charm near Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi doesn't work well in the room. Be prepared to carry up your luggage a couple of flights of stairs because they don't have an elevator. The restaurant is not managed by the hotel. There was only one person attending the restaurant, which entailed delays although her performance was good taking into account the place was FULL and most of the clients were locals.

    We returned after 19 years, and the experience was as great as the first time. This is a beautiful hotel, very traditional (a bit outdated, but very clean and comfortable). Since it is far from Orvieto it is necessary to have a car, but don't worry because they offer lots of parking at site and the old city town has sufficient public parking spaces. We even got twice a great spot right behind the Duomo. Food at the restaurant is very good, although not as refined as when we were there the first time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    8.3
    a unique property that doesn't quite realize it's full potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    pricing a bit high. not quite as comfortable or elegant as hoped. Landscaping upgrade would do wonders.

    Staff was kind and attentive. unique grounds and convenient if you are driving. room was spacious. Quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    3.8
    Glad it was for only one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed hard as a rock Terrible breakfast Staff not rude or unpleasant but not friendly Bathroom water stunk! Smelled like a sewer Would never return

    I can't think of anything😩

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    8.8
    This was our 2nd visit. After 15 years we were just as pleased this second time around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast options were limited. Not enough options for gluten free vegetarian.

    Lovely old villa with beautiful outdoor setting for dining al fresco. Our family room was large and comfortable. Everything felt clean and well kept.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful historical building and the room was very big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unwelcoming staff. The staff immediately pointed out some rules with regard to using the restaurant, pool etc, instead of welcoming us. Furthermore, the swimming pool was clean and pretty big, but not very private (situated alongside the street)

    Beautiful historical building and the room was very big and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    6.3
    It was very hot and the air con was very poor so not much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very hot and the air con was very poor so not much sleep had, also dogs barking through the night. The pool was open 8am until 8pm but when we went to go swimming at 9.30 in the morning before check out it was being cleaned so we left with disappointed children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    9.2
    Charming villa just outside Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is starting to show its age and is in need of a facelift. Ants in the bathroom

    Beautiful villa and wonderful pool. Restaurant was very good (although service was quite slow on Saturday night as they were busy). Couple minutes drive to free funicular parking - great way to visit Orvieto!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Orvieto was over 40 degrees in the shade – coming down from the hill this lovely old villa, sitting between two rivers, surrounded by gardens, provided welcome relief – its massive structure remaining cool and the beautiful pool providing relief to the weary travellers. One evening we ate in the restaurant – the tables were laid out in the garden and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.3
    The place is well located in a calm area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the swimmingpool is nice, the area dedicated to it is not particularly (visibility of airconditioning systems, neighbouring houses). This is a good hotel to stay with for a couple of days but less so if you want to spend an entire week in a remote area, spending the stay around the pool. As often in Italy, the breakfast is not particularly impressive but good enough so given the pricing.

    The place is well located in a calm area. The hotel is authentic and charming. Large swimming pool and good restaurant within the property. We thought the hotel was generally very good value for money in our case, surpassing our expectations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    6.7
    Great hotel with incredible potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel that the potential of Villa Ciconia is out of this world - if they added a (free) shuttle service to/from the train station, added an all day coffee/wine/beverage bar, and provided just a touch more of a welcoming vibe, this place would be one of the best hotels I have ever visited.

    We loved our visit to Orvieto and felt that having a pool in which to soak for the hottest part of the day was a huge perk of staying at Villa Ciconia. We had a triple room that was very spacious and the a/c worked well. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and accommodated the three of us very well. We did not rent a car, but opted to use taxis to/from Orvieto. The taxi service was always quick to pick us up, but the prices varied from 12-20 euro depending on who picked us up each time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    9.2
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location wasn't one where one could walk to restaurants or other services.

    Very helpful staff. Beautiful building and setting. Good reataurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    8.8
    Very nice and special Hotel- it's an old renovated Villa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at the restaurant was extremely slow. Should note there are elevators so you need to carry luggage up.

    Very nice and special Hotel- it's an old renovated Villa with lovely grounds, a pool and a restaurant. A river runs along side. Great point to see Umbria from.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful old villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After waiting at the train station for almost a half hour or a taxi I called the hotel to have someone pick us up. The charge is €15 for a seven minute ride. Overpriced. It was the same for the return.

    The staff was very helpful and very accommodating. They also have a wonderful restaurant on premises.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    10
    A charming Italian Villa near Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not able to take advantage of the pool. Too many mosquitos and the weather was not the best for swimming.

    We love the location near Orvieto and the charm of staying in an old Italian Villa. Also the restaurant was excellent and we decided to eat dinner there two nights in a row.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2016

    9.6
    Very special place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful place. Very friendly owner. We came after lunch and he went out and got us a pizza and a bottle of Orvieto Classico. We ate by the pool on a hot day - what a treat! Our room was very comfortable and we had a great sleep. The breakfast was very good. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we understand it is highly recommended by Michelin

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2016

    6.7
    Convenient but take your insect repellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom need updating, The shower was dirty and unhygienic. The room was quite spacious but there was nowhere comfortable to sit. Also the mosquitoes were a nightmare!

    A lovely old building with a refreshing swimming pool near to Orvieto and transport links and so makes a convenient stopping off point but not somewhere to linger.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely pool;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit dated and A/C didn’t work in first 3 sleeping rooms they showed us

    Lovely pool; good location for touring in/around Orvieto

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Lovely, old-world hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was perfect. Food at breakfast was perfect. It had old-world charm and I would go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.6
    Our second visit as we liked it so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely setting, pool and excellent generous breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room not clean bathroom not clean . Ignored in restaurant waiting to be seated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.1
    Manor set in grounds with beautiful trees near hilltop Orvieta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful shaded setting in a quiet area away from hilltop Orvieta.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.6
    Staff was above and beyond helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was above and beyond helpful! Restaurant amazing. Setting beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    5.4
    Stop on the way back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee in the morning was ghastly

    The old historic property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    4.6
    Quiet but not handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast juice poor Too many mosquitoes around garden AND indoors Located too far away from town

    The pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    5.4
    Good restuarant and server.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard pillows and bathroom needs upgrade

    Good restuarant and server.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    10
    Bouno Albergo
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked al of our stay

    The building the grounds the room the restaurant dinner was great amazing breakfast will book again next year

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    7.9
    The room was wonderful all in all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Even though it was writen in my booking details that payment is when i stay, the hotel has charged my credit card without permission while it was supposed to be for preathoresation.

    The room was wonderful all in all. Restuarant was buissy wih slow service but AMAZING GLUTEN FREE PIZZA!

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    10
    We had a tremendous with Villa Ciconia during our three days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a tremendous with Villa Ciconia during our three days and two nights. The hotel has a nice history going back to the 13th century. Even though the hotel is located outside of old Orvieto, it is in a park like setting that makes one feel as though they are on a large private estate. The hotel staff was great and the restaurant is fabulous, as are the wait staff. We ate both dinners and a lunch at the restaurant because every meal was excellent.

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    8.8
    We had a car and Wanted hassle free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom could use a thorough cleaning. The grout was getting a little too dingy. Room was generously sized. A/C could be cooler.

    We had a car and Wanted hassle free parking. The Villa is lovely, the restaurant a surprising "10", since we didn't realize there was one onsite. Didn't use pool but it looked great.

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2015

    10
    Beautiful old building with excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like!

    Beautiful old building with excellent facilities. Very helpful staff. Delicious evening meal. Lovely garden and pool. Convenient for visiting Orvieto. Good parking.

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2015

    8.3
    Villa Ciconia has a wonderful Michelin rated restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Villa Ciconia has a wonderful Michelin rated restaurant. They nicely decorated our table for our anniversary. Refreshing swimming pool and beautiful landscape. Room was spacious and dog friendly. Full breakfast.

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2015

    8.3
    Location was great and close to the Autostrada and Orvieto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed was hard, but all beds in Europe are, so that's fine.

    Location was great and close to the Autostrada and Orvieto. The building was charming and the pool and restaurant were great.

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    9.2
    The family atmosphere in the hotel and restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A suggestion that the shower tiles need a good scrub and the glass surrounds replacing Can be readily overlooked in the big picture being so good

    The family atmosphere in the hotel and restaurant was fantastic . The restaurant food and service everything you could want The grounds were great and the building beautiful A very authentic old villa run by wonderful people

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not having more time to spend in this hotel :D

    Wonderful swimming pool. Although surrounded by magnificent bamboos and magnolias the pool was spotless. Also very calm and quiet since there were no children around. The hotel is an old italian villa and you'll enjoy the experience.

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2015

    7.9
    Great swimming pool, fabulous restaurant on site, free wifi,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast not as nice as other places on our trip, hotel was quite far from Orvieto & nothing else around it

    Great swimming pool, fabulous restaurant on site, free wifi, huge bedroom

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2015

    3.8
    It is not what looks like in the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is not what looks like in the photos. An old building that is not aconditioned for the hotel it pretends to be. No elevators, bad and small bathrooms and lots of stairs in a complicate and irrational building. Also we asked for a 4 Bed Room and got a double with two small added beds.

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    7.9
    Historic building with interesting features;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning in bed rooms was not effective so uncomfortable in the very hot conditions over-night.

    Historic building with interesting features; great pool; good brekky; great parking; solitude; convenient for Orvieto.

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2015

    7.5
    It was quiet and had a good restaurant on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi dropped out too easily. The only reliable place to pick it up was in the breakfast room.

    It was quiet and had a good restaurant on site. It was a lovely old building, well restored in character.....so lots of stairs.

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2015

    7.9
    Charming hotel built in 16th century and situated in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Showerhead leaked and needs to be replaced.

    Charming hotel built in 16th century and situated in pleasant surroundings. Very helpful staff who suggested places to see that were not in the guide books. Just a 20 minute stroll to the funicular up-to Orvieto.

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2015

    7.1
    We liked the traditional style of the building and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No amount of charm and style made up for the cobwebs found at floor level in several corners of our room and the easily seen dust on furniture. However, having said 9that we do have to acknowledge that the bed linen and bathroom were very clean. A minor irrigation was that the hotel and dinning room seemed to operate as separate busnesses and charging meals taken during our stay to our room was not permitted. More careful attention to detail should improve overall guest experience considerably.

    We liked the traditional style of the building and the furnishing of the room. The location and ease of parking is a bonus for those traveling by car, however the Hotel would possably be to far from other amenities for those without transportation of their own. The staff were frendly and did their best to help with requests wherever possible.

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2015

    10
    Everything, room , staff, restaurant and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything, room , staff, restaurant and location

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    10
    Beautiful settings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful settings. The service and the meals in the dining restaurant were excellent. Large selection of good wines.

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    8.3
    The ambiance, location and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was lacking a bit yet the restaurant was excellent.

    The ambiance, location and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    9.2
    Lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely building. Relaxed helpful staff. Great pool. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    10
    beautiful historic hotel and grounds and great restaurant al...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful historic hotel and grounds and great restaurant al fresco

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    10
    The relaxed atmosphere and helpfulness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The relaxed atmosphere and helpfulness of the staff. The beautiful building and pool, garden and pool and now a very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air con defective. Dirty floor. Permanent radio in dining room!

    Good location. Nice building. Great breakfast , dinner and pool.

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2015

    10
    swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    swimming pool

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2015

    8.8
    Room was spacious but a little outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was spacious but a little outdated. I liked the old world feel of the place. Orvieto is a wonderful little town worth visiting.

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2015

    10
    Loved location, pool, room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved location, pool, room.

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel with superb restaurang!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent hotel with superb restaurang! The restaurant in itself was worth the trip

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2015

    8.3
    The way we were treated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi would have been nice (free or not).

    The way we were treated.

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2015

    10
    Located in an area offering beautiful Italian countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in an area offering beautiful Italian countryside.

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2015

    9.6
    Character building convenient for Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Character building convenient for Orvieto

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2015

    10
    We found it very charming, had a great time playing on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We found it very charming, had a great time playing on the grounds, and the staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    6.7
    The restaurant offers good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant offers good value for money. The pizza tartufo was delicious.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Villa Ciconia Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: